tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 7 inch review

01/05/2019 : JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS - Jesus Lives In Vegas

JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS

Jesus Lives In Vegas

Music7 inch
Cold WavePost Punk

[88/100]   

Self-released
01/05/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The power of simplicity. The beauty of less is more. The melancholy of despair in two songs. Christophe Lacroix and Régis Beck, the duo behind the name Jesus Lives In Vegas, achieved this completely. A melancholic voice, guitars, drums, bass and synths. That's it. No frills or gingantic arrangement, but it goes straight to heart.

On their first 7" we first discover A Way With You. From the first notes my body started to move along. Dragging guitars, an optimal rythm section and a wonderful voice. It's been a while since a song grabbed my attention so fast. While I usually need to listen a few times to get a 'feeling', here it was immediate. A depth of about six minutes. There's not even one second the song loses its power.

The second song is Aïna, supported by an analog drumsound and a very deep bass line, develops into a dark jewel. An emerald full of darkwave. The guitar parts stay in background, keeping their heads right above the waterline.

Jesus Lives in Vegas makes nothing new, but what they do is lived through. That's why this first work makes you want more.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
01/05/2019


NL

De kracht van eenvoud. De schoonheid van minder is meer. De melancholie en wanhoop in twee songs. Christophe Lacroix en Régis Beck, het duo dat zich beloonde met de naam Jesus Lives In Vegas, hééft het allemaal. Een weemoedige stem, gitaren, drums, bass en synths. Klaar. Geen tierlantijntjes of gigantische arrangementen, maar recht naar het hart.

Op hun eerste 7 inch ontdekken we eerst A Way With You. Vanaf de eerste noten bewoog mijn ferm uitgebouwde lijf meteen mee. Tergend slepende gitaren, een zuinige ritmesectie en een geweldig stemgeluid. Voor mij wel enige tijd geleden dat een song me zo meteen vast had. Waar doorgaans een veelvoud aan luisterbeurten pas echt een 'gevoel' oproept, was dit meteen raak. Een kleine zes minuten lang diepgang. Geen seconde verdwijnt de kracht uit de song. Ook zonder extreme uitspattingen.

De tweede song is Aïna, die geruggesteund door een analoge drumsound en extreem diepe baslijn, uitgroeit tot een donker juweel. Een smaragd vol donkere wave. Glinsterend tot in het kleinste koolstofdeeltje. De gitaarpartijen houden zich op de achtergrond, zuinig het hoofd even boven de waterlijn stekend.

Jesus Lives in Vegas maakt niets nieuws, maar wat ze doen is wel doorleefd. En dat maakt dit eerste werk tot iets wat doet smaken naar meer.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
01/05/2019


01/05/2019 : JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS - Jesus Lives In Vegas 01/05/2019 : JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS - Jesus Lives In Vegas 01/05/2019 : JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS - Jesus Lives In Vegas

 

Next reviews
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
JOBRIATH • Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
MARTY WILSON-PIPER • Hanging Out In Heaven (Reissue)
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
PAUL MCCANN • Widow Maker Blues (Feat. Majella O’Reilly)
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
THE NEVILLE STAPLE BAND • Put Away Your Knives (Aka: Take Heed)

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + POST PUNK
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
RINGFINGER • Pressure
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
WHISPERING SONS • Image
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
O VEUX • O Veux
THE NAMES • Names In Mutation
VEIL OF LIGHT • Talisman (EP)
FACTICE FACTORY • !Nada!

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
DAGEIST • Sexy
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
DER KLINKE • Decade

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf