tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom

JOE LYNCH

Knights Of Badassdom

Movie
Comedy

[30/100]   

A-Film
03/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

You know them, people who are usually behaving like boring accountants, but who dress up like brave knights to play some historical battle during the weekend. In America they call it LARP (Live Action Role Playing).

Joe (Ryan Kwanten) is bored of games in which cardboard dragons are being chased, but when his girlfriend breaks up with him, his friends Eric (Steve Zahn) and Hung (Peter Dinklage) manage to take him (even though they have to drug him) to such an event. It is a blessing in disguise. In no time Joe meets the handsome Gwen (Summer Glau, who you might know as Isabel Rochev from Arrow), who becomes the new woman of his life, but Eric also has a strange spell book by which he can summon real demons from hell.

You can’t really blame the cast for it, but Joe Lynch (a horror filmmaker who is best known for the sequel of Wrong Turn) has messed it up. There are some nice gadgets included in this horror comedy, but the script is so silly that your attention completely stops after a half hour. Lynch is trying to save the day by adding some funny gore elements at the end, but the special effects (including the plastic monsters) are just too grotesque. And no, we do not accept the excuse that it was all meant for a good laugh, simply because we did not laughed one second.

Knights of Badassdom is now on out A-Film on both DVD and Blu-ray. -Lovers so alone!

Didier BECU
03/12/2014


NL

Je kent ze wel, mensen die tijdens de week saaie boekhouders zijn maar zich in het weekend als stoere ridder verkleden om één of andere historische veldslag na te spelen. In Amerika noemt men zoiets LARP (Live Action Role Playing) en bij gebrek aan een echte Guldensporenslag, wordt alles gewoon uit The Lord Of The Rings of Game Of Thrones gejat.

Joe (Ryan Kwanten) heeft het al lang gehad met spelletjes waarin men op kartonnen draken jaagt, maar omdat het net uit is met zijn vriendin, slagen zijn boezemvrienden Eric (Steve Zahn) en Hung (Peter Dinklage) erin om hem mee te nemen (ook al moeten ze hem daarvoor drogeren) naar zo’n evenement. Het wordt een geluk bij een ongeluk. In geen tijd ontmoet Joe de knappe Gwen (Summer Glau, die je misschien wel kent als Isabel Rochev uit Arrow) die de nieuwe vrouw van zijn leven wordt, maar Eric bezit ook een vreemd spreukenboek waarmee hij echte demonen uit de hel kan oproepen.

De cast kan je maar weinig verwijten, maar Joe Lynch (een horrorfilmer die vooral bekend is door de sequel van Wrong Turn) heeft er al bij al een zooitje van gemaakt. Er zitten wel een paar leuke gadgets in deze horrorkomedie verwerkt, helaas is het script zo onnozel dat de aandacht na een half uur volledig verslapt. Lynch probeert de boel te redden door op het einde nog wat grappige gore-elementen in zijn film te steken, maar de special effects (waaronder de plastic monsters) zijn gewoon te potsierlijk. En neen, we aanvaarden niet het excuus dat het allemaal bedoeld is om eens flink te lachen, gewoonweg omdat we geen seconde hebben kunnen lachen.

Knights Of Badassdom is nu uit op A-Film zowel op dvd als Blu-ray. Alleen voor echte liefhebbers dus!

Didier BECU
03/12/2014


03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day
19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)