tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma

JASON MOMOA

Road To Paloma

Movie
Thriller

[35/100]   

Anchor Bay
07/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

You can of course blame Dennis Hoppe, but every movie about a motorcyclist who seeks freedom, is automatically compared to Easy Rider. In the case of the Indian Wolf (Jason Momoa, who also directed the film) you have to take that freedom very literally, because he is on the run for the FBI after he murdered the man who killed and raped his mother. During his journey he meets Cash (Robert Homer Mollohan, who co-wrote the script) and together they go to the Rocky Mountains, because Wolf wants to scatter his mother's ashes there. During the trip lot of things happens but unfortunately far too little to hold the attention of the viewer.

You can actually compare the movie with those awful T-shirts that you can buy for 5 euro, showing an Indian and a wolf. It is such a cliché that you almost have to be crazy to still see the beauty of it. That is also the case with this road movie of Momoa.

It is not just the images you have seen hundreds of times before, Momoa also finds it necessary to add cliché poetry. The only bright spot is the appearance of Lisa Bonet, who is in real life the wife of Momoa. We assume that Road To Paloma isonly fodder for motorcyclists who love the Indian lifestyle.

Didier BECU
07/04/2015


NL

Je kan er natuurlijk Dennis Hopper de schuld van geven, maar iedere film over een motorrijder die de vrijheid opzoekt wordt sowieso vergeleken met Easy Rider. In het geval van de indiaan Wolf (Jason Momoa, die de film ook regisseerde) moet je dat zeer letterlijk nemen want hij is op de vlucht voor het FBI nadat hij de man heeft vermoord die zijn moeder doodde en verkrachtte. Tijdens zijn rit ontmoet hij Cash (Robert Homer Mollohan, die meeschreef aan het script) en samen trekken ze naar de Rocky Mountains omdat Wolf de as van zijn moeder daar wil uitstrooien. Tijdens zijn tocht gebeurt er natuurlijk van alles, maar jammer genoeg veel te weinig om de aandacht van de kijker vast te houden.

Road to Paloma kun je eigenlijk het best vergelijken met die afschuwelijke T-shirts die je voor 5 euro koopt met daarop een indiaan en een wolf. Het is zo’n cliché dat je bijna gek moet zijn om daar nog de schoonheid van te zien. Dat is ook het geval met deze roadmovie van Momoa.

Het zijn niet alleen de beelden die je al honderden keren hebt gezien, ook vindt Momoa het nodig om zijn film vol te pompen met tenenkrommende poëzie. Het enige lichtpunt dat overblijft is de verschijning van Lisa Bonet, die in het dagelijkse leven de echtgenote van Momoa is. We veronderstellen dat Road To Paloma louter voer is voor motorrijders die dwepen met Indianen. 

Didier BECU
07/04/2015


07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma 07/04/2015 : JASON MOMOA - Road To Paloma

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019
14
07
'Hidden Figures' release their first single this August - debut album in progress!
13
07
Exclusive BEAUTY IN THE SUFFERING Performance Featured In New Horror Film, CLOWN MOTEL

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
THE SAINT PAUL
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis
12
07
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
11
07
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue