tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

05/05/2014 : JFJ - Electric Wood

JFJ

Electric Wood

MusicCD
Country & WesternSinger Songwriter

[82/100]   

Fons Records
05/05/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Some of our Belgian readers might know this band from Studio Brussel (De Nieuwe Lichting) en Humo's Rock Rally. The others will have to discover them... with this 11 tracks album.

'Leaders of the west' (Where are you now?) is the first track and sounds very special: a nice piano and a strange melancholic voice (almost like E-bow). Writing this sentence takes longer than listening to it. Very much influenced by The Broken Circle Breakdown and that will be on repeat for a lot of the following songs! 'Clyde fans' has even a violin in it, a nice Country & Western sound. 'Electric wood' describes pretty well the song, however it also reminds me of Admiral Freebee. Yeah, I mean: they use electric guitars and it sounds pretty old school.
I think I also recognize an organ? 'The financial crisis' is driven by a banjo and sounds very Country & Western. The lyrics are nice too, very into 2014! Love the little acoustic and intimistic part in it. 'Honey' is more electrified, with a piano that reminds me of what David Bowie did when he was touring with Iggy Pop during the 'Lust for Life' period. Love the little rock side of this song. 'Sweet release' is nothing more but spielerei. 'Race toward something' is a typical drunken Singer Songwriter's song, recorded before falling asleep. Even the sound feels like that, well-done! I adore the spooky sound in the end.
'First aid kid' is a nice Admiral Freebee song, with great piano and nice voices (lead and backing). This is the best track on the cd! 'Drive through the night' reminds me a bit of The Doors, but with another singer, after a while it even changes more into an Admiral Freebee track. The great song goes on with 'I went to your house last night pt. 2'. Love the romance in the air. 'The great summer depression' sounds less depressive as the title is telling you and ends pretty fast. The end leaves me a bit into a strange mood, unsure about the points that I still need to hand out...

Filip VAN MUYLEM
05/05/2014


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout