tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

MusicCD
06/09/2015

Supporting music doesn’t only mean that you have to give a call to the artists, but also to those people who are every day busy in setting up their record label. James Nice is such a man. In fact, he is the label boss of three labels: LTM, Factory Benelux and Les Disques Du Crépuscule. Now, who can say that? Anyway, here are the ten albums that made the most impact on James’ life.

1 BLAINE L. REINIGER - Night Air (1983)
The first proper album by Blaine Reininger of Tuxedomoon. It’s all about the vagaries and the malaise of expatriate life in Brussels and beautifully written and arranged. It inspired me to move to the city and so it quite literally changed my life.

2. LANA DEL REY – Ultraviolence (2014)
Kind of contrived, but I’m more than happy to buy into her schtick because it’s like a Hollywood noir film. Not easy to reach a mainstream audience with a song like Fucked My Way Up to the Top. Actually, come to think of it that’s quite Serge Gainsbourg – see #7 below.

3. LADYTRON– Light & Magic (2002)
Also kind of contrived, but great songs and vocals and production, and a lovely clean analog synthpop sound.

4. KRAFTWERK– The Man-Machine (1978)
Bauhaus music.

5. PUBLIC IMAGE LIMITED - Metal Box (1979)
Still the best post-punk album for me - somehow manages to be both abstract and melodic, spacey and claustrophobic. I saw Jah Wobble and Keith Levene perform this live in 2012 and it was like a jazz gig – in a good way.

6. SECTION 25 – Always Now (1981)
A sorely underrated album issued in a sublime Peter Saville sleeve, and produced by Martin Hannett. Post-rock before anyone was even post-modern. Larry Cassidy was an interesting bunch of guys and I miss him a lot.

7. SERGE GAINSBOURG– Histoire de Melody Nelson (1971)
Sounds like nothing else I’ve ever heard, especially the dramatic string arrangements set against jazzy psychedelic rock. I’ve no idea what he’s singing about. Probably that would spoil it. I like mystery in music. Mystery and confusion (see album #1).

8. ERIK SATIE – Vexations (1893)
A single page of music intended to be played 840 times in a row. A complete performance can last anything between 14 and 28 hours. Very dreamlike and surreal. The really odd thing: I still can’t remember the tune.

9. BLONDIE – Parallel Lines (1978)
Just a brilliant new wave pop album.

10. SIMPLE MINDS – 5x5 Live (2012)
The material on the albums 2 to 5 by Simple Minds was way ahead of the game, but they rarely nailed it in the studio. This live album from their 2012 tour is a shining example of how to curate your own catalogue after a long time spent in a wilderness of your own making. Obviously a live album can’t really change your life, but I can think of a few heritage bands that might usefully take note!


06/09/2015


06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design