casino siteleri odeonbet Casino maxi casino metropol

09/08/2011 : JEFF & JANE HUDSON - Flesh

JEFF & JANE HUDSON

Flesh

MusicVinyl
MinimalNew wave

[83/100]   

Dark Entries Records
09/08/2011, Didier BECU

Dark Entries Records are becoming increasingly more important when it comes to re-releasing unfindable records from the 80's.

A few weeks ago we presented the highly acclaimed compilation by Parade Ground and now we can add "Flesh" from the Bostonian duo Jeff & Jane Hudson to their already impressive list.

These two started out somewhere in 1977 with art punk band The Rentals but they decided to go their own way. It was clear from the very first single ("No Clubs", included as one of the ten additional tracks on here) that they would have a new wave-sound.

I always described them as a duo with a Chris & Cosey sound, the only difference that most of their songs would fit fine in an alternative disco in the 80's.

I don't know if they ever got to play there but after having released "The World Trade EP", they launched the "Flesh" album which has been hailed by many music fans as one of the greatest wave-albums of all time.

This has lots to do with the use of the infamous TR808 and those Roland-synths which give this album a definite eighties-touch.

Originally released on J&J-Records it was re-released in 2000 on the Belgian Daft Records label, run by Dirk Ivens.

But now in 2011 the final icing on the cake comes with this deluxe-edition that also contains those three singles which makes this an essential wave-release even for those who have already the Daft reissue in their collection.

This release is both available on CD and vinyl.

 

 

 

Didier BECU
09/08/2011


 

Next reviews
WIELORYB • Empty
ATOMIC NEON • Change
ISZOLOSCOPE • The Edge Of Certainty
THE TWINS • The Impossible Dream
LPF12 • A sense of loss
HANS NIESWANDT • Hans is playing house
EMPUSAE & SHINKIRO • Organic Aural Ornaments
THE PRAYER TREE • The Prayer Tree
SLEW52 • Catalog
SUNS OF ARQA • Stranger Music

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
XENO & OAKLANDER • Topiary
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
ARBEID ADELT! • Slik
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Pistes Noires-Hommage Electronique-Pop A Etienne Daho

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
TRANQUIL EYES • Fact & Fiction
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
NOVEMBER NOVELET • Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)
DORIC • Sleep Of Reason
PASCAL PINON • Sundur
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
VARIOUS • 4 in 1 Volume 4

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
SIMPLE MINDS • New Gold Dream '81 '82 '83 '84
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
CANDLEBAGS • Albert

Music reviews

04
12
PIETER VERMEYEN
Inuit
03
12
EDENSONG
Years in the Garden of Years
02
12
7WEEKS
A Farewell To Dawn
01
12
SINE SILEX
Schachmatt
30
11
PENFIELD
Parallaxi5
29
11
BOX AND THE TWINS
Everywhere I Go Is Silence

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
12
PHOENIXCODE Stream Debut Album Early on Pure Grain Audio
04
12
A Darker Color Bright Releases Remix EP, 'ADCB 1.2' Featuring 'Evolove,' 'Neonshadow,' & 'Missing You (Phoney Smile Remix)'
03
12
New Single by Agnes Obel
02
12
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Announce Release of 'Sinister Whisperz II
01
12
CASUS BELLI MUSICA presents: TAMERLAN
30
11
Soon new album by The Godfathers

Concert reviews

30
11
Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016
25
11
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES
Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
16
11
JAN SWERTS
Brussel, AB Club (08/11/2016)
14
11
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY
Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
13
11
KILLING JOKE
London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
07
11
MASCHINENFEST 2016

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
11
AMBASSADOR21
17
11
MOREGO ABOUT THE IRANIAN DARK AMBIENT AND INDUSTRIAL SCENE
09
11
BLACKHOUSE
31 years of Blackhouse: 'Blackhouse is not just the antithesis of whitehouse... It's the antithesis of THE White House!
08
11
DIRK SCHEUBER
The worst thing is to lose myself
01
11
CONTROLLED BLEEDING
I never really cared much about the business of selling records

PHOTOS

22
11
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Sinner's Day, Ethias Arena, Hasselt, Belgium
22
11
P.I.L.
Sinner's Day, Ethias Arena, Hasselt, Belgium
22
11
OMD (ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK)
Sinner's Day, Ethias Arena, Hasselt, Belgium
22
11
D.A.F
Sinner's Day, Ethias Arena, Hasselt, Belgium
22
11
TUXEDOMOON
Sinner's Day, Ethias Arena, Hasselt, Belgium
22
11
THE BEAT
Sinner's Day, Ethias Arena, Hasselt, Belgium
22
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
Sinner's Day, Ethias Arena, Hasselt, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
10
The World of Hante
23
09
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
15
09
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
12
09
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
07
09
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

05
12
NOISE
Quiet
04
12
THE CURE
A Forest, Live in Antwerp, 2016
04
12
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
03
12
KILLING JOKE
Eighties
03
12
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
03
12
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Sense
03
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion