tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

15/06/2014 : JAY SMITH - King of Man

JAY SMITH

King of Man

MusicCD
GaragerockPost RockRockSinger Songwriter

[91/100]   

Gain Music
15/06/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

'The Blues', well: the title describes the song and the genre perfectly! A great one, well lived true! I like his voice! A bit more into rock and with a high Nickelback influence is 'Women' and it's clear that he's very keen on them, almost getting a high on them! I can smell the smoking gun!
With this one the front cover gets uncovered (yup: a half-naked man, with a sexy torso, just too bad that he's smoking a cigarette). Somehow I get a typical American vibe here, but he's from Sweden and that's a bit strange. The piano, the backing choir and the classical vibe in the beginning of 'Keeps me Alive' reminds me of some 80's hit, but its name slips too fast away. There's even a saxophone in it! Maybe it's 'You make me feel like a natural women' from Aretha Franklin however his voice reminds me more of Joe Cocker, but it's a great track! '
King of Man', the title track has a nice piano in it and a 50's retro sound. It goes almost like a waltz or is it more meant as a Christmas song? It's filled with sweetness and a great choir. At some point I started thinking about Tom Jones and his 'Delayla'. 'Cowboys from Hell' sounds a bit like the track, it's really funny how he chooses the title tracks! Bon Jovi isn’t far away on this one. '
Sanctuary' starts with a late night jazzy sound, coming from a bar, drinking a whisky... and then turns into some Nickelback with a little bit of strings. Some more jazz-rock (trumpets included) with 'Keep your troubles at Bay'. It's nicely swinging and swaying, even for me it was hard to start moving on the rhythm as it is a real catchy track! It might figure in series like True Blood or Sons of Anarchy!
Almost on the same level is 'Ode to Death (Little Sister)', with a very nice piano solo in it. 'Tramp of Love' sounds more like a ballad. Again I feel a very American orientated vibe! Is it the chorus, the girls in the back, the guitars, the producer … ? I don't know and I think you better listen to it and judge for yourself.
This one also reminds me of Nickelback. 'Evil I might be' is a nice soft rocker with a nice orgue and a funky sound. 'Worries won't Bring It Back' is also a great track, but this one beats them all: 'Sanctuary Revisited' as is has been turned into a great tearjerker of a ballad!

It's a nice jewel, not very original (in my personal opinion), but I stayed tuned the whole afternoon and would have still listened to it if I did not need to focus on filling in my tax papers... I think that says enough, right?

 

Filip VAN MUYLEM
15/06/2014


 

Next reviews
STUART BEATTIE • I, Frankenstein
XOTOX • Redux
HUNTER COMPLEX • Hours (Single)
ATOMZERO • Symbiosis
LOVELORN DOLLS • The thrill EP
HANS HERBOTS • De Behandeling
PARADE GROUND • Strange World
IN SLAUGHTER NATIVES • Cannula Coma Legio
LARS VON TRIER • Nymphomaniac
NO:CARRIER • Wisom & Failure

 

Same genre: GARAGEROCK
G.U.S.T. • Gust of wind
SONNY VINCENT • Shake Pit Therapy
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists
NIGHTMEN • Fifteen Minutes of Pain
SERATONES • Get Gone
ADAM & THE MADAMS • A & TM

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities

 

Same genre: ROCK
THIS CAN HURT • A Darker Shade Of Blue
THE HEAT INC. • EP
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
48 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
05
CONFLICT
Dont Panik Esssen
21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
LOVELESSLUST
Fashion - David Bowie tribute
25
05
CORPO-MENTE
Arsalein
24
05
ATARI TEENAGE RIOT
Adrenaline
23
05
MODEL DEPOSE
Nightwatch
22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day