tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal

IVAN KAVANAGH

The Canal

Movie
Horror

[64/100]   

A-Film
07/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

We are overwhelmed with horror movies. The next one on our towering pile is The Canal by Ivan Kavanagh. This Irish filmmaker has made six films in twelve years, all small titles that do particularly well at festivals. Also The Canal did it well at the Tribeca Festival and could please many horror journalists (Fangoria).

You should not expect anything new, because The Canal is not that kind of movie, but it is better than many of its peers and the viewer can (at least if you are in for this genre) enjoy it till the end. David (Rupert Evans) is a film archivist (Kavanagh even rerecorded an old movie of Lumière from 1902). He suspects that his wife Alice (Hannah Hoekstra) is cheating on him with Alex (Carl Shaaban). As if all that were not enough, his colleague Claire (Antonia Campbell-Hughes) shows him an old movie about a brutal murder in his house, a hundred years ago. Shortly after Alice disappears. For the police, he is the prime suspect.

The Canal has the advantage that it does not seem to be forced. The film is no masterpiece, yet you notice that a skilled person is behind the camera, who also pays attention to good performances, which puts the film above the rest. Real horror movie buffs will perhaps think it is not bloody enough. The Canal is now out (on DVD) on A-Film.

Didier BECU
07/04/2015


NL

We worden om de oren geslagen met horrorfilms. Ieder distributiehuis brengt maandelijks wel zijn portie bibberprenten uit, want ook al lukt het niet om die producties in de zaal te krijgen ze zijn des te meer populair op dvd-schijfjes. De volgende die op onze torenhoge stapel ligt is The Canal van Ivan Kavanagh. Deze Ierse cineast heeft op twaalf jaar tijd al zes films gemaakt, kleine titels die het vooral goed doen op festivals. Ook zijn laatste, The Canal, deed het niet onaardig op het Tribeca Festiva,l en ook de horrorjournalisten (Fangoria) waren best te vinden voor Kavanaghs nieuwste.

Je moet je aan niks nieuws verwachten, want dat is The Canal geenszins, maar de film is beter dan heel wat van zijn soortgenoten en kan de kijker (ten minste als je voor dit genre bent) boeien tot het einde. David (Rupert Evans) is een filmarchivaris (Kavanagh heeft hiervoor zelfs een oud filmpje van Lumière uit 1902 opnieuw opgenomen). Hij verdenkt zijn vrouw Alice (Hannah Hoekstra) ervan dat zij hem met Alex (Carl Shaaban) bedriegt. Alsof dat alles nog niet genoeg is toont zijn collega Claire (Antonia Campbell-Hughes) hem een oud filmpje waaruit blijkt dat er honderd jaar geleden in zijn huis een brutale moord is gepleegd. David is ervan overtuigd dat er iets mis is met zijn huis. Kort daarna verdwijnt Alice. Voor de politie is hij de hoofdverdachte.

The Canal heeft het voordeel dat het allemaal niet te geforceerd lijkt. De film is geen meesterwerk, toch merk je dat er een vakkundig iemand achter de camera staat, die ook aandacht schenkt aan degelijke vertolkingen waardoor de film zich sowieso van de rest onderscheidt. Echte horrorfanaten zullen de film misschien net iets te braaf vinden. Juist, het is ook nooit goed! Maar goed, The Canal is vanaf nu (alleen op dvd) uit op A-Film.

Didier BECU
07/04/2015


07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal 07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal 07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal 07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal 07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal 07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal 07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal 07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal 07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal 07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'
06
04
MARROWVOLTAGE
There is always a strong, dominating motif behind any of our songs. A feeling, a powerful association. For example, the gravitational force of an abyss underneath you. The movement of mighty and elegant creatures in the

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf