tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal

IVAN KAVANAGH

The Canal

Movie
Horror

[64/100]   

A-Film
07/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

We are overwhelmed with horror movies. The next one on our towering pile is The Canal by Ivan Kavanagh. This Irish filmmaker has made six films in twelve years, all small titles that do particularly well at festivals. Also The Canal did it well at the Tribeca Festival and could please many horror journalists (Fangoria).

You should not expect anything new, because The Canal is not that kind of movie, but it is better than many of its peers and the viewer can (at least if you are in for this genre) enjoy it till the end. David (Rupert Evans) is a film archivist (Kavanagh even rerecorded an old movie of Lumière from 1902). He suspects that his wife Alice (Hannah Hoekstra) is cheating on him with Alex (Carl Shaaban). As if all that were not enough, his colleague Claire (Antonia Campbell-Hughes) shows him an old movie about a brutal murder in his house, a hundred years ago. Shortly after Alice disappears. For the police, he is the prime suspect.

The Canal has the advantage that it does not seem to be forced. The film is no masterpiece, yet you notice that a skilled person is behind the camera, who also pays attention to good performances, which puts the film above the rest. Real horror movie buffs will perhaps think it is not bloody enough. The Canal is now out (on DVD) on A-Film.

Didier BECU
07/04/2015


NL

We worden om de oren geslagen met horrorfilms. Ieder distributiehuis brengt maandelijks wel zijn portie bibberprenten uit, want ook al lukt het niet om die producties in de zaal te krijgen ze zijn des te meer populair op dvd-schijfjes. De volgende die op onze torenhoge stapel ligt is The Canal van Ivan Kavanagh. Deze Ierse cineast heeft op twaalf jaar tijd al zes films gemaakt, kleine titels die het vooral goed doen op festivals. Ook zijn laatste, The Canal, deed het niet onaardig op het Tribeca Festiva,l en ook de horrorjournalisten (Fangoria) waren best te vinden voor Kavanaghs nieuwste.

Je moet je aan niks nieuws verwachten, want dat is The Canal geenszins, maar de film is beter dan heel wat van zijn soortgenoten en kan de kijker (ten minste als je voor dit genre bent) boeien tot het einde. David (Rupert Evans) is een filmarchivaris (Kavanagh heeft hiervoor zelfs een oud filmpje van Lumière uit 1902 opnieuw opgenomen). Hij verdenkt zijn vrouw Alice (Hannah Hoekstra) ervan dat zij hem met Alex (Carl Shaaban) bedriegt. Alsof dat alles nog niet genoeg is toont zijn collega Claire (Antonia Campbell-Hughes) hem een oud filmpje waaruit blijkt dat er honderd jaar geleden in zijn huis een brutale moord is gepleegd. David is ervan overtuigd dat er iets mis is met zijn huis. Kort daarna verdwijnt Alice. Voor de politie is hij de hoofdverdachte.

The Canal heeft het voordeel dat het allemaal niet te geforceerd lijkt. De film is geen meesterwerk, toch merk je dat er een vakkundig iemand achter de camera staat, die ook aandacht schenkt aan degelijke vertolkingen waardoor de film zich sowieso van de rest onderscheidt. Echte horrorfanaten zullen de film misschien net iets te braaf vinden. Juist, het is ook nooit goed! Maar goed, The Canal is vanaf nu (alleen op dvd) uit op A-Film.

Didier BECU
07/04/2015


07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal 07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal 07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal 07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal 07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal 07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal 07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal 07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal 07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal 07/04/2015 : IVAN KAVANAGH - The Canal

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
12
05
PRAGA KHAN
YAP Leopoldsburg
05
05
DER KLINKE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures
14
05
IN DEATH IT ENDS
the most holy death