tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below

JOHN ERICK DOWDLE

As Above, So Below

Movie
Horror

[42/100]   

Universal Pictures
08/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Because in the 19th century Paris did not know what to do with the many corpses, they put the dead bodies deep underground. Parisians were happy that the useless bones were gone, and decades later the catacombs became the most macabre tourist attraction throughout the whole world. Over a distance of 1,700 meters, you can walk along countless skulls and bones. An ideal location to make a horror film, John Erick Dowdle must have thought. The filmmaker received the support of Universal Pictures for his project. The poster looks very promising, but what you will eventually see is a little disappointing. Not because it's bad, just because it could have been so much more.

As Above, So Below is another found footage film, a genre that often is being used by directors who have to contend with a small budget. The young archaeologist Scarlet Marlowe ( Perdita Weeks ) discovers in Iran that the Philosopher's Stone that can turn metal into gold, but also gives eternal life, is hidden in the catacombs of Paris. Along with some volunteers she goes underground: the beginning of a chilling adventure.

As Above, So Below rarely bores, the makers have indeed added terrifying images that will prevent you from falling asleep. The scenario however is too thin and the anything but interesting characters are not performed that well. But we admit it, in this genre you’ll find worse. John Erick Dowdle wants to do it all in a good way, but he has to deal with budgetary constraints. You’ll forget the picture within a week, but those who are addicted to horror movies can give it a try.

As Above, So Below is out on DVD and Blu-ray by Universal Pictures.

Technical data:

Running time : 93 minutes
Picture: 1.85: 1 - 1080p
Audio : English DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 and French Dolby Digital 5.1
Subtitles: English for the hearing impaired, French, Dutch

Extras:

UV - UltraViolet
Inside As Above, So Below

Didier BECU
08/12/2014


NL

Omdat men in de 19e eeuw in Parijs geen blijf meer wist met de vele lijken, stopte men de dode lichamen gewoon diep onder de grond. De Parijzenaren waren blij dat ze van de beenderen af waren, en decennia later werden de catacomben de meest macabere toeristenattractie van het land. Over een traject van 1700 meter kun je langs talloze schedels en botten lopen. Een ideale locatie om er een horrorfilm op te nemen, moet John Erick Dowdle hebben gedacht. Deze filmmaker, die voorheen enkele bibberprenten op zijn cv bijschreef, kreeg meteen de steun van Universal Pictures. De affiche oogt veelbelovend, maar wat je uiteindelijk te zien krijgt is een kleine ontgoocheling. Niet omdat het slecht is, gewoon omdat er zo veel meer in zat.

As Above, So Below is wederom een found footage film, een genre dat zo graag wordt gebruikt door regisseurs die met een klein budget te kampen hebben. De jonge archeologe Scarlet Marlowe (Perdita Weeks) heeft in Iran ontdekt dat de Steen der Wijzen, waarmee je van metaal goud kan maken, maar die vooral het eeuwig leven schenkt, verborgen zit in de catacomben van Parijs. Samen met enkele vrijwilligers daalt ze diep onder de grond af: het begin van een huiveringwekkend avontuur.

As Above, So Below verveelt zelden, de makers hebben er immers voor gezorgd dat er regelmatig schrikwekkende beelden opduiken die voorkomen dat je in slaap sukkelt. Erger is het gesteld met het krakkemikkige scenario en de allesbehalve interessante personages die bovendien op een vrij belabberde wijze worden vertolkt. Maar we geven het toe, in dit genre bestaat slechter. Je merkt wel dat John Erick Dowdle het allemaal goed bedoelt, te vaak zie je evenwel de budgettaire beperkingen waarmee hij had af te rekenen. Wellicht ben je de prent binnen een week vergeten, maar wie verslaafd is aan griezelfilms kan het toch proberen. Je zal ongetwijfeld huiveren, maar ook verschillende keren hetd hoofd schudden van ongeloof.

As Above, So Below is uit op dvd en Blu-ray via Universal Pictures.

Technische gegevens:

Speelduur: 93 minuten
Beeld: 1.85:1 – 1080p
Geluid: Engels DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 en Frans Dolby Digital 5.1
Ondertiteling: Engels voor doven en slechthorenden, Frans, Nederlands

Extra’s:
UV – UltraViolet
Inside As Above, So Below

Didier BECU
08/12/2014


08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below 08/12/2014 : JOHN ERICK DOWDLE - As Above, So Below

Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela