tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : JAN SWERTS - Brussel, AB Club (08/11/2016)

JAN SWERTS

Brussel, AB Club (08/11/2016)

Concert
11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

The AB asked me if I wanted to play some music on this evening of the US presidential election, allround musician Jan Swerts told the audience on Tuesday, November 8, in the AB Club in Brussels, the night that Donald Trump would become the 45th president of the USA. We'll play eight songs from the new album in one take, so no applauding in between those songs please, Jan Swerts asked his audience. If you really want to and you're still awake, you're welcome to applaud afterwards, Swerts joked. I would like you to be focused, so I also ask you to switch off your mobile, so you'll be involved fully in the trip which I take you on, a trip into my private horror story, the musician said. And I realise that outside, after tonight there might be some other horror upon us, Swerts added.

During a mesmerising, fascinating and truly intense performance, Swerts and his musicians (Swerts on piano, accompagnied by strings and guitars) presented the third brand new album Schaduwland (Shadowland) - his personal horror story - in four acts: Shock & Ontkenning (Shock & Denial), Woede & Vlucht (Anger & Escape), Depressie (Depression) and Aanvaarding? (Acceptance?). In Brussels he played only the first two acts. The titles of the songs are all in Dutch, some songs are instrumental, some are sung in English, others in Dutch. But one doesn't have to understand the Dutch language to be impressed or moved by the story Swerts is telling, as the music reveals it all.

Listening to the music, we were taken on an intense and apocalytic journey through the land of sorrow and fear. Escape seemed impossible. During the journey I wrote down words such as: beautiful, shocking, melancholic, sad, dramatical, intense, epic, apocalyptical and majestic. The listening experience of the Schaduwland tracks consisted of all of that...

A confrontation with a harsh reality and it's consequences in Jan Swerts personal life has led to writing Schaduwland, his personal hell. This is not the place to explore Swerts private matters and problems, but for all I know it has resulted into some truly beatitiful music, a dark musical masterpiece!

Swerts piano playing at times reminds me of Wim Mertens, but you could also find a link with Talk Talk's Mark Hollis, or even more Ólafur Arnalds and certainly Jóhann Jóhannsson. After the first Schaduwland acts and – yes – the well earned applause, Swerts played Verlangen naar de Ontroostbaarheid from his previous album Anatomie van de Melancholie (2013) and Singelstraat 11 and Alkenstraat 9 from the debut album Weg (2010).

I read elsewhere: the pianist from Limburg (the province in Flanders where Swerts lives) is an expert in comforting people, maybe it's both comfort for himself and for us. But doest it matter? What matters is that Swerts produces wonderful music. If I were you, I would consider a trip to Schaduwland and buy the album or even better, try to be at one of Swerts' concerts!

Setlist:
Schock & Ontkenning: 1. Rustig, Martha, Het is Allemaal voorbij, er is geen enkel gevaar meer 2. Iedereen is in elkaar aan het storten, Sara, iedereen behalve jij 3. Dit was een belangrijke plaats in hun leven, Claire 4. Alice, ze is daar ergens, buiten in het moeras / Woede & Vlucht: 5. Ik had je nooit alleen mogen laten, Becky 6. Kijk, Jessica, kijk naar al die lege wegen 7. Breng me thuis, Raf, red me, red me 8. Ze waren doodsbang van me, Ruth

Encore:
Verlangen Naar de Ontroostbaarheid / Singelstraat 11 / Alkenstraat 9

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Dinsdag 8 november 2016 ondernam jullie verslaggever een reis naar Schaduwland. Het werd een beklemmende, pakkende en enorm intense reis. Eens thuisgekomen in de echte wereld, blijft de vraag of die dan zoveel minder bedreigend is. Jan Swerts en diens uitstekende muzikanten zetten, aan de vooravond van wat zou uitdraaien op de verkiezing van Donald Trump als 45ste Amerikaanse president, in een volgepakte AB Club een erg sterke performance neer ter gelegenheid van de voorstelling van Swerts jongste en derde album Schaduwland, een persoonlijk horrorverhaal in vier bedrijven.

De AB heeft mij gevraagd of ik muziek wilde komen spelen bij de presidentsverkiezingen in de US, grapte Jan Swerts bij aanvang van het optreden. Hij vroeg uitdrukkelijk om niet na elk nummer te applaudisseren, dat vond hij storend. We spelen de eerste 8 nummers van het album in één take, nadien mag u, als u dat wenst en nog wakker bent, in de handen klappen. Swerts vroeg ook aan elkeen om het contact met de buitenwereld even te laten, dat werd goed opgevolgd, ik zag echt niémand naar zijn mobieltje kijken. Zo kan u zich volledig laten meenemen naar het horrorverhaal dat ik schreef, duidde Swerts, En dat terwijl op dit moment bij onze vrienden aan de andere kant van de oceaan, zich misschien een ander horrorverhaal aan het voltrekken is, voegde de artiest eraan toe.

Een confrontatie met een harde realiteit in Swerts' leven en de gevolgen daarvan leidden tot het schrijven van het ronduit apocalyptische Schaduwland. Het begon onschuldig en wervelend, gaandeweg zwol de dramatiek en intensiteit aan en kroop de muziek diep onder je huid of pakte ze je bij het nekvel. Ingedeeld in vier bedrijven, Schok & Ontkenning, Woede & vlucht, Depressie en Aanvaarding?, laat Schaduwland zich misschien nog het best omschrijven met volgende kernwoorden die ik spontaan neerschreef tijdens mijn luistertrip: intens, meesterlijk, deemoedig, wrang, mooi, meesterlijk, episch, apocalyptisch en majestueus. En dan kregen we nog maar twee van de vier bedrijven te horen: Shock & Ontkenning en Woede & Vlucht...

Schaduwland was pakkend in zijn muzikaliteit, minimalistisch en tekstueel breed uitgesmeerd. Swerts zingt trouwens prachtig, soms in het Engels, dan weer in het Nederlands. Zijn pianospel deed mij bij momenten aan Wim Mertens denken maar evengoed aan Talk Talk's Mark Hollis, maar ook Ólafur Arnalds en Jóhann Jóhannsson. Als dat geen goede geloofsbrieven zijn!

Na de twee eerste Schaduwlandbedrijven, en dus – terecht – applaus, bracht het gezelschap nog Verlangen Naar de Ontroostbaarheid uit Swerts vorige album, Anatomie van de Melancholie (2013) dat hij opdroeg aan de veel te vroeg overleden professor Patricia De Martelaere en met Singelstraat 11 en Alkenstraat 9, uit het debuutalbum Weg (2010) werd besloten.

Over de persoonlijke dramatiek waarmee Swerts te kampen had en heeft ga ik hier niet uitweiden, dat kan je elders lezen, het heeft wel geleid tot een prachtig muzikaal werkstuk. Ergens las ik dat de Limburgse pianist zich ontpopt tot de expert van muzikale troost. Dat klopt zeker; troost voor zichzelf, voor ons, voor beiden? Het maakt niet uit. Wat er wel toe doet: geef de muziek van Jan Swerts een kans en koop Schaduwland, je zult versteld staan, prachtige muziek is dit.

Setlist:
Schock & Ontkenning: 1. Rustig, Martha, Het is Allemaal voorbij, er is geen enkel gevaar meer 2. Iedereen is in elkaar aan het storten, Sara, iedereen behalve jij 3. Dit was een belangrijke plaats in hun leven, Claire 4. Alice, ze is daar ergens, buiten in het moeras / Woede & Vlucht: 5. Ik had je nooit alleen mogen laten, Becky 6. Kijk, Jessica, kijk naar al die lege wegen 7. Breng me thuis, Raf, red me, red me 8. Ze waren doodsbang van me, Ruth.

Encore:
Verlangen Naar de Ontroostbaarheid / Singelstraat 11 / Alkenstraat 9

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway