Casino maxi casino metropol canli casino

09/08/2011 : JEFF & JANE HUDSON - Flesh

JEFF & JANE HUDSON

Flesh

MusicVinyl
MinimalNew wave

[83/100]   

Dark Entries Records
09/08/2011, Didier BECU

Dark Entries Records are becoming increasingly more important when it comes to re-releasing unfindable records from the 80's.

A few weeks ago we presented the highly acclaimed compilation by Parade Ground and now we can add "Flesh" from the Bostonian duo Jeff & Jane Hudson to their already impressive list.

These two started out somewhere in 1977 with art punk band The Rentals but they decided to go their own way. It was clear from the very first single ("No Clubs", included as one of the ten additional tracks on here) that they would have a new wave-sound.

I always described them as a duo with a Chris & Cosey sound, the only difference that most of their songs would fit fine in an alternative disco in the 80's.

I don't know if they ever got to play there but after having released "The World Trade EP", they launched the "Flesh" album which has been hailed by many music fans as one of the greatest wave-albums of all time.

This has lots to do with the use of the infamous TR808 and those Roland-synths which give this album a definite eighties-touch.

Originally released on J&J-Records it was re-released in 2000 on the Belgian Daft Records label, run by Dirk Ivens.

But now in 2011 the final icing on the cake comes with this deluxe-edition that also contains those three singles which makes this an essential wave-release even for those who have already the Daft reissue in their collection.

This release is both available on CD and vinyl.

 

 

 

Didier BECU
09/08/2011


 

Next reviews
WIELORYB • Empty
ATOMIC NEON • Change
ISZOLOSCOPE • The Edge Of Certainty
THE TWINS • The Impossible Dream
LPF12 • A sense of loss
HANS NIESWANDT • Hans is playing house
EMPUSAE & SHINKIRO • Organic Aural Ornaments
THE PRAYER TREE • The Prayer Tree
SLEW52 • Catalog
SUNS OF ARQA • Stranger Music

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
XENO & OAKLANDER • Topiary
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
ARBEID ADELT! • Slik
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
TRANQUIL EYES • Fact & Fiction
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
NOVEMBER NOVELET • Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)
DORIC • Sleep Of Reason
PASCAL PINON • Sundur
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
VARIOUS • 4 in 1 Volume 4

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
SIMPLE MINDS • New Gold Dream '81 '82 '83 '84

Music reviews

26
12
AMBASSADOR21
Human Rage
23
12
14 ICED BEARS
14 Iced Bears / Wonder
21
12
XTC
Skylarking
19
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
A Very British Synthesizer Group
18
12
GOLDEN APES
Malus
17
12
FAREWELL
Sequoia

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
New album by Clan of Xymox
20
01
Azar Swan Mourn for America
19
01
Two new releases on Daft Records - The Force Dimension (CD) + Black Spider Clan (CD)
18
01
French based synthpop artist FRAGRANCE releases first EP
16
01
German Synth-pop band Alphamay released a videoclip for the song „Weak Philosophy“.
13
01
Wave Gotik Treffen announces first names

Concert reviews

12
12
GROUND NERO - CHARNIER
Kinky Star - 9 december
11
12
KILLING JOKE
Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
11
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES
Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
11
12
KILLING JOKE
London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
11
12
JAN SWERTS
Brussel, AB Club (08/11/2016)
11
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
30th Anniversary Show, Leopoldsburg

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
WAVE RECORDS (LABEL)
'The best way to release my music and control my sales was to create my own label'
19
01
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Our new compilation album is called “Industrial Beauty”. That phrase sums up a lot how Agent Side Grinder sounds. Brutal and menacing but always on a foundation of strong, beautiful melodies.
17
01
MOREGO / XERXES THE DARK
The Iranian Dark-Ambient & Industrial scene
13
01
EX-RZ
A post BIMFEST interview with Peter Slabbynck - The man without a master plan!
27
11
AMBASSADOR21

PHOTOS

16
01
PARADE GROUND
Fantastique Night XLX, Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
16
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fantastique Night XLX, Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
16
01
SIMI NAH
Fantastique Night XLX, Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
16
01
DEAR DEER
Fantastique Night XLX, Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
16
01
THE WHEAL
Fantastique Night XLX, Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
22
12
A;GRUMH...
BIMfest 2016, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
22
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
BIMfest 2016, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
21
01
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
20
01
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
19
01
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Black Hole
18
01
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
17
01
MILA MAR
Asche
15
01
TALKING HEADS
Burning Down The House