tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

31/08/2011 : ISOLATION/DIVISION - Sotto Voce

ISOLATION/DIVISION

Sotto Voce

MusicCD
Shoegaze

[75/100]   
31/08/2011, Didier BECU

Do you remember those words from Pete Shelley where he sang about 'ever fallen in love with someone you shouldn't 've'? In my case it must be The Chameleons. If there's one band who can bring me both joy and pain, it must be them. And look, all of a sudden comes a band from Manchester who decided to cover the greatest track ever written..."Tears" by The Chameleons and they even make it something their own.

Actually this band is based around one person, Mat Thorpe and even if he does nothing new on this album, it's a work that takes your breath away. The man happens to be inspired by the likes of Echo And The Bunnymen, New Model Army and someone named Johnny Marr.

So with inspiration like that you hope for an album that blows away your mind and in a way it does. Apart from some minor remarks (production could be better for instance) "Sotto Voce" has become a labour of love that feels like the solo-album of Mark Gardener (yeah, him from Ride) that we were always waiting for but it never came.
At the moment, Mat is looking for people who want to join his band, which makes me kick myself for being a non-talent who's not from the North of Britain.
But having said that: this is a shoegaze/dreampop-tip you should check out.

Didier BECU
31/08/2011


Music reviews

13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju
10
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
You, Vicious!
09
11
VIRGIN PRUNES
Hérésie
08
11
HATCHLING
Alpha

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!
09
11
Today, 37 years ago, Men At Work released their debut album Business As Usual!
08
11
This month its 31 years since Canadian industrial band Front Line Assembly released their first official album, The Initial Command!

Concert reviews

06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'
07
11
BRIX AND THE EXTRICATED
Interview with Brix Smith-Start

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)
11
11
DUSK
EPOKA 3000 (extended version)
10
11
PARADOX OBSCUR
Afterlife Effect (Official Video)
09
11
MEANDER
This is Meander.