casino siteleri odeonbet Casino maxi casino metropol

09/08/2011 : JEFF & JANE HUDSON - Flesh

JEFF & JANE HUDSON

Flesh

MusicVinyl
MinimalNew wave

[83/100]   

Dark Entries Records
09/08/2011, Didier BECU

Dark Entries Records are becoming increasingly more important when it comes to re-releasing unfindable records from the 80's.

A few weeks ago we presented the highly acclaimed compilation by Parade Ground and now we can add "Flesh" from the Bostonian duo Jeff & Jane Hudson to their already impressive list.

These two started out somewhere in 1977 with art punk band The Rentals but they decided to go their own way. It was clear from the very first single ("No Clubs", included as one of the ten additional tracks on here) that they would have a new wave-sound.

I always described them as a duo with a Chris & Cosey sound, the only difference that most of their songs would fit fine in an alternative disco in the 80's.

I don't know if they ever got to play there but after having released "The World Trade EP", they launched the "Flesh" album which has been hailed by many music fans as one of the greatest wave-albums of all time.

This has lots to do with the use of the infamous TR808 and those Roland-synths which give this album a definite eighties-touch.

Originally released on J&J-Records it was re-released in 2000 on the Belgian Daft Records label, run by Dirk Ivens.

But now in 2011 the final icing on the cake comes with this deluxe-edition that also contains those three singles which makes this an essential wave-release even for those who have already the Daft reissue in their collection.

This release is both available on CD and vinyl.

 

 

 

Didier BECU
09/08/2011


 

Next reviews
WIELORYB • Empty
ATOMIC NEON • Change
ISZOLOSCOPE • The Edge Of Certainty
THE TWINS • The Impossible Dream
LPF12 • A sense of loss
HANS NIESWANDT • Hans is playing house
EMPUSAE & SHINKIRO • Organic Aural Ornaments
THE PRAYER TREE • The Prayer Tree
SLEW52 • Catalog
SUNS OF ARQA • Stranger Music

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
XENO & OAKLANDER • Topiary
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
ARBEID ADELT! • Slik
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
NOVEMBER NOVELET • Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)
DORIC • Sleep Of Reason
PASCAL PINON • Sundur
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
VARIOUS • 4 in 1 Volume 4
BRUTA NON CALCULANT • Instinct
X-QUADRAT • X-Quadrat
ROLF TROSTEL • Two Faces
OPPENHEIMER MKII • Another Nightmare

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
THE MONOCHROME SET • Cosmonaut
JOHN FOXX • Burning Car
THE ASSOCIATES • Sulk
THE ASSOCIATES • Fourth Drawer Down.
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch
BOOTBLACKS • Veins
MONICA JEFFRIES • Into Temptation
CLAUDIA BRUCKEN • Combined
TELEVISION + LAIL ARAD • London, Electric Brixton (12/06/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West

Music reviews

26
08
SHIELD PATTERNS
Mirror Breathing
26
08
GLERAKUR
Can't You Wait
26
08
FACTORY FLOOR
25 25
26
08
DEAD SKELELETONS
Live in Berlin
25
08
ELYSIAN GATES
Crossroads
25
08
ROBBING MILLIONS
Robbing Millions

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
08
PiL on Sinner's Day
24
08
Sinner's Day adds Tuxedomoon
23
08
New album by Marching Church on Sacred Bones
22
08
Dream poppers Polykite announce debut single
22
08
Synthpop band Perpacity releases single
21
08
Bayonne releases his debut on City Slang

Concert reviews

25
08
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE
Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
24
08
W-Festival Wortegem-Petegem (23/08/2016)
23
08
LALALOVER
Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
23
08
LIEN SCHOETERS
Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
22
08
THE ROADRUNNERS
Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
16
08
JO QUAIL
Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
08
STOPPENBERG
I am not in danger, I am the danger.
09
08
VIRGIN IN VEIL
With those covers, we wanted to make people ask themselves why they are more shocked by seeing tits, cunts or cocks than seeing images of war and messages of hate
08
08
HANTE
Music is a companion. You can choose the soundtrack of your life! It can change your emotions or comfort you like a friend.
20
07
RED MECCA
I've got a passion for the things you can't see with your eyes, only with your mind.
07
07
DECODED FEEDBACK
We don’t fall into one specific genre within the industrial community…and we love that.

PHOTOS

24
08
ALPHAVILLE
W-FESTIVAL, Wortegem, Belgium
24
08
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT
W-FESTIVAL, Wortegem, Belgium
24
08
MARC ALMOND
W-FESTIVAL, Wortegem, Belgium
24
08
SIAN EVANS (KOSHEEN)
W-FESTIVAL, Wortegem, Belgium
24
08
SCRITTI POLITTI
W-FESTIVAL, Wortegem, Belgium
24
08
HEAVEN 17
W-FESTIVAL, Wortegem, Belgium
24
08
DE BRASSERS
W-FESTIVAL, Wortegem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
08
An impression of Castle Party
25
08
IAN REVELL (DOUBLE EYELID)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
24
08
BRIGITTE ROSE (BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
18
08
VITA NOCTIS
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
16
08
SIDEARTICA
Sideartica: a forgotten gem

VIDEO CLIPS

28
08
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
27
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
26
08
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
26
08
3TEETH
Atrophy
26
08
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
25
08
DIORAMA
ZSA
25
08
REIN
I Dont Get Anything but Shit from You