tempobet yeni adresi

11/12/2016 : JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
11/12/2016

We asked Johannes Stabel of XTR Human to come up with ten albums that changed his life... Here, they are, in no particular order.

THE SMITHS - The Queen Is Dead
The Smiths are The Smiths. British classic. Morrissey is so eloquent and Marr is such a badass guitar player. Some of the best Smiths songs are on this record, too.

THE HORRORS - Primary Colours
This is really a record that sucks you in from the first tone to the very end. I can’t say how often I’ve listened to it. Must be a million times. After the harsh garage debut album, the Horrors found a more subtle band sound and the ability to write evergreen indie songs. Sea Within A Sea always reminds me of NEU!'s Hallogallo. Coincidence?

THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN - Darklands
One of my favourite bands on Creation Records, truly. Compared to Psychocandy, the songs are a bit more laid back on Darklands, but the mixture between noisy and pop-esque parts fits better in my opinion.

THE GUN CLUB - Miami
Another gem from the 80s. Like in Europe, post punk had a big influence in the USA, but there bands started to mix it with their blues and country heritage. Out of this came many great bands such as The Dream Syndicate, The Long Ryders and The Gun Club. The latter with the epic album Miami.

JOY DIVISION - Unknown Pleasures
What else could you say about this album? Nowadays even shitty pop stars name it as their favourite influence. Maybe they all discovered it at Urban Outfitters and liked the cover. Nevertheless, there is a good reason why Ian's presence is still felt in modern music. I don’t know of any other songwriter who can send shivers down your spine with a single lyric. Also the production of Martin Hannett is sound.

MARTIAL CANTEREL - You Today
When I first listened to a song of Martial Canterel, I thought the band would be originally from the 80s. Turned out it wasn’t the case and I bought all albums from that point on. Clearly the best one is You Today. There are tons of synth bands out there, but just a couple can touch the level of Martial Canterel.

THE LIBERTINES - The Libertines
I am kind of obsessed with Pete Doherty and love everything he has done, for chaos, destruction and passion always formed their special component of genius. After recording the second album, the band split up since the fragile relationship between Pete and Carl was too broken to proceed.

DARKTHRONE - Transilvanian Hunger
Being an outsider in my youth, I was totally into Metallica and Iron Maiden. Darkthrone paved the way for me to black metal. I was stunned by the pure and strong feelings transported by the songs and got addicted to them. I am still listening to old school stuff quite often.

THE VELVET UNDERGROUND - The Velvet Underground
Proto Punk from the 60s. I always prefered the dark heroin-driven appearance to the naive hippie stuff from the west coast. The famous Warhole/Nico album is nice, but the self-titled album contains the core essence of The Velvet Underground.

RIDE - Going Blank Again
After My Bloody Valentine released the ground-breaking Isn’t Anything, the entire British indie scene wanted to emulate these strange sounds. Only few could compete in terms of quality and creativity, though. Ride was one of them. Going Blank Again was one of the last highlights the band released after the great Smile EP and the album Nowhere. The songs are no longer only shoegaze-related, but proper ear catcher pop songs with a subtle signature sound.


11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 11/12/2016 : JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 11/12/2016 : JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 11/12/2016 : JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 11/12/2016 : JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 11/12/2016 : JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 11/12/2016 : JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 11/12/2016 : JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 11/12/2016 : JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 11/12/2016 : JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 11/12/2016 : JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors
03
12
IVANKOVA
Ivankovà EP

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video
14
12
This Friday the renowned Belgian Independent Music Festival 2017 (BIMFEST XVI) will kick-Off!
13
12
Brand new video by Crash Course In Science!
12
12
In Strict Confidence releases HERZ & FROZEN KISSES, a two-in-one single release with remixes and more!
11
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE to release entire catalogue remastered on EROMEDA RECORDS
10
12
Antwerp triphop / indiepop band Psy'Aviah announces new album!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
12
EUFORIC EXCISTENCE
Euforic Existence: We like to be put under the heading of EBM, but realize that we are an outsider. I would not want anything else.
09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’

PHOTOS

11
12
LACUNA COIL
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
11
12
CELLAR DARLING
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
05
12
FRONT 242
Ab Brussel
05
12
METROLAND
Ab Brussel
05
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
SHE PAST AWAY
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
GOLDEN APES
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

16
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE
Sunset Beach
15
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
14
12
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
13
12
BLANCMANGE
Blind Vision (HD)
12
12
THEN COMES SILENCE
The Dead Cry For No One
11
12
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Eclipse (Vintage Version - Live in Erfurt 2017)
10
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
A Rainbow Is Fading