tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo

JOHN TURTURRO

Fading Gigolo

Movie
Comedy

[30/100]   

Remain In Light
22/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Is it a good idea to give Woody Allen the role of an aged pimp? An unnecessary question, we think, but apparently John Turturro had another opinion. Once again Turturro is a director, Romance And Cigarettes is probably his best known.

Fading Gigolo is a strange movie. In fact, you can actually ask yourself what Turturro inspired to start this strange project, simply because this comedy is an uninspired copy of Allen movies. Woody himself looks just annoyed, probably wondering how he ended up in this mess. Do not get us wrong, Woody Allen is a master in playing nervous types, but it only works in a Woody Allen movie!

Murray (Woody Allen) is the owner of a bookstorean he wants to retire. That would be the end the career of his younger partner Fioravante (John Turturro), but Murray has something better for him. One of his rich friends (Sharon Stone) wants a young stallion and after a few visits Fioravante becomes one of the most popular Jewish escorts in New York.

Almost the entire cast gets lost in this film. The worst role is played by Vanessa Paradis as a Jewish widow who dreams of an erotic massage but isn’t allowed one because of her strict religious rules. Sharon Stone was once the most beautiful woman in the world, but someone better warns her that it would be a good idea to keep her clothes on in her next movie if she doesn’t want to be remembered as a ridiculous actress. And we're not even talking about the “naughty” (but very boring) Jewish jokes ! There will undoubtedly be some people who find Fading Gigolo irresistibly funny, we wish you nevertheless good luck to find them!

Didier BECU
22/12/2014


NL

Is het een goed idee om Woody Allen de rol van pooier te geven? Een overbodige vraag dus, maar blijkbaar zag John Turturro, die ook zelf graag eens achter de camera kruipt (Romance And Cigarettes is wellicht zijn bekendste) dat idee wel zitten.

Fading Gigolo is een vreemde film. Meer zelfs, je vraagt je eigenlijk af wat Turturro bezielde om aan dit project te beginnen, gewoon omdat deze komedie (waarin nauwelijks te lachen valt) een inspiratieloze kopie is van de Allen-films. Woody zelf loopt er gewoon wat verveeld bij alsof hij zonder dat hij dat wil in de zoveelste film verzeild is die hij zelf regisseert.

Begrijp ons niet verkeerd, Woody Allen is een meester in zijn vak. Je mag van hem zeggen wat je wil, toch slaagt hij er steeds in om beroemde acteurs op een bijna altijd unieke wijze een rol te laten vertolken die je niet van hen gewoon bent. Turturro kan dat helemaal niet, integendeel!

Murray (Woody Allen) is een boekenwinkeleigenaar die op pensioen wil gaan. Dat betekent ook het einde voor zijn hulpje Fioravante (John Turturro), maar Murray heeft iets beter voor hem in petto. Een van zijn rijke vriendinnen (Sharon Stone) heeft zin in een jonge hengst en na een paar bezoekjes wordt Fioravante één van de populairste Joodse gigolo’s in New York.

En nu jij! Zowat de hele cast loopt verloren in deze film. De ergste rol is weggelegd voor Vanessa Paradis als een Joodse weduwe die luidop droomt van een erotische massage, maar dat wegens haar strenge geloof niet mag (jawel!). Ooit was Sharon Stone de mooiste vrouw ter wereld, toch zou iemand er haar mogen op wijzen dat ze in de toekomst beter haar kleren aanhoudt wil ze zich niet al te belachelijk wil maken. En dan hebben we het nog niet eens over de ondeugende (maar oersaaie) Joodse mopjes gehad! Er zullen ongetwijfeld wel mensen zijn die Fading Gigolo onweerstaanbaar grappig vinden, we wensen je veel geluk toe om ze te vinden!

Didier BECU
22/12/2014


22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi