tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/07/2014 : JOHN GARCIA - JOHN GARCIA

JOHN GARCIA

JOHN GARCIA

MusicCD
BluesHard RockProg RockRockStonerock

[99/100]   

Napalm Records
10/07/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

KYUSS, Slo Burn, Unida, Hermano, VISTA CHINO - whatever John Garcia had a hand in turned immediately to success. The 43 -year-old always knew that he wanted create his own style within those bands and established himself as the most distinctive voice of the entire Desert / Stoner Rock scene.

'My mind' sounds like a mix between The Scorpions (vocally) and the clean version of The Stooges! Great guitars, great bass play, sharp voice and great studio mixing! It's hot and steamy, just the way I absolutely adore it! It's very hard to stand still!

'Rolling Stoned' is a great title for a track in this genre! The tempo is a bit slower than the previous one, but still: I really adore the guitars and the sharp voice! At some point it really sounds like The Stooges would sound if they were drug free in the 70's! It's a very catchy track!

'Flower' starts with weeping guitars and an old time effect on the microphone. I love the rocking sound on this one, combines with the catchy sound. There is a great bluesy solo in the middle of the track.

'The Blvd' is more blues rock whilst '5000 miles' is pure passion! The lyrics are perfectly incorporated in the music. A great rocker about missing your beloved!

'Confusion' is just a man and his electric guitar, pure and very fragile like only the very best can bring this kind of songs!

'His Bullets Energy' has a slow tempo, but rocks you. You can smell the heat of their passion! Nice lyrics and guitar play!

'Argleben' goes a bit faster and harder, fuelled by rage and some kind of The Stooges vibe (think of 'I'm sick of you'). I really love the bass! Just a bit strange that you have no fireworks in the end, but just some slow power cut. It’s the only minus on the whole cd.

'Saddleback' is a fine rocker whilst 'All these Walls' starts with a retro 80's sound (genre 'Gang of Four'), but very fast exploding with again that great bass!

'Her Bullets Energy' is led by a great acoustic guitar and he used this old school microphone again (sounding a bit like PJ Harvey). I love the sound on this one too! It's a soft, but very good ending for this beauty! Another Diamond unveiled! Push the repeat function and add another artist on my list of to see on stage! I really loved this trip!

Both thumbs up!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
10/07/2014


 

Next reviews
KITCHEN OF INSANITY • Live In Ghent 1991
• Series: REAL HUMANS SEASON 2
DEVIL-M • Revenge of the Antichrist
ADAN & ILSE • Birds fall from heaven
NOAM MURRO • 300-Rise Of An Empire
RICHARD LESTER • A Hard Day's Night
FRANCK KHALFOUN • Maniac
THE GRAPHIC UK • Nothing's Wrong EP
JEAN-PIERRE MELVILLE • Le samouraï
JEAN-PAUL LILIENFIELD • Arretêz-moi

 

Same genre: BLUES
THE HEAT INC. • EP
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
JIMMY SWEENEY • Without You
PAUL MCCANN • Widow Maker Blues (Feat. Majella O’Reilly)
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
THE ROADRUNNERS • Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
NATALIA M. KING • Bluezzin t’il Dawn
THIERRY ANSALLEM • Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987
CUTTING CREW • Add To Your Favourites

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”

 

Same genre: PROG ROCK
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
OPETH • Sorceress
EDENSONG • Years in the Garden of Years
BLIND EGO • Liquid
NOSOUND • Scintilla
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
THE PINEAPPLE THIEF • Your Wilderness
SEVEN EYED CROW • Dark Ways to the Sun
INFINITE SPECTRUM • Haunter of the Dark

 

Same genre: ROCK
THIS CAN HURT • A Darker Shade Of Blue
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter

 

Same genre: STONEROCK
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
LATE NIGHT VENTURE • Tychonians
PSYCHIC TV • Antwerpen, Het Bos (28/03/2015)
LONELY KAMEL • Shit City
PET THE PREACHER • The Cave & The Sunlight
AVATAR • Hail The Apocalypse
THE GRAVIATORS • Motherload
THEN COMES SILENCE • Then Comes Silence II
GEMINI SYNDROME • LUX
DIRTY SOUND MAGNET • What lies beneath

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
05
MODEL DEPOSE
Nightwatch
22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day
19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money