tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/08/2011 : JOHANN JOHANNSON - The Miner’s Hymns

JOHANN JOHANNSON

The Miner’s Hymns

MusicCD
Soundtrack

[82/100]   
07/08/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

The Miner's Hymns is a documentary by American director Bill Morrison about the English mining communities that were closed in the mid-eighties, with multiple strikes and lots of despair, during the political term of Margaret Thatcher.

The sadness of these events is flawlessly presented in this soundtrack.

It remains a typical composition by Johann Johannsson (you'll recognize his dark minimalist soundscapes from the first notes). Yet there is a big contrast to his previous work by shifting the strings to the combination of an ensemble of sixteen brass players and even a church organ. But once again these are mixed subtly with delicious electronics like only Mr. Johansson can do.

This album has more than 50 minutes of pure sadness, pure beauty. I can imagine how this can be the perfect soundtrack to a movie with such a content. But I must admit I needed several listens before I got used to the piece and it all started making sense (where I only needed to listen once to my most favourite Johannson album, Fordlandia, that nailed me to the ground immediately).

The spooky and gloomy soundscapes on this album reveal his marvelous knowledge and expertise. Not only the wonderful symbiosis of electronics and brass instruments, but also the absence of quick repetitive pieces and even daring to opt for minimalist, non-conformist song structures, emphasize the despair and negativity that accompanied the closure of these mines.

A brilliant album, but you must give it some time to grow...

Ward DE PRINS
07/08/2011


NL

The Miner’s Hymns is een documentaire van de Amerikaanse regisseur Bill Morrison over de Engelse mijngemeenschappen die medio de jaren tachtig, gepaard met meerdere stakingen, gesloten werden door Margaret Thatcher.

De somberheid van dit gebeuren wordt feilloos weergegeven in deze soundtrack.

Het blijft een typische compositie van Johann Johannson (je herkent zijn minimalistische sombere soundscapes vanaf de eerste tonen). Toch is er een groot contrast met zijn vorig werk, door een verschuiving van de strijkers naar de combinatie van een zestienkoppig blazersensemble en zelfs een kerkorgel. Deze worden door Johann echter weer op sublieme wijze verwezen met heerlijke elektronica.

Het geheel ademt meer dan 50 minuten pure somberheid uit, waarbij ik me perfect kan inbeelden hoe deze treffend een film met een dergelijke inhoud kan begeleiden. Puur als muzikaal stuk is het echter even wennen en had ik toch enige luisterbeurten nodig om het totaal te kunnen vatten (daar waar zijn album Fordlandia mij in één luisterbeurt aan de grond nagelde).

De spookachtige en sombere klanklandschappen die hier tentoon worden gespreid, getuigen van een vakkundige kennis en kunde. Niet enkel de fantastische symbiose van elektronica en blazers, maar ook het wegblijven van snelle repetitieve stukken en zelfs durven kiezen voor minimalistische, non-conformistische songstructuren beklemtonen de wanhoop en het negativisme waarmee de sluiting van deze mijnen gepaard ging.

Een schitterend plaatje, maar je moet het wel de tijd geven om te groeien…

Ward DE PRINS
07/08/2011


Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Russian Dark Community in search of new blood
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover