tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

22/07/2014 : JOHN HUGHES - Uncle Buck

JOHN HUGHES

Uncle Buck

MovieMovie classics
Comedy

[70/100]   

Universal Pictures
22/07/2014, Didier BECU

EN

When mentioning John Hughes you immediately think of 80’s teenmovies like The Breakfast Club, Sixteen Candles or She’s Having Baby, but the filmmaker also made some typical American comedies like Planes, Trains and Automobiles and the somewhat forgotten Uncle Buck. It’s a bit of a shame as this comedy might not be the great masterpiece in its genre, Uncle Buck is charming though.


Uncle Buck (the great John Candy) makes everything a disaster, but he has a heart of gold. When his brother Bob (Garreth McBrown) has to travel to Indianapolis because the father from his wife Cindy (Elaine Bromka) has had a heart attack. The sole solution is asking Buck to be the babysitter. The uncle is sure that he can make this happen, but he gets immediately both the rebellious teen daughter Tia (Jean-Louisa Kelly) and naughty kids Miles (Macauley Culkin) and Maizy (Gaby Hoffman) as his enemies.


Agreed, you won’t find a movie that is more innocent than this one and the Disney-touch is never that far away, but Uncle Buck stays great fun. A minor point is that many critics have criticized Hughes because he was making his characters too unreal, and they’re right. Fine examples are both the nymphomaniac neighbor (Laurie Metcalf) and the unfriendly (far too clever) Macauley Culkin who was just rehearsing his later world famous role from Home Alone. Candy is absolutely great for this type of characters and Jean-Louisa Kelly also scores some extra points for her sexy look.


Uncle Buck is available on Universal, on both DVD and Blu-ray. There is no bonus section, but an excellent transfer!

Didier BECU
22/07/2014


NL

Bij de naam John Hughes denk je natuurlijk aan onsterfelijke 80’s-tienerfilms zoals The Breakfast Club, Sixteen Candles of She’s Having Baby, maar de cineast maakte tevens enkele typische Amerikaanse komedies zoals Planes, Trains and Automobiles en deze Uncle Buck die een beetje in de vergeethoek is gesukkeld. Beslist jammer, want ook al is deze komedie niet bepaald een meesterwerk in zijn genre, blijft Uncle Buck desalniettemin ontzettend charmant.


Oom Buck (de onnavolgbare John Candy) is een nietsnut met een gouden hart. Alles wat hij aanraakt dreigt in een allesvernietigende ramp te ontaarden, ofschoon de dikkerd het allemaal goed bedoelt. Wanneer zijn broer Bob (Garreth McBrown) holderdebolder naar Indianapolis moet trekken omdat de vader van echtgenote Cindy (Elaine Bromka) een beroerte heeft gekregen is de enige oplossing, tot Cindys groot ongenoegen, de onbeholpen Buck als babysitter aan boord halen. Buck is ervan overtuigd dat hij deze taak tot een goed einde zal brengen, maar wordt meteen met zowel de vijandige tienerdochter Tia (Jean-Louisa Kelly) als de ettertjes Miles (Macauley Culkin) en Maizy (Gaby Hoffman) geconfronteerd.


Toegegeven, meer onschuldig kan een film niet ogen en ook de melige Disney-factor is nooit ver weg, toch blijft Uncle Buck heerlijk filmvertier. Talrijke critici hebben Hughes wel veroordeeld dat hij zijn personages tot regelrechte karikaturen heeft herschapen. Mooie voorbeelden daarvan is de manzieke buurvrouw (Laurie Metcalf) of de zeer onvriendelijke (veel te pientere) Macauley Culkin die gewoon zijn rol van Home Alone aan het inoefenen was. Candy is heerlijk voor dit soort familiefilms en ook Jean-Louisa Kelly krijgt voor haar sexy krullen een paar extra punten.


Uncle Buck is uit op Universal, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray. Wel zonder enige extra, maar wel excellente transfer!

Didier BECU
22/07/2014


22/07/2014 : JOHN HUGHES - Uncle Buck 22/07/2014 : JOHN HUGHES - Uncle Buck 22/07/2014 : JOHN HUGHES - Uncle Buck 22/07/2014 : JOHN HUGHES - Uncle Buck 22/07/2014 : JOHN HUGHES - Uncle Buck 22/07/2014 : JOHN HUGHES - Uncle Buck 22/07/2014 : JOHN HUGHES - Uncle Buck 22/07/2014 : JOHN HUGHES - Uncle Buck 22/07/2014 : JOHN HUGHES - Uncle Buck 22/07/2014 : JOHN HUGHES - Uncle Buck 22/07/2014 : JOHN HUGHES - Uncle Buck 22/07/2014 : JOHN HUGHES - Uncle Buck 22/07/2014 : JOHN HUGHES - Uncle Buck 22/07/2014 : JOHN HUGHES - Uncle Buck 22/07/2014 : JOHN HUGHES - Uncle Buck 22/07/2014 : JOHN HUGHES - Uncle Buck

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)