tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/08/2011 : JOHANN JOHANNSON - The Miner’s Hymns

JOHANN JOHANNSON

The Miner’s Hymns

MusicCD
Soundtrack

[82/100]   
07/08/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

The Miner's Hymns is a documentary by American director Bill Morrison about the English mining communities that were closed in the mid-eighties, with multiple strikes and lots of despair, during the political term of Margaret Thatcher.

The sadness of these events is flawlessly presented in this soundtrack.

It remains a typical composition by Johann Johannsson (you'll recognize his dark minimalist soundscapes from the first notes). Yet there is a big contrast to his previous work by shifting the strings to the combination of an ensemble of sixteen brass players and even a church organ. But once again these are mixed subtly with delicious electronics like only Mr. Johansson can do.

This album has more than 50 minutes of pure sadness, pure beauty. I can imagine how this can be the perfect soundtrack to a movie with such a content. But I must admit I needed several listens before I got used to the piece and it all started making sense (where I only needed to listen once to my most favourite Johannson album, Fordlandia, that nailed me to the ground immediately).

The spooky and gloomy soundscapes on this album reveal his marvelous knowledge and expertise. Not only the wonderful symbiosis of electronics and brass instruments, but also the absence of quick repetitive pieces and even daring to opt for minimalist, non-conformist song structures, emphasize the despair and negativity that accompanied the closure of these mines.

A brilliant album, but you must give it some time to grow...

Ward DE PRINS
07/08/2011


NL

The Miner’s Hymns is een documentaire van de Amerikaanse regisseur Bill Morrison over de Engelse mijngemeenschappen die medio de jaren tachtig, gepaard met meerdere stakingen, gesloten werden door Margaret Thatcher.

De somberheid van dit gebeuren wordt feilloos weergegeven in deze soundtrack.

Het blijft een typische compositie van Johann Johannson (je herkent zijn minimalistische sombere soundscapes vanaf de eerste tonen). Toch is er een groot contrast met zijn vorig werk, door een verschuiving van de strijkers naar de combinatie van een zestienkoppig blazersensemble en zelfs een kerkorgel. Deze worden door Johann echter weer op sublieme wijze verwezen met heerlijke elektronica.

Het geheel ademt meer dan 50 minuten pure somberheid uit, waarbij ik me perfect kan inbeelden hoe deze treffend een film met een dergelijke inhoud kan begeleiden. Puur als muzikaal stuk is het echter even wennen en had ik toch enige luisterbeurten nodig om het totaal te kunnen vatten (daar waar zijn album Fordlandia mij in één luisterbeurt aan de grond nagelde).

De spookachtige en sombere klanklandschappen die hier tentoon worden gespreid, getuigen van een vakkundige kennis en kunde. Niet enkel de fantastische symbiose van elektronica en blazers, maar ook het wegblijven van snelle repetitieve stukken en zelfs durven kiezen voor minimalistische, non-conformistische songstructuren beklemtonen de wanhoop en het negativisme waarmee de sluiting van deze mijnen gepaard ging.

Een schitterend plaatje, maar je moet het wel de tijd geven om te groeien…

Ward DE PRINS
07/08/2011


Music reviews

27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
01
On this day, 37 years ago, Fad Gadget performed at the Amsterdam Meervaart Theatre.
28
01
ASHRR’S Dark Industrialized New Single, “ALL YOURS ALL MINE (DARKER DAYS MIX)” Is Streaming Now
25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

29
01
TALK TO HER
IBISCO
28
01
BIG TIME KILL
Again and Again
28
01
DEPECHE MODE
Enjoy The Silence
27
01
GEOMETRIC VISION
Apocalypse Queen
26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht