tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady

ISRAEL HOROVITZ

My Old Lady

MovieCinema
ComedyDrama
Imagine Films
02/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Sometimes beautiful sceneries and solid performances are enough to create a sparkling movie. Anyone who doubts that should see My Old Lady by Israel Horovitz, who also wrote the eponymous play.

Mathias Gold (Kevin Kline) travels from New York to Paris. It is immediately obvious that Mathias has not had an easy life. He has had a drinking problem and financially things aren’t going well either. But perhaps Paris brings some relief. His recently deceased father left him a watch, some books and an apartment in the Marais. The bummer thinks he has a golden future, but in the flat lives a very old woman (Maggie Smith) of 93 who is still alive and kicking. The bad news is that his father's apartment has been purchased in the viager-way, an old French system whereby someone can only gain possession of the residence when the occupant is deceased. Mathias also discoveres that the elderly Mathilde was more than just was a tenant of his father, and what about that beautiful daughter Chloe (Kristin Scott Thomas)?

A scenario with a lot of clichés, and thus also with the necessary predictability. Yet, My Old Lady is an enjoyable movie that may have no big value, but you do have 90 minutes of vibrant cinema and that's already something, right? Kevin Kline might be doing the same thing he did twenty years ago with Meg Ryan in French Kiss, but he nevertheless remains a great actor. Of course this counts for Kristin Scott Thomas too, although she still remains for us that vengeful mother from Only God Forgives and Maggie Smith... well she''s just Maggie Smith! Where's that bottle of Beaujolais?

Didier BECU
02/12/2014


NL

Soms volstaan prachtige decors en degelijke vertolkingen om een flauw verhaaltje te laten sprankelen. Wie daar aan twijfelt moet My Old Lady van Israël Horovitz, die tevens het gelijknamige toneelstuk schreef, maar eens een kans geven.

Mathias Gold (Kevin Kline) reist van New York naar Parijs. Het wordt meteen duidelijk dat Mathias geen gemakkelijk leven heeft gehad. Hij heeft een drankprobleem achter de rug en ook financieel zit het hem niet mee. Maar misschien brengt Parijs wel soelaas. Zijn net overleden vader heeft hem een horloge, wat boeken en een appartement in de Marais nagelaten. De klaploper denkt dat zijn broodje is gebakken, maar in de flat woont een stokoude vrouw (Maggie Smith) van 93 die nog springlevend is. Het slechte nieuws is dat zijn vader het appartement op de viager-wijze heeft gekocht, een oud Frans systeem waarbij iemand pas in bezit kan komen van de woonst als de bewoonster overleden is. Mathias ontdekt ook dat de bejaarde Mathilde meer dan zo maar een huurster van zijn vader was, en wat met die knappe dochter Chloe (Kristin Scott Thomas)?

Een scenario met flink wat clichés dus en met de nodige voorspelbaarheid. Maar toch is My Old Lady een aangename film waaraan je misschien geen meerwaarde overhoudt, maar je hebt wel 90 minuten bruisende cinema gezien en dat is toch ook iets, niet? Kevin Kline doet misschien hetzelfde als wat hij twintig jaar geleden met Meg Ryan in French Kiss deed, maar hij blijft desalniettemin een heerlijke acteur. Natuurlijk geldt dat ook voor Kristin Scott Thomas, ook al blijft zij voor ons nog altijd die wraaklustige moeder uit Only God Forgives en Maggie Smith...wel die is gewoon Maggie Smith! Waar is die fles Beaujolais nu weer gebleven?

Didier BECU
02/12/2014


02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady

 

Next reviews
TERRY GILIAM • The Zero Theorem
NÖVÖ • Zeitgeist
BRETT RATNER • Hercules
REVENGE • One True Passion
ADOLF HITLER • Mein Kampf
LUC BESSON • Lucy
JAKE KASDAN • Sex Tape
NFD • Walking The Dead
BABY FIRE • The Red Robe
THE LONELY SOUL EXPERIENCE • Path Of Blood

 

Other reviews from ISRAEL HOROVITZ
ISRAEL HOROVITZ • My Old Lady

 

Same combination of genres: COMEDY + DRAMA
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
MARCO FERRERI • La Grande Bouffe
MARC FORSTER • Stranger Than Fiction
CLAUDE SAUTET • Garçon
ANTONY BURNS • Home Sweet Hell
• SILICON VALLEY SEASON 1
PAOLO VIRZI • Il Capitale Umano
THOMAS CAILLEY • Les Combattants
EMMA DANTE • Una Via A Palermo

 

Same genre: COMEDY
A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM • A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Julian Jarrold: A Royal Night Out
JEFF BAENA • Life After Beth
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
JEAN-PAUL RAPPENEAU • Tout Feu, Tout Flamme
MAX LANDIS • American Ultra
ROY ANDERSSON • A Pigeon Sat On A Branch Reflecting On Existence
PHILIPPE LE GUAY • Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage
EDOUARD MOLINARO • Le Téléphone Rose

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Thomas Bidegain: Les Cowboys
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!
29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN
29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

02
04
DIESEIN
You
01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy