tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

15/06/2014 : JAY SMITH - King of Man

JAY SMITH

King of Man

MusicCD
GaragerockPost RockRockSinger Songwriter

[91/100]   

Gain Music
15/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

'The Blues', well: the title describes the song and the genre perfectly! A great one, well lived true! I like his voice! A bit more into rock and with a high Nickelback influence is 'Women' and it's clear that he's very keen on them, almost getting a high on them! I can smell the smoking gun!
With this one the front cover gets uncovered (yup: a half-naked man, with a sexy torso, just too bad that he's smoking a cigarette). Somehow I get a typical American vibe here, but he's from Sweden and that's a bit strange. The piano, the backing choir and the classical vibe in the beginning of 'Keeps me Alive' reminds me of some 80's hit, but its name slips too fast away. There's even a saxophone in it! Maybe it's 'You make me feel like a natural women' from Aretha Franklin however his voice reminds me more of Joe Cocker, but it's a great track! '
King of Man', the title track has a nice piano in it and a 50's retro sound. It goes almost like a waltz or is it more meant as a Christmas song? It's filled with sweetness and a great choir. At some point I started thinking about Tom Jones and his 'Delayla'. 'Cowboys from Hell' sounds a bit like the track, it's really funny how he chooses the title tracks! Bon Jovi isn’t far away on this one. '
Sanctuary' starts with a late night jazzy sound, coming from a bar, drinking a whisky... and then turns into some Nickelback with a little bit of strings. Some more jazz-rock (trumpets included) with 'Keep your troubles at Bay'. It's nicely swinging and swaying, even for me it was hard to start moving on the rhythm as it is a real catchy track! It might figure in series like True Blood or Sons of Anarchy!
Almost on the same level is 'Ode to Death (Little Sister)', with a very nice piano solo in it. 'Tramp of Love' sounds more like a ballad. Again I feel a very American orientated vibe! Is it the chorus, the girls in the back, the guitars, the producer … ? I don't know and I think you better listen to it and judge for yourself.
This one also reminds me of Nickelback. 'Evil I might be' is a nice soft rocker with a nice orgue and a funky sound. 'Worries won't Bring It Back' is also a great track, but this one beats them all: 'Sanctuary Revisited' as is has been turned into a great tearjerker of a ballad!

It's a nice jewel, not very original (in my personal opinion), but I stayed tuned the whole afternoon and would have still listened to it if I did not need to focus on filling in my tax papers... I think that says enough, right?

 

Filip VAN MUYLEM
15/06/2014


 

Next reviews
STUART BEATTIE • I, Frankenstein
XOTOX • Redux
HUNTER COMPLEX • Hours (Single)
ATOMZERO • Symbiosis
LOVELORN DOLLS • The thrill EP
HANS HERBOTS • De Behandeling
PARADE GROUND • Strange World
IN SLAUGHTER NATIVES • Cannula Coma Legio
LARS VON TRIER • Nymphomaniac
NO:CARRIER • Wisom & Failure

 

Same genre: GARAGEROCK
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists
NIGHTMEN • Fifteen Minutes of Pain
SERATONES • Get Gone
ADAM & THE MADAMS • A & TM
THE CHILLS • Silver Bullets
DEBRIS OF TITAN • On the Home Slope
BLINDNESS • Wrapped In Plastic

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

 

Same genre: ROCK
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
SWEET BABOO • Dennis
KEVIN MORBY • Singing Saw

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
10
09
AUSTRA
Utopia
09
09
ROSA CRVX
Omnes