tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

26/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Les vacances de M.Hulot

JACQUES TATI

Les vacances de M.Hulot

MovieMovie classics


[95/100]   

Lumire
26/03/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Some days ago we introduced with Jour De Fête the start of our Tati-special (of course because of the release of the DVD- and Blu-raybox on Lumière). The logic sequel is of course Les Vacances de monsieur Hulot from 1953. Not only was this movie a milestone for cinema in general (some say it was the prequel of the nouvelle vague), but also for Tati’s career.


There are of course the magnificent cinematographic merits, but Tati also introduced in here his world famous Mr. Hulot-type. While Chaplin would be the eternal tramp, Tati turned himself into a lonely middle class man who evokes both pity and disgust. With his trenchcoat, pipe, too short trousers and weird hat Hulot tries to conquer a place in the high society, but no one accepts him. Not only because he acts like a nerd, but also because he understands nothing about the world that is surrounding him. It would become of one Tati’s most beloved themes and that’s probably why from 1953 on the genius and Mr. Hulot would be eternal friends.

There’s absolutely no point in seeking a story in Les Vacances de monsieur Hulot, simply because there isn’t one. The viewer has to use his eye in all scenes as a Tati-movie feels like an acceptable form of voyeurism. Imagine yourself sitting on a terrace while you’re peeking at the others and their stupidities: that’s how a Tati-movie feels like! Apart from the critic eye on modern’s society, the director also uses a lot of slapstick. It’s clear that in Saint-Marc-sur-Mer (the village in where these days you can find the Tati-statue) Hulot doesn’t fit in the place. He tries hard to join the club, but he’s not welcome.

Les Vacances de monsieur Hulot is a cinematographic orgasm, not in the least because of the excellent black and white photography, but also because of the terrific jazzy score from Alain Roman. The movie is not only a visual spectacle, you never get bored of it or just what you expect from a masterpiece. Besides, the more you look at it, the more you discover! Five years later Tati would work for the very first time with colours in Mon Oncle. Another winner as the director received an Oscar for Best Foreign Picture with that. That's a story we will reveal in a couple of days....

Didier BECU
26/03/2014


NL

Een paar dagen geleden gaven we met Jour De Fête het startschot van onze Tati-special (en dit natuurlijk naar aanleiding van de onlangs verschenen dvd- en Blu-raybox op Lumière). Natuurlijk is Les Vacances de monsieur Hulot uit 1953 daarvan het logische vervolg. De film was niet alleen baanbrekend voor de cinema (sommige critici zagen deze prent immers als de voorloper van de nouvelle vague), maar ook voor Tati’s carrière.


Dat heeft niet alleen met het verbluffende cinematografische karakter van deze satire (want dat is het!) te maken, ook het Hulot-typetje doet daarbij zijn gekende duit in het zakje. Ging zijn Amerikaanse tegenpool Chaplin eeuwig als vagebond de filmgeschiedenis in, zou Tati een burgermannetje worden dat zowel onze walging of medelijden opwekt. Met zijn onafscheidelijke regenjas, pijpje, te korte broek en vreemd hoedje probeert Hulot zijn plaatsje tussen de betere burgers te veroveren, maar niemand aanvaardt hem. Dat komt niet alleen doordat hij als onbeholpen slungel voor de nodige tumult zorgt, ook omdat deze eenzaat niets van de wereld rondom hem begrijpt. De mens die de moderne technologie niet snapt bleef (net zoals in zijn debuut) één van de hoofdthema’s van dit genie en het is wellicht ook wegens deze reden waarom vanaf 1953 Jacques Tati en Mr. Hulot zo’n onafscheidelijke vrienden werden.


Wat je vooral niet moet doen is in Les Vacances de monsieur Hulot een verhaal zoeken, want dat is er niet. Wel moet je als kijker je ogen de kost geven naar alles wat er gebeurt. Noem het een aanvaardbare vorm van voyeurisme of wat dan ook, maar een Tati-film geeft je net hetzelfde gevoel alsof je op een terrasje zit en je medemens (en diens stommiteiten) bekijkt. Naast kritiek op de huidige maatschappij gooit Tati er ook geregeld wat slapstick in. Een mooi voorbeeldje daarvan is de scène waarin zijn kano dichtklapt, dat trouwens in de jaren 60 schaamteloos (of is het een eerbetoon?) door Louis De Funès in Le Petit Baigneur werd nagespeeld.


In het kuststadje Saint-Marc-sur-Mer (waar nu trouwens een Tati-standbeeld staat) valt het overduidelijk op dat Hulot de vreemde eend in de bijt is. De arme drommel wil wel bij het selecte clubje horen, maar je voelt dat hij niet welkom is.


Les Vacances de monsieur Hulot is tevens een cinematografisch orgasme, niet in het minst door de voortreffelijke zwart-witfotografie en de onvergetelijke jazzy score van Alain Roman. De film is niet alleen een visueel spektakel, je raakt hem ook nooit beu en net zoals dat bij een echt meesterwerk het geval is, ontdek je keer op keer details die je voorheen niet zag. Een onverwoestbaar filmmonument dat vijf jaar later zou worden voortgezet met Mon Oncle: Tati’s eerste goochelkunsten met kleuren waarmee hij de Oscar voor Beste Buitenlandse Film won. Het verhaal daarvan lees je binnen een paar dagen...

Didier BECU
26/03/2014


26/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Les vacances de M.Hulot 26/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Les vacances de M.Hulot 26/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Les vacances de M.Hulot 26/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Les vacances de M.Hulot 26/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Les vacances de M.Hulot 26/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Les vacances de M.Hulot 26/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Les vacances de M.Hulot 26/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Les vacances de M.Hulot 26/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Les vacances de M.Hulot 26/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Les vacances de M.Hulot 26/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Les vacances de M.Hulot 26/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Les vacances de M.Hulot 26/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Les vacances de M.Hulot 26/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Les vacances de M.Hulot 26/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Les vacances de M.Hulot 26/03/2014 : JACQUES TATI - Les vacances de M.Hulot

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion