tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael

JIM ABRAHAMS

Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael

MovieMovie classics
Coming Of Age

[70/100]   

Dutch FilmWorks
25/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps we were all a little in love with Winona Ryder? At least you were if you have experienced the 90’s. The brunette with the pretty little face became indeed famous for another reason (kleptomania) by which we sometimes forget that she is also a good actress. After Beetlejuice and the Jerry Lee Lewis biopic Great Balls Of Fire ! ,Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael was her first major film.

The strangest thing about this coming of age film is the fact that Jim Abrahams is the director. After all, he was the king of parody (something we now call a spoof ). Hot Shots !, Airplane and The Naked Gun: these are all Jim Abrahams products. It is curious that he is the one who made a film about a disturbed teenage girl. The whole school thinks that Dinky Bossetti (Winona Ryder ) is a weird ninny. She is always dresses in black, some even find that the girl stinks. She lives in a village that is completely under the spell of one Roxy Carmichael, an inhabitant who went to Hollywood to seek fame. Dinky imagines that she is the daughter of the star.

The strongest point of this drama is the phenomenal role of Winona Ryder, who made the whole cast (if you don’t count Jeff Daniels) almost pointless. You notice that Abraham wanted more, but that he obeyed the Hollywood Rules that reduce the movie at times to a tasteless pudding. The best example is the scene in which Dinky might be in love with her female ​​teacher. It is a beautiful scene of two minutes, but Abraham does not return to the idea later. The happy ending feels a bit forced either, but if you forget these minor points, then Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael is such a lost movie from the 90’s that deserves to be re-discovered.

Didier BECU
25/12/2014


NL

Wellicht waren we allemaal wel een beetje verliefd op Winona Ryder, niet? Ten minste als je de jaren 90 bewust hebt meegemaakt. De brunette met het mooie snoetje werd weliswaar voor een heel andere reden beroemd (kleptomanie) waardoor we wel eens durven vergeten dat ze ook een steengoede actrice is. Na Beetlejuice en de Jerry Lee Lewis-biopic Great Balls Of Fire! was Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael haar eerste grote film.

Het vreemdste aan deze coming-of-age-film is het feit dat Jim Abrahams de regisseur van dienst is. Hij was immers de koning van de parodie (iets wat men tegenwoordig een spoof noemt). Hot Shots!, Airplane of The Naked Gun: het zijn allemaal Jim Abrahams-producten. Het is dan ook merkwaardig dat net dit heerschap een film maakt over een tienermeisje dat met zichzelf in de knoop ligt. De hele school vindt Dinky Bossetti (Winona Ryder) maar een rare trien. Ze kleedt zich steeds in het zwart, sommigen vinden zelfs dat het meisje stinkt. Ze leeft bovendien in een dorpje dat volledig in de ban is van ene Roxy Carmichael: een dorpelinge die naar Hollywood trok. Dinky beeldt zich in dat ze de dochter van de vedette is.

Het sterkste punt van dit drama is zonder meer de fenomenale vertolking van Winona Ryder die de hele (onbekende, op Jeff Daniels na) onbekende cast naar huis speelt. Je merkt dat Abrahams meer wilde, maar zich toch mooi aan de Hollywoodregels houdt waardoor de film uiteindelijk een beetje aanvoelt als een smaakloze pudding. Het mooiste voorbeeld is dat er op een bepaald moment sprake is van het feit dat Dinky verliefd is op haar lerares. Het is een prachtige scène van een tweetal minuten, maar Abrahams komt er niet meer op terug. Ook het happy end voelt vrij geforceerd aan, maar als je deze minpunten vergeet is Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael zo’n verloren filmpje uit de jaren 90 dat nog wel eens uit de kast mag worden gehaald. 

Didier BECU
25/12/2014


25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael 25/12/2014 : JIM ABRAHAMS - Welcome Home Roxy Carmichael

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real