tempobet yeni adresi

09/08/2011 : JEFF & JANE HUDSON - Flesh

JEFF & JANE HUDSON

Flesh

MusicVinyl
MinimalNew wave

[83/100]   

Dark Entries Records
09/08/2011, Didier BECU

Dark Entries Records are becoming increasingly more important when it comes to re-releasing unfindable records from the 80's.

A few weeks ago we presented the highly acclaimed compilation by Parade Ground and now we can add "Flesh" from the Bostonian duo Jeff & Jane Hudson to their already impressive list.

These two started out somewhere in 1977 with art punk band The Rentals but they decided to go their own way. It was clear from the very first single ("No Clubs", included as one of the ten additional tracks on here) that they would have a new wave-sound.

I always described them as a duo with a Chris & Cosey sound, the only difference that most of their songs would fit fine in an alternative disco in the 80's.

I don't know if they ever got to play there but after having released "The World Trade EP", they launched the "Flesh" album which has been hailed by many music fans as one of the greatest wave-albums of all time.

This has lots to do with the use of the infamous TR808 and those Roland-synths which give this album a definite eighties-touch.

Originally released on J&J-Records it was re-released in 2000 on the Belgian Daft Records label, run by Dirk Ivens.

But now in 2011 the final icing on the cake comes with this deluxe-edition that also contains those three singles which makes this an essential wave-release even for those who have already the Daft reissue in their collection.

This release is both available on CD and vinyl.

 

 

 

Didier BECU
09/08/2011


 

Next reviews
WIELORYB • Empty
ATOMIC NEON • Change
ISZOLOSCOPE • The Edge Of Certainty
THE TWINS • The Impossible Dream
LPF12 • A sense of loss
HANS NIESWANDT • Hans is playing house
EMPUSAE & SHINKIRO • Organic Aural Ornaments
THE PRAYER TREE • The Prayer Tree
SLEW52 • Catalog
SUNS OF ARQA • Stranger Music

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
XENO & OAKLANDER • Topiary
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
ARBEID ADELT! • Slik
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
TRANQUIL EYES • Fact & Fiction
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:

Music reviews

19
10
STACIAN
Person L
18
10
TYCHO BRAHE
Triplex [Complete]
17
10
LA GRAZIA OBLIQUA
La Grazia Obliqua (EP)
16
10
AMORPHOUS
Shapeshifting
12
10
HELIOPHILE
Permeate
10
10
TEARFUL MOON
Evocation

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
This weekend! DAFT / MINIMAL MAXIMAL - FEST weekend in Antwerp!
10
10
Amnesty International Belgium invites hundreds of artists
10
10
New Simi-Nah video 'Chacun Pour Soi' on YouTube!
02
10
New Wave cult & club classic band Crash Course In Science is back with a new (bomb) album!
01
10
New IMPLANT EP / Video - The Phone Call - Out now!
30
09
First two names for the International EBM Day (De Casino, St-Niklaas, B) announced!

Concert reviews

27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'
15
10
BLANCMANGE
'We were making experimental music for a while, really just for ourselves, not thinking anyone would want to listen.'
13
10
KOL BELOV
I make strange animations, that look like music videos and strange music videos, that look like animation.
11
10
THE HORRORIST
'Sometimes I cringe when I hear some of my songs about sex or pain but at the same time it’s my diary.'
09
10
A SPLIT-SECOND
Marc Ickx talks about A Split-Second

PHOTOS

20
10
20
10
GARY NUMAN
Depot Leuven
20
10
JAYCE LEWIS
Depot Leuven
17
10
GARY NUMAN
Brighton Dome, Brighton, UK
14
10
ATTRITION
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
VUDUVOX
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
CURXES
229 The Venue, London, UK

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
19
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Inside My Asylum
19
10
TEARFUL MOON
Ecstasy in Black
17
10
AND ALSO THE TREES
Your Guess
16
10
!DISTAIN
Conversation Overkill
15
10
TEHI TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD
The Beast
15
10
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)