tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

15/06/2014 : JAY SMITH - King of Man

JAY SMITH

King of Man

MusicCD
GaragerockPost RockRockSinger Songwriter

[91/100]   

Gain Music
15/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

'The Blues', well: the title describes the song and the genre perfectly! A great one, well lived true! I like his voice! A bit more into rock and with a high Nickelback influence is 'Women' and it's clear that he's very keen on them, almost getting a high on them! I can smell the smoking gun!
With this one the front cover gets uncovered (yup: a half-naked man, with a sexy torso, just too bad that he's smoking a cigarette). Somehow I get a typical American vibe here, but he's from Sweden and that's a bit strange. The piano, the backing choir and the classical vibe in the beginning of 'Keeps me Alive' reminds me of some 80's hit, but its name slips too fast away. There's even a saxophone in it! Maybe it's 'You make me feel like a natural women' from Aretha Franklin however his voice reminds me more of Joe Cocker, but it's a great track! '
King of Man', the title track has a nice piano in it and a 50's retro sound. It goes almost like a waltz or is it more meant as a Christmas song? It's filled with sweetness and a great choir. At some point I started thinking about Tom Jones and his 'Delayla'. 'Cowboys from Hell' sounds a bit like the track, it's really funny how he chooses the title tracks! Bon Jovi isn’t far away on this one. '
Sanctuary' starts with a late night jazzy sound, coming from a bar, drinking a whisky... and then turns into some Nickelback with a little bit of strings. Some more jazz-rock (trumpets included) with 'Keep your troubles at Bay'. It's nicely swinging and swaying, even for me it was hard to start moving on the rhythm as it is a real catchy track! It might figure in series like True Blood or Sons of Anarchy!
Almost on the same level is 'Ode to Death (Little Sister)', with a very nice piano solo in it. 'Tramp of Love' sounds more like a ballad. Again I feel a very American orientated vibe! Is it the chorus, the girls in the back, the guitars, the producer … ? I don't know and I think you better listen to it and judge for yourself.
This one also reminds me of Nickelback. 'Evil I might be' is a nice soft rocker with a nice orgue and a funky sound. 'Worries won't Bring It Back' is also a great track, but this one beats them all: 'Sanctuary Revisited' as is has been turned into a great tearjerker of a ballad!

It's a nice jewel, not very original (in my personal opinion), but I stayed tuned the whole afternoon and would have still listened to it if I did not need to focus on filling in my tax papers... I think that says enough, right?

 

Filip VAN MUYLEM
15/06/2014


 

Next reviews
STUART BEATTIE • I, Frankenstein
XOTOX • Redux
HUNTER COMPLEX • Hours (Single)
ATOMZERO • Symbiosis
LOVELORN DOLLS • The thrill EP
HANS HERBOTS • De Behandeling
PARADE GROUND • Strange World
IN SLAUGHTER NATIVES • Cannula Coma Legio
LARS VON TRIER • Nymphomaniac
NO:CARRIER • Wisom & Failure

 

Same genre: GARAGEROCK
SONNY VINCENT • Shake Pit Therapy
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists
NIGHTMEN • Fifteen Minutes of Pain
SERATONES • Get Gone
ADAM & THE MADAMS • A & TM
THE CHILLS • Silver Bullets

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities

 

Same genre: ROCK
THE HEAT INC. • EP
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
14
10
NOISUF-X
Let's Rock
13
10
ANNA MEREDITH
R-Type
12
10
LOLA ANGST
Wie Gott
11
10
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
10
10
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Halloween
09
10
FRONT 242
Tragedy For You