tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man

JACK FISK

Raggedy Man

MovieMovie classics
Drama

[73/100]   

Universal Pictures
27/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

In our classic series we especially like to mention movies that are totally forgotten. Not because we think we're so special, but what can be written about Citizen Kane what hasn't been written yet? You won't find that many articles about Raggedy Man. Shame, because this film by Jack Fisk is definitely one to remember.

Fisk means perhaps nothing as a director, but besides being the husband of lead actress Sissy Spacek, he is best known as a production designer of masterpieces like Mulholland Dr., The Master or There Will Be Blood. You can see that in this movie. Although the story itself is paper thin, you rarely saw the desolate atmosphere of Texas during World War II so beautiful as in Raggedy Man. It is indeed the atmospherethat counts, although it is beautifully decorated with the acting talent of Sissy Spacek, who was looking for a perfect role after she starred in Robert Altman's 3 Women. Spacek plays the role of Nita, who along with her two children (one of them was Henry Thomas, who would show mercy on ET a year later) has been abandoned by her husband. Most men are somewhere at the war front, she only get the interest of local drunks. To earn a living, she works at a telephone company. It's a hellish job because most calls are about fallen soldiers. Suddenly a sailor (Eric Roberts) comes out of the blue. Nita is in love, but is condemned from the first second by the population.

Although you have to search in the footnotes to find something about Raggedy Man, the movie remains a wonderful example of what a natural Spacek is. Because of her appearance (and perhaps also because of Carrie) she has the ideal face to play an unstable woman. You see an actress with a huge talent who became one of the most important actresses of the 80's. Also Eric Roberts does a great job, although a year later, after the brilliant Star 80 flopped, he ended quite quickly in B-movies. If you have the chance to see Raggedy Man, then do,it! It is no coincidence that Fisk later worked on To The Wonder by Terrence Malick.

Didier BECU
27/04/2015


NL

In onze klassiekerreeks hebben we het graag over films waarvan geen kat nog het bestaan weet. Niet omdat we hoog van de toren willen blazen, maar wat kan er bijv. nog over Citizen Kane worden toegevoegd wat nog niet is geschreven? Over Raggedy Man zul je heel wat minder schrijfsels vinden. Jammer, want deze film van Jack Fisk is er eentje om te onthouden.

Fisk betekent misschien niets als regisseur, maar naast echtgenote van hoofdrolspeelster Sissy Spacek is hij vooral bekend als production designer van meesterwerken als Mulholland Dr., The Master of There Will Be Blood. En dat zie je, want alhoewel het verhaal flinterdun is, kon je zelden zo mooi de desolate sfeer van Texas tijdens de Tweede Wereldoorlog zien als dat in Raggedy Man het geval is. Het is inderdaad een drama dat het van de sfeer moet hebben, dat weliswaar mooi wordt aangevuld met het acteertalent van Sissy Spacek, die na haar rol in 3 Women van Robert Altman op zoek was naar de ideale rol om zich te bevestigen. Spacek vertolkt de rol van Nita, die samen met haar twee kinderen (eentje daarvan was Henry Thomas die zich een jaar later over E.T. zou ontfermen) door haar man is achtergelaten. De meeste mannen zitten ergens aan het front, en ze krijgtt alleen maar interesse van lokale dronkenlappen. Om de kost te verdienen werkt ze bij een telefoonmaatschappij. Het is een helse job want de meeste telefoontjes gaan over gesneuvelde soldaten. Plots duikt er een matroos (Eric Roberts) op. Nita is wel verliefd, maar wordt vanaf de eerste seconde door de bevolking veroordeeld.

Ofschoon je al in de voetnoten moet zoeken om iets over Raggedy Man te vinden, blijft de film een prachtig illustratie van wat een natuurtalent Spacek wel is. Door haar uiterlijk (en wellicht ook door Carrie) heeft ze het ideale snoetje om een sloor te spelen, toch zie je in de eerste plaats een actrice die barst van het talent (en waardoor zij één van de belangrijkste actrices uit de jaren 80 is geworden). Ook Eric Roberts schittert, alhoewel die een jaar later na het floppen van de geniale Star 80 vrij vlug in B-films belandde. Als je de kans hebt, moet je Raggedy Man meepikken, het is geen toeval dat Fisk meewerkte aan To The Wonder van de onnavolgbare Terrence Malick.

Didier BECU
27/04/2015


27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man

Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel
24
09
CHRISTIAN DEATH
South of Heaven Bilzen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets