tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below

JOHN ERICK DOWDLE

As Above, So Below

Movie
Horror

[42/100]   

Universal Pictures
08/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Because in the 19th century Paris did not know what to do with the many corpses, they put the dead bodies deep underground. Parisians were happy that the useless bones were gone, and decades later the catacombs became the most macabre tourist attraction throughout the whole world. Over a distance of 1,700 meters, you can walk along countless skulls and bones. An ideal location to make a horror film, John Erick Dowdle must have thought. The filmmaker received the support of Universal Pictures for his project. The poster looks very promising, but what you will eventually see is a little disappointing. Not because it's bad, just because it could have been so much more.

As Above, So Below is another found footage film, a genre that often is being used by directors who have to contend with a small budget. The young archaeologist Scarlet Marlowe ( Perdita Weeks ) discovers in Iran that the Philosopher's Stone that can turn metal into gold, but also gives eternal life, is hidden in the catacombs of Paris. Along with some volunteers she goes underground: the beginning of a chilling adventure.

As Above, So Below rarely bores, the makers have indeed added terrifying images that will prevent you from falling asleep. The scenario however is too thin and the anything but interesting characters are not performed that well. But we admit it, in this genre you’ll find worse. John Erick Dowdle wants to do it all in a good way, but he has to deal with budgetary constraints. You’ll forget the picture within a week, but those who are addicted to horror movies can give it a try.

As Above, So Below is out on DVD and Blu-ray by Universal Pictures.

Technical data:

Running time : 93 minutes
Picture: 1.85: 1 - 1080p
Audio : English DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 and French Dolby Digital 5.1
Subtitles: English for the hearing impaired, French, Dutch

Extras:

UV - UltraViolet
Inside As Above, So Below

Didier BECU
08/12/2014


NL

Omdat men in de 19e eeuw in Parijs geen blijf meer wist met de vele lijken, stopte men de dode lichamen gewoon diep onder de grond. De Parijzenaren waren blij dat ze van de beenderen af waren, en decennia later werden de catacomben de meest macabere toeristenattractie van het land. Over een traject van 1700 meter kun je langs talloze schedels en botten lopen. Een ideale locatie om er een horrorfilm op te nemen, moet John Erick Dowdle hebben gedacht. Deze filmmaker, die voorheen enkele bibberprenten op zijn cv bijschreef, kreeg meteen de steun van Universal Pictures. De affiche oogt veelbelovend, maar wat je uiteindelijk te zien krijgt is een kleine ontgoocheling. Niet omdat het slecht is, gewoon omdat er zo veel meer in zat.

As Above, So Below is wederom een found footage film, een genre dat zo graag wordt gebruikt door regisseurs die met een klein budget te kampen hebben. De jonge archeologe Scarlet Marlowe (Perdita Weeks) heeft in Iran ontdekt dat de Steen der Wijzen, waarmee je van metaal goud kan maken, maar die vooral het eeuwig leven schenkt, verborgen zit in de catacomben van Parijs. Samen met enkele vrijwilligers daalt ze diep onder de grond af: het begin van een huiveringwekkend avontuur.

As Above, So Below verveelt zelden, de makers hebben er immers voor gezorgd dat er regelmatig schrikwekkende beelden opduiken die voorkomen dat je in slaap sukkelt. Erger is het gesteld met het krakkemikkige scenario en de allesbehalve interessante personages die bovendien op een vrij belabberde wijze worden vertolkt. Maar we geven het toe, in dit genre bestaat slechter. Je merkt wel dat John Erick Dowdle het allemaal goed bedoelt, te vaak zie je evenwel de budgettaire beperkingen waarmee hij had af te rekenen. Wellicht ben je de prent binnen een week vergeten, maar wie verslaafd is aan griezelfilms kan het toch proberen. Je zal ongetwijfeld huiveren, maar ook verschillende keren hetd hoofd schudden van ongeloof.

As Above, So Below is uit op dvd en Blu-ray via Universal Pictures.

Technische gegevens:

Speelduur: 93 minuten
Beeld: 1.85:1 – 1080p
Geluid: Engels DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 en Frans Dolby Digital 5.1
Ondertiteling: Engels voor doven en slechthorenden, Frans, Nederlands

Extra’s:
UV – UltraViolet
Inside As Above, So Below

Didier BECU
08/12/2014


08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless