tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/09/2019 : JE T'AIME - Je T'aime

JE T'AIME

Je T'aime

MusicCD
Darkwave

[78/100]   
20/09/2019, Aldo QUAGLIOTTI

Les Parisiennes ensemble of Anaïs Novembre , Marion Parfait, Dany Boy and Crazy Z, grouped under the collective name of Je T’aime, hibernated in the misty scene for quite some time. After having decided to break the latitant consistency of their talent, barricaded into a secluded spot on the coast of Brittany, the self-titled debut album turns out to be a pertinent and well-produced follow-up of the single that had premiered in the spring of 2018, called “The sound”.

After the first listen the post-punk cold wave hybrid might be in need of some better guidance, but the lineament of its face is clearly a trenchant description of intellectual libertinage: in the same journey we find accented beats, lethiferous sonic constructions and laborious and intense lyrics, rigorously in English with hues of French.

A choice, this one, that doesn’t completely translate into efficiency : if it’s true that the language itself, always pointed out for being an amorous and utterly erogenous native tongue and here strongly menacing, sometimes jeopardizes the project credibility, sounding a lixiphanic construction that would just happen to be so elegant, if instead of coming out of such boisterous band, would be distinguishably hummed by Letrux.

Many elements are there propping the spirit up. We marvelously trip over songs like “Dance”, with Its thudding riff insisting over the main line and “The flying Dutchman”, that brings about a certain brilliance whose grace, skill and virtuosity enthrall the listener.

It is, a project that doesn’t lean on fashion (what better than “Spyglass” as a “Nihil obstat” for promoting them?), that proudly “runs under the sun” (“Hide and seek”) and definitely plugs into the unknown and untouched territories, unwound from the foreseeable aesthetic of these times (“Satan’s bitch”).

Je T’aime generously picks out elements from many sources, besides their talent: it latches onto interesting northern European scenes of thriving personalities (who said Hercules And Love Affair?) and lives with bands like Sundara Karma, 1975, Joy division (“A million sun”, to mention one).

The lustful, lickerish grin of “Fuck me” is straightened out by “Merry-go round”, whose syncs are lashing down mercilessly with up-tempo beats, preparing the ground to “Watch out”, a Moby's "Yeah" slow-mo version, less eurodance and with more eerie-infused sound that slightly limps over the ending, nearly dissolving.

What is sure, after these eleven tracks, is that this band fobs doubts off and it’s surely ready to progress and evolve. For now, long story short: that’s a fabulous limber up.

Aldo QUAGLIOTTI
20/09/2019


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty