tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

04/10/2015 : JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
04/10/2015, Didier BECU

Some people will always link Sweden with IKEA, but of course the music fan knows better! The country will always be a synonym for splendid metal, magnificent pop and powerful EBM. In the last category we find Unitary, the project of Johan Hansson, who just has a new single out (Unafraid). We ask Johan to reveal us his ten albums!

Ten albums that I treasure and must delve into time and again.

1. TYPE O NEGATIVE ‎– World Coming Down
I lost one of my parents at a relatively young age and this album became really important to me. Two songs deal with the difficulties of watching family members and loved ones die. The music is a perfect mix of goth and doom metal. It's full of interesting details, including the amazing photography and design work.

2. DEPECHE MODE‎– Songs Of Faith And Devotion
My personal favorite from Depeche Mode's entire catalogue. This is an album I've been listening to a lot, maybe more than any other CD. It's like sinking into a lush and comfortable darkness. They were just so competent in everything they did around this time period. This is one album I would need on a desert island.

3. COVENANT– Dreams Of A Cryotank
I'll never forget the first time I heard the chorus of Shipwreck.."I watch myself in the boiling sea..". I was hooked. To me, these were the golden years of this band and Eskil brought something special with his voice and vocal arrangements. Even if not all songs are as great as Shipwreck,  the hit tracks on this album opened my eyes to this genre.

4. ENTOMBED ‎– Left Hand Path
I think I was 13 when I bought this album and it was something completely new to me. It was the melodic part of the opening track that first grabbed me, with a synth line they covered from a 70's horror film. The guitar tone was trendsetting and the riffs flow continuously throughout the album. 

5. APOPTYGMA BERZERK – 7
To me, the most wonderful thing about this album is the ghost track at the end. Groth's voice is loaded with vengeance and makes you wanna break free from adversity. Apoptygma Berzerk is known to have produced a lot of catchy releases but this album, as a whole, is the one that has meant most to me. It has been with me for a long time.

6. VNV NATION ‎– Empires
I spent many sleepless night listening to this album. They are dark and epic songs...the bittersweet lyrics...there is no question about Ronan's exceptional talent. They are pioneers with a style that can't be copied. The most impressive part is the load of great music they put out there, up until about 10 years ago. 

7. KATATONIA ‎– Sounds Of Decay
This is a personal favorite of mine, even though I have been enjoying their music since the start in the early 90s. Sounds Of Decay has solid, great material throughout the whole album. This is actually not the original album release, but I prefer the EP since it's a lot more harsh. There is a very fitting sleeve design too, which is an important factor, I think.

8. JUDAS PRIEST ‎– Painkiller
This is the ultimate heavy metal album right when Judas Priest was, at least in my mind, at its peak. The vocal performance by Rob Halford is just brutal. Each and every track on this album is top notch. They were the elite formation of the genre with this release.

9. LEATHER STRIP – Mix tape
I could not decide on one album by Leather Strip. The rich and ripping bass lines, that I tried to emulate on a few occasions and failed miserably, are wonderful. I also realize how much effort Claus puts into the intros with intriguing soundscapes. This is the only early 90's EBM that really inspired me to make music.

10. MAYHEM ‎– De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas
Religious concepts aside, this was a groundbreaking album in its genre. Everything was produced to perfection, let alone the extraordinary instrumental performances. For an old drummer like myself, the restless grinding just sucks you in. I'm sure most people that were involved in the scene at the time would agree on this being a true metal masterpiece. I actually have in my possession the original T-shirts, which should be quite rare these days. 

Didier BECU
04/10/2015


04/10/2015 : JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 04/10/2015 : JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 04/10/2015 : JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 04/10/2015 : JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 04/10/2015 : JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 04/10/2015 : JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 04/10/2015 : JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 04/10/2015 : JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 04/10/2015 : JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 04/10/2015 : JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 04/10/2015 : JOHAN HANSSON (UNITARY) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination