tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/11/2015 : JAMES RAYS GANGWAR - Destination Assassination: The Merciful Release Recordings 1989-1992

JAMES RAYS GANGWAR

Destination Assassination: The Merciful Release Recordings 1989-1992

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[80/100]   

Cherry Red Records
29/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If you remember James Rays Gangwar, then either you know a lot about music, or you are (sorry) old. Anyway, James Ray is an icon in the goth world, because after helping Andrew Eldritch with The Sisterhood (the album with five tracks), his own band (James Rays Gangwar) wwas allowed to make two maxis and a full album for Merciful Release (the label of the Sisters).

Today it sounds incredibly cool, but honestly,I remember times when the records of this British trio were in the sale bins, and only in the UK this band had a cult following. Those who were smart enough, bought this vinyl, because in the meantime the records are real collector's items.

Currently, Cherry Red Records released two double CDs of James Rays Gangwar. They contain everything of this goth rock group. Destination Assassination: The Merciful Release Recordings 1989-1992 contains the two maxis (Another Million Dollars, Without Conscience) and the album Dios Esta De Nuestro Lado (Merciful Release). You have those albums in your collection already? Well, we feel sorry for you, because the second disc contains 18 (yes!) previously unreleased demos.

And what about the music? Well, the three won’t like it, but James Rays Gangwar actually sounds a lot like The Sisters Of Mercy. Not a real surprise, and perhaps more a blessing than a curse for the goth fan, but it is clear that the trio took its concept of Eldritch. Just like the gothfathers of Leeds, James Ray (vocals), Damon Vingoe (bass), Travis Earl (guitar) and JB Ridge (guitar) use an electronic drum that dominates the sound (in a positive sense). If you're not familiar with the songs of James Rays Gangwar, then you might believe that this CD is a collection of unreleased songs by The Sisters Of Mercy. When it comes to originality, this trio has failed, but because they have chosen the right sound, this compilation is still a godsend for every gothrock fan!

Didier BECU
29/11/2015


NL

Mocht je je nog James Rays Gangwar herinneren, dan weet je ofwel zeer veel over muziek, ofwel ben je (sorry) gewoon stokoud. In ieder geval is James Ray een grote mijnheer in de gothwereld, want nadat hij Andrew Eldritch hielp met The Sisterhood (het album met vijf titels), mocht zijn eigen band (James Rays Gangwar) twee maxi's en een full album voor Merciful Release (het label van de Sisters) maken.

Anno 2015 klinkt zoiets ontzettend cool, maar eerlijkheidshalve lagen de platen van dit Britse drietal steevast in de uitverkoopbakken en konden ze alleen maar in thuisland Engeland op een cultfollowing rekenen. Wie slim was (of wie gewoon goedkope platen zocht) kocht destijds dit vinyl, want ondertussen zijn de platen onvindbaar en zelfs heuse collectors items geworden.

Deze maand brengt Cherry Red Records twee dubbel-cd’s van James Rays Gangwar uit, en daarmee heb je dan werkelijk alles van deze gothrockgroep in huis. Op Destination Assassination: The Merciful Release Recordings 1989-1992 vind je (zoals de titel aangeeft) de twee maxi's op Merciful Release (Another Million Dollars en Without Conscience), alsook de lp Dios Esta De Nuestro Lado. Je hebt ze al in je platencollectie? Nou, dat is dan pech, want op het tweede schijfje staan 18 (jawel) eerder onuitgebrachte demo’s.

En wat met de muziek? Tja, de drie zullen het niet graag horen, maar James Rays Gangwar klinkt eigenlijk enorm als The Sisters Of Mercy. Een echte verrassing is dat niet, en voor een gothfan wellicht eerder een zegen dan een vloek, maar het is duidelijk dat de heren hun concept bij Eldritch haalden. Net zoals de gothfathers uit Leeds, gebruiken ook James Ray (zang), Damon Vingoe (bass), Travis Earl (gitaar) en J.B. Ridge (gitaar) een elektronische drum die hun hele geluid (in positieve zin) domineert. Het is zelfs zo erg dat indien je niet vertrouwd bent met de tracks van James Rays Gangwar, je zou geloven dat het om onuitgebrachte tracks van The Sisters Of Mercy gaat. Als het om originaliteit gaat, dan heerft dit trio gefaald, maar wel krijgen ze drie dikke kussen van de juffrouw (en die bank vooruit) omdat ze het juiste geluid hebben gekozen. Essentieel voor iedere gothrockfan dus!

Didier BECU
29/11/2015


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift