tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man

JACK FISK

Raggedy Man

MovieMovie classics
Drama

[73/100]   

Universal Pictures
27/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

In our classic series we especially like to mention movies that are totally forgotten. Not because we think we're so special, but what can be written about Citizen Kane what hasn't been written yet? You won't find that many articles about Raggedy Man. Shame, because this film by Jack Fisk is definitely one to remember.

Fisk means perhaps nothing as a director, but besides being the husband of lead actress Sissy Spacek, he is best known as a production designer of masterpieces like Mulholland Dr., The Master or There Will Be Blood. You can see that in this movie. Although the story itself is paper thin, you rarely saw the desolate atmosphere of Texas during World War II so beautiful as in Raggedy Man. It is indeed the atmospherethat counts, although it is beautifully decorated with the acting talent of Sissy Spacek, who was looking for a perfect role after she starred in Robert Altman's 3 Women. Spacek plays the role of Nita, who along with her two children (one of them was Henry Thomas, who would show mercy on ET a year later) has been abandoned by her husband. Most men are somewhere at the war front, she only get the interest of local drunks. To earn a living, she works at a telephone company. It's a hellish job because most calls are about fallen soldiers. Suddenly a sailor (Eric Roberts) comes out of the blue. Nita is in love, but is condemned from the first second by the population.

Although you have to search in the footnotes to find something about Raggedy Man, the movie remains a wonderful example of what a natural Spacek is. Because of her appearance (and perhaps also because of Carrie) she has the ideal face to play an unstable woman. You see an actress with a huge talent who became one of the most important actresses of the 80's. Also Eric Roberts does a great job, although a year later, after the brilliant Star 80 flopped, he ended quite quickly in B-movies. If you have the chance to see Raggedy Man, then do,it! It is no coincidence that Fisk later worked on To The Wonder by Terrence Malick.

Didier BECU
27/04/2015


NL

In onze klassiekerreeks hebben we het graag over films waarvan geen kat nog het bestaan weet. Niet omdat we hoog van de toren willen blazen, maar wat kan er bijv. nog over Citizen Kane worden toegevoegd wat nog niet is geschreven? Over Raggedy Man zul je heel wat minder schrijfsels vinden. Jammer, want deze film van Jack Fisk is er eentje om te onthouden.

Fisk betekent misschien niets als regisseur, maar naast echtgenote van hoofdrolspeelster Sissy Spacek is hij vooral bekend als production designer van meesterwerken als Mulholland Dr., The Master of There Will Be Blood. En dat zie je, want alhoewel het verhaal flinterdun is, kon je zelden zo mooi de desolate sfeer van Texas tijdens de Tweede Wereldoorlog zien als dat in Raggedy Man het geval is. Het is inderdaad een drama dat het van de sfeer moet hebben, dat weliswaar mooi wordt aangevuld met het acteertalent van Sissy Spacek, die na haar rol in 3 Women van Robert Altman op zoek was naar de ideale rol om zich te bevestigen. Spacek vertolkt de rol van Nita, die samen met haar twee kinderen (eentje daarvan was Henry Thomas die zich een jaar later over E.T. zou ontfermen) door haar man is achtergelaten. De meeste mannen zitten ergens aan het front, en ze krijgtt alleen maar interesse van lokale dronkenlappen. Om de kost te verdienen werkt ze bij een telefoonmaatschappij. Het is een helse job want de meeste telefoontjes gaan over gesneuvelde soldaten. Plots duikt er een matroos (Eric Roberts) op. Nita is wel verliefd, maar wordt vanaf de eerste seconde door de bevolking veroordeeld.

Ofschoon je al in de voetnoten moet zoeken om iets over Raggedy Man te vinden, blijft de film een prachtig illustratie van wat een natuurtalent Spacek wel is. Door haar uiterlijk (en wellicht ook door Carrie) heeft ze het ideale snoetje om een sloor te spelen, toch zie je in de eerste plaats een actrice die barst van het talent (en waardoor zij één van de belangrijkste actrices uit de jaren 80 is geworden). Ook Eric Roberts schittert, alhoewel die een jaar later na het floppen van de geniale Star 80 vrij vlug in B-films belandde. Als je de kans hebt, moet je Raggedy Man meepikken, het is geen toeval dat Fisk meewerkte aan To The Wonder van de onnavolgbare Terrence Malick.

Didier BECU
27/04/2015


27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap