tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : JAMES - Girl At The End Of The World

JAMES

Girl At The End Of The World

MusicCD
BritpopIndie
BMG
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Yes, you read it right! James is back. In case you’re younger than forty, we forgive you if never heard of this band before. The story began in 1982 when the band was noticed by Factory. A bit later they went on tour with The Smiths. The big breakthrough came in 1990 with Gold Mother. In England, this release promptly became the Britpop album par excellence. Tracks like Coming Home and How Was It For You? were (only in the UK though ) played non-stop on the radio. James had a very strange position in the music scene: outside England they barely could fill a small club, but overseas they were a huge music festival attraction.

Obviously the story could not last forever. After Seven, the attention decreased with each album and James eventually became a trifle, a memory. Tim Booth kept on releasing records, but no one noticed. Bu who knows, maybe Girl At The End Of The World may change that, because according to the band, it is the best album so far. Big words indeed, but because it was produced by Max Dingel (The Killers, Muse and White Lies ) and Brian Eno, we are inclined to believe these words!

James always sounded a bit bombastic, but never so overwhelming and pompous (in the best sense of the words) as on Attention, that is almost like prog rock with a Britpop touch. Gorgeous melancholic pop is made on Dear John, while Feet Of Clay is a typical James song: romance you do not have to be ashamed of!

Of course James always had a patent on writing tracks that are suitable for festivals, just listen to Bitch. In all fairness it sometimes feels like if Tim Booth hasn’t heard any new music for the last ten years, because after all: this is Britpop and Madchester pur sang. To My Surprise is a dream single. A song that lingers in your head from the start, even though you know that the days of The Stone Roses and Inspiral Carpets are long gone. We are not sure, but something makes us suspect that Alvin is dedicated to Alvin Stardust, simply because the track sounds a little too much as My Coo Ca Choo.

The album ends with two tracks that are made so you can spread your arms and pretend (hey that’s Alvin too!) for a moment that the world is at your feet.

James is back. Whether it will make an impact? I doubt it, but in this living room the disc is played continuously as it is quite sublime!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Jawel, je leest het goed! James is weer helemaal terug. Indien je geen veertiger bent, vergeven we je graag dat je nog nooit van deze band hebt gehoord. Het sprookje begon in 1982 toen de band werd opgemerkt door Factory en een beetje later op toer mocht met The Smiths. De grote doorbraak kwam echter in 1990 toen de lp Gold Mother in Engeland prompt de Britpopplaat bij uitstek werd. Tracks als Coming Home en How Was It For You? werden (alleen op de Britse) radio grijs gedraaid. James bekleedde daarmee een zeer vreemde positie: buiten Engeland kon nauwelijks een kleine club worden gevuld, aan de andere kant van de Noordzee leken de mogelijkheden onbeperkt. Het sprookje kon natuurlijk niet blijven duren.

Na Seven ging de aandacht na iedere plaat achteruit en werd James uiteindelijk een niemendalletje, een herinnering. Tim Booth bleef wel platen uitbrengen, maar niemand merkte ze nog op. En tja, wie weet komt daar met Girl At The End Of The World verandering in, want volgens de groep is dit haar beste tot nu toe. Grote woorden, maar door de productie van Max Dingel (The Killers, Muse en White Lies) en Brian Eno zouden we dat nog geloven ook!

James is altijd wel een beetje bombastisch geweest, maar zo overdonderend en pompeus (in de beste zin van het woorden) klonken de band nog nooit. Attention is bijna progrock met een Britpopkantje. Prachtige melancholische pop hoor je op Dear John, terwijl Feet Of Clay een typisch James-plaatje is: romantiek waar je je niet eens hoeft voor te schamen! Natuurlijk heeft James ook altijd een patent gehad op het schrijven van tracks die geschikt zijn voor een festivalweide, luister gewoon naar Bitch.

Eerlijkheidshalve klinkt het soms wel alsof Tim Booth de afgelopen tien jaar geen nieuwe muziek meer heeft gehoord, want dit is Britpop en Madchester pur sang. To My Surprise is een gedroomde single. Een song die vanaf het begin in je hoofd zit, ook al weet je dat de dagen van The Stone Roses en Inspiral Carpets al lang voorbij zijn. We zijn niet echt zeker, maar iets laat ons vermoeden dat Alvin is opgedragen aan Alvin Stardust, want de track klinkt net iets te veel als My Coo Ca Choo.

Het album eindigt met twee tracks die gemaakt zijn zodat je je armen open kan spreiden en voor eventjes de indruk hebt dat de wereld toch aan je voeten ligt. James is terug. Of het impact zal hebben? Ik twijfel eraan, in deze huiskamer staat het schijfje in ieder geval met de herhalingstoets aan wegens tamelijk subliem!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel
24
09
CHRISTIAN DEATH
South of Heaven Bilzen
24
09
FACTHEORY
South of Heaven Bilzen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets