tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man

JACK FISK

Raggedy Man

MovieMovie classics
Drama

[73/100]   

Universal Pictures
27/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

In our classic series we especially like to mention movies that are totally forgotten. Not because we think we're so special, but what can be written about Citizen Kane what hasn't been written yet? You won't find that many articles about Raggedy Man. Shame, because this film by Jack Fisk is definitely one to remember.

Fisk means perhaps nothing as a director, but besides being the husband of lead actress Sissy Spacek, he is best known as a production designer of masterpieces like Mulholland Dr., The Master or There Will Be Blood. You can see that in this movie. Although the story itself is paper thin, you rarely saw the desolate atmosphere of Texas during World War II so beautiful as in Raggedy Man. It is indeed the atmospherethat counts, although it is beautifully decorated with the acting talent of Sissy Spacek, who was looking for a perfect role after she starred in Robert Altman's 3 Women. Spacek plays the role of Nita, who along with her two children (one of them was Henry Thomas, who would show mercy on ET a year later) has been abandoned by her husband. Most men are somewhere at the war front, she only get the interest of local drunks. To earn a living, she works at a telephone company. It's a hellish job because most calls are about fallen soldiers. Suddenly a sailor (Eric Roberts) comes out of the blue. Nita is in love, but is condemned from the first second by the population.

Although you have to search in the footnotes to find something about Raggedy Man, the movie remains a wonderful example of what a natural Spacek is. Because of her appearance (and perhaps also because of Carrie) she has the ideal face to play an unstable woman. You see an actress with a huge talent who became one of the most important actresses of the 80's. Also Eric Roberts does a great job, although a year later, after the brilliant Star 80 flopped, he ended quite quickly in B-movies. If you have the chance to see Raggedy Man, then do,it! It is no coincidence that Fisk later worked on To The Wonder by Terrence Malick.

Didier BECU
27/04/2015


NL

In onze klassiekerreeks hebben we het graag over films waarvan geen kat nog het bestaan weet. Niet omdat we hoog van de toren willen blazen, maar wat kan er bijv. nog over Citizen Kane worden toegevoegd wat nog niet is geschreven? Over Raggedy Man zul je heel wat minder schrijfsels vinden. Jammer, want deze film van Jack Fisk is er eentje om te onthouden.

Fisk betekent misschien niets als regisseur, maar naast echtgenote van hoofdrolspeelster Sissy Spacek is hij vooral bekend als production designer van meesterwerken als Mulholland Dr., The Master of There Will Be Blood. En dat zie je, want alhoewel het verhaal flinterdun is, kon je zelden zo mooi de desolate sfeer van Texas tijdens de Tweede Wereldoorlog zien als dat in Raggedy Man het geval is. Het is inderdaad een drama dat het van de sfeer moet hebben, dat weliswaar mooi wordt aangevuld met het acteertalent van Sissy Spacek, die na haar rol in 3 Women van Robert Altman op zoek was naar de ideale rol om zich te bevestigen. Spacek vertolkt de rol van Nita, die samen met haar twee kinderen (eentje daarvan was Henry Thomas die zich een jaar later over E.T. zou ontfermen) door haar man is achtergelaten. De meeste mannen zitten ergens aan het front, en ze krijgtt alleen maar interesse van lokale dronkenlappen. Om de kost te verdienen werkt ze bij een telefoonmaatschappij. Het is een helse job want de meeste telefoontjes gaan over gesneuvelde soldaten. Plots duikt er een matroos (Eric Roberts) op. Nita is wel verliefd, maar wordt vanaf de eerste seconde door de bevolking veroordeeld.

Ofschoon je al in de voetnoten moet zoeken om iets over Raggedy Man te vinden, blijft de film een prachtig illustratie van wat een natuurtalent Spacek wel is. Door haar uiterlijk (en wellicht ook door Carrie) heeft ze het ideale snoetje om een sloor te spelen, toch zie je in de eerste plaats een actrice die barst van het talent (en waardoor zij één van de belangrijkste actrices uit de jaren 80 is geworden). Ook Eric Roberts schittert, alhoewel die een jaar later na het floppen van de geniale Star 80 vrij vlug in B-films belandde. Als je de kans hebt, moet je Raggedy Man meepikken, het is geen toeval dat Fisk meewerkte aan To The Wonder van de onnavolgbare Terrence Malick.

Didier BECU
27/04/2015


27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo