tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : JEFF WOOTTON - The way The Light

JEFF WOOTTON

The way The Light

MusicCD
Alternative RockAmbient

[92/100]   

Sympathy For Vinyl
09/12/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

What can we expect from someone born in Manchester? I was pleasantly surprised by Jeff Wootton's debut album and I needed to spread the word.

Even though Jeff is fairly young, he played alongside some influential names such as Damon Albarn of Gorillaz, Mick Jones and Paul Simon of The Clash, and not to forget his collaborations with Brian Eno, Nick Zinner and some other names which are too numerous to mention.

I was really interested in his solo project and was glad it reached my ears. The fact that he is a multiinstrumentalist and played all by himself except the drums, got me even more interested in hearing his work.

What I could feel at the first listening (that is surely not going to be the last one) is that we have one outstanding artist here, the one whose understanding of music is complex, led buy great knowledge and skills, feelings and intuition. Jeff thinks outside the box.

This album can be labelled as “alternative” as it surely is not for just any listener, but for those who can dive together with Jeff into the Sea Of Sound, as the opening track suggests. You can find the elements of alternative rock, but at times the sound gets ethereal, ambiental and even psychedelic. I would not label this album as “experimental” music as this is in no way an experiment, Jeff knew exactly what he wanted to deliver.

Sea Of Sound transforms itself into Venus, keeping the alternative rock vibe with the hypnotic vocals. On Sonik Drips and Reprise Jeff decides to give us some more ambient sounds and another interesting track is Ceremony Waltz, in fact a real waltz with a touch of psychedelia.

The Eternal is surely another track to pay attention to, as it brings us a more exotic sound, we can hear the Imzad being played here, an African instrument whose sound incorporates greatly into the general feel of the album, that of melancholia and hypnotizing atmosphere. If you are up to some real guitar mastership, dive into this amazing guitar experience with Jeff at The End and let his guitar paint a sound landscape for you. It's amazing that a guitar sound can paint such a landscape, just close your eyes and take a trip with Jeff, you won't regret a minute! 

Marija BULJETA
09/12/2016


NL

Wat kunnen we verwachten van iemand die geboren is in Manchester? Ik was aangenaam verrast door Jeff Woottons debuutalbum, zo aangenaam zelfs dat ik vond dat ik mijn mening met de wereld moet delen!

Hoewel Jeff vrij jong is, speelde hij toch naast enkele invloedrijke namen zoals Damon Albarn van Gorillaz, of Mick Jones en Paul Simon van The Clash, om niet te spreken over zijn samenwerkingen met Brian Eno en Nick Zinner.

Ik was echt geïnteresseerd in zijn soloproject en ik ben blij dat ik het ontdekt heb. Het feit dat deze multi-instrumentalist alles in zijn eentje doet, met uitzondering van de drums, verhoogt alleen maar mijn interesse.

Wat ik tijdens de eerste luisterbeurt voelde (en het zal zeker niet de laatstekeer zijn) is dat het om een opvallend artiest gaat. De muziek is complex en zit vol vaardigheden. Ze bevat allerlei gevoelens en Jeff durft buiten de lijntjes te kleuren.

Dit album kan je als "alternatief" bestempelen, want het is zeker geen voer voor iedere luisteraar, maar neem gewoon samen met Jeff een duik in de Sea Of Sound, zoals het openingsnummer suggereert. Je hoort elementen uit alternatieve rock, maar soms wordt het geluid etherisch, ambient en zelfs wat psychedelisch. Ik zou deze plaat ook niet meteen als "experimenteel" omschrijven, omdat Jeff heel precies weet wat hij wil.

Sea Of Sound evolueert tot Venus, een alternatieve rockvibe met hypnotiserende zang. In Sonik Drips en Reprise beslist Jeff om zijn geluid wat meer ruimte te geven en ook Ceremony Waltz is een zeer interessante song: in feite is het een echte wals met een vleugje psychedelica.

The Eternal is wat anders, want door het gebruik van de imzad, horen we een exotischere sound. Het is een Afrikaans instrument waarmee de algemene sfeer van het album mooi wordt samengevat: melancholie en een hypnotiserende sfeer. Als je echt gitaarmeesterschap wil horen, dan moet je The End opzetten. Het is verbazingwekkend dat een gitaargeluid zo'n landschap kan schilderen, doe gewoon je ogen dicht en maak een reis met Jeff, je zal er geen minuut spijt van krijgen!

Marija BULJETA
09/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
SCHATTENMANN
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
CHROM
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
QANTAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
AMBASSADOR 21
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles