tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/08/2011 : JOHANN JOHANNSON - The Miner’s Hymns

JOHANN JOHANNSON

The Miner’s Hymns

MusicCD
Soundtrack

[82/100]   
07/08/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

The Miner's Hymns is a documentary by American director Bill Morrison about the English mining communities that were closed in the mid-eighties, with multiple strikes and lots of despair, during the political term of Margaret Thatcher.

The sadness of these events is flawlessly presented in this soundtrack.

It remains a typical composition by Johann Johannsson (you'll recognize his dark minimalist soundscapes from the first notes). Yet there is a big contrast to his previous work by shifting the strings to the combination of an ensemble of sixteen brass players and even a church organ. But once again these are mixed subtly with delicious electronics like only Mr. Johansson can do.

This album has more than 50 minutes of pure sadness, pure beauty. I can imagine how this can be the perfect soundtrack to a movie with such a content. But I must admit I needed several listens before I got used to the piece and it all started making sense (where I only needed to listen once to my most favourite Johannson album, Fordlandia, that nailed me to the ground immediately).

The spooky and gloomy soundscapes on this album reveal his marvelous knowledge and expertise. Not only the wonderful symbiosis of electronics and brass instruments, but also the absence of quick repetitive pieces and even daring to opt for minimalist, non-conformist song structures, emphasize the despair and negativity that accompanied the closure of these mines.

A brilliant album, but you must give it some time to grow...

Ward DE PRINS
07/08/2011


NL

The Miner’s Hymns is een documentaire van de Amerikaanse regisseur Bill Morrison over de Engelse mijngemeenschappen die medio de jaren tachtig, gepaard met meerdere stakingen, gesloten werden door Margaret Thatcher.

De somberheid van dit gebeuren wordt feilloos weergegeven in deze soundtrack.

Het blijft een typische compositie van Johann Johannson (je herkent zijn minimalistische sombere soundscapes vanaf de eerste tonen). Toch is er een groot contrast met zijn vorig werk, door een verschuiving van de strijkers naar de combinatie van een zestienkoppig blazersensemble en zelfs een kerkorgel. Deze worden door Johann echter weer op sublieme wijze verwezen met heerlijke elektronica.

Het geheel ademt meer dan 50 minuten pure somberheid uit, waarbij ik me perfect kan inbeelden hoe deze treffend een film met een dergelijke inhoud kan begeleiden. Puur als muzikaal stuk is het echter even wennen en had ik toch enige luisterbeurten nodig om het totaal te kunnen vatten (daar waar zijn album Fordlandia mij in één luisterbeurt aan de grond nagelde).

De spookachtige en sombere klanklandschappen die hier tentoon worden gespreid, getuigen van een vakkundige kennis en kunde. Niet enkel de fantastische symbiose van elektronica en blazers, maar ook het wegblijven van snelle repetitieve stukken en zelfs durven kiezen voor minimalistische, non-conformistische songstructuren beklemtonen de wanhoop en het negativisme waarmee de sluiting van deze mijnen gepaard ging.

Een schitterend plaatje, maar je moet het wel de tijd geven om te groeien…

Ward DE PRINS
07/08/2011


Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
43 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 44 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
79 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
30 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Rabbit Junk Brings Fatalism And Frustration To 'Apocalypse For Beginners'
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2

PHOTOS

08
12
TARJA TURUNEN
Christuskirche Bochum
05
12
SONAR
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TEST DEPT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
RADICAL G
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
FIX8:SED8
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TC75
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
SOFT RIOT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
12
HELENA HAUFF
Sworn To Secrecy Part II
07
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
06
12
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
05
12
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
04
12
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
03
12
GOOSE
Synrise
02
12
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks