tempobet yeni adresi

09/08/2011 : JEFF & JANE HUDSON - Flesh

JEFF & JANE HUDSON

Flesh

MusicVinyl
MinimalNew wave

[83/100]   

Dark Entries Records
09/08/2011, Didier BECU

Dark Entries Records are becoming increasingly more important when it comes to re-releasing unfindable records from the 80's.

A few weeks ago we presented the highly acclaimed compilation by Parade Ground and now we can add "Flesh" from the Bostonian duo Jeff & Jane Hudson to their already impressive list.

These two started out somewhere in 1977 with art punk band The Rentals but they decided to go their own way. It was clear from the very first single ("No Clubs", included as one of the ten additional tracks on here) that they would have a new wave-sound.

I always described them as a duo with a Chris & Cosey sound, the only difference that most of their songs would fit fine in an alternative disco in the 80's.

I don't know if they ever got to play there but after having released "The World Trade EP", they launched the "Flesh" album which has been hailed by many music fans as one of the greatest wave-albums of all time.

This has lots to do with the use of the infamous TR808 and those Roland-synths which give this album a definite eighties-touch.

Originally released on J&J-Records it was re-released in 2000 on the Belgian Daft Records label, run by Dirk Ivens.

But now in 2011 the final icing on the cake comes with this deluxe-edition that also contains those three singles which makes this an essential wave-release even for those who have already the Daft reissue in their collection.

This release is both available on CD and vinyl.

 

 

 

Didier BECU
09/08/2011


 

Next reviews
WIELORYB • Empty
ATOMIC NEON • Change
ISZOLOSCOPE • The Edge Of Certainty
THE TWINS • The Impossible Dream
LPF12 • A sense of loss
HANS NIESWANDT • Hans is playing house
EMPUSAE & SHINKIRO • Organic Aural Ornaments
THE PRAYER TREE • The Prayer Tree
SLEW52 • Catalog
SUNS OF ARQA • Stranger Music

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
XENO & OAKLANDER • Topiary
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
ARBEID ADELT! • Slik
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
TRANQUIL EYES • Fact & Fiction
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
NOVEMBER NOVELET • Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)

Music reviews

20
06
LEIF VOLLEBEKK
Twin Solitude
13
06
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Oceans
12
06
XOSAR
Xymeria
11
06
RULE OF THUMB
Rule Of Thumb
10
06
BLUTENGEL
Leitbild
09
06
IKON
Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
06
NEW SIGNING AND NEW SINGLE/VIDEO - THEN COMES SILENCE - THE DEAD CRY FOR NO ONE
20
06
NATIONAL CRIME HISTORY - A Belgian Industrial Music compilation
20
06
New EP / video and US tour by PIG
17
06
Dark Demons Night 2017 -Tonight!
16
06
Tonight! Primal Scream at Roma - Antwerp
27
05
First Light - the debut album from Fader, a new band formed by Neil Arthur (Blancmange/Near Future)

Concert reviews

09
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
05
05
26TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - 2ND-5TH JUNE
Some Electro-/EBM-/industrial-/synthpop bands to check at WGT 2017 !!!
04
05
COALESCAREMONIUM
15
04
DURBUY ROCK
New Model Army loves a hopeless cause... | Durbuy, Belgium | 08.04.2017
10
04
HAUSCHKA
Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
06
04
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Some postpunk, indie, coldwave bands to discover at WGT 2017 (Leipzig, D)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
06
SINE SILEX
‘A ROMANTIC YET DYNAMIC APPROACH TO ELECTRONIC MUSIC’
15
06
CLAN OF XYMOX
‘THE SONGS DICTATE ME INSTEAD OF ME DICTATING THE SONGS’
15
06
REVOLTING COCKS
Big Sexy Land revisited!
14
06
BESTIAL MOUTHS
‘BESTIAL MOUTHS HAS NEVER SOUGHT OUT TO RECREATE A CERTAIN GENRE’
13
06
2ND FACE
‘A FEELING WHICH IS HARD TO PUT INTO WORDS’

PHOTOS

21
06
HYBRYDS WITH SOPHIE DRAKENVLEUGELS
Trouwfe(e)st, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
21
06
MASSENHYSTERIE
Trouwfe(e)st, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
21
06
DARK POEM
Trouwfe(e)st, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
21
06
KINDEREN VAN MOEDER AARDE
Trouwfe(e)st, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
13
06
SKINNY PUPPY
De Kreun, Kortrijk, Belgium
13
06
MILDREDA
De Kreun, Kortrijk, Belgium
07
06
SUICIDE COMMANDO
WGT 2017, Leipzig, Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

22
06
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
21
06
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
08
06
LEBANON HANOVER
Gallowdance
07
06
ALISON MOYET
Reassuring Pinches
06
06
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
05
06
VOK
Waterfall
04
06
FACTICE FACTORY
Extinguisher