tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 7 inch review

01/05/2019 : JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS - Jesus Lives In Vegas

JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS

Jesus Lives In Vegas

Music7 inch
Cold WavePost Punk

[88/100]   

Self-released
01/05/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The power of simplicity. The beauty of less is more. The melancholy of despair in two songs. Christophe Lacroix and Régis Beck, the duo behind the name Jesus Lives In Vegas, achieved this completely. A melancholic voice, guitars, drums, bass and synths. That's it. No frills or gingantic arrangement, but it goes straight to heart.

On their first 7" we first discover A Way With You. From the first notes my body started to move along. Dragging guitars, an optimal rythm section and a wonderful voice. It's been a while since a song grabbed my attention so fast. While I usually need to listen a few times to get a 'feeling', here it was immediate. A depth of about six minutes. There's not even one second the song loses its power.

The second song is Aïna, supported by an analog drumsound and a very deep bass line, develops into a dark jewel. An emerald full of darkwave. The guitar parts stay in background, keeping their heads right above the waterline.

Jesus Lives in Vegas makes nothing new, but what they do is lived through. That's why this first work makes you want more.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
01/05/2019


NL

De kracht van eenvoud. De schoonheid van minder is meer. De melancholie en wanhoop in twee songs. Christophe Lacroix en Régis Beck, het duo dat zich beloonde met de naam Jesus Lives In Vegas, hééft het allemaal. Een weemoedige stem, gitaren, drums, bass en synths. Klaar. Geen tierlantijntjes of gigantische arrangementen, maar recht naar het hart.

Op hun eerste 7 inch ontdekken we eerst A Way With You. Vanaf de eerste noten bewoog mijn ferm uitgebouwde lijf meteen mee. Tergend slepende gitaren, een zuinige ritmesectie en een geweldig stemgeluid. Voor mij wel enige tijd geleden dat een song me zo meteen vast had. Waar doorgaans een veelvoud aan luisterbeurten pas echt een 'gevoel' oproept, was dit meteen raak. Een kleine zes minuten lang diepgang. Geen seconde verdwijnt de kracht uit de song. Ook zonder extreme uitspattingen.

De tweede song is Aïna, die geruggesteund door een analoge drumsound en extreem diepe baslijn, uitgroeit tot een donker juweel. Een smaragd vol donkere wave. Glinsterend tot in het kleinste koolstofdeeltje. De gitaarpartijen houden zich op de achtergrond, zuinig het hoofd even boven de waterlijn stekend.

Jesus Lives in Vegas maakt niets nieuws, maar wat ze doen is wel doorleefd. En dat maakt dit eerste werk tot iets wat doet smaken naar meer.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
01/05/2019


01/05/2019 : JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS - Jesus Lives In Vegas 01/05/2019 : JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS - Jesus Lives In Vegas 01/05/2019 : JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS - Jesus Lives In Vegas

 

Next reviews
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
JOBRIATH • Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
MARTY WILSON-PIPER • Hanging Out In Heaven (Reissue)
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
PAUL MCCANN • Widow Maker Blues (Feat. Majella O’Reilly)
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
THE NEVILLE STAPLE BAND • Put Away Your Knives (Aka: Take Heed)

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + POST PUNK
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
RINGFINGER • Pressure
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
WHISPERING SONS • Image
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
O VEUX • O Veux
THE NAMES • Names In Mutation
VEIL OF LIGHT • Talisman (EP)
FACTICE FACTORY • !Nada!

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
DAGEIST • Sexy
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
DER KLINKE • Decade
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection