tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this 7 inch review

01/05/2019 : JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS - Jesus Lives In Vegas

JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS

Jesus Lives In Vegas

Music7 inch
Cold WavePost Punk

[88/100]   

Self-released
01/05/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The power of simplicity. The beauty of less is more. The melancholy of despair in two songs. Christophe Lacroix and Régis Beck, the duo behind the name Jesus Lives In Vegas, achieved this completely. A melancholic voice, guitars, drums, bass and synths. That's it. No frills or gingantic arrangement, but it goes straight to heart.

On their first 7" we first discover A Way With You. From the first notes my body started to move along. Dragging guitars, an optimal rythm section and a wonderful voice. It's been a while since a song grabbed my attention so fast. While I usually need to listen a few times to get a 'feeling', here it was immediate. A depth of about six minutes. There's not even one second the song loses its power.

The second song is Aïna, supported by an analog drumsound and a very deep bass line, develops into a dark jewel. An emerald full of darkwave. The guitar parts stay in background, keeping their heads right above the waterline.

Jesus Lives in Vegas makes nothing new, but what they do is lived through. That's why this first work makes you want more.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
01/05/2019


NL

De kracht van eenvoud. De schoonheid van minder is meer. De melancholie en wanhoop in twee songs. Christophe Lacroix en Régis Beck, het duo dat zich beloonde met de naam Jesus Lives In Vegas, hééft het allemaal. Een weemoedige stem, gitaren, drums, bass en synths. Klaar. Geen tierlantijntjes of gigantische arrangementen, maar recht naar het hart.

Op hun eerste 7 inch ontdekken we eerst A Way With You. Vanaf de eerste noten bewoog mijn ferm uitgebouwde lijf meteen mee. Tergend slepende gitaren, een zuinige ritmesectie en een geweldig stemgeluid. Voor mij wel enige tijd geleden dat een song me zo meteen vast had. Waar doorgaans een veelvoud aan luisterbeurten pas echt een 'gevoel' oproept, was dit meteen raak. Een kleine zes minuten lang diepgang. Geen seconde verdwijnt de kracht uit de song. Ook zonder extreme uitspattingen.

De tweede song is Aïna, die geruggesteund door een analoge drumsound en extreem diepe baslijn, uitgroeit tot een donker juweel. Een smaragd vol donkere wave. Glinsterend tot in het kleinste koolstofdeeltje. De gitaarpartijen houden zich op de achtergrond, zuinig het hoofd even boven de waterlijn stekend.

Jesus Lives in Vegas maakt niets nieuws, maar wat ze doen is wel doorleefd. En dat maakt dit eerste werk tot iets wat doet smaken naar meer.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
01/05/2019


01/05/2019 : JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS - Jesus Lives In Vegas 01/05/2019 : JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS - Jesus Lives In Vegas 01/05/2019 : JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS - Jesus Lives In Vegas

Music reviews

29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park
14
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Melancholic Disposition

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!
21
03
Bone Machine | 32 - Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...
03
03
DAVID SARDY
Producer David Sardy on his work with The Who, Oasis, Marilyn Manson and scoring work.

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes
25
03
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins
24
03
KRANKLAND
In the Realms of the Unreal