tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

29/11/2015 : JAMES RAYS GANGWAR - Destination Assassination: The Merciful Release Recordings 1989-1992

JAMES RAYS GANGWAR

Destination Assassination: The Merciful Release Recordings 1989-1992

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[80/100]   

Cherry Red Records
29/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If you remember James Rays Gangwar, then either you know a lot about music, or you are (sorry) old. Anyway, James Ray is an icon in the goth world, because after helping Andrew Eldritch with The Sisterhood (the album with five tracks), his own band (James Rays Gangwar) wwas allowed to make two maxis and a full album for Merciful Release (the label of the Sisters).

Today it sounds incredibly cool, but honestly,I remember times when the records of this British trio were in the sale bins, and only in the UK this band had a cult following. Those who were smart enough, bought this vinyl, because in the meantime the records are real collector's items.

Currently, Cherry Red Records released two double CDs of James Rays Gangwar. They contain everything of this goth rock group. Destination Assassination: The Merciful Release Recordings 1989-1992 contains the two maxis (Another Million Dollars, Without Conscience) and the album Dios Esta De Nuestro Lado (Merciful Release). You have those albums in your collection already? Well, we feel sorry for you, because the second disc contains 18 (yes!) previously unreleased demos.

And what about the music? Well, the three won’t like it, but James Rays Gangwar actually sounds a lot like The Sisters Of Mercy. Not a real surprise, and perhaps more a blessing than a curse for the goth fan, but it is clear that the trio took its concept of Eldritch. Just like the gothfathers of Leeds, James Ray (vocals), Damon Vingoe (bass), Travis Earl (guitar) and JB Ridge (guitar) use an electronic drum that dominates the sound (in a positive sense). If you're not familiar with the songs of James Rays Gangwar, then you might believe that this CD is a collection of unreleased songs by The Sisters Of Mercy. When it comes to originality, this trio has failed, but because they have chosen the right sound, this compilation is still a godsend for every gothrock fan!

Didier BECU
29/11/2015


NL

Mocht je je nog James Rays Gangwar herinneren, dan weet je ofwel zeer veel over muziek, ofwel ben je (sorry) gewoon stokoud. In ieder geval is James Ray een grote mijnheer in de gothwereld, want nadat hij Andrew Eldritch hielp met The Sisterhood (het album met vijf titels), mocht zijn eigen band (James Rays Gangwar) twee maxi's en een full album voor Merciful Release (het label van de Sisters) maken.

Anno 2015 klinkt zoiets ontzettend cool, maar eerlijkheidshalve lagen de platen van dit Britse drietal steevast in de uitverkoopbakken en konden ze alleen maar in thuisland Engeland op een cultfollowing rekenen. Wie slim was (of wie gewoon goedkope platen zocht) kocht destijds dit vinyl, want ondertussen zijn de platen onvindbaar en zelfs heuse collectors items geworden.

Deze maand brengt Cherry Red Records twee dubbel-cd’s van James Rays Gangwar uit, en daarmee heb je dan werkelijk alles van deze gothrockgroep in huis. Op Destination Assassination: The Merciful Release Recordings 1989-1992 vind je (zoals de titel aangeeft) de twee maxi's op Merciful Release (Another Million Dollars en Without Conscience), alsook de lp Dios Esta De Nuestro Lado. Je hebt ze al in je platencollectie? Nou, dat is dan pech, want op het tweede schijfje staan 18 (jawel) eerder onuitgebrachte demo’s.

En wat met de muziek? Tja, de drie zullen het niet graag horen, maar James Rays Gangwar klinkt eigenlijk enorm als The Sisters Of Mercy. Een echte verrassing is dat niet, en voor een gothfan wellicht eerder een zegen dan een vloek, maar het is duidelijk dat de heren hun concept bij Eldritch haalden. Net zoals de gothfathers uit Leeds, gebruiken ook James Ray (zang), Damon Vingoe (bass), Travis Earl (gitaar) en J.B. Ridge (gitaar) een elektronische drum die hun hele geluid (in positieve zin) domineert. Het is zelfs zo erg dat indien je niet vertrouwd bent met de tracks van James Rays Gangwar, je zou geloven dat het om onuitgebrachte tracks van The Sisters Of Mercy gaat. Als het om originaliteit gaat, dan heerft dit trio gefaald, maar wel krijgen ze drie dikke kussen van de juffrouw (en die bank vooruit) omdat ze het juiste geluid hebben gekozen. Essentieel voor iedere gothrockfan dus!

Didier BECU
29/11/2015


Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.
18
12
North American Industrial/Metal band Ministry announce new album with new single & video!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury
13
01
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)
12
01
REIZSTROM
Invisible Force