tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 7 inch review

01/05/2019 : JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS - Jesus Lives In Vegas

JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS

Jesus Lives In Vegas

Music7 inch
Cold WavePost Punk

[88/100]   

Self-released
01/05/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The power of simplicity. The beauty of less is more. The melancholy of despair in two songs. Christophe Lacroix and Régis Beck, the duo behind the name Jesus Lives In Vegas, achieved this completely. A melancholic voice, guitars, drums, bass and synths. That's it. No frills or gingantic arrangement, but it goes straight to heart.

On their first 7" we first discover A Way With You. From the first notes my body started to move along. Dragging guitars, an optimal rythm section and a wonderful voice. It's been a while since a song grabbed my attention so fast. While I usually need to listen a few times to get a 'feeling', here it was immediate. A depth of about six minutes. There's not even one second the song loses its power.

The second song is Aïna, supported by an analog drumsound and a very deep bass line, develops into a dark jewel. An emerald full of darkwave. The guitar parts stay in background, keeping their heads right above the waterline.

Jesus Lives in Vegas makes nothing new, but what they do is lived through. That's why this first work makes you want more.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
01/05/2019


NL

De kracht van eenvoud. De schoonheid van minder is meer. De melancholie en wanhoop in twee songs. Christophe Lacroix en Régis Beck, het duo dat zich beloonde met de naam Jesus Lives In Vegas, hééft het allemaal. Een weemoedige stem, gitaren, drums, bass en synths. Klaar. Geen tierlantijntjes of gigantische arrangementen, maar recht naar het hart.

Op hun eerste 7 inch ontdekken we eerst A Way With You. Vanaf de eerste noten bewoog mijn ferm uitgebouwde lijf meteen mee. Tergend slepende gitaren, een zuinige ritmesectie en een geweldig stemgeluid. Voor mij wel enige tijd geleden dat een song me zo meteen vast had. Waar doorgaans een veelvoud aan luisterbeurten pas echt een 'gevoel' oproept, was dit meteen raak. Een kleine zes minuten lang diepgang. Geen seconde verdwijnt de kracht uit de song. Ook zonder extreme uitspattingen.

De tweede song is Aïna, die geruggesteund door een analoge drumsound en extreem diepe baslijn, uitgroeit tot een donker juweel. Een smaragd vol donkere wave. Glinsterend tot in het kleinste koolstofdeeltje. De gitaarpartijen houden zich op de achtergrond, zuinig het hoofd even boven de waterlijn stekend.

Jesus Lives in Vegas maakt niets nieuws, maar wat ze doen is wel doorleefd. En dat maakt dit eerste werk tot iets wat doet smaken naar meer.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
01/05/2019


01/05/2019 : JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS - Jesus Lives In Vegas 01/05/2019 : JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS - Jesus Lives In Vegas 01/05/2019 : JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS - Jesus Lives In Vegas

 

Next reviews
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
JOBRIATH • Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
MARTY WILSON-PIPER • Hanging Out In Heaven (Reissue)
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
PAUL MCCANN • Widow Maker Blues (Feat. Majella O’Reilly)
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
THE NEVILLE STAPLE BAND • Put Away Your Knives (Aka: Take Heed)

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + POST PUNK
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
WHISPERING SONS • Image
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
O VEUX • O Veux
THE NAMES • Names In Mutation
VEIL OF LIGHT • Talisman (EP)
FACTICE FACTORY • !Nada!
THE INSIGHT • White Noise
B9: BELGIAN COLD WAVE • 1979-1983
HAPAX • Stream of Consciousness

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
DER KLINKE • Decade
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem