tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom

JOE LYNCH

Knights Of Badassdom

Movie
Comedy

[30/100]   

A-Film
03/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

You know them, people who are usually behaving like boring accountants, but who dress up like brave knights to play some historical battle during the weekend. In America they call it LARP (Live Action Role Playing).

Joe (Ryan Kwanten) is bored of games in which cardboard dragons are being chased, but when his girlfriend breaks up with him, his friends Eric (Steve Zahn) and Hung (Peter Dinklage) manage to take him (even though they have to drug him) to such an event. It is a blessing in disguise. In no time Joe meets the handsome Gwen (Summer Glau, who you might know as Isabel Rochev from Arrow), who becomes the new woman of his life, but Eric also has a strange spell book by which he can summon real demons from hell.

You can’t really blame the cast for it, but Joe Lynch (a horror filmmaker who is best known for the sequel of Wrong Turn) has messed it up. There are some nice gadgets included in this horror comedy, but the script is so silly that your attention completely stops after a half hour. Lynch is trying to save the day by adding some funny gore elements at the end, but the special effects (including the plastic monsters) are just too grotesque. And no, we do not accept the excuse that it was all meant for a good laugh, simply because we did not laughed one second.

Knights of Badassdom is now on out A-Film on both DVD and Blu-ray. -Lovers so alone!

Didier BECU
03/12/2014


NL

Je kent ze wel, mensen die tijdens de week saaie boekhouders zijn maar zich in het weekend als stoere ridder verkleden om één of andere historische veldslag na te spelen. In Amerika noemt men zoiets LARP (Live Action Role Playing) en bij gebrek aan een echte Guldensporenslag, wordt alles gewoon uit The Lord Of The Rings of Game Of Thrones gejat.

Joe (Ryan Kwanten) heeft het al lang gehad met spelletjes waarin men op kartonnen draken jaagt, maar omdat het net uit is met zijn vriendin, slagen zijn boezemvrienden Eric (Steve Zahn) en Hung (Peter Dinklage) erin om hem mee te nemen (ook al moeten ze hem daarvoor drogeren) naar zo’n evenement. Het wordt een geluk bij een ongeluk. In geen tijd ontmoet Joe de knappe Gwen (Summer Glau, die je misschien wel kent als Isabel Rochev uit Arrow) die de nieuwe vrouw van zijn leven wordt, maar Eric bezit ook een vreemd spreukenboek waarmee hij echte demonen uit de hel kan oproepen.

De cast kan je maar weinig verwijten, maar Joe Lynch (een horrorfilmer die vooral bekend is door de sequel van Wrong Turn) heeft er al bij al een zooitje van gemaakt. Er zitten wel een paar leuke gadgets in deze horrorkomedie verwerkt, helaas is het script zo onnozel dat de aandacht na een half uur volledig verslapt. Lynch probeert de boel te redden door op het einde nog wat grappige gore-elementen in zijn film te steken, maar de special effects (waaronder de plastic monsters) zijn gewoon te potsierlijk. En neen, we aanvaarden niet het excuus dat het allemaal bedoeld is om eens flink te lachen, gewoonweg omdat we geen seconde hebben kunnen lachen.

Knights Of Badassdom is nu uit op A-Film zowel op dvd als Blu-ray. Alleen voor echte liefhebbers dus!

Didier BECU
03/12/2014


03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom

Music reviews

16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall