09/08/2011 : JEFF & JANE HUDSON - Flesh

JEFF & JANE HUDSON

Flesh

MusicVinyl
MinimalNew wave

[83/100]   

Dark Entries Records
09/08/2011, Didier BECU

Dark Entries Records are becoming increasingly more important when it comes to re-releasing unfindable records from the 80's.

A few weeks ago we presented the highly acclaimed compilation by Parade Ground and now we can add "Flesh" from the Bostonian duo Jeff & Jane Hudson to their already impressive list.

These two started out somewhere in 1977 with art punk band The Rentals but they decided to go their own way. It was clear from the very first single ("No Clubs", included as one of the ten additional tracks on here) that they would have a new wave-sound.

I always described them as a duo with a Chris & Cosey sound, the only difference that most of their songs would fit fine in an alternative disco in the 80's.

I don't know if they ever got to play there but after having released "The World Trade EP", they launched the "Flesh" album which has been hailed by many music fans as one of the greatest wave-albums of all time.

This has lots to do with the use of the infamous TR808 and those Roland-synths which give this album a definite eighties-touch.

Originally released on J&J-Records it was re-released in 2000 on the Belgian Daft Records label, run by Dirk Ivens.

But now in 2011 the final icing on the cake comes with this deluxe-edition that also contains those three singles which makes this an essential wave-release even for those who have already the Daft reissue in their collection.

This release is both available on CD and vinyl.

 

 

 

Didier BECU
09/08/2011


 

Next reviews
WIELORYB • Empty
ATOMIC NEON • Change
ISZOLOSCOPE • The Edge Of Certainty
THE TWINS • The Impossible Dream
LPF12 • A sense of loss
HANS NIESWANDT • Hans is playing house
EMPUSAE & SHINKIRO • Organic Aural Ornaments
THE PRAYER TREE • The Prayer Tree
SLEW52 • Catalog
SUNS OF ARQA • Stranger Music

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
ARBEID ADELT! • Slik
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho
LUMINANCE • Sans Visage
LUST FOR YOUTH • International
BENE GESSERIT • The Record Store Day
MINNY POPS • Drastic Measures, Drastic Movement

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
MAD MASKS • Mad Masks
SPHYXION • Sphyxion
PROJEKT ICH • Wolkenträne
THE KVB • Of Desire
HANTE • This Fog That Never Ends
DERNIERE VOLONTE • Prie Pour Moi
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Wind (Re) Wind
JEROEN VAN VEEN • Riley ‘in C’
HEAVEN FALLS HARD • The Mercy-Go-Round
STIJN HÜWELS • Six Pieces for Guitar

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
GOUDI • Midnight Fever
THE ARCH • Fates
MEILYR JONES • 2013
LAVVI EBBEL • Wir Schaffen Das!
THE STRANGLERS, THE ALARM • O2 Academy, Bristol (19/03/16)
NASH THE SLASH • Dreams And Nightmares / Bedside Companion
EAUX SAINES • Eaux Saines - C-50 Tape
ASH CODE • Posthuman
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
RED ZEBRA • The Beauties Of The Beast: The Best Of Red Zebra (1980-1983)

Music reviews

04
05
BRIAN ENO
The Ship
04
05
LA MUERTE
Murder Machine
03
05
RED SLEEPING BEAUTY
Red Sleeping Beauty
03
05
INWOLVES
Involves
03
05
LUNA RISE
Dark Days and Bright Nights
02
05
LUH
Spiritual Songs For Lovers To Sing

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
05
New Rabia Sorda Single out soon!
04
05
Cocaine Piss releases second single of their debut album
04
05
Coloured Heads are back with their second album!
03
05
New Wumpscut out
03
05
Nitzer Ebb releases 2CD edition of Industrial Complex
03
05
La Muerte releases EP with new work.

Concert reviews

03
05
MANIC STREET PREACHERS
Brussels, AB (01/05/2016)
02
05
SX
Brussels, AB (30/04/2016)
02
05
THE ARCH
Brussels, The Backpacker Bar (29/04/2016)
28
04
FORMS OF HANDS 16
Festival, Bönen Germany, April 23th 2016
25
04
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT
Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)
24
04
CHAMELEONS VOX
Kortrijk, De Kreun (24/04/2016)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
05
FEW BITS
We really have only one rule in the group: love and fun.
01
05
SKEPTICAL MINDS
It’s like a voice telling you: “hey guyz... you started, now you have to continue...”
28
04
SADMAN
We love the idea of people listening to our music and standing for hours in front of a great painting.
27
04
DYSCORDIA
We're not afraid of different influences.
26
04
NEW DARK AGE (PETER SLABBYNCK)
Oh, just listen to the records and let Adrian rest in peace.

PHOTOS

18
04
WHISPERING SONS
Record Store Day, Wool-E Shop, Gent, Belgium
18
04
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT
Record Store Day, Wool-E Shop, Gent, Belgium
17
04
MOLLY NILSSON
Fantastique Night XLVIIr, Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
17
04
MARY OCHER + YOUR GOVERNMENT
Fantastique Night XLVIIr, Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
17
04
MENAGE A TROIS
Fantastique Night XLVIIr, Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
17
04
RODOLPHE COSTER
Fantastique Night XLVIIr, Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
13
04
THE KVB
BEURSSCHOUWBURG, Brussels, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

18
04
Record Store Day 2016 at Wool-E Shop
06
04
Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
03
04
Black Easter Day 2 : an impression
02
04
The history behind Waveteef
01
04
Black Easter Day 1: an impression

VIDEO CLIPS

05
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
04
05
PROJECT PITCHFORK
What Have We Done
04
05
HORTUS ANIMAE WITH LIV KRISTINE
There's No Sanctuary
03
05
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM
Command Control
03
05
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
02
05
MAD MASKS
Tragodia
02
05
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Selene's Awakening Horos