tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland

JERUSHA HESS

Austenland

Movie
Comedy

[55/100]   

SONY SPHE
01/05/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Just imagine this: you’re a fan and somewhere there’s a theme park in where you can live like your idol. Well, Elvisfans can go to Graceland and for Jane Hayes (Keri Russell) who happens to be a huge admirer from Jane Austen there’s Austenland. The woman has read her books a thousand times and in her own created world she daily dreams about her own Mr. Darcy. Who knows she finds him in Austenland. Therefore she sells everything she has and buys a ticket. Unfortunately she’s a bit stingy and buys one of the cheaper versions. That means she’s part of the low class. Mrs. Wattlesbrook (Jane Seymour) who works on the scripts makes her prince charming the stable boy (Bret McKenzie), not exactly the romance Jane knows from Pride And Prejudice

The big riddle for me is to find out for whom this film is actually made. I suppose this romcom is a bit too silly for the Austen-fans and on the other hand I can imagine that fans from romantic movies won’t be longing for passages that come out of the books from these British novelist. The script is a bit messy and some dialogues are quite stupid, and to top it all: the performances are not exactly what you’d call great! Keri Russell does what’s expected to do, but after some time she gets irritating. Strangely enough this movie gained some fame at the prestigious Sundance-festival. We’re not that excited cos after an hour and half you completely forgot it. So perhaps you better watch The Jane Austen Book Club by Robin Swicord if you want to dive in the world from Austen-devotees.

Austenland is out on DVD on Sony Home Entertainment

Didier BECU
01/05/2014


NL

Stel je voor: je bent fan van iemand en er is zowaar een volledig attractiepark rond die persoon gebouwd, dan wil je dat toch bezoeken, niet? In Vlaanderen konden fans van cowboy Bobbejaan Schoepen destijds hun hartje in Lichtaart ophalen, maar Jane Hayes (Keri Russell) kan dat sinds kort ook. Haar leven staat volledig in het teken van de Britse schrijfster Jane Austen. Niet alleen heeft zij ontelbare keren haar boeken verslonden, ook heeft zij een eigen droomwereldje gecreëerd waarin zij wacht op de ware Mr. Darcy. En misschien vindt zij die wel in het Britse Austenland: een themapark dat gebouwd is rond Jane Austen! Jane verkoopt haar hele hebben en houden voor een peperduur toegangskaartje. Helaas kiest zij voor het “koperen pakket”. Dat betekent dat de vrouw tot de lagere klasse behoort. Mrs. Wattlesbrook (Jane Seymour) die de scenario’s voor de bezoekers van het themapark bedenkt, kiest er dan ook voor dat de droomprins van de goedkope kaartjes slechts een staljongen (Bret McKenzie) is. Niet bepaald de romantiek die Jane uit Pride And Prejudice kent dus…

Het grote raadsel is voor welk doelpubliek deze film is gemaakt. Wellicht is deze romcom te dwaas en net iets te modern voor Austen-fans en hebben liefhebbers van romantische onzin geen behoefte aan Austen-dialogen. Het scenario is niet alleen rommelig, maar sommige scènes zijn op minst tenenkrommend. Ook de acteerprestaties zijn niet van een hoog niveau. Keri Russell doet wat van haar wordt verwacht, maar begint na een tijdje toch te irriteren. Vreemd genoeg scoorde deze film behoorlijk op het befaamde Sundance-festival. Na anderhalf uur ben je deze ongein vergeten. Wie het toch niet kan laten om een prent over de obsessie van Jane Austen te zien, houdt het dus misschien maar beter op The Jane Austen Book Club van Robin Swicord.

Austenland is vanaf nu op dvd verkrijgbaar via Sony Home Entertainment.

Didier BECU
01/05/2014


01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland 01/05/2014 : JERUSHA HESS - Austenland

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary
14
01
On this night, 42 years ago, Joy Division played at King Kong, Antwerp (B)!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995
12
01
COIL
Tattooed Man