tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/11/2015 : JAMES RAYS GANGWAR - Destination Assassination: The Merciful Release Recordings 1989-1992

JAMES RAYS GANGWAR

Destination Assassination: The Merciful Release Recordings 1989-1992

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[80/100]   

Cherry Red Records
29/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If you remember James Rays Gangwar, then either you know a lot about music, or you are (sorry) old. Anyway, James Ray is an icon in the goth world, because after helping Andrew Eldritch with The Sisterhood (the album with five tracks), his own band (James Rays Gangwar) wwas allowed to make two maxis and a full album for Merciful Release (the label of the Sisters).

Today it sounds incredibly cool, but honestly,I remember times when the records of this British trio were in the sale bins, and only in the UK this band had a cult following. Those who were smart enough, bought this vinyl, because in the meantime the records are real collector's items.

Currently, Cherry Red Records released two double CDs of James Rays Gangwar. They contain everything of this goth rock group. Destination Assassination: The Merciful Release Recordings 1989-1992 contains the two maxis (Another Million Dollars, Without Conscience) and the album Dios Esta De Nuestro Lado (Merciful Release). You have those albums in your collection already? Well, we feel sorry for you, because the second disc contains 18 (yes!) previously unreleased demos.

And what about the music? Well, the three won’t like it, but James Rays Gangwar actually sounds a lot like The Sisters Of Mercy. Not a real surprise, and perhaps more a blessing than a curse for the goth fan, but it is clear that the trio took its concept of Eldritch. Just like the gothfathers of Leeds, James Ray (vocals), Damon Vingoe (bass), Travis Earl (guitar) and JB Ridge (guitar) use an electronic drum that dominates the sound (in a positive sense). If you're not familiar with the songs of James Rays Gangwar, then you might believe that this CD is a collection of unreleased songs by The Sisters Of Mercy. When it comes to originality, this trio has failed, but because they have chosen the right sound, this compilation is still a godsend for every gothrock fan!

Didier BECU
29/11/2015


NL

Mocht je je nog James Rays Gangwar herinneren, dan weet je ofwel zeer veel over muziek, ofwel ben je (sorry) gewoon stokoud. In ieder geval is James Ray een grote mijnheer in de gothwereld, want nadat hij Andrew Eldritch hielp met The Sisterhood (het album met vijf titels), mocht zijn eigen band (James Rays Gangwar) twee maxi's en een full album voor Merciful Release (het label van de Sisters) maken.

Anno 2015 klinkt zoiets ontzettend cool, maar eerlijkheidshalve lagen de platen van dit Britse drietal steevast in de uitverkoopbakken en konden ze alleen maar in thuisland Engeland op een cultfollowing rekenen. Wie slim was (of wie gewoon goedkope platen zocht) kocht destijds dit vinyl, want ondertussen zijn de platen onvindbaar en zelfs heuse collectors items geworden.

Deze maand brengt Cherry Red Records twee dubbel-cd’s van James Rays Gangwar uit, en daarmee heb je dan werkelijk alles van deze gothrockgroep in huis. Op Destination Assassination: The Merciful Release Recordings 1989-1992 vind je (zoals de titel aangeeft) de twee maxi's op Merciful Release (Another Million Dollars en Without Conscience), alsook de lp Dios Esta De Nuestro Lado. Je hebt ze al in je platencollectie? Nou, dat is dan pech, want op het tweede schijfje staan 18 (jawel) eerder onuitgebrachte demo’s.

En wat met de muziek? Tja, de drie zullen het niet graag horen, maar James Rays Gangwar klinkt eigenlijk enorm als The Sisters Of Mercy. Een echte verrassing is dat niet, en voor een gothfan wellicht eerder een zegen dan een vloek, maar het is duidelijk dat de heren hun concept bij Eldritch haalden. Net zoals de gothfathers uit Leeds, gebruiken ook James Ray (zang), Damon Vingoe (bass), Travis Earl (gitaar) en J.B. Ridge (gitaar) een elektronische drum die hun hele geluid (in positieve zin) domineert. Het is zelfs zo erg dat indien je niet vertrouwd bent met de tracks van James Rays Gangwar, je zou geloven dat het om onuitgebrachte tracks van The Sisters Of Mercy gaat. Als het om originaliteit gaat, dan heerft dit trio gefaald, maar wel krijgen ze drie dikke kussen van de juffrouw (en die bank vooruit) omdat ze het juiste geluid hebben gekozen. Essentieel voor iedere gothrockfan dus!

Didier BECU
29/11/2015


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis