tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma

JASON MOMOA

Road To Paloma

Movie
Thriller

[35/100]   

Anchor Bay
07/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

You can of course blame Dennis Hoppe, but every movie about a motorcyclist who seeks freedom, is automatically compared to Easy Rider. In the case of the Indian Wolf (Jason Momoa, who also directed the film) you have to take that freedom very literally, because he is on the run for the FBI after he murdered the man who killed and raped his mother. During his journey he meets Cash (Robert Homer Mollohan, who co-wrote the script) and together they go to the Rocky Mountains, because Wolf wants to scatter his mother's ashes there. During the trip lot of things happens but unfortunately far too little to hold the attention of the viewer.

You can actually compare the movie with those awful T-shirts that you can buy for 5 euro, showing an Indian and a wolf. It is such a cliché that you almost have to be crazy to still see the beauty of it. That is also the case with this road movie of Momoa.

It is not just the images you have seen hundreds of times before, Momoa also finds it necessary to add cliché poetry. The only bright spot is the appearance of Lisa Bonet, who is in real life the wife of Momoa. We assume that Road To Paloma isonly fodder for motorcyclists who love the Indian lifestyle.

Didier BECU
07/04/2015


NL

Je kan er natuurlijk Dennis Hopper de schuld van geven, maar iedere film over een motorrijder die de vrijheid opzoekt wordt sowieso vergeleken met Easy Rider. In het geval van de indiaan Wolf (Jason Momoa, die de film ook regisseerde) moet je dat zeer letterlijk nemen want hij is op de vlucht voor het FBI nadat hij de man heeft vermoord die zijn moeder doodde en verkrachtte. Tijdens zijn rit ontmoet hij Cash (Robert Homer Mollohan, die meeschreef aan het script) en samen trekken ze naar de Rocky Mountains omdat Wolf de as van zijn moeder daar wil uitstrooien. Tijdens zijn tocht gebeurt er natuurlijk van alles, maar jammer genoeg veel te weinig om de aandacht van de kijker vast te houden.

Road to Paloma kun je eigenlijk het best vergelijken met die afschuwelijke T-shirts die je voor 5 euro koopt met daarop een indiaan en een wolf. Het is zo’n cliché dat je bijna gek moet zijn om daar nog de schoonheid van te zien. Dat is ook het geval met deze roadmovie van Momoa.

Het zijn niet alleen de beelden die je al honderden keren hebt gezien, ook vindt Momoa het nodig om zijn film vol te pompen met tenenkrommende poëzie. Het enige lichtpunt dat overblijft is de verschijning van Lisa Bonet, die in het dagelijkse leven de echtgenote van Momoa is. We veronderstellen dat Road To Paloma louter voer is voor motorrijders die dwepen met Indianen. 

Didier BECU
07/04/2015


07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma

Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me