tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : JAN SWERTS - Brussel, AB Club (08/11/2016)

JAN SWERTS

Brussel, AB Club (08/11/2016)

Concert
11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

The AB asked me if I wanted to play some music on this evening of the US presidential election, allround musician Jan Swerts told the audience on Tuesday, November 8, in the AB Club in Brussels, the night that Donald Trump would become the 45th president of the USA. We'll play eight songs from the new album in one take, so no applauding in between those songs please, Jan Swerts asked his audience. If you really want to and you're still awake, you're welcome to applaud afterwards, Swerts joked. I would like you to be focused, so I also ask you to switch off your mobile, so you'll be involved fully in the trip which I take you on, a trip into my private horror story, the musician said. And I realise that outside, after tonight there might be some other horror upon us, Swerts added.

During a mesmerising, fascinating and truly intense performance, Swerts and his musicians (Swerts on piano, accompagnied by strings and guitars) presented the third brand new album Schaduwland (Shadowland) - his personal horror story - in four acts: Shock & Ontkenning (Shock & Denial), Woede & Vlucht (Anger & Escape), Depressie (Depression) and Aanvaarding? (Acceptance?). In Brussels he played only the first two acts. The titles of the songs are all in Dutch, some songs are instrumental, some are sung in English, others in Dutch. But one doesn't have to understand the Dutch language to be impressed or moved by the story Swerts is telling, as the music reveals it all.

Listening to the music, we were taken on an intense and apocalytic journey through the land of sorrow and fear. Escape seemed impossible. During the journey I wrote down words such as: beautiful, shocking, melancholic, sad, dramatical, intense, epic, apocalyptical and majestic. The listening experience of the Schaduwland tracks consisted of all of that...

A confrontation with a harsh reality and it's consequences in Jan Swerts personal life has led to writing Schaduwland, his personal hell. This is not the place to explore Swerts private matters and problems, but for all I know it has resulted into some truly beatitiful music, a dark musical masterpiece!

Swerts piano playing at times reminds me of Wim Mertens, but you could also find a link with Talk Talk's Mark Hollis, or even more Ólafur Arnalds and certainly Jóhann Jóhannsson. After the first Schaduwland acts and – yes – the well earned applause, Swerts played Verlangen naar de Ontroostbaarheid from his previous album Anatomie van de Melancholie (2013) and Singelstraat 11 and Alkenstraat 9 from the debut album Weg (2010).

I read elsewhere: the pianist from Limburg (the province in Flanders where Swerts lives) is an expert in comforting people, maybe it's both comfort for himself and for us. But doest it matter? What matters is that Swerts produces wonderful music. If I were you, I would consider a trip to Schaduwland and buy the album or even better, try to be at one of Swerts' concerts!

Setlist:
Schock & Ontkenning: 1. Rustig, Martha, Het is Allemaal voorbij, er is geen enkel gevaar meer 2. Iedereen is in elkaar aan het storten, Sara, iedereen behalve jij 3. Dit was een belangrijke plaats in hun leven, Claire 4. Alice, ze is daar ergens, buiten in het moeras / Woede & Vlucht: 5. Ik had je nooit alleen mogen laten, Becky 6. Kijk, Jessica, kijk naar al die lege wegen 7. Breng me thuis, Raf, red me, red me 8. Ze waren doodsbang van me, Ruth

Encore:
Verlangen Naar de Ontroostbaarheid / Singelstraat 11 / Alkenstraat 9

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Dinsdag 8 november 2016 ondernam jullie verslaggever een reis naar Schaduwland. Het werd een beklemmende, pakkende en enorm intense reis. Eens thuisgekomen in de echte wereld, blijft de vraag of die dan zoveel minder bedreigend is. Jan Swerts en diens uitstekende muzikanten zetten, aan de vooravond van wat zou uitdraaien op de verkiezing van Donald Trump als 45ste Amerikaanse president, in een volgepakte AB Club een erg sterke performance neer ter gelegenheid van de voorstelling van Swerts jongste en derde album Schaduwland, een persoonlijk horrorverhaal in vier bedrijven.

De AB heeft mij gevraagd of ik muziek wilde komen spelen bij de presidentsverkiezingen in de US, grapte Jan Swerts bij aanvang van het optreden. Hij vroeg uitdrukkelijk om niet na elk nummer te applaudisseren, dat vond hij storend. We spelen de eerste 8 nummers van het album in één take, nadien mag u, als u dat wenst en nog wakker bent, in de handen klappen. Swerts vroeg ook aan elkeen om het contact met de buitenwereld even te laten, dat werd goed opgevolgd, ik zag echt niémand naar zijn mobieltje kijken. Zo kan u zich volledig laten meenemen naar het horrorverhaal dat ik schreef, duidde Swerts, En dat terwijl op dit moment bij onze vrienden aan de andere kant van de oceaan, zich misschien een ander horrorverhaal aan het voltrekken is, voegde de artiest eraan toe.

Een confrontatie met een harde realiteit in Swerts' leven en de gevolgen daarvan leidden tot het schrijven van het ronduit apocalyptische Schaduwland. Het begon onschuldig en wervelend, gaandeweg zwol de dramatiek en intensiteit aan en kroop de muziek diep onder je huid of pakte ze je bij het nekvel. Ingedeeld in vier bedrijven, Schok & Ontkenning, Woede & vlucht, Depressie en Aanvaarding?, laat Schaduwland zich misschien nog het best omschrijven met volgende kernwoorden die ik spontaan neerschreef tijdens mijn luistertrip: intens, meesterlijk, deemoedig, wrang, mooi, meesterlijk, episch, apocalyptisch en majestueus. En dan kregen we nog maar twee van de vier bedrijven te horen: Shock & Ontkenning en Woede & Vlucht...

Schaduwland was pakkend in zijn muzikaliteit, minimalistisch en tekstueel breed uitgesmeerd. Swerts zingt trouwens prachtig, soms in het Engels, dan weer in het Nederlands. Zijn pianospel deed mij bij momenten aan Wim Mertens denken maar evengoed aan Talk Talk's Mark Hollis, maar ook Ólafur Arnalds en Jóhann Jóhannsson. Als dat geen goede geloofsbrieven zijn!

Na de twee eerste Schaduwlandbedrijven, en dus – terecht – applaus, bracht het gezelschap nog Verlangen Naar de Ontroostbaarheid uit Swerts vorige album, Anatomie van de Melancholie (2013) dat hij opdroeg aan de veel te vroeg overleden professor Patricia De Martelaere en met Singelstraat 11 en Alkenstraat 9, uit het debuutalbum Weg (2010) werd besloten.

Over de persoonlijke dramatiek waarmee Swerts te kampen had en heeft ga ik hier niet uitweiden, dat kan je elders lezen, het heeft wel geleid tot een prachtig muzikaal werkstuk. Ergens las ik dat de Limburgse pianist zich ontpopt tot de expert van muzikale troost. Dat klopt zeker; troost voor zichzelf, voor ons, voor beiden? Het maakt niet uit. Wat er wel toe doet: geef de muziek van Jan Swerts een kans en koop Schaduwland, je zult versteld staan, prachtige muziek is dit.

Setlist:
Schock & Ontkenning: 1. Rustig, Martha, Het is Allemaal voorbij, er is geen enkel gevaar meer 2. Iedereen is in elkaar aan het storten, Sara, iedereen behalve jij 3. Dit was een belangrijke plaats in hun leven, Claire 4. Alice, ze is daar ergens, buiten in het moeras / Woede & Vlucht: 5. Ik had je nooit alleen mogen laten, Becky 6. Kijk, Jessica, kijk naar al die lege wegen 7. Breng me thuis, Raf, red me, red me 8. Ze waren doodsbang van me, Ruth.

Encore:
Verlangen Naar de Ontroostbaarheid / Singelstraat 11 / Alkenstraat 9

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
76 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
27 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
This month it’s 35 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static
06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel
03
12
SIXTH JUNE
Night Before
02
12
LEBANON HANOVER
Gallowdance