tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : JET BANANA - Master is the Enemy

JET BANANA

Master is the Enemy

MusicCD
Power Rock/Pop

[75/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Jet Banana is a French quartet that presents its full album after having released the single Kelly. The music is somewhere between power pop and rock. Depending on the track, one time you get rock and then it’s pop.

That means the music has two faces and that will split the audience in two. The vocals are good, alternating between rock (David Lee Roth or The Poodles) and something like Mika. Master Is The Enemy has a hard rock riff, but it it sound more like pop rock. The riff is a cliché, but thank God, the vocals save it all.

White and Red suffers from the same problem: the riff was borrowed from Wild Thing by The Troggs.

But it's not all bad, because there are some brilliant pop rock songs here. Missionary begins with a grungy intro and soon gets catchy and melodic. OK! is a sing-along that should make you happy. Holy Money is again more pop rock (think of Robbie Williams or Mika). Unborn is a sensitive ballad, a beautiful song.

There’s definitely quality on this album. Let's Go Banana's!

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Jet Banana is een Frans viertal dat na een single (Kelly) een full album presenteert. De muziek dwaalt ergens tussen de contouren van powerpop en rock. Naargelang de tracks, krijgt de ene keer rock de bovenhand en de andere keer pop. Dat betekent dat de muziek twee gezichten heeft en dat er luisteraars zullen zijn die eerder voor de poppy tracks dan wel voor de rocksongs kiezen.

De zang is goed: een stem die afwisselt tussen gruizige rock (David Lee Roth, The Poodles…) en een cleane aanpak (bv. Mika). Opener Master is The Enemy drijft op een hardrockriff, maar is verpakt in een pop/rockjasje. De riff klinkt wel een beetje clichéachtig. De zang houdt het nummer overeind. White and Red lijdt een beetje aan hetzelfde euvel: de riff lijkt nl. heel erg op die van Wild Thing van The Troggs.

Maar het is niet allemaal kommer en kwel, want er staan enkele schitterende pop rock deuntjes op het album die minder op een overbekende riff leunen. Missionary begint met een grungy intro en krijgt een pompend vervolg dat catchy en melodieus is. Ok! is een meezinger waarvan je wel vrolijk moet worden. Holy Money gaat richting poprock (Robbie Williams, Mika), maar is net iets minder gepolijst dan eerder genoemde voorbeelden.

Unborn is een gevoelig gezongen ballade zonder meligheid. Een mooi liedje. Zo horen we twaalf songs, waarvan ik meen dat die waarin de zanger de cleane stem hanteert en waarin men geen clichéachtige hardrockriffs verwerkt heeft, de beste zijn. Dat geldt voor meer dan de helft van de tracks.

Er zit iets aanstekelijks in de muziek van Jet Banana. Nu is het een kwestie van door te gaan op dat elan. Let’s go Banana’s!

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : JET BANANA - Master is the Enemy 10/12/2016 : JET BANANA - Master is the Enemy

Music reviews

18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding
05
03
I AM A ROCKETSHIP
Mind Grafitti

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love