tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 7 inch review

01/05/2019 : JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS - Jesus Lives In Vegas

JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS

Jesus Lives In Vegas

Music7 inch
Cold WavePost Punk

[88/100]   

Self-released
01/05/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The power of simplicity. The beauty of less is more. The melancholy of despair in two songs. Christophe Lacroix and Régis Beck, the duo behind the name Jesus Lives In Vegas, achieved this completely. A melancholic voice, guitars, drums, bass and synths. That's it. No frills or gingantic arrangement, but it goes straight to heart.

On their first 7" we first discover A Way With You. From the first notes my body started to move along. Dragging guitars, an optimal rythm section and a wonderful voice. It's been a while since a song grabbed my attention so fast. While I usually need to listen a few times to get a 'feeling', here it was immediate. A depth of about six minutes. There's not even one second the song loses its power.

The second song is Aïna, supported by an analog drumsound and a very deep bass line, develops into a dark jewel. An emerald full of darkwave. The guitar parts stay in background, keeping their heads right above the waterline.

Jesus Lives in Vegas makes nothing new, but what they do is lived through. That's why this first work makes you want more.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
01/05/2019


NL

De kracht van eenvoud. De schoonheid van minder is meer. De melancholie en wanhoop in twee songs. Christophe Lacroix en Régis Beck, het duo dat zich beloonde met de naam Jesus Lives In Vegas, hééft het allemaal. Een weemoedige stem, gitaren, drums, bass en synths. Klaar. Geen tierlantijntjes of gigantische arrangementen, maar recht naar het hart.

Op hun eerste 7 inch ontdekken we eerst A Way With You. Vanaf de eerste noten bewoog mijn ferm uitgebouwde lijf meteen mee. Tergend slepende gitaren, een zuinige ritmesectie en een geweldig stemgeluid. Voor mij wel enige tijd geleden dat een song me zo meteen vast had. Waar doorgaans een veelvoud aan luisterbeurten pas echt een 'gevoel' oproept, was dit meteen raak. Een kleine zes minuten lang diepgang. Geen seconde verdwijnt de kracht uit de song. Ook zonder extreme uitspattingen.

De tweede song is Aïna, die geruggesteund door een analoge drumsound en extreem diepe baslijn, uitgroeit tot een donker juweel. Een smaragd vol donkere wave. Glinsterend tot in het kleinste koolstofdeeltje. De gitaarpartijen houden zich op de achtergrond, zuinig het hoofd even boven de waterlijn stekend.

Jesus Lives in Vegas maakt niets nieuws, maar wat ze doen is wel doorleefd. En dat maakt dit eerste werk tot iets wat doet smaken naar meer.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
01/05/2019


01/05/2019 : JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS - Jesus Lives In Vegas 01/05/2019 : JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS - Jesus Lives In Vegas 01/05/2019 : JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS - Jesus Lives In Vegas

 

Next reviews
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
JOBRIATH • Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
MARTY WILSON-PIPER • Hanging Out In Heaven (Reissue)
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
PAUL MCCANN • Widow Maker Blues (Feat. Majella O’Reilly)
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
THE NEVILLE STAPLE BAND • Put Away Your Knives (Aka: Take Heed)

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + POST PUNK
WHISPERING SONS • Image
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
O VEUX • O Veux
THE NAMES • Names In Mutation
VEIL OF LIGHT • Talisman (EP)
FACTICE FACTORY • !Nada!
THE INSIGHT • White Noise
B9: BELGIAN COLD WAVE • 1979-1983
HAPAX • Stream of Consciousness
CRISPY AMBULANCE • CLASSICS: The Plateau Phase

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
DER KLINKE • Decade
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover