tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

09/08/2011 : JEFF & JANE HUDSON - Flesh

JEFF & JANE HUDSON

Flesh

MusicVinyl
MinimalNew wave

[83/100]   

Dark Entries Records
09/08/2011, Didier BECU

Dark Entries Records are becoming increasingly more important when it comes to re-releasing unfindable records from the 80's.

A few weeks ago we presented the highly acclaimed compilation by Parade Ground and now we can add "Flesh" from the Bostonian duo Jeff & Jane Hudson to their already impressive list.

These two started out somewhere in 1977 with art punk band The Rentals but they decided to go their own way. It was clear from the very first single ("No Clubs", included as one of the ten additional tracks on here) that they would have a new wave-sound.

I always described them as a duo with a Chris & Cosey sound, the only difference that most of their songs would fit fine in an alternative disco in the 80's.

I don't know if they ever got to play there but after having released "The World Trade EP", they launched the "Flesh" album which has been hailed by many music fans as one of the greatest wave-albums of all time.

This has lots to do with the use of the infamous TR808 and those Roland-synths which give this album a definite eighties-touch.

Originally released on J&J-Records it was re-released in 2000 on the Belgian Daft Records label, run by Dirk Ivens.

But now in 2011 the final icing on the cake comes with this deluxe-edition that also contains those three singles which makes this an essential wave-release even for those who have already the Daft reissue in their collection.

This release is both available on CD and vinyl.

 

 

 

Didier BECU
09/08/2011


Music reviews

23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela