tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

19/02/2014 : JAMES FRANCO - As I lay dying

JAMES FRANCO

As I lay dying

Movie
Drama

[70/100]   

E1
19/02/2014, Didier BECU

EN

These days it seems like every actor wants to prove he's a director as well. At the latest edition from the Filmfestival of Ghent we saw two hot stars presenting their directing debut. First of all there was Joseph-Gordon Levitt who presented the light (but delightful) comedy Don Jon, and there was James Franco as well. Franco went further much further as he chooses the adaption of the American classic novel As I Lay Dying by Nobel Prize-winner William Faulkner. Some said this novel was impossible to film, but Franco laughed this fact away. You can't say the result was a huge success, but at least Franco got the respect from various critics and his debut was even selected for the famous Un Certain Regard-award in Cannes. And be honest, who would have thought that?


Franco didn't make it himself that easy as he wasn't afraid to experiment. The hard truth is that this graces him, but at the same time it's also why the movie fails at times. The most bizarre mystery is why he chooses to direct almost the whole movie with annoying split-screens. It's certainly done because in this way the viewer has access to different angles, the other truth is that he looses his attention. A pity, as the story itself is simply stunning.


America during the 20's. The area around the Mississippi is drenched into poverty. Darl Bundren (James Franco) just lost his mother and the young redneck is convinced that he wants to bring her dead body to nearby town Jefferson. Along with his brothers, Bundren makes a hard journey that is full of tragedies. But even when death is peeping around every corner, he won't change his mind: at all costs his mother has to be buried in Jefferson.


Some critics were complaining that the acting was poor, but that's a senseless remark. It takes indeed a while to get ease seeing a comic like Danny McBride performing a serious character, but the truth is that the cast played more than decent. Of course with Franco on top, but it'd be better though if he would have stick as director to a more traditional approach, as novelty can kill.


Fans from Franco who have no sense of adventure will be disappointed, those with an open mind will probably be glad their idol has crossed some limits.


As I Lay Dying is out on DVD on Entertainment One.

 

 

Didier BECU
19/02/2014


NL

Het is tegenwoordig wat met acteurs die zelf een film willen regisseren. Tijdens de laatste editie van het Filmfestival van Gent zagen we twee steracteurs die zelf achter de camera's kropen. Joseph-Gordon Levitt nam het vederlichte (maar heerlijke) Don Jon op, terwijl James Franco het wat verder zocht. Zijn oog viel op de Amerikaanse klassieker As I Lay Dying van Nobelprijswinnaar William Faulkner. Menig filmmaker beschouwde de roman tot dusver als gewoonweg niet te verfilmen, doch beet Franco door. De bioscoopzalen liepen wel niet meteen vol voor zijn bewerking, maar Franco kreeg wel het nodige respect van heel wat critici en slaagde er zelfs in om in Cannes mee te dingen naar de begeerde Un Certain Regard-prijs. En geef toe, dat had je niet meteen van hem verwacht, niet?


Franco heeft het zichzelf niet gemakkelijk gemaakt, want ook al is het scenario gebaseerd op een traditioneel Amerikaans volksdrama, schuwt de jonge cineast op geen enkel ogenblik het experiment. De waarheid is evenwel dat hij daar ook regelmatig over struikelt. Zo blijft het gissen naar de reden waarom Franco bijna de gehele film met split-screens heeft opgenomen. Het zal natuurlijk wel bedoeld zijn om de kijker de mogelijkheid te geven om het verhaal vanuit verschillende perspectieven te kunnen gadeslaan, de andere waarheid is ook dat hij daardoor de aandacht verliest. Helaas, want het verhaal is ronduit verbijsterend.


Amerika, de jaren 20. De streek rond de Mississippi kreunt onder de armoede. Darl Bundren (James Franco) heeft net zijn moeder verloren en besluit om haar lijk naar het nabijgelegen dorpje Jefferson te begraven. Samen met zijn broers maakt Bundren de moeizame tocht. Zij worden door allerlei tragedies geteisterd, maar hun besluit staat vast: hun moeder zal in Jefferson worden begraven, ook al kost dat hun eigen leven.


Menig critici hekelen de film wegens de ondermaatse acteerprestaties, maar daar is niks van aan. Het blijft wel wat wennen om bijv. komiek Danny McBride plotseling een serieuze rol te zien spelen, desalniettemin doet iedereen zijn best. Misschien zelfs een beetje te veel, vooral dan Franco als regisseur. Door zijn film te willen onderscheiden van de grote massa, vergaloppeert de steracteur zich regelmatig. Nu goed, een meesterwerk is het geenszins geworden en misschien had Faulkner beter verdiend, in ieder geval heeft hij bewezen dat hij ook als cineast zijn mannetje kan staan. Heel wat Franco-fans zullen na een paar minuten afhaken, filmfans die van wanten weten en ook al eens door de storm durven te lopen zullen As I Lay Dying op zijn minst weten te appreciëren.


As I Lay Dying is nu uit op dvd via Entertainment One

Didier BECU
19/02/2014


19/02/2014 : JAMES FRANCO - As I lay dying 19/02/2014 : JAMES FRANCO - As I lay dying 19/02/2014 : JAMES FRANCO - As I lay dying 19/02/2014 : JAMES FRANCO - As I lay dying 19/02/2014 : JAMES FRANCO - As I lay dying 19/02/2014 : JAMES FRANCO - As I lay dying 19/02/2014 : JAMES FRANCO - As I lay dying 19/02/2014 : JAMES FRANCO - As I lay dying 19/02/2014 : JAMES FRANCO - As I lay dying 19/02/2014 : JAMES FRANCO - As I lay dying 19/02/2014 : JAMES FRANCO - As I lay dying

Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
THE VELVET UNDERGROUND & NICO
21
10
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
20
10
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)