tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A

JOHN CROWLEY

Boy A

MovieMovie classics
Drama

[74/100]   

Homescreen
22/09/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Some fans were really having some doubts if new Spiderman Andrew Garfield could actually act. Anyone who is still having that question in mind better checks out Boy A by John Crowley. In this movie Garfield performs Jack Burridge: a youngster who comes free after being years in youth prison.

Jack has finished his punishment and thanks to a rehabilitation programme he finds a job as a courier. The shy guy even manages in stealing the heart from Michelle (Katie Lyons). At the moment Jack thinks that luck has finally found his side, he faces that not everyone is ready to forgive his brutal act. After having appeared with a photo in the local newspaper, Jacks new future comes in danger: for some a monster never deserves a second chance.

Director Crowley who previously made Intermission (and by this saddling us up forever with Colin Farrell) made from Boy A a very intriguing drama that comes close to Ken Loach and Mike Leigh. We know that Jack did something terrible, but not precisely what. By using sporadic flashbacks we are witnessing little by little the committed crime. A genius touch as by this the viewer gets sympathy for the little crook, even if that can change once you know what happened!

Besides Garfield, there is always the eternal Peter Mullan who has become since My Name Is Joe the ideal face for social dramas like these. Garfield is excellent, the script from Mark O’Rowe that’s been based upon a book by Jonathan Trigell is touching and at the end we assure you’ll swallow a very bitter pill. A real tip this one!

Didier BECU
22/09/2014


NL

Heel wat fans hadden hun bedenkingen toen Andrew Garfield als nieuwe Spiderman werd aangekondigd, wat kon deze jonge kerel wel acteren? Wie daaraan twijfelt moet beslist Boy A van John Crowley zien waarin de jonge Garfield gestalte geeft aan Jack Burridge: een jonge knaap die na een jarenlang verblijf in een jeugdgevangenis op vrije voeten komt.

Hij heeft zijn straf uitgezeten en dankzij een rehabilitatieprogramma wordt hij koerier bij een pakjesdienst. De schuchtere jongen slaagt er zelfs in om het hart van Michelle (Katie Lyons) te veroveren. Maar niet iedereen is vergevensgezind, wanneer zijn foto in een lokale krant komt beroeren de slachtoffers zich over Jacks toekomst: een monster heeft in hun ogen immers geen kans op een nieuwe start.

Regisseur Crowley die eerder Intermission maakte en ons daardoor voorgoed met Colin Farrell opzadelde maakte van Boy A een intrigerend drama dat in de lijn ligt van Ken Loach en Mike Leigh. We weten wel dat Jack iets verschrikkelijks heeft uitgespookt, maar niet wat precies. Door het gebruik van sporadische flashbacks komt de misdaad beetje bij beetje aan het licht (het hoogtepunt van het drama wordt voor het einde bewaard), en krijg je zo sympathie voor het gewezen boefje en gun je hem zijn nieuwe leven. Vanaf het moment dat je weet hoe de vork precies aan de steel zit kan deze mening enigszins veranderen!

Naast Garfield is er een tevens een perfecte Peter Mullan aan het werk die sinds My Name Is Joe de geknipte man is om in dergelijke sociale drama’s op te draven. Garfield is groots, het scenario van Mark O’Rowe dat op een boek van Jonathan Trigell is gebaseerd aangrijpend en je krijgt er op het einde nog een krop in de keel bovenop. Een echte aanrader dus.

Didier BECU
22/09/2014


22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A

Music reviews

25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn
19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today
24
11
From Human To Numan | Tubeway Army at 42
23
11
The Public’s Image Of Metal Box | The PiL Classic 41-Years On
21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
17
11
40 years of Grotesque by The Fall

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song
24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh
21
11
LIEF HALL
Roses for Ruins
20
11
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
19
11
WULFBAND
Kalt Blut