tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma

JASON MOMOA

Road To Paloma

Movie
Thriller

[35/100]   

Anchor Bay
07/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

You can of course blame Dennis Hoppe, but every movie about a motorcyclist who seeks freedom, is automatically compared to Easy Rider. In the case of the Indian Wolf (Jason Momoa, who also directed the film) you have to take that freedom very literally, because he is on the run for the FBI after he murdered the man who killed and raped his mother. During his journey he meets Cash (Robert Homer Mollohan, who co-wrote the script) and together they go to the Rocky Mountains, because Wolf wants to scatter his mother's ashes there. During the trip lot of things happens but unfortunately far too little to hold the attention of the viewer.

You can actually compare the movie with those awful T-shirts that you can buy for 5 euro, showing an Indian and a wolf. It is such a cliché that you almost have to be crazy to still see the beauty of it. That is also the case with this road movie of Momoa.

It is not just the images you have seen hundreds of times before, Momoa also finds it necessary to add cliché poetry. The only bright spot is the appearance of Lisa Bonet, who is in real life the wife of Momoa. We assume that Road To Paloma isonly fodder for motorcyclists who love the Indian lifestyle.

Didier BECU
07/04/2015


NL

Je kan er natuurlijk Dennis Hopper de schuld van geven, maar iedere film over een motorrijder die de vrijheid opzoekt wordt sowieso vergeleken met Easy Rider. In het geval van de indiaan Wolf (Jason Momoa, die de film ook regisseerde) moet je dat zeer letterlijk nemen want hij is op de vlucht voor het FBI nadat hij de man heeft vermoord die zijn moeder doodde en verkrachtte. Tijdens zijn rit ontmoet hij Cash (Robert Homer Mollohan, die meeschreef aan het script) en samen trekken ze naar de Rocky Mountains omdat Wolf de as van zijn moeder daar wil uitstrooien. Tijdens zijn tocht gebeurt er natuurlijk van alles, maar jammer genoeg veel te weinig om de aandacht van de kijker vast te houden.

Road to Paloma kun je eigenlijk het best vergelijken met die afschuwelijke T-shirts die je voor 5 euro koopt met daarop een indiaan en een wolf. Het is zo’n cliché dat je bijna gek moet zijn om daar nog de schoonheid van te zien. Dat is ook het geval met deze roadmovie van Momoa.

Het zijn niet alleen de beelden die je al honderden keren hebt gezien, ook vindt Momoa het nodig om zijn film vol te pompen met tenenkrommende poëzie. Het enige lichtpunt dat overblijft is de verschijning van Lisa Bonet, die in het dagelijkse leven de echtgenote van Momoa is. We veronderstellen dat Road To Paloma louter voer is voor motorrijders die dwepen met Indianen. 

Didier BECU
07/04/2015


07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
NOISE
Quiet
25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis