tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo

JOHN TURTURRO

Fading Gigolo

Movie
Comedy

[30/100]   

Remain In Light
22/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Is it a good idea to give Woody Allen the role of an aged pimp? An unnecessary question, we think, but apparently John Turturro had another opinion. Once again Turturro is a director, Romance And Cigarettes is probably his best known.

Fading Gigolo is a strange movie. In fact, you can actually ask yourself what Turturro inspired to start this strange project, simply because this comedy is an uninspired copy of Allen movies. Woody himself looks just annoyed, probably wondering how he ended up in this mess. Do not get us wrong, Woody Allen is a master in playing nervous types, but it only works in a Woody Allen movie!

Murray (Woody Allen) is the owner of a bookstorean he wants to retire. That would be the end the career of his younger partner Fioravante (John Turturro), but Murray has something better for him. One of his rich friends (Sharon Stone) wants a young stallion and after a few visits Fioravante becomes one of the most popular Jewish escorts in New York.

Almost the entire cast gets lost in this film. The worst role is played by Vanessa Paradis as a Jewish widow who dreams of an erotic massage but isn’t allowed one because of her strict religious rules. Sharon Stone was once the most beautiful woman in the world, but someone better warns her that it would be a good idea to keep her clothes on in her next movie if she doesn’t want to be remembered as a ridiculous actress. And we're not even talking about the “naughty” (but very boring) Jewish jokes ! There will undoubtedly be some people who find Fading Gigolo irresistibly funny, we wish you nevertheless good luck to find them!

Didier BECU
22/12/2014


NL

Is het een goed idee om Woody Allen de rol van pooier te geven? Een overbodige vraag dus, maar blijkbaar zag John Turturro, die ook zelf graag eens achter de camera kruipt (Romance And Cigarettes is wellicht zijn bekendste) dat idee wel zitten.

Fading Gigolo is een vreemde film. Meer zelfs, je vraagt je eigenlijk af wat Turturro bezielde om aan dit project te beginnen, gewoon omdat deze komedie (waarin nauwelijks te lachen valt) een inspiratieloze kopie is van de Allen-films. Woody zelf loopt er gewoon wat verveeld bij alsof hij zonder dat hij dat wil in de zoveelste film verzeild is die hij zelf regisseert.

Begrijp ons niet verkeerd, Woody Allen is een meester in zijn vak. Je mag van hem zeggen wat je wil, toch slaagt hij er steeds in om beroemde acteurs op een bijna altijd unieke wijze een rol te laten vertolken die je niet van hen gewoon bent. Turturro kan dat helemaal niet, integendeel!

Murray (Woody Allen) is een boekenwinkeleigenaar die op pensioen wil gaan. Dat betekent ook het einde voor zijn hulpje Fioravante (John Turturro), maar Murray heeft iets beter voor hem in petto. Een van zijn rijke vriendinnen (Sharon Stone) heeft zin in een jonge hengst en na een paar bezoekjes wordt Fioravante één van de populairste Joodse gigolo’s in New York.

En nu jij! Zowat de hele cast loopt verloren in deze film. De ergste rol is weggelegd voor Vanessa Paradis als een Joodse weduwe die luidop droomt van een erotische massage, maar dat wegens haar strenge geloof niet mag (jawel!). Ooit was Sharon Stone de mooiste vrouw ter wereld, toch zou iemand er haar mogen op wijzen dat ze in de toekomst beter haar kleren aanhoudt wil ze zich niet al te belachelijk wil maken. En dan hebben we het nog niet eens over de ondeugende (maar oersaaie) Joodse mopjes gehad! Er zullen ongetwijfeld wel mensen zijn die Fading Gigolo onweerstaanbaar grappig vinden, we wensen je veel geluk toe om ze te vinden!

Didier BECU
22/12/2014


22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo

Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein