tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma

JASON MOMOA

Road To Paloma

Movie
Thriller

[35/100]   

Anchor Bay
07/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

You can of course blame Dennis Hoppe, but every movie about a motorcyclist who seeks freedom, is automatically compared to Easy Rider. In the case of the Indian Wolf (Jason Momoa, who also directed the film) you have to take that freedom very literally, because he is on the run for the FBI after he murdered the man who killed and raped his mother. During his journey he meets Cash (Robert Homer Mollohan, who co-wrote the script) and together they go to the Rocky Mountains, because Wolf wants to scatter his mother's ashes there. During the trip lot of things happens but unfortunately far too little to hold the attention of the viewer.

You can actually compare the movie with those awful T-shirts that you can buy for 5 euro, showing an Indian and a wolf. It is such a cliché that you almost have to be crazy to still see the beauty of it. That is also the case with this road movie of Momoa.

It is not just the images you have seen hundreds of times before, Momoa also finds it necessary to add cliché poetry. The only bright spot is the appearance of Lisa Bonet, who is in real life the wife of Momoa. We assume that Road To Paloma isonly fodder for motorcyclists who love the Indian lifestyle.

Didier BECU
07/04/2015


NL

Je kan er natuurlijk Dennis Hopper de schuld van geven, maar iedere film over een motorrijder die de vrijheid opzoekt wordt sowieso vergeleken met Easy Rider. In het geval van de indiaan Wolf (Jason Momoa, die de film ook regisseerde) moet je dat zeer letterlijk nemen want hij is op de vlucht voor het FBI nadat hij de man heeft vermoord die zijn moeder doodde en verkrachtte. Tijdens zijn rit ontmoet hij Cash (Robert Homer Mollohan, die meeschreef aan het script) en samen trekken ze naar de Rocky Mountains omdat Wolf de as van zijn moeder daar wil uitstrooien. Tijdens zijn tocht gebeurt er natuurlijk van alles, maar jammer genoeg veel te weinig om de aandacht van de kijker vast te houden.

Road to Paloma kun je eigenlijk het best vergelijken met die afschuwelijke T-shirts die je voor 5 euro koopt met daarop een indiaan en een wolf. Het is zo’n cliché dat je bijna gek moet zijn om daar nog de schoonheid van te zien. Dat is ook het geval met deze roadmovie van Momoa.

Het zijn niet alleen de beelden die je al honderden keren hebt gezien, ook vindt Momoa het nodig om zijn film vol te pompen met tenenkrommende poëzie. Het enige lichtpunt dat overblijft is de verschijning van Lisa Bonet, die in het dagelijkse leven de echtgenote van Momoa is. We veronderstellen dat Road To Paloma louter voer is voor motorrijders die dwepen met Indianen. 

Didier BECU
07/04/2015


07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma

Music reviews

01
02
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Hologram Moon
31
01
MIRLAND/LARSEN
Disturbia
30
01
KASPER HATE
Why Live When You Can Rule
29
01
GLAARE
To Deaf and Day
28
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
NEIN! (Single)
27
01
BLUTENGEL
Black

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
02
Nemuer Unveils Mystical Music Video With Ancient Babylonian Lyrics
16
02
Mignon's new album “Toys Tantrum” is out on 9 February
16
02
3DFLY, featuring Dirk Da Davo (The Neon Judgement/Neon Electronics) releases EP!
15
02
The Arch announces new album concept and will release one brand new song every month of 2018!
14
02
JOACHIM WITT, QNTAL, IN THE NURSERY, RROYCE & MANY OTHERS TO COMPLETE THE AMPHI LINE-UP 2018
14
02
Today, exactly 39 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
01
KIM LARSEN (: OF THE WAND AND THE MOON:)
Symbols still carry personal meaning to me.
29
01
ELEKTROSTAUB
'I think it will be almost impossible to combine all the artists into one single concept.'
26
01
DIE FORM
I would like to be optimistic and positive, but the world seems to move inexorably/blindly towards a sombre future, towards chaos.
24
01
LIVINGTOTEM
‘INDUSTRIAL INFUSED ROMANTIC TECHNOID MUSIC’
22
01
MESH
Richard Silverthorn Of Mesh On “Gothic Meets Classic” And The “Live at Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig” Album

PHOTOS

10
02
NIK KERSHAW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
10
02
CUTTING CREW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
23
01
THE ALARM
Winterfest Gent
23
01
WOLFGANG FLUR
Winterfest Gent
23
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
Winterfest Gent
23
01
SIMI NAH
Winterfest Gent
23
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Winterfest Gent

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
02
SHE PAST AWAY
Sanri
17
02
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible
17
02
FEVER RAY
If I Had A Heart
16
02
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent
15
02
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
I Face The Wall
14
02
THE SPECTORS
Sharknado
13
02
LIGHTS OF EUPHORIA
Hallo Hallo