tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

13/07/2011 : JAH WOBBLE'S INVADERS OF THE HEART - Take me to God

JAH WOBBLE'S INVADERS OF THE HEART

Take me to God

MusicCD


[75/100]   

Cherry Red Records
13/07/2011, Didier BECU

If they ever ask you to name the most influential bass-player in the world, it will be rather hard deciding on Peter Hook or Jah Wobble.

According to the legend of things, Jah (born as John Joseph Wardle) and was once of the famous list of people that should replace Glen Matlock but it would only be in 1978 that he would join John Lydon, becoming bassist of PIL.

Not the easiest of years as alcohol ruled Jah back then, but the Londoner was gifted enough to give this world two albums that would be enormously influential. There are even lots of music lovers who dare to claim, PIL's second album "Metal Box", as one of the best albums ever.


However, the romance was rather short and Wobble soon left PIL. He teamed up with notorious musicians such as Can-legend Holger Czukay to front The Human Condition but it would only be from 1983 on, that his solo career would launch him, by fronting the legendary Jah Wobble & The Invaders From The Heart.

Jah might be famous for his new wave classic “How Much Are They?” but as soon as the 90’s arrived, he teamed up with some great chart superstars like Sinead O’Connor.

“Take me to God” was released in 1994 and it’s still the most successful album in his career and you can be sure that the collaboration from Dolores O’Riordan from The Cranberries has a lot to do with that as back then everything she touched turned to gold.

Anyway, it would be unfair to judge this album only on the basis of some nice forgotten hits from the 90’s. As you can hear perfectly in tracks like “I’m an Algerian”, “Whiskey Priests” or “Yoga Of The Nightclub” Jah's direction was getting quite good.

Some years later Jah would turn totally his back against his past to concentrate himself on his 30 Hertz-label that is famous for its Chinese dub.

On this reissue you get a bonus disc containing 16 tracks which were then recorded but never made it onto the hit album and lovers from dubreggae will lick their fingers as you’ll find plenty of gems here.

“Take me to God” was of course never the best album Wobble made and it never will be but this Cherry Red reissue also puts an album in the spotlight that is more than just some album from the 90’s.

 Okay, that Dolores-duet can always be skipped not that I will do that!

 

 

 

 

Didier BECU
13/07/2011


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis