tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/08/2011 : ISZOLOSCOPE - The Edge Of Certainty

ISZOLOSCOPE

The Edge Of Certainty

MusicCD
Dark AmbientIndustrial

[80/100]   
08/08/2011, Chris KONINGS

EN

Patience is a virtue. After a five year wait Iszoloscope brings us this new album and on top of that there are two remix albums on the way (Beyond Within and Beyond Within And So On). The two Canadians started their career at the radiostation of their university and became fascinated by dark electronic music like The Future Sound Of London and Coil. They were very productive in the first half of their career, making five albums in just as many years, along with a host of mini albums and collaborations like Camanecroszcope and Memmaker. After that they probably ended up with a major burn-out...

The Edge Of Certainty marks the result of some much needed time for themselves and deals with matters that are impossible to explain. At a certain moment you end up on that edge of certainty and logic can't seem to help us, or so Iszoloscope observes. This scetchbook of thoughts was transformed into a myriad of breaks, beats and noises, this is of course Ant-Zen material...

Diversity, complexity and effectiveness are key words for this release, there is ambient with some pounding percussion in the style of Empusae on First Trancendental Component. The dancefloor turns into a sweltering jungle with the harsh rhythmical breakbeats of Flatline Receiver, The Edge Of Certainty and When All You See Is Light. The same stuffy darkness is reached with the darkest of ambient during the second part of Trancendental. While it is an intermission in all the chaos, the eerie sounds will not give you peace of mind.

A teasing and playful piano is added on Inseperable From The Void, again stimulating your senses in yet another way. The third part of Trancendental concludes the album with ambient, erupting in electronic noise that sounds like you swirl through all the radiostations, bearing resemblance to Ambassador 21. The perfect climax!

I cannot compare it to their previous work as this was my baptism of fire. But it calls for more and I can highly recommend it.

Chris KONINGS
08/08/2011


NL

De Nederlandstalige versie vind je hier: Dark Entries Magazine.

Chris KONINGS
08/08/2011


 

Next reviews
THE TWINS • The Impossible Dream
LPF12 • A sense of loss
HANS NIESWANDT • Hans is playing house
EMPUSAE & SHINKIRO • Organic Aural Ornaments
THE PRAYER TREE • The Prayer Tree
SLEW52 • Catalog
SUNS OF ARQA • Stranger Music
JOHANN JOHANNSON • The Miner’s Hymns
THE WOLF GANG • First Blood EP
THE EXALTICS • They arrive

 

Other reviews from ISZOLOSCOPE
ISZOLOSCOPE • Coalescaremonium 2016
ISZOLOSCOPE • False Vacuum

 

Same combination of genres: DARK AMBIENT + INDUSTRIAL
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
VERNEY 1826 • The Ghosts Of Yesterday
KOMMANDO • Skull Snake
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Alcohology
SUPERSIMMETRIA • Kosmogonie
MILLIPEDE • A Mist And A Vapor
HYDRONE • Chronos
JOB KARMA • Review of the concert at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
EMPUSAE • Symbiosis
EMBERS • Lichtzwart

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
CAVERNA DELLE ROSE • Elysian Chants
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day
19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)