tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/08/2011 : JOHANN JOHANNSON - The Miner’s Hymns

JOHANN JOHANNSON

The Miner’s Hymns

MusicCD
Soundtrack

[82/100]   
07/08/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

The Miner's Hymns is a documentary by American director Bill Morrison about the English mining communities that were closed in the mid-eighties, with multiple strikes and lots of despair, during the political term of Margaret Thatcher.

The sadness of these events is flawlessly presented in this soundtrack.

It remains a typical composition by Johann Johannsson (you'll recognize his dark minimalist soundscapes from the first notes). Yet there is a big contrast to his previous work by shifting the strings to the combination of an ensemble of sixteen brass players and even a church organ. But once again these are mixed subtly with delicious electronics like only Mr. Johansson can do.

This album has more than 50 minutes of pure sadness, pure beauty. I can imagine how this can be the perfect soundtrack to a movie with such a content. But I must admit I needed several listens before I got used to the piece and it all started making sense (where I only needed to listen once to my most favourite Johannson album, Fordlandia, that nailed me to the ground immediately).

The spooky and gloomy soundscapes on this album reveal his marvelous knowledge and expertise. Not only the wonderful symbiosis of electronics and brass instruments, but also the absence of quick repetitive pieces and even daring to opt for minimalist, non-conformist song structures, emphasize the despair and negativity that accompanied the closure of these mines.

A brilliant album, but you must give it some time to grow...

Ward DE PRINS
07/08/2011


NL

The Miner’s Hymns is een documentaire van de Amerikaanse regisseur Bill Morrison over de Engelse mijngemeenschappen die medio de jaren tachtig, gepaard met meerdere stakingen, gesloten werden door Margaret Thatcher.

De somberheid van dit gebeuren wordt feilloos weergegeven in deze soundtrack.

Het blijft een typische compositie van Johann Johannson (je herkent zijn minimalistische sombere soundscapes vanaf de eerste tonen). Toch is er een groot contrast met zijn vorig werk, door een verschuiving van de strijkers naar de combinatie van een zestienkoppig blazersensemble en zelfs een kerkorgel. Deze worden door Johann echter weer op sublieme wijze verwezen met heerlijke elektronica.

Het geheel ademt meer dan 50 minuten pure somberheid uit, waarbij ik me perfect kan inbeelden hoe deze treffend een film met een dergelijke inhoud kan begeleiden. Puur als muzikaal stuk is het echter even wennen en had ik toch enige luisterbeurten nodig om het totaal te kunnen vatten (daar waar zijn album Fordlandia mij in één luisterbeurt aan de grond nagelde).

De spookachtige en sombere klanklandschappen die hier tentoon worden gespreid, getuigen van een vakkundige kennis en kunde. Niet enkel de fantastische symbiose van elektronica en blazers, maar ook het wegblijven van snelle repetitieve stukken en zelfs durven kiezen voor minimalistische, non-conformistische songstructuren beklemtonen de wanhoop en het negativisme waarmee de sluiting van deze mijnen gepaard ging.

Een schitterend plaatje, maar je moet het wel de tijd geven om te groeien…

Ward DE PRINS
07/08/2011


Music reviews

19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

21
11
NITZER EBB
De Casino St Niklaas
21
11
LIEBKNECHT
De Casino St Niklaas
21
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
De Casino St Niklaas
17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
11
EDITORS
All The Kings
21
11
FILTER
Hey Man, Nice Shot
20
11
COLD CAVE
Villains Of The Moon
19
11
HYPERMOND.
Double
19
11
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON:
Caught In Winters Weave
19
11
NITZER EBB
Llive at Kulttempel in Oberhausen, Germany - 15.11.2019
18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin