tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

08/12/2016 : JOHN 3:16 - The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)

JOHN 3:16

The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)

MusicCD (EP)
AmbientDroneElectronicsExperimentalIndustrialPost Rock

[85/100]   

UAE Records
08/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

When we interviewed John 3:16 (and Anthony Donovan) in the fall of 2015, the collaborative album Of the Hex and his Likenesses was just released by Flood Records. Meanwhile, John 3:16 has put an EP into our digital mailbox with two new compositions. We listened and this is the conclusion:

The Burnt Tower (6'48") begins as a quiet and attractive track on which dark drones and volatile synths create a slightly menacing atmosphere, but after no more than a minute they are replaced by the sound of a piano and bell-like percussion, while dark repetitive guitar drones go gently crescendo as the smoldering fire of the intro has become a fire. We hear howling drones and a panicky piano, and when after four and a half minutes the flames burst through the roof, loud drones and whistling synths suggest that the tower is burning like a torch. What remains is a smoldering ruin, to the sound of evaporating drones and synths.

Babylon the Great (5'31") gets striking wood-sounding and bell-like percussion from the start. The synths are whistling quietly through the soundscape, accompanied by sporadic electric guitars for the sharp edges. After two minutes, synths and drones create a symphonic dimension: the majestic soundtrack for a journey through the hanging gardens and the cyan-colored gate, decorated with animal motifs, to the pyramid-like building at the heart of the city: the tower of Babel. The synths are pushed aside by industrial-sounding drones, which, in conjunction with heavy percussion, climb the mythical structure in the direction of heaven, a place of peace and tranquility...

Two strong and varied tracks on this EP by John 3:16 (Philippe Gerber), with drones and synths, but also with versatile percussion, piano and tingling guitars.

William LIÉNARD
08/12/2016


NL

Toen we in het najaar van 2015 John 3:16 (en Anthony Donovan) interviewden, was net hun samenwerkingsproject Of the Hex and Its Likenesses door Flood Records gereleaset. Ondertussen heeft John 3:16 zijn nieuwe ep in onze digitale brievenbus gedropt en die bevat twee nieuwe composities. We stellen u de ep graag voor.

The Burnt Tower (6’48”) begint als een rustige atmosferische track waarin donkere drones en vluchtige synths een lichtjes dreigende sfeer creëren. Na ruim een minuut maken ze plaats voor het geluid van een piano, belachtige percussie en donkere repetitieve gitaardrones die voorzichtig crescendo gaan, want het smeulende vuurtje uit de intro is ondertussen een brand geworden. De drones waaieren door elkaar, af en toe horen we een lichtjes paniekerige piano, na vier en een halve minuut slaan de vlammen uit het dak en attenderen luide drones en fluitende synths ons erop dat de toren brand als een fakkel. Wat rest is een smeulende ruïne, op het geluid van wegebbende drones en wegvloeiende synths.

Babylon the Great (5’31”) krijgt vanaf het begin opvallend hout- en belachtig slagwerk. De synths fluiten rustig door het soundscape, vergezeld van sporadische elektrische gitaren voor de scherpe kantjes. Na twee minuten nemen synths en drones symfonische afmetingen aan: de majestueuze soundtrack voor een reis door de hangende tuinen en via de met dierenmotieven versierde cyaankleurige toegangspoort naar het piramideachtige gebouw in het hart van de stad: de toren van Babel. De synths worden weggedrukt door industrial-aandoende drones, die in samenwerking met heftige slagwerk het mythische bouwwerk bestijgen met als doel de hemel, een plek van rust en vrede…

Twee sterke en gevarieerde tracks op deze ep van John 3:16 (Phlippe Gerber), met drones en synths, maar ook met veelzijdig slagwerk, piano en tintelend gitaargeluid.

William LIÉNARD
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
STIJN HÜWELS • Six Pieces for Guitar
DER KLINKE/LA MUERTE • Leffinge, Zaal De Zwerver (20/02/2016)
MIRLAND • Depeche Mode Deconstructed
SEASON OF GHOSTS • Remixing The Paradox
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
3TEETH • 3TEETH
MY SLEEPING KARMA, GREENLEAF , MAMMOTH MAMMOTH • Antwerp, Trix (18/02/2016)
WISHING WELL • Chasing Rainbows
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
CHVRCHES • Every Open Eye

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
INWOLVES • Involves
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion

Music reviews

06
06
I LIKE TRAINS
The Truth
05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
06
PSYCHE
The Things That Dreams Are Made Of (Party Monster Mix)
05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE