tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life

JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO)

Ten albums that changed my life

Article
02/07/2015, Didier BECU

Suicide Commando just has released their newest EP The Pain That You Like that (just like always) had an excellent review on our pages. It makes us wonder which albums changed Johan Van Roy's life....

I’ve been into music all my life. I remember buying my very first album from The Rubettes somewhere in the mid seventies, I even remember I made my own weekly top 30 charts, so music been in my veins all my life.
So the 10 albums that changed my life are :

- The Cure – Pornography
I was a big Cure fan in the early eighties and “pornography” most likely it is one of the darkest albums I ever heard. The best Cure in my opinion.

- Depeche Mode – Speak and spell
Depeche Mode probably was THE band that got me into electronic music. While others probably mention Kraftwerk as the band that got them into electronic music, for me it definitely was Depeche Mode. Not because of their monster hit “just can’t get enough”, but more because of songs like “New life” or “Photographic” …

- Front 242 – Geography
Together with Klinik THE biggest influence and the reason for me to start with SUICIDE COMMANDO and make electronic music.
Even though their bigger hits came later, I still prefer “Geography” with wonderful tracks like “Operating tracks” or “U-men”.

- Klinik – Sabotage
See Front 242, the same story here. Probably THE BIGGEST influence for me as their music even was darker then Front 242. Songs like “Hours and hours” or “Sick in your mind” are timeless.

- The Neon Judgement – Cockerill Sombre
Not even a full album, but nonetheless so important for me. Together with Klinik and Front 242 they put the Belgian EBM sound on the map.
Just loved their early works and “Too cold to breathe” and “The factory walk” are other timeless songs.

- Nitzer Ebb – that total age
Loved their minimalistic electronic sound and their energy on stage.
Pure EBM nostalgia !

- Skinny Puppy – Remission
Another mini album/EP in my list, but again of high importance for me. “Smothered hope” is just pure beauty.

- Leaether Strip – Science for the satanic citizen
Another album that blew me away from the very beginning. SUICIDE COMMANDO often was mentioned as the inventor of the harsh endzeit electro, but for me the real inventor was Claus and Leaether Strip.

- :wumpscut: - Music for a slaughtering tribe
Maybe not even Wumpscut’s best album, but with the amazing “Soylent green” another timeless masterpiece. But there were other pearsl on that album too with songs like “Koslow” or “Fear in motion” …

- Front Line Assembly – Tactical Neural implant
Wonderful album, wonderful band, no further comment.

Johan
Suicide Commando.

Didier BECU
02/07/2015


02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life 02/07/2015 : JOHAN VAN ROY (SUICIDE COMMANDO) - Ten albums that changed my life

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real