tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

13/02/2015 : JOEL M. REED - Bloodsucking Freaks

JOEL M. REED

Bloodsucking Freaks

MovieCult movies
CultHorror

[60/100]   

88 Films
13/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

In the 70s, lot of films were beyond the border of good taste. Just think of the many exploitation films in Nazi concentration camps (and imagine how people would react today if someone brought a reincarnated wolf of the SS ton the silver screen.

Joel M. Reed was a strange guy. If you have never heard his name before, then you don’t have to blame it on your failing knowledge of films, because this American only directed six films, including some X- movies. Although Bloodsucking Freaks (also released as The Incredible Torture Show) is not such a movie, it was X-rated in America and movements such as the Women Against Pornography (they exist!) wanted to ban the film. Bloodsucking Freaks was only released in the US and shown in sex cinemas. Now the movie has become an obviously cult classic and it has been restored by 88 Films on Blu-ray.

And then there is that story, right? Well, there is actually little to tell. Sardu, The Magician (Seamus O'Brien), has a theatre in New York, the Theatre of the Macabre, a venue in which beautiful women have to face the greatest atrocities. The sadistic dwarf Ralphus (Luis De Jesus) saws their arms and legs off, cuts their eyes out or uses their asses as a dart board. A critic of the New York Times is outraged and after a bad review in the newspaper, he is kidnapped.

Bloodsucking Freaks is especially funny. It is a movie in which the acting is so awful that it becomes hilarious. For example, there is a scene in which a dead woman still cheerfully blinks her eyes. The scenes might seem repulsive on paper, but everything is so fake that it is rather laughable. In all fairness, halfway through the film you will be tired of it, because it is no more than a series of cheap (tasteless) tricks. However, Luis De Jesus deserves a special mention because he is probably one of the worst actors you have ever seen. Cult? We guess so. Good cinema? Don’t get us started!

Didier BECU
13/02/2015


NL

In de jaren 70 zijn er behoorlijk wat films gemaakt die net niet verwerpelijk zijn, denk bijv. maar aan de talrijke exploitatiefilms die zich in de naziconcentratiekampen afspeelden (en beeld je maar eens in hoe het publiek van vandaag zou reageren mocht er iemand het idee krijgen om een nieuwe wolvin van de SS op het witte doek los te laten). Joel M. Reed was ook zo’n vreemde kerel. Als je nog nooit van de man hebt gehoord, dan ligt dat zeker niet aan jouw filmkennis, want deze Amerikaan heeft amper zes films gedraaid, waaronder dan nog enkele pornofilms. Alhoewel Bloodsucking Freaks (ook uitgebracht als The Incredible Torture Show) dat niet is, kreeg hij ook in Amerika het befaamde X-teken en wilden bewegingen zoals de Women Against Pornography (die bestaan dus echt!) de film verbieden. Bloodsucking Freaks werd alleen maar in de VS uitgebracht en vertoond in sekscinema’s. Nu is dat natuurlijk cult geworden en is Bloodsucking Freaks via 88 Films zelfs in gerestaureerde versie op Blu-ray geraakt.

En dan is er dat verhaal, niet waar? Wel, eigenlijk gebeurt er verschrikkelijk weinig. Sardu de Magiër (Seamus O'Brien) is in New York de exploitant van The Theatre of the Macabre, een zaal waar vrouwelijk schoon de grootste gruweldaden moet ondergaan. De sadistische dwerg Ralphus (Luis De Jesus) zaagt hun armen en benen af, lepelt hun ogen uit of gebruikt hun kont als prikbord. Je kan het zo gek niet bedenken of het is aanwezig in Sardus show. Een recensent van de New York Times vindt het boeltje maar niks, en na de opvoering in de krant te hebben afgebroken, wordt hij ontvoerd.

Bloodsucking Freaks is vooral grappig. Ja, het een film waarin zo verschrikkelijk geacteerd wordt dat het allemaal hilarisch wordt. Zo is er bijvoorbeeld een scène waarin een dode vrouw nog vrolijk met haar ogen knippert. De scènes lijken op papier misschien wel weerzinwekkend, maar alles is zo nep dat het eerder lachwekkend wordt. Eigenlijk ben je het halverwege de film een beetje beu, want meer dan een aaneenschakeling van goedkope marteltrucs is deze film niet. Wel verdient Luis De Jesus een speciale vermelding, want hij is waarschijnlijk één van de allerslechtste acteurs die we ooit hebben gezien. Cult? Jawel, maar bezint eer ge begint!

Didier BECU
13/02/2015


13/02/2015 : JOEL M. REED - Bloodsucking Freaks 13/02/2015 : JOEL M. REED - Bloodsucking Freaks 13/02/2015 : JOEL M. REED - Bloodsucking Freaks 13/02/2015 : JOEL M. REED - Bloodsucking Freaks 13/02/2015 : JOEL M. REED - Bloodsucking Freaks 13/02/2015 : JOEL M. REED - Bloodsucking Freaks 13/02/2015 : JOEL M. REED - Bloodsucking Freaks 13/02/2015 : JOEL M. REED - Bloodsucking Freaks 13/02/2015 : JOEL M. REED - Bloodsucking Freaks 13/02/2015 : JOEL M. REED - Bloodsucking Freaks 13/02/2015 : JOEL M. REED - Bloodsucking Freaks 13/02/2015 : JOEL M. REED - Bloodsucking Freaks 13/02/2015 : JOEL M. REED - Bloodsucking Freaks 13/02/2015 : JOEL M. REED - Bloodsucking Freaks 13/02/2015 : JOEL M. REED - Bloodsucking Freaks

Music reviews

16
08
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND
Mercury Fountain
10
08
CONVERGE
I Can Tell You About Pain
05
08
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION
Split EP
03
08
NTTX
Of Beauty and Chaos'
01
08
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD
Murder Of The Universe
30
07
LIE DETECTOR
To Fly!

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Sinead O' Connor posts desperate help-call video on her Facebook
13
08
Kirlian Camera co-operate with Covenant and announce new album
11
08
Hocico - Spell of The Spider - German tour dates
08
08
Wool-E's physical shop closing down - Up to 50% discount on stock-sales!
07
08
Silken Tofu on yearly Atlantikwall nocturnal, 19th August
04
08
New single/video Gary Numan ‘My Name Is Ruin' online!

Concert reviews

28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller
26
06
KRYONIX, SYNTHATTACK, BLEIB MODERN, WHISPERING SONS, THE VISION BLEAK
Zondag 4 juni
09
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
08
DICEPEOPLE
'Electro with an Industrial/Gothic edge and broad range of other influences'
09
08
SEEMING
I'm trying to paint a world where humans are not the stars or the narrators—where it's not about us at all.
06
08
THE MESCALINE BABIES
'I love Christian death, but their first album is nearly 40 years old, we should try to evolve the concept.'
03
08
LIQUID TRAUMA
OUR MEMORIES OF A BETTER PAST ARE OFTEN FAKE
31
07
DEAD BORN BABIES
'They are about the livings who spoke us out. We adapted all the haunted and horror idioms to make them synonyms of “politicians”, “Global corporations”, “society “'

PHOTOS

28
07
EISBRECHER
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
COMBICHRIST
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
LETZTE INSTANZ
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
HOCICO
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
DAS ICH
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
STAHLMANN
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
VNV NATION
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

17
08
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
17
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Virus
17
08
DIE KRUPPS
Nazis Auf Speed
15
08
VIRGIN IN VEIL
Of Tears and Poisons
14
08
JAMBINAI
They Keep Silence
13
08
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Exorcism
12
08
AEVERIUM
Hunted