tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady

ISRAEL HOROVITZ

My Old Lady

MovieCinema
ComedyDrama
Imagine Films
02/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Sometimes beautiful sceneries and solid performances are enough to create a sparkling movie. Anyone who doubts that should see My Old Lady by Israel Horovitz, who also wrote the eponymous play.

Mathias Gold (Kevin Kline) travels from New York to Paris. It is immediately obvious that Mathias has not had an easy life. He has had a drinking problem and financially things aren’t going well either. But perhaps Paris brings some relief. His recently deceased father left him a watch, some books and an apartment in the Marais. The bummer thinks he has a golden future, but in the flat lives a very old woman (Maggie Smith) of 93 who is still alive and kicking. The bad news is that his father's apartment has been purchased in the viager-way, an old French system whereby someone can only gain possession of the residence when the occupant is deceased. Mathias also discoveres that the elderly Mathilde was more than just was a tenant of his father, and what about that beautiful daughter Chloe (Kristin Scott Thomas)?

A scenario with a lot of clichés, and thus also with the necessary predictability. Yet, My Old Lady is an enjoyable movie that may have no big value, but you do have 90 minutes of vibrant cinema and that's already something, right? Kevin Kline might be doing the same thing he did twenty years ago with Meg Ryan in French Kiss, but he nevertheless remains a great actor. Of course this counts for Kristin Scott Thomas too, although she still remains for us that vengeful mother from Only God Forgives and Maggie Smith... well she''s just Maggie Smith! Where's that bottle of Beaujolais?

Didier BECU
02/12/2014


NL

Soms volstaan prachtige decors en degelijke vertolkingen om een flauw verhaaltje te laten sprankelen. Wie daar aan twijfelt moet My Old Lady van Israël Horovitz, die tevens het gelijknamige toneelstuk schreef, maar eens een kans geven.

Mathias Gold (Kevin Kline) reist van New York naar Parijs. Het wordt meteen duidelijk dat Mathias geen gemakkelijk leven heeft gehad. Hij heeft een drankprobleem achter de rug en ook financieel zit het hem niet mee. Maar misschien brengt Parijs wel soelaas. Zijn net overleden vader heeft hem een horloge, wat boeken en een appartement in de Marais nagelaten. De klaploper denkt dat zijn broodje is gebakken, maar in de flat woont een stokoude vrouw (Maggie Smith) van 93 die nog springlevend is. Het slechte nieuws is dat zijn vader het appartement op de viager-wijze heeft gekocht, een oud Frans systeem waarbij iemand pas in bezit kan komen van de woonst als de bewoonster overleden is. Mathias ontdekt ook dat de bejaarde Mathilde meer dan zo maar een huurster van zijn vader was, en wat met die knappe dochter Chloe (Kristin Scott Thomas)?

Een scenario met flink wat clichés dus en met de nodige voorspelbaarheid. Maar toch is My Old Lady een aangename film waaraan je misschien geen meerwaarde overhoudt, maar je hebt wel 90 minuten bruisende cinema gezien en dat is toch ook iets, niet? Kevin Kline doet misschien hetzelfde als wat hij twintig jaar geleden met Meg Ryan in French Kiss deed, maar hij blijft desalniettemin een heerlijke acteur. Natuurlijk geldt dat ook voor Kristin Scott Thomas, ook al blijft zij voor ons nog altijd die wraaklustige moeder uit Only God Forgives en Maggie Smith...wel die is gewoon Maggie Smith! Waar is die fles Beaujolais nu weer gebleven?

Didier BECU
02/12/2014


02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady 02/12/2014 : ISRAEL HOROVITZ - My Old Lady

 

Next reviews
TERRY GILIAM • The Zero Theorem
NÖVÖ • Zeitgeist
BRETT RATNER • Hercules
REVENGE • One True Passion
ADOLF HITLER • Mein Kampf
LUC BESSON • Lucy
JAKE KASDAN • Sex Tape
NFD • Walking The Dead
BABY FIRE • The Red Robe
THE LONELY SOUL EXPERIENCE • Path Of Blood

 

Other reviews from ISRAEL HOROVITZ
ISRAEL HOROVITZ • My Old Lady

 

Same combination of genres: COMEDY + DRAMA
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
MARCO FERRERI • La Grande Bouffe
MARC FORSTER • Stranger Than Fiction
CLAUDE SAUTET • Garçon
ANTONY BURNS • Home Sweet Hell
• SILICON VALLEY SEASON 1
PAOLO VIRZI • Il Capitale Umano
THOMAS CAILLEY • Les Combattants
EMMA DANTE • Una Via A Palermo

 

Same genre: COMEDY
A MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM • A modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Barry Levinson: Rock The Kasbah
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Julian Jarrold: A Royal Night Out
JEFF BAENA • Life After Beth
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
JEAN-PAUL RAPPENEAU • Tout Feu, Tout Flamme
MAX LANDIS • American Ultra
ROY ANDERSSON • A Pigeon Sat On A Branch Reflecting On Existence
PHILIPPE LE GUAY • Les Femmes Du 6ième Etage
EDOUARD MOLINARO • Le Téléphone Rose

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Thomas Bidegain: Les Cowboys
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her 39
02
07
New album from Xenturion Prime on Progress Productions
01
07
Legendary Goth Club ‘The Church’ Featured In Documentary Film
01
07
41 years of Incontinent by Fad Gadget!
30
06
Luscious Apparatus Addresses Rage Control With New Single
29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

30
06
AROMA DI AMORE
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
THE STRANGLERS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
STABBING WESTWARD
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
NOSFERATU
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
AESTHETIC PERFACTION
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
07
KATE BUSH
And Dream of Sheep
01
07
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize