tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

08/12/2016 : JOE JACKSON - Brussels, AB (22/02/16)

JOE JACKSON

Brussels, AB (22/02/16)

Concert
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Yesterday, Joe Jackson could hardly believe that it was thirty years since he stood on the stage of the AB for the first time. He’s still able to sell out this rock temple. Not really surprising, because anyone who cares about music, will agree that the 62 year-old British musician is a master who can’t be ignored. Yesterday, he proved it again, a big minus, however, was the cohesion of the setlist.

His latest CD is titled Fast Forward, but Jackson is very well aware of the fact that nowadays a venue can only be sold out if you play your greatest hits. Strange really, because Joe Jackson always used to be a contrarian guy. The avid smoker released records that made label bosses sweat. In times of new wave he released an album featuring swing songs from the 40s (Jumpin ' Jive), he made a jazz record in times that jazz was not hip at all (Body And Soul) or simply composed classical music (Symphony No. 1). Joe Jackson did it indeed, and always with bravado. His latest CD is a curious fact as well, because the album was recorded in four cities and normally should be released as a series of four EPs. But precisely, no one buys an EP nowadays.

Joe Jackson always was a master in releasing records that form a whole, but that was not the case yesterday. Eight tracks from the new album, constantly interspersed with (brilliant) classics: the public floated between an intimate concert and an edition of Night of the Proms.

Jackson performed the support act himself, and he performed five songs at the piano. The opener was an instant hit (It's Different For Girls) and the highlight was Big Yellow Taxi (though he gave other musicians the advise never to cover a Joni Mitchell song, as after all you don’t know what you started!). From Fast Forward on, bassist Graham Maybe appeared on stage with whom Jackson collaborates since Look Sharp!

Once the complete Joe Jackson Band was on stage, the first crowd pleaser started (Is She Really Going Out With Him ?), and many would follow (including an unnecessary version of ABBA's Knowing Me Knowing You, even though the public wanted to hear something by David Bowie instead). However, there was a kind of reference to Starman, because during Kings Of The City, Jackson said that New York is still there, but has lost its stars.

Unfortunately, Mr. Joe Jackson, you lost a few stars as well. The gig contained lots of gems (mostly the intimate songs), but your musical genius is just too big to bring a potpourri on stage, and not even a cover of Television (See No Evil) can’t change that. Joe Jackson remains one of the best musicians, but he 'd better stay loyal to his former motto: no compromises!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Joe Jackson kon gisteren zelf amper geloven dat het ondertussen al dertig jaar geleden was dat hij voor de allereerste keer in de AB stond. Hij heeft er na al die tijd geen moeite mee om de Brusselse rocktempel uit te verkopen. Echt verwonderlijk is dat niet, want iedereen die om muziek geeft, zal ermee instemmen dat de 62-jarige Britse muzikant een klasbak is waar je niet omheen kunt. Dat bewees hij gisteren nog maar eens, een groot minpunt was evenwel dat de cohesie in de setlist volledig zoek was.

Zijn laatste cd mag dan wel de titel Fast Forward dragen, Jackson is er zich maar al te goed van bewust dat je tegenwoordig alleen maar een zaal kan uitverkopen als je het publiek ook je grootste hits aanbiedt. Vreemd eigenlijk, want eigenlijk was Joe Jackson steeds een tegendraadse kerel. De fanatieke roker bracht alsmaar platen uit die heel wat platenbonzen angst inboezemden: in tijden van new wave een lp uitbrengen met daarop swingnummers uit de jaren 40 (Jumpin’ Jive), een jazzplaat in tijden dat jazz helemaal niet hip was (Body And Soul) of gewoonweg klassieke muziek (Symphony N°1). Joe Jackson deed het, en steeds met bravoure. Ook zijn laatste cd is een merkwaardig feit, want de plaat werd in vier steden opgenomen en zou normaliter uitgebracht worden als een reeks van vier ep’s. Maar precies, niemand koopt tegenwoordig nog een ep.

Joe Jackson is altijd een meester geweest in het uitbrengen van platen die één geheel vormen, maar dat kon je gisteren niet van de set zeggen. Acht tracks uit het nieuwe album, maar die werden alsmaar afgewisseld met (briljante) klassiekers zodat je je als toeschouwer tussen een intiem concert en een editie van Night Of The Proms schipperde.

Jackson was deze avond zijn eigen voorprogramma, en alleen achter de piano bracht hij vijf songs. De opener was meteen raak (It's Different For Girls) en het hoogtepunt Big Yellow Taxi (ook al gaf de muzikant anderen de raad om je nooit aan een cover van Joni Mitchell te wagen, je weet immers niet waaraan je begint!). Vanaf Fast Forward verscheen bassist Graham Maybe op het podium, met wie Jackson al samenwerkt sinds Look Sharp!

Van zodra de volledige Joe Jackson Band op het podium stond, begon men aan de eerste crowdpleaser (Is She Really Going Out With Him?), en er zouden er nog veel volgen (waaronder een ondermaatse versie van ABBA’s Knowing Me Knowing You, ook al brulde de zaal dat ze liever iets van David Bowie hadden gehoord). De verwijzing naar Starman was er, want tijdens Kings Of The City vertelde Jackson dat New York er nog wel was, maar dat de stad ondertussen zijn sterren had verloren.

En helaas, mijnheer Joe Jackson, ben ook jij een paar sterren kwijt. Het optreden zat vol parels (meestal de intieme nummers), maar jouw muzikale genie is net iets te groot om een potpourri op het podium te brengen, en daar kan zelfs een cover van Television (See No Evil) niets aan veranderen. Joe Jackson blijft een grote mijnheer, maar toch zou hij beter trouw blijven aan zijn vroegere motto: geen toegevingen!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline