tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

08/12/2016 : JOHN 3:16 - The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)

JOHN 3:16

The Burnt Tower/Babylon the Great (EP)

MusicCD (EP)
AmbientDroneElectronicsExperimentalIndustrialPost Rock

[85/100]   

UAE Records
08/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

When we interviewed John 3:16 (and Anthony Donovan) in the fall of 2015, the collaborative album Of the Hex and his Likenesses was just released by Flood Records. Meanwhile, John 3:16 has put an EP into our digital mailbox with two new compositions. We listened and this is the conclusion:

The Burnt Tower (6'48") begins as a quiet and attractive track on which dark drones and volatile synths create a slightly menacing atmosphere, but after no more than a minute they are replaced by the sound of a piano and bell-like percussion, while dark repetitive guitar drones go gently crescendo as the smoldering fire of the intro has become a fire. We hear howling drones and a panicky piano, and when after four and a half minutes the flames burst through the roof, loud drones and whistling synths suggest that the tower is burning like a torch. What remains is a smoldering ruin, to the sound of evaporating drones and synths.

Babylon the Great (5'31") gets striking wood-sounding and bell-like percussion from the start. The synths are whistling quietly through the soundscape, accompanied by sporadic electric guitars for the sharp edges. After two minutes, synths and drones create a symphonic dimension: the majestic soundtrack for a journey through the hanging gardens and the cyan-colored gate, decorated with animal motifs, to the pyramid-like building at the heart of the city: the tower of Babel. The synths are pushed aside by industrial-sounding drones, which, in conjunction with heavy percussion, climb the mythical structure in the direction of heaven, a place of peace and tranquility...

Two strong and varied tracks on this EP by John 3:16 (Philippe Gerber), with drones and synths, but also with versatile percussion, piano and tingling guitars.

William LIÉNARD
08/12/2016


NL

Toen we in het najaar van 2015 John 3:16 (en Anthony Donovan) interviewden, was net hun samenwerkingsproject Of the Hex and Its Likenesses door Flood Records gereleaset. Ondertussen heeft John 3:16 zijn nieuwe ep in onze digitale brievenbus gedropt en die bevat twee nieuwe composities. We stellen u de ep graag voor.

The Burnt Tower (6’48”) begint als een rustige atmosferische track waarin donkere drones en vluchtige synths een lichtjes dreigende sfeer creëren. Na ruim een minuut maken ze plaats voor het geluid van een piano, belachtige percussie en donkere repetitieve gitaardrones die voorzichtig crescendo gaan, want het smeulende vuurtje uit de intro is ondertussen een brand geworden. De drones waaieren door elkaar, af en toe horen we een lichtjes paniekerige piano, na vier en een halve minuut slaan de vlammen uit het dak en attenderen luide drones en fluitende synths ons erop dat de toren brand als een fakkel. Wat rest is een smeulende ruïne, op het geluid van wegebbende drones en wegvloeiende synths.

Babylon the Great (5’31”) krijgt vanaf het begin opvallend hout- en belachtig slagwerk. De synths fluiten rustig door het soundscape, vergezeld van sporadische elektrische gitaren voor de scherpe kantjes. Na twee minuten nemen synths en drones symfonische afmetingen aan: de majestueuze soundtrack voor een reis door de hangende tuinen en via de met dierenmotieven versierde cyaankleurige toegangspoort naar het piramideachtige gebouw in het hart van de stad: de toren van Babel. De synths worden weggedrukt door industrial-aandoende drones, die in samenwerking met heftige slagwerk het mythische bouwwerk bestijgen met als doel de hemel, een plek van rust en vrede…

Twee sterke en gevarieerde tracks op deze ep van John 3:16 (Phlippe Gerber), met drones en synths, maar ook met veelzijdig slagwerk, piano en tintelend gitaargeluid.

William LIÉNARD
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
STIJN HÜWELS • Six Pieces for Guitar
DER KLINKE/LA MUERTE • Leffinge, Zaal De Zwerver (20/02/2016)
MIRLAND • Depeche Mode Deconstructed
SEASON OF GHOSTS • Remixing The Paradox
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
3TEETH • 3TEETH
MY SLEEPING KARMA, GREENLEAF , MAMMOTH MAMMOTH • Antwerp, Trix (18/02/2016)
WISHING WELL • Chasing Rainbows
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
CHVRCHES • Every Open Eye

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree

 

Same genre: DRONE
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
INWOLVES • Involves
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide