tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man

JACK FISK

Raggedy Man

MovieMovie classics
Drama

[73/100]   

Universal Pictures
27/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

In our classic series we especially like to mention movies that are totally forgotten. Not because we think we're so special, but what can be written about Citizen Kane what hasn't been written yet? You won't find that many articles about Raggedy Man. Shame, because this film by Jack Fisk is definitely one to remember.

Fisk means perhaps nothing as a director, but besides being the husband of lead actress Sissy Spacek, he is best known as a production designer of masterpieces like Mulholland Dr., The Master or There Will Be Blood. You can see that in this movie. Although the story itself is paper thin, you rarely saw the desolate atmosphere of Texas during World War II so beautiful as in Raggedy Man. It is indeed the atmospherethat counts, although it is beautifully decorated with the acting talent of Sissy Spacek, who was looking for a perfect role after she starred in Robert Altman's 3 Women. Spacek plays the role of Nita, who along with her two children (one of them was Henry Thomas, who would show mercy on ET a year later) has been abandoned by her husband. Most men are somewhere at the war front, she only get the interest of local drunks. To earn a living, she works at a telephone company. It's a hellish job because most calls are about fallen soldiers. Suddenly a sailor (Eric Roberts) comes out of the blue. Nita is in love, but is condemned from the first second by the population.

Although you have to search in the footnotes to find something about Raggedy Man, the movie remains a wonderful example of what a natural Spacek is. Because of her appearance (and perhaps also because of Carrie) she has the ideal face to play an unstable woman. You see an actress with a huge talent who became one of the most important actresses of the 80's. Also Eric Roberts does a great job, although a year later, after the brilliant Star 80 flopped, he ended quite quickly in B-movies. If you have the chance to see Raggedy Man, then do,it! It is no coincidence that Fisk later worked on To The Wonder by Terrence Malick.

Didier BECU
27/04/2015


NL

In onze klassiekerreeks hebben we het graag over films waarvan geen kat nog het bestaan weet. Niet omdat we hoog van de toren willen blazen, maar wat kan er bijv. nog over Citizen Kane worden toegevoegd wat nog niet is geschreven? Over Raggedy Man zul je heel wat minder schrijfsels vinden. Jammer, want deze film van Jack Fisk is er eentje om te onthouden.

Fisk betekent misschien niets als regisseur, maar naast echtgenote van hoofdrolspeelster Sissy Spacek is hij vooral bekend als production designer van meesterwerken als Mulholland Dr., The Master of There Will Be Blood. En dat zie je, want alhoewel het verhaal flinterdun is, kon je zelden zo mooi de desolate sfeer van Texas tijdens de Tweede Wereldoorlog zien als dat in Raggedy Man het geval is. Het is inderdaad een drama dat het van de sfeer moet hebben, dat weliswaar mooi wordt aangevuld met het acteertalent van Sissy Spacek, die na haar rol in 3 Women van Robert Altman op zoek was naar de ideale rol om zich te bevestigen. Spacek vertolkt de rol van Nita, die samen met haar twee kinderen (eentje daarvan was Henry Thomas die zich een jaar later over E.T. zou ontfermen) door haar man is achtergelaten. De meeste mannen zitten ergens aan het front, en ze krijgtt alleen maar interesse van lokale dronkenlappen. Om de kost te verdienen werkt ze bij een telefoonmaatschappij. Het is een helse job want de meeste telefoontjes gaan over gesneuvelde soldaten. Plots duikt er een matroos (Eric Roberts) op. Nita is wel verliefd, maar wordt vanaf de eerste seconde door de bevolking veroordeeld.

Ofschoon je al in de voetnoten moet zoeken om iets over Raggedy Man te vinden, blijft de film een prachtig illustratie van wat een natuurtalent Spacek wel is. Door haar uiterlijk (en wellicht ook door Carrie) heeft ze het ideale snoetje om een sloor te spelen, toch zie je in de eerste plaats een actrice die barst van het talent (en waardoor zij één van de belangrijkste actrices uit de jaren 80 is geworden). Ook Eric Roberts schittert, alhoewel die een jaar later na het floppen van de geniale Star 80 vrij vlug in B-films belandde. Als je de kans hebt, moet je Raggedy Man meepikken, het is geen toeval dat Fisk meewerkte aan To The Wonder van de onnavolgbare Terrence Malick.

Didier BECU
27/04/2015


27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man 27/04/2015 : JACK FISK - Raggedy Man

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)