tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland

JERUSHA HESS

Austenland

Movie
Comedy

[55/100]   

SONY SPHE
01/05/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Just imagine this: you’re a fan and somewhere there’s a theme park in where you can live like your idol. Well, Elvisfans can go to Graceland and for Jane Hayes (Keri Russell) who happens to be a huge admirer from Jane Austen there’s Austenland. The woman has read her books a thousand times and in her own created world she daily dreams about her own Mr. Darcy. Who knows she finds him in Austenland. Therefore she sells everything she has and buys a ticket. Unfortunately she’s a bit stingy and buys one of the cheaper versions. That means she’s part of the low class. Mrs. Wattlesbrook (Jane Seymour) who works on the scripts makes her prince charming the stable boy (Bret McKenzie), not exactly the romance Jane knows from Pride And Prejudice

The big riddle for me is to find out for whom this film is actually made. I suppose this romcom is a bit too silly for the Austen-fans and on the other hand I can imagine that fans from romantic movies won’t be longing for passages that come out of the books from these British novelist. The script is a bit messy and some dialogues are quite stupid, and to top it all: the performances are not exactly what you’d call great! Keri Russell does what’s expected to do, but after some time she gets irritating. Strangely enough this movie gained some fame at the prestigious Sundance-festival. We’re not that excited cos after an hour and half you completely forgot it. So perhaps you better watch The Jane Austen Book Club by Robin Swicord if you want to dive in the world from Austen-devotees.

Austenland is out on DVD on Sony Home Entertainment

Didier BECU
01/05/2014


NL

Stel je voor: je bent fan van iemand en er is zowaar een volledig attractiepark rond die persoon gebouwd, dan wil je dat toch bezoeken, niet? In Vlaanderen konden fans van cowboy Bobbejaan Schoepen destijds hun hartje in Lichtaart ophalen, maar Jane Hayes (Keri Russell) kan dat sinds kort ook. Haar leven staat volledig in het teken van de Britse schrijfster Jane Austen. Niet alleen heeft zij ontelbare keren haar boeken verslonden, ook heeft zij een eigen droomwereldje gecreëerd waarin zij wacht op de ware Mr. Darcy. En misschien vindt zij die wel in het Britse Austenland: een themapark dat gebouwd is rond Jane Austen! Jane verkoopt haar hele hebben en houden voor een peperduur toegangskaartje. Helaas kiest zij voor het “koperen pakket”. Dat betekent dat de vrouw tot de lagere klasse behoort. Mrs. Wattlesbrook (Jane Seymour) die de scenario’s voor de bezoekers van het themapark bedenkt, kiest er dan ook voor dat de droomprins van de goedkope kaartjes slechts een staljongen (Bret McKenzie) is. Niet bepaald de romantiek die Jane uit Pride And Prejudice kent dus…

Het grote raadsel is voor welk doelpubliek deze film is gemaakt. Wellicht is deze romcom te dwaas en net iets te modern voor Austen-fans en hebben liefhebbers van romantische onzin geen behoefte aan Austen-dialogen. Het scenario is niet alleen rommelig, maar sommige scènes zijn op minst tenenkrommend. Ook de acteerprestaties zijn niet van een hoog niveau. Keri Russell doet wat van haar wordt verwacht, maar begint na een tijdje toch te irriteren. Vreemd genoeg scoorde deze film behoorlijk op het befaamde Sundance-festival. Na anderhalf uur ben je deze ongein vergeten. Wie het toch niet kan laten om een prent over de obsessie van Jane Austen te zien, houdt het dus misschien maar beter op The Jane Austen Book Club van Robin Swicord.

Austenland is vanaf nu op dvd verkrijgbaar via Sony Home Entertainment.

Didier BECU
01/05/2014


01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design