tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows

JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI

What We Do In The Shadows

Movie
ComedyMockumentary

[69/100]   

Remain In Light
26/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Opinions might differ, but personally I think the best mockumentary ever is Man Bites Dog, in which a team of journalists is invited to follow the daily events of a brutal serial killer. A bit similar (but much less violent) is What We Do In The Shadows of the New Zealand duo Jemaine Clement & Taika Waititi. You might be familiar with name of Jemaine Clement because he is indeed the author of the highly acclaimed HBO series Flight of the Conchords. Although the duo was responsible for the screenplay, directing and production, it took them almost fifteen years before they could even film their sketch. You can live without having seen What We Do In The Shadows, the wait however paid off.

We are invited into a dark house in the New Zealand capital Wellington, where four vampires live. The oldest among them is the unworldly Petyr (Ben Fransham), who is locked away and so dangerous that the other three living dead are afraid of him. Viago (Taika Waititi) is the queer dandy of the gang. Should he not regularly put his teeth into the neck of a handsome lady, you would never suspect that he is a vampire. Then there is Vladislav (Jemaine Clement) and the vain (and youngest) Deacon (Jonathan Brugh).

The four living dead have lived for centuries, but they are still struggling to adapt. Admit it, can you imagine how a vampire has to dress up when he has no mirror image? Or how his living room looks like when he accidentally puts his teeth into the artery of one of his victims? And we have not even mentioned the werewolves that challenge them every night in the streets of Wellington.

The sheerest nonsense, you think? No, not really. Well, those who are looking for wisdom won’t find it in What We Do In The Shadows, but this film is absolutely comical. Fortunately Jemaine Clement & Taika Waititi realise that this vampire joke should not last too long, and so after 70 minutes the end credits show up. Who thought that a vampire movie can’t be original these days, he better watches What We Do In The Shadows before judging. Now out on DVD through Remain In Light.

Didier BECU
26/02/2015


NL

Meningen verschillen, maar zelf vind ik de beste mockumentary (nepdocumentaire) nog altijd C’est Arrivé Près de Chez Vous? waarin een journalistenteam op stap mocht gaan met een brutale seriemoordenaar. Een beetje gelijksoortig (maar veel minder gewelddadig) is What We Do In The Shadows van het Nieuw-Zeelandse duo Jemaine Clement & Taika Waititi. De naam van Jemaine Clement zal je misschien wel bekend in de oren klinken, want hij is inderdaad de bedenker van de bejubelde HBO-serie Flight of the Conchords. Ofschoon het duo instond voor zowel het scenario, de regie als de productie, duurde het bijna vijftien jaar vooraleer ze hun sketch ook in filmvorm konden gieten. Je kan wel leven zonder What We Do In The Shadows te hebben gezien, toch heeft het wachten geloond.

We worden uitgenodigd in een donkere woning in de Nieuw-Zeelandse hoofdstad Wellington, waar vier vampiers wonen. De oudste onder hun is de wereldvreemde Petyr (Ben Fransham), die net niet achter slot en grendel leeft en zo gevaarlijk is dat de andere drie levende doden bang van hem zijn. Viago (Taika Waititi) is de nichterige dandy van de bende. Mocht hij niet regelmatig zijn tanden in de nek van één of andere schone plaatsen, zou je nooit vermoeden dat hij een vampier is. Dan is er nog Vladislav (Jemaine Clement) en de ijdele (en jongste) Deacon (Jonathan Brugh).

De vier bloedzuigers lopen dan wel al eeuwen op moeder aarde rond, toch hebben zij het nog steeds moeilijk om zich aan te passen. Geef toe, hoe moet een vampier zich aankleden als hij niet eens een spiegelbeeld heeft of hoe moet zijn woonkamer eruitzien als hij per abuis zijn tanden in de slagader van zijn slachtoffer heeft gezet? En dan hebben we het nog niet eens gehad over de weerwolven die hun iedere nacht in de straten van Wellington uitdagen?

Je reinste onzin, denk je? Neen, toch niet. Nu ja, wie op zoek is naar wijsheden, zal die in What We Do In The Shadows niet vinden, maar komisch is deze film absoluut. Gelukkig beseffen Jemaine Clement & Taika Waititi dat deze vampiersgrap niet oneindig lang mag worden uitgesponnen, daarom verschijnt reeds na 70 minuten de aftiteling. Wie dacht dat een vampiersfilm niet meer origineel kan zijn, moet What We Do In The Shadows maar eens uittesten. Nu uit op dvd via Remain In Light.

Didier BECU
26/02/2015


26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows

Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
43 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 44 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
79 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
30 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Rabbit Junk Brings Fatalism And Frustration To 'Apocalypse For Beginners'
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2

PHOTOS

08
12
TARJA TURUNEN
Christuskirche Bochum
05
12
SONAR
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TEST DEPT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
RADICAL G
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
FIX8:SED8
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TC75
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
SOFT RIOT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
LIZARD SMILE
State Of Void
08
12
HELENA HAUFF
Sworn To Secrecy Part II
07
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
06
12
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
05
12
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
04
12
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
03
12
GOOSE
Synrise