tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : JET BANANA - Master is the Enemy

JET BANANA

Master is the Enemy

MusicCD
Power Rock/Pop

[75/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Jet Banana is a French quartet that presents its full album after having released the single Kelly. The music is somewhere between power pop and rock. Depending on the track, one time you get rock and then it’s pop.

That means the music has two faces and that will split the audience in two. The vocals are good, alternating between rock (David Lee Roth or The Poodles) and something like Mika. Master Is The Enemy has a hard rock riff, but it it sound more like pop rock. The riff is a cliché, but thank God, the vocals save it all.

White and Red suffers from the same problem: the riff was borrowed from Wild Thing by The Troggs.

But it's not all bad, because there are some brilliant pop rock songs here. Missionary begins with a grungy intro and soon gets catchy and melodic. OK! is a sing-along that should make you happy. Holy Money is again more pop rock (think of Robbie Williams or Mika). Unborn is a sensitive ballad, a beautiful song.

There’s definitely quality on this album. Let's Go Banana's!

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Jet Banana is een Frans viertal dat na een single (Kelly) een full album presenteert. De muziek dwaalt ergens tussen de contouren van powerpop en rock. Naargelang de tracks, krijgt de ene keer rock de bovenhand en de andere keer pop. Dat betekent dat de muziek twee gezichten heeft en dat er luisteraars zullen zijn die eerder voor de poppy tracks dan wel voor de rocksongs kiezen.

De zang is goed: een stem die afwisselt tussen gruizige rock (David Lee Roth, The Poodles…) en een cleane aanpak (bv. Mika). Opener Master is The Enemy drijft op een hardrockriff, maar is verpakt in een pop/rockjasje. De riff klinkt wel een beetje clichéachtig. De zang houdt het nummer overeind. White and Red lijdt een beetje aan hetzelfde euvel: de riff lijkt nl. heel erg op die van Wild Thing van The Troggs.

Maar het is niet allemaal kommer en kwel, want er staan enkele schitterende pop rock deuntjes op het album die minder op een overbekende riff leunen. Missionary begint met een grungy intro en krijgt een pompend vervolg dat catchy en melodieus is. Ok! is een meezinger waarvan je wel vrolijk moet worden. Holy Money gaat richting poprock (Robbie Williams, Mika), maar is net iets minder gepolijst dan eerder genoemde voorbeelden.

Unborn is een gevoelig gezongen ballade zonder meligheid. Een mooi liedje. Zo horen we twaalf songs, waarvan ik meen dat die waarin de zanger de cleane stem hanteert en waarin men geen clichéachtige hardrockriffs verwerkt heeft, de beste zijn. Dat geldt voor meer dan de helft van de tracks.

Er zit iets aanstekelijks in de muziek van Jet Banana. Nu is het een kwestie van door te gaan op dat elan. Let’s go Banana’s!

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : JET BANANA - Master is the Enemy 10/12/2016 : JET BANANA - Master is the Enemy

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design