tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : JET BANANA - Master is the Enemy

JET BANANA

Master is the Enemy

MusicCD
Power Rock/Pop

[75/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Jet Banana is a French quartet that presents its full album after having released the single Kelly. The music is somewhere between power pop and rock. Depending on the track, one time you get rock and then it’s pop.

That means the music has two faces and that will split the audience in two. The vocals are good, alternating between rock (David Lee Roth or The Poodles) and something like Mika. Master Is The Enemy has a hard rock riff, but it it sound more like pop rock. The riff is a cliché, but thank God, the vocals save it all.

White and Red suffers from the same problem: the riff was borrowed from Wild Thing by The Troggs.

But it's not all bad, because there are some brilliant pop rock songs here. Missionary begins with a grungy intro and soon gets catchy and melodic. OK! is a sing-along that should make you happy. Holy Money is again more pop rock (think of Robbie Williams or Mika). Unborn is a sensitive ballad, a beautiful song.

There’s definitely quality on this album. Let's Go Banana's!

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Jet Banana is een Frans viertal dat na een single (Kelly) een full album presenteert. De muziek dwaalt ergens tussen de contouren van powerpop en rock. Naargelang de tracks, krijgt de ene keer rock de bovenhand en de andere keer pop. Dat betekent dat de muziek twee gezichten heeft en dat er luisteraars zullen zijn die eerder voor de poppy tracks dan wel voor de rocksongs kiezen.

De zang is goed: een stem die afwisselt tussen gruizige rock (David Lee Roth, The Poodles…) en een cleane aanpak (bv. Mika). Opener Master is The Enemy drijft op een hardrockriff, maar is verpakt in een pop/rockjasje. De riff klinkt wel een beetje clichéachtig. De zang houdt het nummer overeind. White and Red lijdt een beetje aan hetzelfde euvel: de riff lijkt nl. heel erg op die van Wild Thing van The Troggs.

Maar het is niet allemaal kommer en kwel, want er staan enkele schitterende pop rock deuntjes op het album die minder op een overbekende riff leunen. Missionary begint met een grungy intro en krijgt een pompend vervolg dat catchy en melodieus is. Ok! is een meezinger waarvan je wel vrolijk moet worden. Holy Money gaat richting poprock (Robbie Williams, Mika), maar is net iets minder gepolijst dan eerder genoemde voorbeelden.

Unborn is een gevoelig gezongen ballade zonder meligheid. Een mooi liedje. Zo horen we twaalf songs, waarvan ik meen dat die waarin de zanger de cleane stem hanteert en waarin men geen clichéachtige hardrockriffs verwerkt heeft, de beste zijn. Dat geldt voor meer dan de helft van de tracks.

Er zit iets aanstekelijks in de muziek van Jet Banana. Nu is het een kwestie van door te gaan op dat elan. Let’s go Banana’s!

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : JET BANANA - Master is the Enemy 10/12/2016 : JET BANANA - Master is the Enemy

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi