tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

MusicCD
06/09/2015

Supporting music doesn’t only mean that you have to give a call to the artists, but also to those people who are every day busy in setting up their record label. James Nice is such a man. In fact, he is the label boss of three labels: LTM, Factory Benelux and Les Disques Du Crépuscule. Now, who can say that? Anyway, here are the ten albums that made the most impact on James’ life.

1 BLAINE L. REINIGER - Night Air (1983)
The first proper album by Blaine Reininger of Tuxedomoon. It’s all about the vagaries and the malaise of expatriate life in Brussels and beautifully written and arranged. It inspired me to move to the city and so it quite literally changed my life.

2. LANA DEL REY – Ultraviolence (2014)
Kind of contrived, but I’m more than happy to buy into her schtick because it’s like a Hollywood noir film. Not easy to reach a mainstream audience with a song like Fucked My Way Up to the Top. Actually, come to think of it that’s quite Serge Gainsbourg – see #7 below.

3. LADYTRON– Light & Magic (2002)
Also kind of contrived, but great songs and vocals and production, and a lovely clean analog synthpop sound.

4. KRAFTWERK– The Man-Machine (1978)
Bauhaus music.

5. PUBLIC IMAGE LIMITED - Metal Box (1979)
Still the best post-punk album for me - somehow manages to be both abstract and melodic, spacey and claustrophobic. I saw Jah Wobble and Keith Levene perform this live in 2012 and it was like a jazz gig – in a good way.

6. SECTION 25 – Always Now (1981)
A sorely underrated album issued in a sublime Peter Saville sleeve, and produced by Martin Hannett. Post-rock before anyone was even post-modern. Larry Cassidy was an interesting bunch of guys and I miss him a lot.

7. SERGE GAINSBOURG– Histoire de Melody Nelson (1971)
Sounds like nothing else I’ve ever heard, especially the dramatic string arrangements set against jazzy psychedelic rock. I’ve no idea what he’s singing about. Probably that would spoil it. I like mystery in music. Mystery and confusion (see album #1).

8. ERIK SATIE – Vexations (1893)
A single page of music intended to be played 840 times in a row. A complete performance can last anything between 14 and 28 hours. Very dreamlike and surreal. The really odd thing: I still can’t remember the tune.

9. BLONDIE – Parallel Lines (1978)
Just a brilliant new wave pop album.

10. SIMPLE MINDS – 5x5 Live (2012)
The material on the albums 2 to 5 by Simple Minds was way ahead of the game, but they rarely nailed it in the studio. This live album from their 2012 tour is a shining example of how to curate your own catalogue after a long time spent in a wilderness of your own making. Obviously a live album can’t really change your life, but I can think of a few heritage bands that might usefully take note!


06/09/2015


06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water
19
11
STAATSEINDE
Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
18
11
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
IAMNOONE releases 'Dead Season'
28
11
Today it's exactly 41 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
MESH prepares an extended live-box for their fans!
27
11
Gothic/Post-Punk Band CYBORG AMOK Unveils New Video for 'Burden Away'
27
11
40 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 40 years ago!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
11
PORTION CONTROL
Still (Short-range missive from SEEDEP3)
27
11
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
26
11
CHELSEA WOLFE
16 Psyche
25
11
CLAN OF XYMOX
A Day
24
11
STRUGGLER
Is It Worth?
23
11
PORTION CONTROL
Amnesia (Live mix)
22
11
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life