tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

19/02/2014 : JAMES FRANCO - As I lay dying

JAMES FRANCO

As I lay dying

Movie
Drama

[70/100]   

E1
19/02/2014, Didier BECU

EN

These days it seems like every actor wants to prove he's a director as well. At the latest edition from the Filmfestival of Ghent we saw two hot stars presenting their directing debut. First of all there was Joseph-Gordon Levitt who presented the light (but delightful) comedy Don Jon, and there was James Franco as well. Franco went further much further as he chooses the adaption of the American classic novel As I Lay Dying by Nobel Prize-winner William Faulkner. Some said this novel was impossible to film, but Franco laughed this fact away. You can't say the result was a huge success, but at least Franco got the respect from various critics and his debut was even selected for the famous Un Certain Regard-award in Cannes. And be honest, who would have thought that?


Franco didn't make it himself that easy as he wasn't afraid to experiment. The hard truth is that this graces him, but at the same time it's also why the movie fails at times. The most bizarre mystery is why he chooses to direct almost the whole movie with annoying split-screens. It's certainly done because in this way the viewer has access to different angles, the other truth is that he looses his attention. A pity, as the story itself is simply stunning.


America during the 20's. The area around the Mississippi is drenched into poverty. Darl Bundren (James Franco) just lost his mother and the young redneck is convinced that he wants to bring her dead body to nearby town Jefferson. Along with his brothers, Bundren makes a hard journey that is full of tragedies. But even when death is peeping around every corner, he won't change his mind: at all costs his mother has to be buried in Jefferson.


Some critics were complaining that the acting was poor, but that's a senseless remark. It takes indeed a while to get ease seeing a comic like Danny McBride performing a serious character, but the truth is that the cast played more than decent. Of course with Franco on top, but it'd be better though if he would have stick as director to a more traditional approach, as novelty can kill.


Fans from Franco who have no sense of adventure will be disappointed, those with an open mind will probably be glad their idol has crossed some limits.


As I Lay Dying is out on DVD on Entertainment One.

 

 

Didier BECU
19/02/2014


NL

Het is tegenwoordig wat met acteurs die zelf een film willen regisseren. Tijdens de laatste editie van het Filmfestival van Gent zagen we twee steracteurs die zelf achter de camera's kropen. Joseph-Gordon Levitt nam het vederlichte (maar heerlijke) Don Jon op, terwijl James Franco het wat verder zocht. Zijn oog viel op de Amerikaanse klassieker As I Lay Dying van Nobelprijswinnaar William Faulkner. Menig filmmaker beschouwde de roman tot dusver als gewoonweg niet te verfilmen, doch beet Franco door. De bioscoopzalen liepen wel niet meteen vol voor zijn bewerking, maar Franco kreeg wel het nodige respect van heel wat critici en slaagde er zelfs in om in Cannes mee te dingen naar de begeerde Un Certain Regard-prijs. En geef toe, dat had je niet meteen van hem verwacht, niet?


Franco heeft het zichzelf niet gemakkelijk gemaakt, want ook al is het scenario gebaseerd op een traditioneel Amerikaans volksdrama, schuwt de jonge cineast op geen enkel ogenblik het experiment. De waarheid is evenwel dat hij daar ook regelmatig over struikelt. Zo blijft het gissen naar de reden waarom Franco bijna de gehele film met split-screens heeft opgenomen. Het zal natuurlijk wel bedoeld zijn om de kijker de mogelijkheid te geven om het verhaal vanuit verschillende perspectieven te kunnen gadeslaan, de andere waarheid is ook dat hij daardoor de aandacht verliest. Helaas, want het verhaal is ronduit verbijsterend.


Amerika, de jaren 20. De streek rond de Mississippi kreunt onder de armoede. Darl Bundren (James Franco) heeft net zijn moeder verloren en besluit om haar lijk naar het nabijgelegen dorpje Jefferson te begraven. Samen met zijn broers maakt Bundren de moeizame tocht. Zij worden door allerlei tragedies geteisterd, maar hun besluit staat vast: hun moeder zal in Jefferson worden begraven, ook al kost dat hun eigen leven.


Menig critici hekelen de film wegens de ondermaatse acteerprestaties, maar daar is niks van aan. Het blijft wel wat wennen om bijv. komiek Danny McBride plotseling een serieuze rol te zien spelen, desalniettemin doet iedereen zijn best. Misschien zelfs een beetje te veel, vooral dan Franco als regisseur. Door zijn film te willen onderscheiden van de grote massa, vergaloppeert de steracteur zich regelmatig. Nu goed, een meesterwerk is het geenszins geworden en misschien had Faulkner beter verdiend, in ieder geval heeft hij bewezen dat hij ook als cineast zijn mannetje kan staan. Heel wat Franco-fans zullen na een paar minuten afhaken, filmfans die van wanten weten en ook al eens door de storm durven te lopen zullen As I Lay Dying op zijn minst weten te appreciëren.


As I Lay Dying is nu uit op dvd via Entertainment One

Didier BECU
19/02/2014


19/02/2014 : JAMES FRANCO - As I lay dying 19/02/2014 : JAMES FRANCO - As I lay dying 19/02/2014 : JAMES FRANCO - As I lay dying 19/02/2014 : JAMES FRANCO - As I lay dying 19/02/2014 : JAMES FRANCO - As I lay dying 19/02/2014 : JAMES FRANCO - As I lay dying 19/02/2014 : JAMES FRANCO - As I lay dying 19/02/2014 : JAMES FRANCO - As I lay dying 19/02/2014 : JAMES FRANCO - As I lay dying 19/02/2014 : JAMES FRANCO - As I lay dying 19/02/2014 : JAMES FRANCO - As I lay dying

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures