tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

29/11/2015 : JAMES RAYS GANGWAR - Destination Assassination: The Merciful Release Recordings 1989-1992

JAMES RAYS GANGWAR

Destination Assassination: The Merciful Release Recordings 1989-1992

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[80/100]   

Cherry Red Records
29/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

If you remember James Rays Gangwar, then either you know a lot about music, or you are (sorry) old. Anyway, James Ray is an icon in the goth world, because after helping Andrew Eldritch with The Sisterhood (the album with five tracks), his own band (James Rays Gangwar) wwas allowed to make two maxis and a full album for Merciful Release (the label of the Sisters).

Today it sounds incredibly cool, but honestly,I remember times when the records of this British trio were in the sale bins, and only in the UK this band had a cult following. Those who were smart enough, bought this vinyl, because in the meantime the records are real collector's items.

Currently, Cherry Red Records released two double CDs of James Rays Gangwar. They contain everything of this goth rock group. Destination Assassination: The Merciful Release Recordings 1989-1992 contains the two maxis (Another Million Dollars, Without Conscience) and the album Dios Esta De Nuestro Lado (Merciful Release). You have those albums in your collection already? Well, we feel sorry for you, because the second disc contains 18 (yes!) previously unreleased demos.

And what about the music? Well, the three won’t like it, but James Rays Gangwar actually sounds a lot like The Sisters Of Mercy. Not a real surprise, and perhaps more a blessing than a curse for the goth fan, but it is clear that the trio took its concept of Eldritch. Just like the gothfathers of Leeds, James Ray (vocals), Damon Vingoe (bass), Travis Earl (guitar) and JB Ridge (guitar) use an electronic drum that dominates the sound (in a positive sense). If you're not familiar with the songs of James Rays Gangwar, then you might believe that this CD is a collection of unreleased songs by The Sisters Of Mercy. When it comes to originality, this trio has failed, but because they have chosen the right sound, this compilation is still a godsend for every gothrock fan!

Didier BECU
29/11/2015


NL

Mocht je je nog James Rays Gangwar herinneren, dan weet je ofwel zeer veel over muziek, ofwel ben je (sorry) gewoon stokoud. In ieder geval is James Ray een grote mijnheer in de gothwereld, want nadat hij Andrew Eldritch hielp met The Sisterhood (het album met vijf titels), mocht zijn eigen band (James Rays Gangwar) twee maxi's en een full album voor Merciful Release (het label van de Sisters) maken.

Anno 2015 klinkt zoiets ontzettend cool, maar eerlijkheidshalve lagen de platen van dit Britse drietal steevast in de uitverkoopbakken en konden ze alleen maar in thuisland Engeland op een cultfollowing rekenen. Wie slim was (of wie gewoon goedkope platen zocht) kocht destijds dit vinyl, want ondertussen zijn de platen onvindbaar en zelfs heuse collectors items geworden.

Deze maand brengt Cherry Red Records twee dubbel-cd’s van James Rays Gangwar uit, en daarmee heb je dan werkelijk alles van deze gothrockgroep in huis. Op Destination Assassination: The Merciful Release Recordings 1989-1992 vind je (zoals de titel aangeeft) de twee maxi's op Merciful Release (Another Million Dollars en Without Conscience), alsook de lp Dios Esta De Nuestro Lado. Je hebt ze al in je platencollectie? Nou, dat is dan pech, want op het tweede schijfje staan 18 (jawel) eerder onuitgebrachte demo’s.

En wat met de muziek? Tja, de drie zullen het niet graag horen, maar James Rays Gangwar klinkt eigenlijk enorm als The Sisters Of Mercy. Een echte verrassing is dat niet, en voor een gothfan wellicht eerder een zegen dan een vloek, maar het is duidelijk dat de heren hun concept bij Eldritch haalden. Net zoals de gothfathers uit Leeds, gebruiken ook James Ray (zang), Damon Vingoe (bass), Travis Earl (gitaar) en J.B. Ridge (gitaar) een elektronische drum die hun hele geluid (in positieve zin) domineert. Het is zelfs zo erg dat indien je niet vertrouwd bent met de tracks van James Rays Gangwar, je zou geloven dat het om onuitgebrachte tracks van The Sisters Of Mercy gaat. Als het om originaliteit gaat, dan heerft dit trio gefaald, maar wel krijgen ze drie dikke kussen van de juffrouw (en die bank vooruit) omdat ze het juiste geluid hebben gekozen. Essentieel voor iedere gothrockfan dus!

Didier BECU
29/11/2015


Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
The Jesus and Mary Chain have signed to London-based independent label Fuzz Club Records.
21
01
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
'Giving Ground”…and Gaining It: The First Sisterhood Single, 36 ago, 20 January 1986
19
01
Electronic Band LUSCIOUS APPARATUS Addresses Domestic Violence With New Single, 'Infiltrate'
19
01
On this day, 31 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
20
01
FAUNLET
Anatomy
19
01
PSY'AVIAH FT MARIEKE LIGHTBAND
The Great Disconnect
18
01
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
17
01
MATT HART
Decimate
16
01
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
15
01
FATAL CASUALTIES
No Heaven