tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland

JERUSHA HESS

Austenland

Movie
Comedy

[55/100]   

SONY SPHE
01/05/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Just imagine this: you’re a fan and somewhere there’s a theme park in where you can live like your idol. Well, Elvisfans can go to Graceland and for Jane Hayes (Keri Russell) who happens to be a huge admirer from Jane Austen there’s Austenland. The woman has read her books a thousand times and in her own created world she daily dreams about her own Mr. Darcy. Who knows she finds him in Austenland. Therefore she sells everything she has and buys a ticket. Unfortunately she’s a bit stingy and buys one of the cheaper versions. That means she’s part of the low class. Mrs. Wattlesbrook (Jane Seymour) who works on the scripts makes her prince charming the stable boy (Bret McKenzie), not exactly the romance Jane knows from Pride And Prejudice

The big riddle for me is to find out for whom this film is actually made. I suppose this romcom is a bit too silly for the Austen-fans and on the other hand I can imagine that fans from romantic movies won’t be longing for passages that come out of the books from these British novelist. The script is a bit messy and some dialogues are quite stupid, and to top it all: the performances are not exactly what you’d call great! Keri Russell does what’s expected to do, but after some time she gets irritating. Strangely enough this movie gained some fame at the prestigious Sundance-festival. We’re not that excited cos after an hour and half you completely forgot it. So perhaps you better watch The Jane Austen Book Club by Robin Swicord if you want to dive in the world from Austen-devotees.

Austenland is out on DVD on Sony Home Entertainment

Didier BECU
01/05/2014


NL

Stel je voor: je bent fan van iemand en er is zowaar een volledig attractiepark rond die persoon gebouwd, dan wil je dat toch bezoeken, niet? In Vlaanderen konden fans van cowboy Bobbejaan Schoepen destijds hun hartje in Lichtaart ophalen, maar Jane Hayes (Keri Russell) kan dat sinds kort ook. Haar leven staat volledig in het teken van de Britse schrijfster Jane Austen. Niet alleen heeft zij ontelbare keren haar boeken verslonden, ook heeft zij een eigen droomwereldje gecreëerd waarin zij wacht op de ware Mr. Darcy. En misschien vindt zij die wel in het Britse Austenland: een themapark dat gebouwd is rond Jane Austen! Jane verkoopt haar hele hebben en houden voor een peperduur toegangskaartje. Helaas kiest zij voor het “koperen pakket”. Dat betekent dat de vrouw tot de lagere klasse behoort. Mrs. Wattlesbrook (Jane Seymour) die de scenario’s voor de bezoekers van het themapark bedenkt, kiest er dan ook voor dat de droomprins van de goedkope kaartjes slechts een staljongen (Bret McKenzie) is. Niet bepaald de romantiek die Jane uit Pride And Prejudice kent dus…

Het grote raadsel is voor welk doelpubliek deze film is gemaakt. Wellicht is deze romcom te dwaas en net iets te modern voor Austen-fans en hebben liefhebbers van romantische onzin geen behoefte aan Austen-dialogen. Het scenario is niet alleen rommelig, maar sommige scènes zijn op minst tenenkrommend. Ook de acteerprestaties zijn niet van een hoog niveau. Keri Russell doet wat van haar wordt verwacht, maar begint na een tijdje toch te irriteren. Vreemd genoeg scoorde deze film behoorlijk op het befaamde Sundance-festival. Na anderhalf uur ben je deze ongein vergeten. Wie het toch niet kan laten om een prent over de obsessie van Jane Austen te zien, houdt het dus misschien maar beter op The Jane Austen Book Club van Robin Swicord.

Austenland is vanaf nu op dvd verkrijgbaar via Sony Home Entertainment.

Didier BECU
01/05/2014


01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
10
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession