tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : JEFF WOOTTON - The way The Light

JEFF WOOTTON

The way The Light

MusicCD
Alternative RockAmbient

[92/100]   

Sympathy For Vinyl
09/12/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

What can we expect from someone born in Manchester? I was pleasantly surprised by Jeff Wootton's debut album and I needed to spread the word.

Even though Jeff is fairly young, he played alongside some influential names such as Damon Albarn of Gorillaz, Mick Jones and Paul Simon of The Clash, and not to forget his collaborations with Brian Eno, Nick Zinner and some other names which are too numerous to mention.

I was really interested in his solo project and was glad it reached my ears. The fact that he is a multiinstrumentalist and played all by himself except the drums, got me even more interested in hearing his work.

What I could feel at the first listening (that is surely not going to be the last one) is that we have one outstanding artist here, the one whose understanding of music is complex, led buy great knowledge and skills, feelings and intuition. Jeff thinks outside the box.

This album can be labelled as “alternative” as it surely is not for just any listener, but for those who can dive together with Jeff into the Sea Of Sound, as the opening track suggests. You can find the elements of alternative rock, but at times the sound gets ethereal, ambiental and even psychedelic. I would not label this album as “experimental” music as this is in no way an experiment, Jeff knew exactly what he wanted to deliver.

Sea Of Sound transforms itself into Venus, keeping the alternative rock vibe with the hypnotic vocals. On Sonik Drips and Reprise Jeff decides to give us some more ambient sounds and another interesting track is Ceremony Waltz, in fact a real waltz with a touch of psychedelia.

The Eternal is surely another track to pay attention to, as it brings us a more exotic sound, we can hear the Imzad being played here, an African instrument whose sound incorporates greatly into the general feel of the album, that of melancholia and hypnotizing atmosphere. If you are up to some real guitar mastership, dive into this amazing guitar experience with Jeff at The End and let his guitar paint a sound landscape for you. It's amazing that a guitar sound can paint such a landscape, just close your eyes and take a trip with Jeff, you won't regret a minute! 

Marija BULJETA
09/12/2016


NL

Wat kunnen we verwachten van iemand die geboren is in Manchester? Ik was aangenaam verrast door Jeff Woottons debuutalbum, zo aangenaam zelfs dat ik vond dat ik mijn mening met de wereld moet delen!

Hoewel Jeff vrij jong is, speelde hij toch naast enkele invloedrijke namen zoals Damon Albarn van Gorillaz, of Mick Jones en Paul Simon van The Clash, om niet te spreken over zijn samenwerkingen met Brian Eno en Nick Zinner.

Ik was echt geïnteresseerd in zijn soloproject en ik ben blij dat ik het ontdekt heb. Het feit dat deze multi-instrumentalist alles in zijn eentje doet, met uitzondering van de drums, verhoogt alleen maar mijn interesse.

Wat ik tijdens de eerste luisterbeurt voelde (en het zal zeker niet de laatstekeer zijn) is dat het om een opvallend artiest gaat. De muziek is complex en zit vol vaardigheden. Ze bevat allerlei gevoelens en Jeff durft buiten de lijntjes te kleuren.

Dit album kan je als "alternatief" bestempelen, want het is zeker geen voer voor iedere luisteraar, maar neem gewoon samen met Jeff een duik in de Sea Of Sound, zoals het openingsnummer suggereert. Je hoort elementen uit alternatieve rock, maar soms wordt het geluid etherisch, ambient en zelfs wat psychedelisch. Ik zou deze plaat ook niet meteen als "experimenteel" omschrijven, omdat Jeff heel precies weet wat hij wil.

Sea Of Sound evolueert tot Venus, een alternatieve rockvibe met hypnotiserende zang. In Sonik Drips en Reprise beslist Jeff om zijn geluid wat meer ruimte te geven en ook Ceremony Waltz is een zeer interessante song: in feite is het een echte wals met een vleugje psychedelica.

The Eternal is wat anders, want door het gebruik van de imzad, horen we een exotischere sound. Het is een Afrikaans instrument waarmee de algemene sfeer van het album mooi wordt samengevat: melancholie en een hypnotiserende sfeer. Als je echt gitaarmeesterschap wil horen, dan moet je The End opzetten. Het is verbazingwekkend dat een gitaargeluid zo'n landschap kan schilderen, doe gewoon je ogen dicht en maak een reis met Jeff, je zal er geen minuut spijt van krijgen!

Marija BULJETA
09/12/2016


Music reviews

02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion
26
06
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
The Mercy Seat