tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below

JOHN ERICK DOWDLE

As Above, So Below

Movie
Horror

[42/100]   

Universal Pictures
08/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Because in the 19th century Paris did not know what to do with the many corpses, they put the dead bodies deep underground. Parisians were happy that the useless bones were gone, and decades later the catacombs became the most macabre tourist attraction throughout the whole world. Over a distance of 1,700 meters, you can walk along countless skulls and bones. An ideal location to make a horror film, John Erick Dowdle must have thought. The filmmaker received the support of Universal Pictures for his project. The poster looks very promising, but what you will eventually see is a little disappointing. Not because it's bad, just because it could have been so much more.

As Above, So Below is another found footage film, a genre that often is being used by directors who have to contend with a small budget. The young archaeologist Scarlet Marlowe ( Perdita Weeks ) discovers in Iran that the Philosopher's Stone that can turn metal into gold, but also gives eternal life, is hidden in the catacombs of Paris. Along with some volunteers she goes underground: the beginning of a chilling adventure.

As Above, So Below rarely bores, the makers have indeed added terrifying images that will prevent you from falling asleep. The scenario however is too thin and the anything but interesting characters are not performed that well. But we admit it, in this genre you’ll find worse. John Erick Dowdle wants to do it all in a good way, but he has to deal with budgetary constraints. You’ll forget the picture within a week, but those who are addicted to horror movies can give it a try.

As Above, So Below is out on DVD and Blu-ray by Universal Pictures.

Technical data:

Running time : 93 minutes
Picture: 1.85: 1 - 1080p
Audio : English DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 and French Dolby Digital 5.1
Subtitles: English for the hearing impaired, French, Dutch

Extras:

UV - UltraViolet
Inside As Above, So Below

Didier BECU
08/12/2014


NL

Omdat men in de 19e eeuw in Parijs geen blijf meer wist met de vele lijken, stopte men de dode lichamen gewoon diep onder de grond. De Parijzenaren waren blij dat ze van de beenderen af waren, en decennia later werden de catacomben de meest macabere toeristenattractie van het land. Over een traject van 1700 meter kun je langs talloze schedels en botten lopen. Een ideale locatie om er een horrorfilm op te nemen, moet John Erick Dowdle hebben gedacht. Deze filmmaker, die voorheen enkele bibberprenten op zijn cv bijschreef, kreeg meteen de steun van Universal Pictures. De affiche oogt veelbelovend, maar wat je uiteindelijk te zien krijgt is een kleine ontgoocheling. Niet omdat het slecht is, gewoon omdat er zo veel meer in zat.

As Above, So Below is wederom een found footage film, een genre dat zo graag wordt gebruikt door regisseurs die met een klein budget te kampen hebben. De jonge archeologe Scarlet Marlowe (Perdita Weeks) heeft in Iran ontdekt dat de Steen der Wijzen, waarmee je van metaal goud kan maken, maar die vooral het eeuwig leven schenkt, verborgen zit in de catacomben van Parijs. Samen met enkele vrijwilligers daalt ze diep onder de grond af: het begin van een huiveringwekkend avontuur.

As Above, So Below verveelt zelden, de makers hebben er immers voor gezorgd dat er regelmatig schrikwekkende beelden opduiken die voorkomen dat je in slaap sukkelt. Erger is het gesteld met het krakkemikkige scenario en de allesbehalve interessante personages die bovendien op een vrij belabberde wijze worden vertolkt. Maar we geven het toe, in dit genre bestaat slechter. Je merkt wel dat John Erick Dowdle het allemaal goed bedoelt, te vaak zie je evenwel de budgettaire beperkingen waarmee hij had af te rekenen. Wellicht ben je de prent binnen een week vergeten, maar wie verslaafd is aan griezelfilms kan het toch proberen. Je zal ongetwijfeld huiveren, maar ook verschillende keren hetd hoofd schudden van ongeloof.

As Above, So Below is uit op dvd en Blu-ray via Universal Pictures.

Technische gegevens:

Speelduur: 93 minuten
Beeld: 1.85:1 – 1080p
Geluid: Engels DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 en Frans Dolby Digital 5.1
Ondertiteling: Engels voor doven en slechthorenden, Frans, Nederlands

Extra’s:
UV – UltraViolet
Inside As Above, So Below

Didier BECU
08/12/2014


08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below

Music reviews

20
04
LUCKY AND LOVE
Transitions
12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel
01
04
FRAGRANCE
Now That I'm Real

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 33 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

18
04
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
Dark Skies over Witten V Werkstatt Witten Germany
18
04
AUGER
Dark Skies over Witten V Wekstatt Witten Germany
06
04
PERSEPHONE
@ A Mourning hall concert Gelsenkirchen
24
03
RED ZEBRA
De Lux Herenthout
24
03
DE BRASSERS
De Lux Herenthout
10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Gone (Feat. Yvette Winkler)
20
04
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
19
04
GNOSTIC GORRILA
St. Basil's Asylum
18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline
18
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
17
04
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
16
04
ANNI HOGAN
Angels Of Romance (featuring Gavin Friday