tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

MusicCD
06/09/2015

Supporting music doesn’t only mean that you have to give a call to the artists, but also to those people who are every day busy in setting up their record label. James Nice is such a man. In fact, he is the label boss of three labels: LTM, Factory Benelux and Les Disques Du Crépuscule. Now, who can say that? Anyway, here are the ten albums that made the most impact on James’ life.

1 BLAINE L. REINIGER - Night Air (1983)
The first proper album by Blaine Reininger of Tuxedomoon. It’s all about the vagaries and the malaise of expatriate life in Brussels and beautifully written and arranged. It inspired me to move to the city and so it quite literally changed my life.

2. LANA DEL REY – Ultraviolence (2014)
Kind of contrived, but I’m more than happy to buy into her schtick because it’s like a Hollywood noir film. Not easy to reach a mainstream audience with a song like Fucked My Way Up to the Top. Actually, come to think of it that’s quite Serge Gainsbourg – see #7 below.

3. LADYTRON– Light & Magic (2002)
Also kind of contrived, but great songs and vocals and production, and a lovely clean analog synthpop sound.

4. KRAFTWERK– The Man-Machine (1978)
Bauhaus music.

5. PUBLIC IMAGE LIMITED - Metal Box (1979)
Still the best post-punk album for me - somehow manages to be both abstract and melodic, spacey and claustrophobic. I saw Jah Wobble and Keith Levene perform this live in 2012 and it was like a jazz gig – in a good way.

6. SECTION 25 – Always Now (1981)
A sorely underrated album issued in a sublime Peter Saville sleeve, and produced by Martin Hannett. Post-rock before anyone was even post-modern. Larry Cassidy was an interesting bunch of guys and I miss him a lot.

7. SERGE GAINSBOURG– Histoire de Melody Nelson (1971)
Sounds like nothing else I’ve ever heard, especially the dramatic string arrangements set against jazzy psychedelic rock. I’ve no idea what he’s singing about. Probably that would spoil it. I like mystery in music. Mystery and confusion (see album #1).

8. ERIK SATIE – Vexations (1893)
A single page of music intended to be played 840 times in a row. A complete performance can last anything between 14 and 28 hours. Very dreamlike and surreal. The really odd thing: I still can’t remember the tune.

9. BLONDIE – Parallel Lines (1978)
Just a brilliant new wave pop album.

10. SIMPLE MINDS – 5x5 Live (2012)
The material on the albums 2 to 5 by Simple Minds was way ahead of the game, but they rarely nailed it in the studio. This live album from their 2012 tour is a shining example of how to curate your own catalogue after a long time spent in a wilderness of your own making. Obviously a live album can’t really change your life, but I can think of a few heritage bands that might usefully take note!


06/09/2015


06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/09/2015 : JAMES NICE (LABEL BOSS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
40 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static