tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life

JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO)

Ten albums that changed my life

Article
02/07/2015, Didier BECU

Suicide Commando just has released their newest EP The Pain That You Like that (just like always) had an excellent review on our pages. It makes us wonder which albums changed Johan Van Roy's life....

I’ve been into music all my life. I remember buying my very first album from The Rubettes somewhere in the mid seventies, I even remember I made my own weekly top 30 charts, so music been in my veins all my life.
So the 10 albums that changed my life are :

- The Cure – Pornography
I was a big Cure fan in the early eighties and “pornography” most likely it is one of the darkest albums I ever heard. The best Cure in my opinion.

- Depeche Mode – Speak and spell
Depeche Mode probably was THE band that got me into electronic music. While others probably mention Kraftwerk as the band that got them into electronic music, for me it definitely was Depeche Mode. Not because of their monster hit “just can’t get enough”, but more because of songs like “New life” or “Photographic” …

- Front 242 – Geography
Together with Klinik THE biggest influence and the reason for me to start with SUICIDE COMMANDO and make electronic music.
Even though their bigger hits came later, I still prefer “Geography” with wonderful tracks like “Operating tracks” or “U-men”.

- Klinik – Sabotage
See Front 242, the same story here. Probably THE BIGGEST influence for me as their music even was darker then Front 242. Songs like “Hours and hours” or “Sick in your mind” are timeless.

- The Neon Judgement – Cockerill Sombre
Not even a full album, but nonetheless so important for me. Together with Klinik and Front 242 they put the Belgian EBM sound on the map.
Just loved their early works and “Too cold to breathe” and “The factory walk” are other timeless songs.

- Nitzer Ebb – that total age
Loved their minimalistic electronic sound and their energy on stage.
Pure EBM nostalgia !

- Skinny Puppy – Remission
Another mini album/EP in my list, but again of high importance for me. “Smothered hope” is just pure beauty.

- Leaether Strip – Science for the satanic citizen
Another album that blew me away from the very beginning. SUICIDE COMMANDO often was mentioned as the inventor of the harsh endzeit electro, but for me the real inventor was Claus and Leaether Strip.

- :wumpscut: - Music for a slaughtering tribe
Maybe not even Wumpscut’s best album, but with the amazing “Soylent green” another timeless masterpiece. But there were other pearsl on that album too with songs like “Koslow” or “Fear in motion” …

- Front Line Assembly – Tactical Neural implant
Wonderful album, wonderful band, no further comment.

Johan
Suicide Commando.

Didier BECU
02/07/2015


02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life

Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still