tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

31/08/2011 : ISOLATION/DIVISION - Sotto Voce

ISOLATION/DIVISION

Sotto Voce

MusicCD
Shoegaze

[75/100]   
31/08/2011, Didier BECU

Do you remember those words from Pete Shelley where he sang about 'ever fallen in love with someone you shouldn't 've'? In my case it must be The Chameleons. If there's one band who can bring me both joy and pain, it must be them. And look, all of a sudden comes a band from Manchester who decided to cover the greatest track ever written..."Tears" by The Chameleons and they even make it something their own.

Actually this band is based around one person, Mat Thorpe and even if he does nothing new on this album, it's a work that takes your breath away. The man happens to be inspired by the likes of Echo And The Bunnymen, New Model Army and someone named Johnny Marr.

So with inspiration like that you hope for an album that blows away your mind and in a way it does. Apart from some minor remarks (production could be better for instance) "Sotto Voce" has become a labour of love that feels like the solo-album of Mark Gardener (yeah, him from Ride) that we were always waiting for but it never came.
At the moment, Mat is looking for people who want to join his band, which makes me kick myself for being a non-talent who's not from the North of Britain.
But having said that: this is a shoegaze/dreampop-tip you should check out.

Didier BECU
31/08/2011


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!
29
08
41 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
28
08
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge and Calgary Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag
15
09
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Die Interimsliebenden
14
09
HOLYGRAM
Signals