tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life

JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO)

Ten albums that changed my life

Article
02/07/2015, Didier BECU

Suicide Commando just has released their newest EP The Pain That You Like that (just like always) had an excellent review on our pages. It makes us wonder which albums changed Johan Van Roy's life....

I’ve been into music all my life. I remember buying my very first album from The Rubettes somewhere in the mid seventies, I even remember I made my own weekly top 30 charts, so music been in my veins all my life.
So the 10 albums that changed my life are :

- The Cure – Pornography
I was a big Cure fan in the early eighties and “pornography” most likely it is one of the darkest albums I ever heard. The best Cure in my opinion.

- Depeche Mode – Speak and spell
Depeche Mode probably was THE band that got me into electronic music. While others probably mention Kraftwerk as the band that got them into electronic music, for me it definitely was Depeche Mode. Not because of their monster hit “just can’t get enough”, but more because of songs like “New life” or “Photographic” …

- Front 242 – Geography
Together with Klinik THE biggest influence and the reason for me to start with SUICIDE COMMANDO and make electronic music.
Even though their bigger hits came later, I still prefer “Geography” with wonderful tracks like “Operating tracks” or “U-men”.

- Klinik – Sabotage
See Front 242, the same story here. Probably THE BIGGEST influence for me as their music even was darker then Front 242. Songs like “Hours and hours” or “Sick in your mind” are timeless.

- The Neon Judgement – Cockerill Sombre
Not even a full album, but nonetheless so important for me. Together with Klinik and Front 242 they put the Belgian EBM sound on the map.
Just loved their early works and “Too cold to breathe” and “The factory walk” are other timeless songs.

- Nitzer Ebb – that total age
Loved their minimalistic electronic sound and their energy on stage.
Pure EBM nostalgia !

- Skinny Puppy – Remission
Another mini album/EP in my list, but again of high importance for me. “Smothered hope” is just pure beauty.

- Leaether Strip – Science for the satanic citizen
Another album that blew me away from the very beginning. SUICIDE COMMANDO often was mentioned as the inventor of the harsh endzeit electro, but for me the real inventor was Claus and Leaether Strip.

- :wumpscut: - Music for a slaughtering tribe
Maybe not even Wumpscut’s best album, but with the amazing “Soylent green” another timeless masterpiece. But there were other pearsl on that album too with songs like “Koslow” or “Fear in motion” …

- Front Line Assembly – Tactical Neural implant
Wonderful album, wonderful band, no further comment.

Johan
Suicide Commando.

Didier BECU
02/07/2015


02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap