tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal

IVAN KAVANAGH

The Canal

Movie
Horror

[64/100]   

A-Film
07/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

We are overwhelmed with horror movies. The next one on our towering pile is The Canal by Ivan Kavanagh. This Irish filmmaker has made six films in twelve years, all small titles that do particularly well at festivals. Also The Canal did it well at the Tribeca Festival and could please many horror journalists (Fangoria).

You should not expect anything new, because The Canal is not that kind of movie, but it is better than many of its peers and the viewer can (at least if you are in for this genre) enjoy it till the end. David (Rupert Evans) is a film archivist (Kavanagh even rerecorded an old movie of Lumière from 1902). He suspects that his wife Alice (Hannah Hoekstra) is cheating on him with Alex (Carl Shaaban). As if all that were not enough, his colleague Claire (Antonia Campbell-Hughes) shows him an old movie about a brutal murder in his house, a hundred years ago. Shortly after Alice disappears. For the police, he is the prime suspect.

The Canal has the advantage that it does not seem to be forced. The film is no masterpiece, yet you notice that a skilled person is behind the camera, who also pays attention to good performances, which puts the film above the rest. Real horror movie buffs will perhaps think it is not bloody enough. The Canal is now out (on DVD) on A-Film.

Didier BECU
07/04/2015


NL

We worden om de oren geslagen met horrorfilms. Ieder distributiehuis brengt maandelijks wel zijn portie bibberprenten uit, want ook al lukt het niet om die producties in de zaal te krijgen ze zijn des te meer populair op dvd-schijfjes. De volgende die op onze torenhoge stapel ligt is The Canal van Ivan Kavanagh. Deze Ierse cineast heeft op twaalf jaar tijd al zes films gemaakt, kleine titels die het vooral goed doen op festivals. Ook zijn laatste, The Canal, deed het niet onaardig op het Tribeca Festiva,l en ook de horrorjournalisten (Fangoria) waren best te vinden voor Kavanaghs nieuwste.

Je moet je aan niks nieuws verwachten, want dat is The Canal geenszins, maar de film is beter dan heel wat van zijn soortgenoten en kan de kijker (ten minste als je voor dit genre bent) boeien tot het einde. David (Rupert Evans) is een filmarchivaris (Kavanagh heeft hiervoor zelfs een oud filmpje van Lumière uit 1902 opnieuw opgenomen). Hij verdenkt zijn vrouw Alice (Hannah Hoekstra) ervan dat zij hem met Alex (Carl Shaaban) bedriegt. Alsof dat alles nog niet genoeg is toont zijn collega Claire (Antonia Campbell-Hughes) hem een oud filmpje waaruit blijkt dat er honderd jaar geleden in zijn huis een brutale moord is gepleegd. David is ervan overtuigd dat er iets mis is met zijn huis. Kort daarna verdwijnt Alice. Voor de politie is hij de hoofdverdachte.

The Canal heeft het voordeel dat het allemaal niet te geforceerd lijkt. De film is geen meesterwerk, toch merk je dat er een vakkundig iemand achter de camera staat, die ook aandacht schenkt aan degelijke vertolkingen waardoor de film zich sowieso van de rest onderscheidt. Echte horrorfanaten zullen de film misschien net iets te braaf vinden. Juist, het is ook nooit goed! Maar goed, The Canal is vanaf nu (alleen op dvd) uit op A-Film.

Didier BECU
07/04/2015


07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal 07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal 07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal 07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal 07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal 07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal 07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal 07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal 07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal 07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal

Music reviews

20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom