tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

07/07/2014 : JEAN-PAUL LILIENFIELD - Arretêz-moi

JEAN-PAUL LILIENFIELD

Arretêz-moi

MovieMovie classics
CrimeDrama

[77/100]   

France TV Distribution
07/07/2014, Didier BECU

EN

The most beautiful thing about cinema is that you can do many things with it. For some it’s pure art, while others make a science from it. Sometimes people often forget that the brothers Lumière invented the cinématographe to entertain the audience. Film is indeed art of the moving images, but also an unique way to escape from reality, just like it’s a perfect tool to show some dark sides of this world. Another element that this artificial (but perfect) world has created is lots of idols. Some reviews have found an ideal way to avoid their “shame”, they call it a guilty pleasure. A stupid word as it just feels like: “In fact I’m ashamed to show my dedication, but with this word I can hide it and keep on pretending that I’m better than the rest”. No, I don’t like that…I have idols too (even lots of them) and I’m proud of it! Among the male ones I still prefer Robert De Niro the most, even if he made the last 20 years nothing but crap. And as fave actress? Well, I absolutely go for Sophie Marceau. Because she has such a pretty face? Of course a bit yes, but also because she’s simply the best actress ever.


Even if Marceau starred in two blockbusters (The World Is Not Enough and Braveheart), she quickly returned to her French roots. The actress could be spot in funny (kind of forgettable), but also excellente arthouse movies. Arrêtez-moi (Arrest me) by Jean-Paul Lilienfeld floats between the two styles. This director was able to give the career of Isabelle Adjani a new boost with La Journée De La Jupe , and with Miou-Miou he wanted to repeat this nice trick. Arrêtez-moi is based upon the novel Les Lois De La Gravité by Jean Teulé and it feels (in a good way that is!) like a play.

A woman (Sophie Marceau) from whom we’ll never know the name enters a police office. The only cop around is Luitenant Pontoise (Miou-Miou) who is looking forward for the upcoming weekend. The disturbed woman destroys those fine plans. Soon it’ll be midnight and that means that the murder on her husband will be a classified case then. All those years the authorities concluded that her husband committed suicide, but the woman declares that she was the one killing him by pushing her husband from the balcony. During the conversation it gets clear that the woman daily was terrorized by her husband. Every day she was beaten up and has to support cruel humiliations. Pontoise refuses to cooperate with the interrogation. Within a hour the case no longer exists and it seems like no one is mourning about the death from this man, but the woman begs the police officer to arrest her.


The story is more than that. There are lots of twists you don’t expect, but as we respect our readers we won’t give away spoilers. The directing could use a bit more force, but thanks to the brilliant performances you’ll never notice that. Miou-Miou is simply sublime and her role reminded us a bit of La Femme Flic by Yves Boisset: the movie she conquered France with in the beginning of the 80’s. Sophie Marceau is once again brilliant (of course!). It takes a while before we get used to see her performing someone who is from the lower class and bears literally the scars of many beatings, but it works.


The sole extra you’ll find on this disc is Le making of Arrêtez-moi. This bonus from 20 minutes is more like an extended interview with Sophie Marceau. You can also find out how the French diva learns to fight. Filliing up the disc, you say? We guess so, but no complaints…


Outside France no one has ever heard from Arrêtez-moi. A little shame as this intriguing movie contains excellent performances by both Sophie Marceau and Miou-Miou. You can’t say we didn’t told you!

 

Didier BECU
07/07/2014


NL

Het mooiste aan film is dat je er zo veel kanten mee op kan. Sommigen beschouwen cinema als pure kunst, maken er zelfs een saaie wetenschap van en vergeten maar al te vaak dat de gebroeders Lumière de cinématographe hebben uitgevonden om een publiek te entertainen. Film is, naast beeldkunst, ook een middel om de saaie realiteit te ontvluchten. Soms ook, om bepaalde (niet altijd even leuke) aspecten uit de wereld uit te vergroten. Een ander element uit deze verrukkelijke wereld is dat er idolen ontstaan. Moet je je daar voor schamen? Befaamde recensenten hebben dat tegenwoordig mooi weten te omzeilen door de term guilty pleasure in het leven te roepen. Een onnozel woord dat zoveel betekent als “we durven het eigenlijk niet toegeven, maar...”. Nu goed, eerlijkheidshalve wordt het me ook duidelijk dat ik mezelf zit te verdedigen omdat ik ook zo’n mens ben die idolen heeft. Bij de mannetjes hou ik het nog altijd (ondanks zijn verschrikkelijke rommel van de laatste jaren) op Robert De Niro, maar bij de vrouwtjes is Sophie Marceau de onverslagen winnares. Wegens dat knappe snoetje? Natuurlijk wel, maar ook gewoon omdat ze de beste actrice is!


Ook al schitterde Marceau in twee blockbusters van jewelste (The World Is Not Enough en Braveheart) keerde ze toch vliegensvlug naar haar Franse roots terug. Je kon haar in zowel leuke niemendalletjes als in excellente arthouse zien. Arrêtez-moi (Arresteer mij!) van Jean-Paul Lilienfeld zweeft een beetje tussen de twee. Deze regisseur slaagde erin om met La Journée De La Jupe de carrière van Isabelle Adjani (jawel, die andere Franse vamp!) een nieuwe boost te geven en hij wilde dat met Miou-Miou nog eens overdoen. Arrêtez-moi is gebaseerd op het boek Les Lois De La Gravité van Jean Teulé en voelt een beetje als een toneelstuk aan.



Een vrouw (Sophie Marceau) van wie we nooit de naam zullen kennen stapt op een avond een politiebureau binnen. De enige flik van dienst is Luitenant Pontoise (Miou-Miou) die uitkijkt naar een weekend dat weldra begint. De verwarde vrouw gooit echter roet in het eten. Weldra wordt het middernacht en dat betekent dat de moord op haar man verjaart. Men ging er altijd van uit dat haar echtgenoot zelfmoord heeft gepleegd, maar de dame zegt dat zij hem heeft vermoord door hem opzettelijk van het balkon te duwen. In een gesprek wordt duidelijk dat de vrouw dag in dag uit werd geterroriseerd door haar echtgenoot. Ze kreeg dagelijks slaag en moest de grootste vernederingen ondergaan. Pontoise weigert echter om mee te werken aan de ondervraging. Binnen een uur is de zaak verjaart en niemand die nog maalt om het heengaan van de man; maar de vrouw smeekt om haar alsnog te arresteren.


Het verhaal is meer dan dat. Er zijn heel wat plotwendingen waar je je niet aan verwacht, maar uit respect voor de lezer verklappen we die uiteraard niet. De regie is wat futloos, maar dankzij de excellente acteerprestaties merk je daar maar weinig van. Miou-Miou is subliem en de rol doet een beetje denken aan die uit La Femme Flic van Yves Boisset waarmee zij in het begin van de jaren 80 Frankrijk veroverde. Sophie Marceau is wederom briljant (jawel!). Het is wel een beetje wennen om haar in een rol te zien van een dame uit een lagere sociale klasse die letterlijk de littekens van de vele meppen heeft, maar het werkt.


De enige extra die je op deze disk vindt is Le making of Arrêtez-moi. Deze bonus duurt een kleine 20 minuten en je ziet vooral een uitgebreid interview met Sophie Marceau. Ook kan je zien hoe de Franse diva leert vechten. Schijfvulling? Mja....


Geen mens die buiten Frankrijk Arrêtez-moi kent. Een kleine schande is dat, want deze intrigerende prent zit vol ijzersterk acteerwerk van Sophie Marceau en Miou-Miou. Dit jaar staat het Filmfestival van Gent in het teken van de Franse film omdat de belangstelling in Vlaanderen voor de Franse cinema best een opkikker kan gebruiken

Didier BECU
07/07/2014


07/07/2014 : JEAN-PAUL LILIENFIELD - Arretêz-moi 07/07/2014 : JEAN-PAUL LILIENFIELD - Arretêz-moi 07/07/2014 : JEAN-PAUL LILIENFIELD - Arretêz-moi 07/07/2014 : JEAN-PAUL LILIENFIELD - Arretêz-moi 07/07/2014 : JEAN-PAUL LILIENFIELD - Arretêz-moi 07/07/2014 : JEAN-PAUL LILIENFIELD - Arretêz-moi 07/07/2014 : JEAN-PAUL LILIENFIELD - Arretêz-moi 07/07/2014 : JEAN-PAUL LILIENFIELD - Arretêz-moi 07/07/2014 : JEAN-PAUL LILIENFIELD - Arretêz-moi 07/07/2014 : JEAN-PAUL LILIENFIELD - Arretêz-moi 07/07/2014 : JEAN-PAUL LILIENFIELD - Arretêz-moi 07/07/2014 : JEAN-PAUL LILIENFIELD - Arretêz-moi 07/07/2014 : JEAN-PAUL LILIENFIELD - Arretêz-moi

 

Next reviews
TOM GORMICAN • That Akward Moment
VOLKER SCHLONDORFF • Diplomatie
BLEEDING CORP • THE BLACK HEART (Single)
TANZWUT • Eselsmesse
HELL BOULEVARD • Hangover from Hell
FUNKER VOGT • Survivors Collector's Edition
JEAN BECKER • L'été meurtrier
MICHAEL CIMINO • Thunderbolt And Lightfoot
MONOVIBES • Extended Play EP
ADAM MCKAY • Anchorman 2-The legend continues

 

Same combination of genres: CRIME + DRAMA
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators
CRAIG ZOBEL • COMPLIANCE
GEORGE SLUIZER • Spoorloos
• THE MISSING
PIETER VAN HEES • Waste Land
JOSEPHN HAHN • Mall
ANDREJY ZVYAGINTSEV • Leviathan
DAVID MACKENZIE • Starred Up
ATOM EGOYAN • The Captive (FilmFest Ghent 2014)
MARTIN WEISZ • Squatters

 

Same genre: CRIME
ANDREA DI STEFANO • Escobar: Paradise Lost
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
ANDRE VAN DUREN • De Bende Van Oss
RICHARD BROOKS • IN COLD BLOOD
DAVID BRADLEY • Harry Brown
PHIL JOANOU • State Of Grace
SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER • Victoria
PAUL THOMAS ANDERSON • Inherent Vice
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
MICHAEL MANN • Blackhat

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures