tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo

JOHN TURTURRO

Fading Gigolo

Movie
Comedy

[30/100]   

Remain In Light
22/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Is it a good idea to give Woody Allen the role of an aged pimp? An unnecessary question, we think, but apparently John Turturro had another opinion. Once again Turturro is a director, Romance And Cigarettes is probably his best known.

Fading Gigolo is a strange movie. In fact, you can actually ask yourself what Turturro inspired to start this strange project, simply because this comedy is an uninspired copy of Allen movies. Woody himself looks just annoyed, probably wondering how he ended up in this mess. Do not get us wrong, Woody Allen is a master in playing nervous types, but it only works in a Woody Allen movie!

Murray (Woody Allen) is the owner of a bookstorean he wants to retire. That would be the end the career of his younger partner Fioravante (John Turturro), but Murray has something better for him. One of his rich friends (Sharon Stone) wants a young stallion and after a few visits Fioravante becomes one of the most popular Jewish escorts in New York.

Almost the entire cast gets lost in this film. The worst role is played by Vanessa Paradis as a Jewish widow who dreams of an erotic massage but isn’t allowed one because of her strict religious rules. Sharon Stone was once the most beautiful woman in the world, but someone better warns her that it would be a good idea to keep her clothes on in her next movie if she doesn’t want to be remembered as a ridiculous actress. And we're not even talking about the “naughty” (but very boring) Jewish jokes ! There will undoubtedly be some people who find Fading Gigolo irresistibly funny, we wish you nevertheless good luck to find them!

Didier BECU
22/12/2014


NL

Is het een goed idee om Woody Allen de rol van pooier te geven? Een overbodige vraag dus, maar blijkbaar zag John Turturro, die ook zelf graag eens achter de camera kruipt (Romance And Cigarettes is wellicht zijn bekendste) dat idee wel zitten.

Fading Gigolo is een vreemde film. Meer zelfs, je vraagt je eigenlijk af wat Turturro bezielde om aan dit project te beginnen, gewoon omdat deze komedie (waarin nauwelijks te lachen valt) een inspiratieloze kopie is van de Allen-films. Woody zelf loopt er gewoon wat verveeld bij alsof hij zonder dat hij dat wil in de zoveelste film verzeild is die hij zelf regisseert.

Begrijp ons niet verkeerd, Woody Allen is een meester in zijn vak. Je mag van hem zeggen wat je wil, toch slaagt hij er steeds in om beroemde acteurs op een bijna altijd unieke wijze een rol te laten vertolken die je niet van hen gewoon bent. Turturro kan dat helemaal niet, integendeel!

Murray (Woody Allen) is een boekenwinkeleigenaar die op pensioen wil gaan. Dat betekent ook het einde voor zijn hulpje Fioravante (John Turturro), maar Murray heeft iets beter voor hem in petto. Een van zijn rijke vriendinnen (Sharon Stone) heeft zin in een jonge hengst en na een paar bezoekjes wordt Fioravante één van de populairste Joodse gigolo’s in New York.

En nu jij! Zowat de hele cast loopt verloren in deze film. De ergste rol is weggelegd voor Vanessa Paradis als een Joodse weduwe die luidop droomt van een erotische massage, maar dat wegens haar strenge geloof niet mag (jawel!). Ooit was Sharon Stone de mooiste vrouw ter wereld, toch zou iemand er haar mogen op wijzen dat ze in de toekomst beter haar kleren aanhoudt wil ze zich niet al te belachelijk wil maken. En dan hebben we het nog niet eens over de ondeugende (maar oersaaie) Joodse mopjes gehad! Er zullen ongetwijfeld wel mensen zijn die Fading Gigolo onweerstaanbaar grappig vinden, we wensen je veel geluk toe om ze te vinden!

Didier BECU
22/12/2014


22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo

Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
10
06
O VEUX
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
APPARAAT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ENZO KREFT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ROSA PARKS
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno