casino siteleri odeonbet Casino maxi casino metropol

09/08/2011 : JEFF & JANE HUDSON - Flesh

JEFF & JANE HUDSON

Flesh

MusicVinyl
MinimalNew wave

[83/100]   

Dark Entries Records
09/08/2011, Didier BECU

Dark Entries Records are becoming increasingly more important when it comes to re-releasing unfindable records from the 80's.

A few weeks ago we presented the highly acclaimed compilation by Parade Ground and now we can add "Flesh" from the Bostonian duo Jeff & Jane Hudson to their already impressive list.

These two started out somewhere in 1977 with art punk band The Rentals but they decided to go their own way. It was clear from the very first single ("No Clubs", included as one of the ten additional tracks on here) that they would have a new wave-sound.

I always described them as a duo with a Chris & Cosey sound, the only difference that most of their songs would fit fine in an alternative disco in the 80's.

I don't know if they ever got to play there but after having released "The World Trade EP", they launched the "Flesh" album which has been hailed by many music fans as one of the greatest wave-albums of all time.

This has lots to do with the use of the infamous TR808 and those Roland-synths which give this album a definite eighties-touch.

Originally released on J&J-Records it was re-released in 2000 on the Belgian Daft Records label, run by Dirk Ivens.

But now in 2011 the final icing on the cake comes with this deluxe-edition that also contains those three singles which makes this an essential wave-release even for those who have already the Daft reissue in their collection.

This release is both available on CD and vinyl.

 

 

 

Didier BECU
09/08/2011


 

Next reviews
WIELORYB • Empty
ATOMIC NEON • Change
ISZOLOSCOPE • The Edge Of Certainty
THE TWINS • The Impossible Dream
LPF12 • A sense of loss
HANS NIESWANDT • Hans is playing house
EMPUSAE & SHINKIRO • Organic Aural Ornaments
THE PRAYER TREE • The Prayer Tree
SLEW52 • Catalog
SUNS OF ARQA • Stranger Music

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
XENO & OAKLANDER • Topiary
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
ARBEID ADELT! • Slik
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
V.E.X. + HANTE • Waveteef - 9 september - JH Wommel
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
NOVEMBER NOVELET • Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)
DORIC • Sleep Of Reason
PASCAL PINON • Sundur
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
VARIOUS • 4 in 1 Volume 4
BRUTA NON CALCULANT • Instinct
X-QUADRAT • X-Quadrat

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
CANDLEBAGS • Albert
SANDIE TRASH • Tu Veux Monter Dans Le Wagon?
THE MONOCHROME SET • Cosmonaut
JOHN FOXX • Burning Car
THE ASSOCIATES • Sulk
THE ASSOCIATES • Fourth Drawer Down.
THE ASSOCIATES • The Affectionate Punch
BOOTBLACKS • Veins
MONICA JEFFRIES • Into Temptation

Music reviews

25
09
ADORATION DESTROYED
Ritual Damage
24
09
POSEYDON
Masterpiece
23
09
O VEUX
O Veux
22
09
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
22
09
DINOSAUR JR
Give a Glimpse of What Yer Not
22
09
ROME
The Hyperion Machine

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
New video by The Mission
23
09
New album by Leonard Cohen out on 21st October
23
09
Win a duo ticket for the warm voice of Madrugada... Sivert Høyem! Live at De Casino, St Niklaas, B
23
09
W-Fest announces its first names.
22
09
Bood Axis & Dead Man's Hill @ Waaiberg - Leuven - B
22
09
New material by Ultra Arcanum

Concert reviews

11
09
V.E.X. + HANTE
Waveteef - 9 september - JH Wommel
06
09
LEVEL 42
Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
06
09
JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
05
09
A LINN THING
Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
25
08
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE
Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
24
08
W-Festival Wortegem-Petegem (23/08/2016)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
09
THE MISSION
I think I am The Mission’s strongest weapon, but also it’s weakest link.
14
09
ARNWALD
The main sources of inspiration are my hate, my pain and my own fears
13
09
SPARK!
'Direct' and for real!
05
09
SATANISMO CALIBRO 9
I can't understand the so called digital releases.
04
09
MESH
We pour our heart and soul into everything we do but its the listeners reaction that makes it.

PHOTOS

10
09
HANTE
Waveteef, Fort II, Wommelgem, Belgium
10
09
V.E.X.
Waveteef, Fort II, Wommelgem, Belgium
03
09
VIVE LA FETE
ENTREMURALHAS, Leiria, Portugal
03
09
KITE
ENTREMURALHAS, Leiria, Portugal
03
09
CORPO-MENTE
ENTREMURALHAS, Leiria, Portugal
03
09
IANVA
ENTREMURALHAS, Leiria, Portugal
03
09
GEOMETRIC VISION
ENTREMURALHAS, Leiria, Portugal

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

23
09
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
15
09
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
12
09
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
07
09
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
06
09
SIMON JONES (AND ALSO THE TREES)
Ten Albums That changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
25
09
SHIREEN
Umai
24
09
OAKTREE
La Fin
23
09
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
The Mercy Seat
23
09
DEAD CAN DANCE
The Carnival is Over
22
09
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Purge
22
09
CORPO-MENTE
Arsalein