tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

15/06/2014 : JAY SMITH - King of Man

JAY SMITH

King of Man

MusicCD
GaragerockPost RockRockSinger Songwriter

[91/100]   

Gain Music
15/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

'The Blues', well: the title describes the song and the genre perfectly! A great one, well lived true! I like his voice! A bit more into rock and with a high Nickelback influence is 'Women' and it's clear that he's very keen on them, almost getting a high on them! I can smell the smoking gun!
With this one the front cover gets uncovered (yup: a half-naked man, with a sexy torso, just too bad that he's smoking a cigarette). Somehow I get a typical American vibe here, but he's from Sweden and that's a bit strange. The piano, the backing choir and the classical vibe in the beginning of 'Keeps me Alive' reminds me of some 80's hit, but its name slips too fast away. There's even a saxophone in it! Maybe it's 'You make me feel like a natural women' from Aretha Franklin however his voice reminds me more of Joe Cocker, but it's a great track! '
King of Man', the title track has a nice piano in it and a 50's retro sound. It goes almost like a waltz or is it more meant as a Christmas song? It's filled with sweetness and a great choir. At some point I started thinking about Tom Jones and his 'Delayla'. 'Cowboys from Hell' sounds a bit like the track, it's really funny how he chooses the title tracks! Bon Jovi isn’t far away on this one. '
Sanctuary' starts with a late night jazzy sound, coming from a bar, drinking a whisky... and then turns into some Nickelback with a little bit of strings. Some more jazz-rock (trumpets included) with 'Keep your troubles at Bay'. It's nicely swinging and swaying, even for me it was hard to start moving on the rhythm as it is a real catchy track! It might figure in series like True Blood or Sons of Anarchy!
Almost on the same level is 'Ode to Death (Little Sister)', with a very nice piano solo in it. 'Tramp of Love' sounds more like a ballad. Again I feel a very American orientated vibe! Is it the chorus, the girls in the back, the guitars, the producer … ? I don't know and I think you better listen to it and judge for yourself.
This one also reminds me of Nickelback. 'Evil I might be' is a nice soft rocker with a nice orgue and a funky sound. 'Worries won't Bring It Back' is also a great track, but this one beats them all: 'Sanctuary Revisited' as is has been turned into a great tearjerker of a ballad!

It's a nice jewel, not very original (in my personal opinion), but I stayed tuned the whole afternoon and would have still listened to it if I did not need to focus on filling in my tax papers... I think that says enough, right?

 

Filip VAN MUYLEM
15/06/2014


 

Next reviews
STUART BEATTIE • I, Frankenstein
XOTOX • Redux
HUNTER COMPLEX • Hours (Single)
ATOMZERO • Symbiosis
LOVELORN DOLLS • The thrill EP
HANS HERBOTS • De Behandeling
PARADE GROUND • Strange World
IN SLAUGHTER NATIVES • Cannula Coma Legio
LARS VON TRIER • Nymphomaniac
NO:CARRIER • Wisom & Failure

 

Same genre: GARAGEROCK
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists
NIGHTMEN • Fifteen Minutes of Pain
SERATONES • Get Gone
ADAM & THE MADAMS • A & TM
THE CHILLS • Silver Bullets
DEBRIS OF TITAN • On the Home Slope

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

 

Same genre: ROCK
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind

Music reviews

14
08
LUKE LUND
Hopium
13
08
KRALLICE
Mass Cathexis
09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
08
MICK HARRIS (SCORN,LULL,EX-NAPALM DEATH...)
'I still see myself as a bit of a punk...'
10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AND ONE
Killing The Mercy
14
08
SEPTEMBER 87
Bad Dream Baby
13
08
KING DALTON
When The Bad Is Gone
12
08
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
11
08
JACK MANIAC
No Fate
10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands