tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows

JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI

What We Do In The Shadows

Movie
ComedyMockumentary

[69/100]   

Remain In Light
26/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Opinions might differ, but personally I think the best mockumentary ever is Man Bites Dog, in which a team of journalists is invited to follow the daily events of a brutal serial killer. A bit similar (but much less violent) is What We Do In The Shadows of the New Zealand duo Jemaine Clement & Taika Waititi. You might be familiar with name of Jemaine Clement because he is indeed the author of the highly acclaimed HBO series Flight of the Conchords. Although the duo was responsible for the screenplay, directing and production, it took them almost fifteen years before they could even film their sketch. You can live without having seen What We Do In The Shadows, the wait however paid off.

We are invited into a dark house in the New Zealand capital Wellington, where four vampires live. The oldest among them is the unworldly Petyr (Ben Fransham), who is locked away and so dangerous that the other three living dead are afraid of him. Viago (Taika Waititi) is the queer dandy of the gang. Should he not regularly put his teeth into the neck of a handsome lady, you would never suspect that he is a vampire. Then there is Vladislav (Jemaine Clement) and the vain (and youngest) Deacon (Jonathan Brugh).

The four living dead have lived for centuries, but they are still struggling to adapt. Admit it, can you imagine how a vampire has to dress up when he has no mirror image? Or how his living room looks like when he accidentally puts his teeth into the artery of one of his victims? And we have not even mentioned the werewolves that challenge them every night in the streets of Wellington.

The sheerest nonsense, you think? No, not really. Well, those who are looking for wisdom won’t find it in What We Do In The Shadows, but this film is absolutely comical. Fortunately Jemaine Clement & Taika Waititi realise that this vampire joke should not last too long, and so after 70 minutes the end credits show up. Who thought that a vampire movie can’t be original these days, he better watches What We Do In The Shadows before judging. Now out on DVD through Remain In Light.

Didier BECU
26/02/2015


NL

Meningen verschillen, maar zelf vind ik de beste mockumentary (nepdocumentaire) nog altijd C’est Arrivé Près de Chez Vous? waarin een journalistenteam op stap mocht gaan met een brutale seriemoordenaar. Een beetje gelijksoortig (maar veel minder gewelddadig) is What We Do In The Shadows van het Nieuw-Zeelandse duo Jemaine Clement & Taika Waititi. De naam van Jemaine Clement zal je misschien wel bekend in de oren klinken, want hij is inderdaad de bedenker van de bejubelde HBO-serie Flight of the Conchords. Ofschoon het duo instond voor zowel het scenario, de regie als de productie, duurde het bijna vijftien jaar vooraleer ze hun sketch ook in filmvorm konden gieten. Je kan wel leven zonder What We Do In The Shadows te hebben gezien, toch heeft het wachten geloond.

We worden uitgenodigd in een donkere woning in de Nieuw-Zeelandse hoofdstad Wellington, waar vier vampiers wonen. De oudste onder hun is de wereldvreemde Petyr (Ben Fransham), die net niet achter slot en grendel leeft en zo gevaarlijk is dat de andere drie levende doden bang van hem zijn. Viago (Taika Waititi) is de nichterige dandy van de bende. Mocht hij niet regelmatig zijn tanden in de nek van één of andere schone plaatsen, zou je nooit vermoeden dat hij een vampier is. Dan is er nog Vladislav (Jemaine Clement) en de ijdele (en jongste) Deacon (Jonathan Brugh).

De vier bloedzuigers lopen dan wel al eeuwen op moeder aarde rond, toch hebben zij het nog steeds moeilijk om zich aan te passen. Geef toe, hoe moet een vampier zich aankleden als hij niet eens een spiegelbeeld heeft of hoe moet zijn woonkamer eruitzien als hij per abuis zijn tanden in de slagader van zijn slachtoffer heeft gezet? En dan hebben we het nog niet eens gehad over de weerwolven die hun iedere nacht in de straten van Wellington uitdagen?

Je reinste onzin, denk je? Neen, toch niet. Nu ja, wie op zoek is naar wijsheden, zal die in What We Do In The Shadows niet vinden, maar komisch is deze film absoluut. Gelukkig beseffen Jemaine Clement & Taika Waititi dat deze vampiersgrap niet oneindig lang mag worden uitgesponnen, daarom verschijnt reeds na 70 minuten de aftiteling. Wie dacht dat een vampiersfilm niet meer origineel kan zijn, moet What We Do In The Shadows maar eens uittesten. Nu uit op dvd via Remain In Light.

Didier BECU
26/02/2015


26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows 26/02/2015 : JEMAINE CLEMENT & TAIKA WAITITI - What We Do In The Shadows

Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg