tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

09/08/2011 : JEFF & JANE HUDSON - Flesh

JEFF & JANE HUDSON

Flesh

MusicVinyl
MinimalNew wave

[83/100]   

Dark Entries Records
09/08/2011, Didier BECU

Dark Entries Records are becoming increasingly more important when it comes to re-releasing unfindable records from the 80's.

A few weeks ago we presented the highly acclaimed compilation by Parade Ground and now we can add "Flesh" from the Bostonian duo Jeff & Jane Hudson to their already impressive list.

These two started out somewhere in 1977 with art punk band The Rentals but they decided to go their own way. It was clear from the very first single ("No Clubs", included as one of the ten additional tracks on here) that they would have a new wave-sound.

I always described them as a duo with a Chris & Cosey sound, the only difference that most of their songs would fit fine in an alternative disco in the 80's.

I don't know if they ever got to play there but after having released "The World Trade EP", they launched the "Flesh" album which has been hailed by many music fans as one of the greatest wave-albums of all time.

This has lots to do with the use of the infamous TR808 and those Roland-synths which give this album a definite eighties-touch.

Originally released on J&J-Records it was re-released in 2000 on the Belgian Daft Records label, run by Dirk Ivens.

But now in 2011 the final icing on the cake comes with this deluxe-edition that also contains those three singles which makes this an essential wave-release even for those who have already the Daft reissue in their collection.

This release is both available on CD and vinyl.

 

 

 

Didier BECU
09/08/2011


Music reviews

05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH
deathwish
05
10
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes