tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/08/2011 : JOHANN JOHANNSON - The Miner’s Hymns

JOHANN JOHANNSON

The Miner’s Hymns

MusicCD
Soundtrack

[82/100]   
07/08/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

The Miner's Hymns is a documentary by American director Bill Morrison about the English mining communities that were closed in the mid-eighties, with multiple strikes and lots of despair, during the political term of Margaret Thatcher.

The sadness of these events is flawlessly presented in this soundtrack.

It remains a typical composition by Johann Johannsson (you'll recognize his dark minimalist soundscapes from the first notes). Yet there is a big contrast to his previous work by shifting the strings to the combination of an ensemble of sixteen brass players and even a church organ. But once again these are mixed subtly with delicious electronics like only Mr. Johansson can do.

This album has more than 50 minutes of pure sadness, pure beauty. I can imagine how this can be the perfect soundtrack to a movie with such a content. But I must admit I needed several listens before I got used to the piece and it all started making sense (where I only needed to listen once to my most favourite Johannson album, Fordlandia, that nailed me to the ground immediately).

The spooky and gloomy soundscapes on this album reveal his marvelous knowledge and expertise. Not only the wonderful symbiosis of electronics and brass instruments, but also the absence of quick repetitive pieces and even daring to opt for minimalist, non-conformist song structures, emphasize the despair and negativity that accompanied the closure of these mines.

A brilliant album, but you must give it some time to grow...

Ward DE PRINS
07/08/2011


NL

The Miner’s Hymns is een documentaire van de Amerikaanse regisseur Bill Morrison over de Engelse mijngemeenschappen die medio de jaren tachtig, gepaard met meerdere stakingen, gesloten werden door Margaret Thatcher.

De somberheid van dit gebeuren wordt feilloos weergegeven in deze soundtrack.

Het blijft een typische compositie van Johann Johannson (je herkent zijn minimalistische sombere soundscapes vanaf de eerste tonen). Toch is er een groot contrast met zijn vorig werk, door een verschuiving van de strijkers naar de combinatie van een zestienkoppig blazersensemble en zelfs een kerkorgel. Deze worden door Johann echter weer op sublieme wijze verwezen met heerlijke elektronica.

Het geheel ademt meer dan 50 minuten pure somberheid uit, waarbij ik me perfect kan inbeelden hoe deze treffend een film met een dergelijke inhoud kan begeleiden. Puur als muzikaal stuk is het echter even wennen en had ik toch enige luisterbeurten nodig om het totaal te kunnen vatten (daar waar zijn album Fordlandia mij in één luisterbeurt aan de grond nagelde).

De spookachtige en sombere klanklandschappen die hier tentoon worden gespreid, getuigen van een vakkundige kennis en kunde. Niet enkel de fantastische symbiose van elektronica en blazers, maar ook het wegblijven van snelle repetitieve stukken en zelfs durven kiezen voor minimalistische, non-conformistische songstructuren beklemtonen de wanhoop en het negativisme waarmee de sluiting van deze mijnen gepaard ging.

Een schitterend plaatje, maar je moet het wel de tijd geven om te groeien…

Ward DE PRINS
07/08/2011


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)