tempobet yeni adresi

09/08/2011 : JEFF & JANE HUDSON - Flesh

JEFF & JANE HUDSON

Flesh

MusicVinyl
MinimalNew wave

[83/100]   

Dark Entries Records
09/08/2011, Didier BECU

Dark Entries Records are becoming increasingly more important when it comes to re-releasing unfindable records from the 80's.

A few weeks ago we presented the highly acclaimed compilation by Parade Ground and now we can add "Flesh" from the Bostonian duo Jeff & Jane Hudson to their already impressive list.

These two started out somewhere in 1977 with art punk band The Rentals but they decided to go their own way. It was clear from the very first single ("No Clubs", included as one of the ten additional tracks on here) that they would have a new wave-sound.

I always described them as a duo with a Chris & Cosey sound, the only difference that most of their songs would fit fine in an alternative disco in the 80's.

I don't know if they ever got to play there but after having released "The World Trade EP", they launched the "Flesh" album which has been hailed by many music fans as one of the greatest wave-albums of all time.

This has lots to do with the use of the infamous TR808 and those Roland-synths which give this album a definite eighties-touch.

Originally released on J&J-Records it was re-released in 2000 on the Belgian Daft Records label, run by Dirk Ivens.

But now in 2011 the final icing on the cake comes with this deluxe-edition that also contains those three singles which makes this an essential wave-release even for those who have already the Daft reissue in their collection.

This release is both available on CD and vinyl.

 

 

 

Didier BECU
09/08/2011


 

Next reviews
WIELORYB • Empty
ATOMIC NEON • Change
ISZOLOSCOPE • The Edge Of Certainty
THE TWINS • The Impossible Dream
LPF12 • A sense of loss
HANS NIESWANDT • Hans is playing house
EMPUSAE & SHINKIRO • Organic Aural Ornaments
THE PRAYER TREE • The Prayer Tree
SLEW52 • Catalog
SUNS OF ARQA • Stranger Music

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
XENO & OAKLANDER • Topiary
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
ARBEID ADELT! • Slik
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
TRANQUIL EYES • Fact & Fiction
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
NOVEMBER NOVELET • Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)

Music reviews

28
04
DURUTTI COLUMN
Domo Arigato
26
04
PIANO MAGIC
Closure
25
04
VENN
Runes
23
04
BING AND RUTH
No Home of the Mind
21
04
CONRAD SCHNITZLER AND POLE
Con-Struct
19
04
BRIAN ENO
Reflection

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
04
INFEST 2017: Sidewalks & Skeletons confirmed!
27
04
The Residents are heading to Europe
26
04
New Roger Waters Album : Is This The Life We Really Want ?
26
04
Gary Numan announces a new album, a new tour and explains his new SAVAGE image!
25
04
New Names for Brussels Summer Festival 2017
22
04
New album by Illuminine

Concert reviews

15
04
DURBUY ROCK
New Model Army loves a hopeless cause... | Durbuy, Belgium | 08.04.2017
10
04
HAUSCHKA
Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
06
04
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Some postpunk, indie, coldwave bands to discover at WGT 2017 (Leipzig, D)
04
04
HOCICO, SHAARGHOT
Magasin 4 - 29 maart 2017
26
03
26 TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - JUNE 2TH - 5 TH 2017
Some minimal bands to check out !
21
03
ELM, MONO ELECTRONIC DENSITY, LUMYIA
Les Vierges Morbides, Café Bobble, Lomme/Rijsel - 11 maart 2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
04
DIVE
'Music is a virus!'
20
04
SOVIETWAVE
Cosmonauts' day special
18
04
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
'The universe of dark industrial music takes me somewhere I want to be'
16
04
ATARAXIA
'Music is the miracle of coming into being and vanishing'
14
04
SPHERICAL DISRUPTED
‘Every single sound is very important and has to be effective!'

PHOTOS

25
04
DIVE
Darkest Night 2017, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
24
04
AKALOTZ
Darkest Night 2017, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
24
04
STIN SCATZOR
Darkest Night 2017, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
24
04
KNK
Darkest Night 2017, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
17
04
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
17
04
WILLIAM CONTROL
Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
17
04
EMPATHY TEST
Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

28
04
HELENA HAUFF
Sworn To Secrecy Part II
27
04
THIS MORN' OMINA
Garuda Vimana CCF
26
04
AMBASSADOR21
AMBASSADOR21 official video 'Revelation'
25
04
HAUSCHKA
Constant Growth Fails
24
04
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
24
04
DIVE
Far Away
23
04
ME AND THAT MAN
Cross My Heart And Hope To Die