tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom

JOE LYNCH

Knights Of Badassdom

Movie
Comedy

[30/100]   

A-Film
03/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

You know them, people who are usually behaving like boring accountants, but who dress up like brave knights to play some historical battle during the weekend. In America they call it LARP (Live Action Role Playing).

Joe (Ryan Kwanten) is bored of games in which cardboard dragons are being chased, but when his girlfriend breaks up with him, his friends Eric (Steve Zahn) and Hung (Peter Dinklage) manage to take him (even though they have to drug him) to such an event. It is a blessing in disguise. In no time Joe meets the handsome Gwen (Summer Glau, who you might know as Isabel Rochev from Arrow), who becomes the new woman of his life, but Eric also has a strange spell book by which he can summon real demons from hell.

You can’t really blame the cast for it, but Joe Lynch (a horror filmmaker who is best known for the sequel of Wrong Turn) has messed it up. There are some nice gadgets included in this horror comedy, but the script is so silly that your attention completely stops after a half hour. Lynch is trying to save the day by adding some funny gore elements at the end, but the special effects (including the plastic monsters) are just too grotesque. And no, we do not accept the excuse that it was all meant for a good laugh, simply because we did not laughed one second.

Knights of Badassdom is now on out A-Film on both DVD and Blu-ray. -Lovers so alone!

Didier BECU
03/12/2014


NL

Je kent ze wel, mensen die tijdens de week saaie boekhouders zijn maar zich in het weekend als stoere ridder verkleden om één of andere historische veldslag na te spelen. In Amerika noemt men zoiets LARP (Live Action Role Playing) en bij gebrek aan een echte Guldensporenslag, wordt alles gewoon uit The Lord Of The Rings of Game Of Thrones gejat.

Joe (Ryan Kwanten) heeft het al lang gehad met spelletjes waarin men op kartonnen draken jaagt, maar omdat het net uit is met zijn vriendin, slagen zijn boezemvrienden Eric (Steve Zahn) en Hung (Peter Dinklage) erin om hem mee te nemen (ook al moeten ze hem daarvoor drogeren) naar zo’n evenement. Het wordt een geluk bij een ongeluk. In geen tijd ontmoet Joe de knappe Gwen (Summer Glau, die je misschien wel kent als Isabel Rochev uit Arrow) die de nieuwe vrouw van zijn leven wordt, maar Eric bezit ook een vreemd spreukenboek waarmee hij echte demonen uit de hel kan oproepen.

De cast kan je maar weinig verwijten, maar Joe Lynch (een horrorfilmer die vooral bekend is door de sequel van Wrong Turn) heeft er al bij al een zooitje van gemaakt. Er zitten wel een paar leuke gadgets in deze horrorkomedie verwerkt, helaas is het script zo onnozel dat de aandacht na een half uur volledig verslapt. Lynch probeert de boel te redden door op het einde nog wat grappige gore-elementen in zijn film te steken, maar de special effects (waaronder de plastic monsters) zijn gewoon te potsierlijk. En neen, we aanvaarden niet het excuus dat het allemaal bedoeld is om eens flink te lachen, gewoonweg omdat we geen seconde hebben kunnen lachen.

Knights Of Badassdom is nu uit op A-Film zowel op dvd als Blu-ray. Alleen voor echte liefhebbers dus!

Didier BECU
03/12/2014


03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis