tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom

JOE LYNCH

Knights Of Badassdom

Movie
Comedy

[30/100]   

A-Film
03/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

You know them, people who are usually behaving like boring accountants, but who dress up like brave knights to play some historical battle during the weekend. In America they call it LARP (Live Action Role Playing).

Joe (Ryan Kwanten) is bored of games in which cardboard dragons are being chased, but when his girlfriend breaks up with him, his friends Eric (Steve Zahn) and Hung (Peter Dinklage) manage to take him (even though they have to drug him) to such an event. It is a blessing in disguise. In no time Joe meets the handsome Gwen (Summer Glau, who you might know as Isabel Rochev from Arrow), who becomes the new woman of his life, but Eric also has a strange spell book by which he can summon real demons from hell.

You can’t really blame the cast for it, but Joe Lynch (a horror filmmaker who is best known for the sequel of Wrong Turn) has messed it up. There are some nice gadgets included in this horror comedy, but the script is so silly that your attention completely stops after a half hour. Lynch is trying to save the day by adding some funny gore elements at the end, but the special effects (including the plastic monsters) are just too grotesque. And no, we do not accept the excuse that it was all meant for a good laugh, simply because we did not laughed one second.

Knights of Badassdom is now on out A-Film on both DVD and Blu-ray. -Lovers so alone!

Didier BECU
03/12/2014


NL

Je kent ze wel, mensen die tijdens de week saaie boekhouders zijn maar zich in het weekend als stoere ridder verkleden om één of andere historische veldslag na te spelen. In Amerika noemt men zoiets LARP (Live Action Role Playing) en bij gebrek aan een echte Guldensporenslag, wordt alles gewoon uit The Lord Of The Rings of Game Of Thrones gejat.

Joe (Ryan Kwanten) heeft het al lang gehad met spelletjes waarin men op kartonnen draken jaagt, maar omdat het net uit is met zijn vriendin, slagen zijn boezemvrienden Eric (Steve Zahn) en Hung (Peter Dinklage) erin om hem mee te nemen (ook al moeten ze hem daarvoor drogeren) naar zo’n evenement. Het wordt een geluk bij een ongeluk. In geen tijd ontmoet Joe de knappe Gwen (Summer Glau, die je misschien wel kent als Isabel Rochev uit Arrow) die de nieuwe vrouw van zijn leven wordt, maar Eric bezit ook een vreemd spreukenboek waarmee hij echte demonen uit de hel kan oproepen.

De cast kan je maar weinig verwijten, maar Joe Lynch (een horrorfilmer die vooral bekend is door de sequel van Wrong Turn) heeft er al bij al een zooitje van gemaakt. Er zitten wel een paar leuke gadgets in deze horrorkomedie verwerkt, helaas is het script zo onnozel dat de aandacht na een half uur volledig verslapt. Lynch probeert de boel te redden door op het einde nog wat grappige gore-elementen in zijn film te steken, maar de special effects (waaronder de plastic monsters) zijn gewoon te potsierlijk. En neen, we aanvaarden niet het excuus dat het allemaal bedoeld is om eens flink te lachen, gewoonweg omdat we geen seconde hebben kunnen lachen.

Knights Of Badassdom is nu uit op A-Film zowel op dvd als Blu-ray. Alleen voor echte liefhebbers dus!

Didier BECU
03/12/2014


03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom 03/12/2014 : JOE LYNCH - Knights Of Badassdom

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)