tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

17/02/2016 : JOHN COFFEY - Kortrijk, De Kreun (13/02/2016)

JOHN COFFEY

Kortrijk, De Kreun (13/02/2016)

Concert
17/02/2016, Manu L DASH

EN

The Utrecht based band John Coffey created a real party in De Kreun (venue in Kortrijk, Belgium-ed.). The name of the band refers to the imposing main character from the movie The Green Mile.

The punk rock quintet was stuck in a traffic jam for hours (welcome in Belgium!), and arrived just in time to play the gig. This band consists of David Achter De Molen (vocals), Alfred Luttikhuizen (guitar), Carsten Brunsveld (drums), Christoffer van Teijlingen (guitar) and Richard Luttikhuizen (bass).

It was clear that a lot of fans showed up. The lyrics were sung enthusiastically by the excited public. The band pulled out all the stops and soon the first crowd surfers appeared.

Strong songs and a thrilling gig ensure that this Dutch band is at its best in small or medium sized venues. The gig at De Kreun was quite enjoyable for those who love harder music.

This review also appeared on Luminous Dash.

Manu L DASH
17/02/2016


NL

De Utrechtse band John Coffey zorgde in De Kreun voor een vet feestje. De groepsnaam is een verwijzing naar het imposante hoofdpersonage uit de film The Green Mile.

Nadat het energetische punkrockvijftal uren in een zenuwslopende file zat (welkom in België!), kwam het gelukkig toch nog net op tijd in Kortrijk aan. Deze band bestaat uit David Achter de Molen (zang), Alfred van Luttikhuizen (gitaar), Carsten Brunsveld (drums), Christoffer van Teijlingen (gitaar) en Richard van Luttikhuizen (bass).

Al gauw werd duidelijk dat er heel wat fans in de zaal waren. De teksten werden letterlijk meegebruld en het publiek had er duidelijk zin in. Maar ook de band ging helemaal in de show op en zette zijn beste beentje voor. De eerste crowdsurfers lieten dan ook niet lang op zich wachten.

Sterke nummers en een zinderende performance zorgden ervoor dat deze Nederlandse band goed tot zijn recht komt in kleine tot middelgrote zaaltjes. Het optreden in De Kreun was dan ook best te pruimen voor diegenen die houden van wat hardere muziek.

Deze review kan je ook op Luminous Dash lezen.

Manu L DASH
17/02/2016


17/02/2016 : JOHN COFFEY - Kortrijk, De Kreun (13/02/2016) 17/02/2016 : JOHN COFFEY - Kortrijk, De Kreun (13/02/2016) 17/02/2016 : JOHN COFFEY - Kortrijk, De Kreun (13/02/2016) 17/02/2016 : JOHN COFFEY - Kortrijk, De Kreun (13/02/2016) 17/02/2016 : JOHN COFFEY - Kortrijk, De Kreun (13/02/2016) 17/02/2016 : JOHN COFFEY - Kortrijk, De Kreun (13/02/2016) 17/02/2016 : JOHN COFFEY - Kortrijk, De Kreun (13/02/2016) 17/02/2016 : JOHN COFFEY - Kortrijk, De Kreun (13/02/2016)

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire