tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : JAN SWERTS - Brussel, AB Club (08/11/2016)

JAN SWERTS

Brussel, AB Club (08/11/2016)

Concert
11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

The AB asked me if I wanted to play some music on this evening of the US presidential election, allround musician Jan Swerts told the audience on Tuesday, November 8, in the AB Club in Brussels, the night that Donald Trump would become the 45th president of the USA. We'll play eight songs from the new album in one take, so no applauding in between those songs please, Jan Swerts asked his audience. If you really want to and you're still awake, you're welcome to applaud afterwards, Swerts joked. I would like you to be focused, so I also ask you to switch off your mobile, so you'll be involved fully in the trip which I take you on, a trip into my private horror story, the musician said. And I realise that outside, after tonight there might be some other horror upon us, Swerts added.

During a mesmerising, fascinating and truly intense performance, Swerts and his musicians (Swerts on piano, accompagnied by strings and guitars) presented the third brand new album Schaduwland (Shadowland) - his personal horror story - in four acts: Shock & Ontkenning (Shock & Denial), Woede & Vlucht (Anger & Escape), Depressie (Depression) and Aanvaarding? (Acceptance?). In Brussels he played only the first two acts. The titles of the songs are all in Dutch, some songs are instrumental, some are sung in English, others in Dutch. But one doesn't have to understand the Dutch language to be impressed or moved by the story Swerts is telling, as the music reveals it all.

Listening to the music, we were taken on an intense and apocalytic journey through the land of sorrow and fear. Escape seemed impossible. During the journey I wrote down words such as: beautiful, shocking, melancholic, sad, dramatical, intense, epic, apocalyptical and majestic. The listening experience of the Schaduwland tracks consisted of all of that...

A confrontation with a harsh reality and it's consequences in Jan Swerts personal life has led to writing Schaduwland, his personal hell. This is not the place to explore Swerts private matters and problems, but for all I know it has resulted into some truly beatitiful music, a dark musical masterpiece!

Swerts piano playing at times reminds me of Wim Mertens, but you could also find a link with Talk Talk's Mark Hollis, or even more Ólafur Arnalds and certainly Jóhann Jóhannsson. After the first Schaduwland acts and – yes – the well earned applause, Swerts played Verlangen naar de Ontroostbaarheid from his previous album Anatomie van de Melancholie (2013) and Singelstraat 11 and Alkenstraat 9 from the debut album Weg (2010).

I read elsewhere: the pianist from Limburg (the province in Flanders where Swerts lives) is an expert in comforting people, maybe it's both comfort for himself and for us. But doest it matter? What matters is that Swerts produces wonderful music. If I were you, I would consider a trip to Schaduwland and buy the album or even better, try to be at one of Swerts' concerts!

Setlist:
Schock & Ontkenning: 1. Rustig, Martha, Het is Allemaal voorbij, er is geen enkel gevaar meer 2. Iedereen is in elkaar aan het storten, Sara, iedereen behalve jij 3. Dit was een belangrijke plaats in hun leven, Claire 4. Alice, ze is daar ergens, buiten in het moeras / Woede & Vlucht: 5. Ik had je nooit alleen mogen laten, Becky 6. Kijk, Jessica, kijk naar al die lege wegen 7. Breng me thuis, Raf, red me, red me 8. Ze waren doodsbang van me, Ruth

Encore:
Verlangen Naar de Ontroostbaarheid / Singelstraat 11 / Alkenstraat 9

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Dinsdag 8 november 2016 ondernam jullie verslaggever een reis naar Schaduwland. Het werd een beklemmende, pakkende en enorm intense reis. Eens thuisgekomen in de echte wereld, blijft de vraag of die dan zoveel minder bedreigend is. Jan Swerts en diens uitstekende muzikanten zetten, aan de vooravond van wat zou uitdraaien op de verkiezing van Donald Trump als 45ste Amerikaanse president, in een volgepakte AB Club een erg sterke performance neer ter gelegenheid van de voorstelling van Swerts jongste en derde album Schaduwland, een persoonlijk horrorverhaal in vier bedrijven.

De AB heeft mij gevraagd of ik muziek wilde komen spelen bij de presidentsverkiezingen in de US, grapte Jan Swerts bij aanvang van het optreden. Hij vroeg uitdrukkelijk om niet na elk nummer te applaudisseren, dat vond hij storend. We spelen de eerste 8 nummers van het album in één take, nadien mag u, als u dat wenst en nog wakker bent, in de handen klappen. Swerts vroeg ook aan elkeen om het contact met de buitenwereld even te laten, dat werd goed opgevolgd, ik zag echt niémand naar zijn mobieltje kijken. Zo kan u zich volledig laten meenemen naar het horrorverhaal dat ik schreef, duidde Swerts, En dat terwijl op dit moment bij onze vrienden aan de andere kant van de oceaan, zich misschien een ander horrorverhaal aan het voltrekken is, voegde de artiest eraan toe.

Een confrontatie met een harde realiteit in Swerts' leven en de gevolgen daarvan leidden tot het schrijven van het ronduit apocalyptische Schaduwland. Het begon onschuldig en wervelend, gaandeweg zwol de dramatiek en intensiteit aan en kroop de muziek diep onder je huid of pakte ze je bij het nekvel. Ingedeeld in vier bedrijven, Schok & Ontkenning, Woede & vlucht, Depressie en Aanvaarding?, laat Schaduwland zich misschien nog het best omschrijven met volgende kernwoorden die ik spontaan neerschreef tijdens mijn luistertrip: intens, meesterlijk, deemoedig, wrang, mooi, meesterlijk, episch, apocalyptisch en majestueus. En dan kregen we nog maar twee van de vier bedrijven te horen: Shock & Ontkenning en Woede & Vlucht...

Schaduwland was pakkend in zijn muzikaliteit, minimalistisch en tekstueel breed uitgesmeerd. Swerts zingt trouwens prachtig, soms in het Engels, dan weer in het Nederlands. Zijn pianospel deed mij bij momenten aan Wim Mertens denken maar evengoed aan Talk Talk's Mark Hollis, maar ook Ólafur Arnalds en Jóhann Jóhannsson. Als dat geen goede geloofsbrieven zijn!

Na de twee eerste Schaduwlandbedrijven, en dus – terecht – applaus, bracht het gezelschap nog Verlangen Naar de Ontroostbaarheid uit Swerts vorige album, Anatomie van de Melancholie (2013) dat hij opdroeg aan de veel te vroeg overleden professor Patricia De Martelaere en met Singelstraat 11 en Alkenstraat 9, uit het debuutalbum Weg (2010) werd besloten.

Over de persoonlijke dramatiek waarmee Swerts te kampen had en heeft ga ik hier niet uitweiden, dat kan je elders lezen, het heeft wel geleid tot een prachtig muzikaal werkstuk. Ergens las ik dat de Limburgse pianist zich ontpopt tot de expert van muzikale troost. Dat klopt zeker; troost voor zichzelf, voor ons, voor beiden? Het maakt niet uit. Wat er wel toe doet: geef de muziek van Jan Swerts een kans en koop Schaduwland, je zult versteld staan, prachtige muziek is dit.

Setlist:
Schock & Ontkenning: 1. Rustig, Martha, Het is Allemaal voorbij, er is geen enkel gevaar meer 2. Iedereen is in elkaar aan het storten, Sara, iedereen behalve jij 3. Dit was een belangrijke plaats in hun leven, Claire 4. Alice, ze is daar ergens, buiten in het moeras / Woede & Vlucht: 5. Ik had je nooit alleen mogen laten, Becky 6. Kijk, Jessica, kijk naar al die lege wegen 7. Breng me thuis, Raf, red me, red me 8. Ze waren doodsbang van me, Ruth.

Encore:
Verlangen Naar de Ontroostbaarheid / Singelstraat 11 / Alkenstraat 9

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6
18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel
17
09
SYDNEY VALETTE
Précipice
16
09
HELDMACHINE
Die Braut, das Meer