tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A

JOHN CROWLEY

Boy A

MovieMovie classics
Drama

[74/100]   

Homescreen
22/09/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Some fans were really having some doubts if new Spiderman Andrew Garfield could actually act. Anyone who is still having that question in mind better checks out Boy A by John Crowley. In this movie Garfield performs Jack Burridge: a youngster who comes free after being years in youth prison.

Jack has finished his punishment and thanks to a rehabilitation programme he finds a job as a courier. The shy guy even manages in stealing the heart from Michelle (Katie Lyons). At the moment Jack thinks that luck has finally found his side, he faces that not everyone is ready to forgive his brutal act. After having appeared with a photo in the local newspaper, Jacks new future comes in danger: for some a monster never deserves a second chance.

Director Crowley who previously made Intermission (and by this saddling us up forever with Colin Farrell) made from Boy A a very intriguing drama that comes close to Ken Loach and Mike Leigh. We know that Jack did something terrible, but not precisely what. By using sporadic flashbacks we are witnessing little by little the committed crime. A genius touch as by this the viewer gets sympathy for the little crook, even if that can change once you know what happened!

Besides Garfield, there is always the eternal Peter Mullan who has become since My Name Is Joe the ideal face for social dramas like these. Garfield is excellent, the script from Mark O’Rowe that’s been based upon a book by Jonathan Trigell is touching and at the end we assure you’ll swallow a very bitter pill. A real tip this one!

Didier BECU
22/09/2014


NL

Heel wat fans hadden hun bedenkingen toen Andrew Garfield als nieuwe Spiderman werd aangekondigd, wat kon deze jonge kerel wel acteren? Wie daaraan twijfelt moet beslist Boy A van John Crowley zien waarin de jonge Garfield gestalte geeft aan Jack Burridge: een jonge knaap die na een jarenlang verblijf in een jeugdgevangenis op vrije voeten komt.

Hij heeft zijn straf uitgezeten en dankzij een rehabilitatieprogramma wordt hij koerier bij een pakjesdienst. De schuchtere jongen slaagt er zelfs in om het hart van Michelle (Katie Lyons) te veroveren. Maar niet iedereen is vergevensgezind, wanneer zijn foto in een lokale krant komt beroeren de slachtoffers zich over Jacks toekomst: een monster heeft in hun ogen immers geen kans op een nieuwe start.

Regisseur Crowley die eerder Intermission maakte en ons daardoor voorgoed met Colin Farrell opzadelde maakte van Boy A een intrigerend drama dat in de lijn ligt van Ken Loach en Mike Leigh. We weten wel dat Jack iets verschrikkelijks heeft uitgespookt, maar niet wat precies. Door het gebruik van sporadische flashbacks komt de misdaad beetje bij beetje aan het licht (het hoogtepunt van het drama wordt voor het einde bewaard), en krijg je zo sympathie voor het gewezen boefje en gun je hem zijn nieuwe leven. Vanaf het moment dat je weet hoe de vork precies aan de steel zit kan deze mening enigszins veranderen!

Naast Garfield is er een tevens een perfecte Peter Mullan aan het werk die sinds My Name Is Joe de geknipte man is om in dergelijke sociale drama’s op te draven. Garfield is groots, het scenario van Mark O’Rowe dat op een boek van Jonathan Trigell is gebaseerd aangrijpend en je krijgt er op het einde nog een krop in de keel bovenop. Een echte aanrader dus.

Didier BECU
22/09/2014


22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A 22/09/2014 : JOHN CROWLEY - Boy A

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)