tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : JET BANANA - Master is the Enemy

JET BANANA

Master is the Enemy

MusicCD
Power Rock/Pop

[75/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Jet Banana is a French quartet that presents its full album after having released the single Kelly. The music is somewhere between power pop and rock. Depending on the track, one time you get rock and then it’s pop.

That means the music has two faces and that will split the audience in two. The vocals are good, alternating between rock (David Lee Roth or The Poodles) and something like Mika. Master Is The Enemy has a hard rock riff, but it it sound more like pop rock. The riff is a cliché, but thank God, the vocals save it all.

White and Red suffers from the same problem: the riff was borrowed from Wild Thing by The Troggs.

But it's not all bad, because there are some brilliant pop rock songs here. Missionary begins with a grungy intro and soon gets catchy and melodic. OK! is a sing-along that should make you happy. Holy Money is again more pop rock (think of Robbie Williams or Mika). Unborn is a sensitive ballad, a beautiful song.

There’s definitely quality on this album. Let's Go Banana's!

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Jet Banana is een Frans viertal dat na een single (Kelly) een full album presenteert. De muziek dwaalt ergens tussen de contouren van powerpop en rock. Naargelang de tracks, krijgt de ene keer rock de bovenhand en de andere keer pop. Dat betekent dat de muziek twee gezichten heeft en dat er luisteraars zullen zijn die eerder voor de poppy tracks dan wel voor de rocksongs kiezen.

De zang is goed: een stem die afwisselt tussen gruizige rock (David Lee Roth, The Poodles…) en een cleane aanpak (bv. Mika). Opener Master is The Enemy drijft op een hardrockriff, maar is verpakt in een pop/rockjasje. De riff klinkt wel een beetje clichéachtig. De zang houdt het nummer overeind. White and Red lijdt een beetje aan hetzelfde euvel: de riff lijkt nl. heel erg op die van Wild Thing van The Troggs.

Maar het is niet allemaal kommer en kwel, want er staan enkele schitterende pop rock deuntjes op het album die minder op een overbekende riff leunen. Missionary begint met een grungy intro en krijgt een pompend vervolg dat catchy en melodieus is. Ok! is een meezinger waarvan je wel vrolijk moet worden. Holy Money gaat richting poprock (Robbie Williams, Mika), maar is net iets minder gepolijst dan eerder genoemde voorbeelden.

Unborn is een gevoelig gezongen ballade zonder meligheid. Een mooi liedje. Zo horen we twaalf songs, waarvan ik meen dat die waarin de zanger de cleane stem hanteert en waarin men geen clichéachtige hardrockriffs verwerkt heeft, de beste zijn. Dat geldt voor meer dan de helft van de tracks.

Er zit iets aanstekelijks in de muziek van Jet Banana. Nu is het een kwestie van door te gaan op dat elan. Let’s go Banana’s!

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : JET BANANA - Master is the Enemy 10/12/2016 : JET BANANA - Master is the Enemy

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
04
12
BLUTENGEL
Soul Of Ice