tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo

JOHN TURTURRO

Fading Gigolo

Movie
Comedy

[30/100]   

Remain In Light
22/12/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Is it a good idea to give Woody Allen the role of an aged pimp? An unnecessary question, we think, but apparently John Turturro had another opinion. Once again Turturro is a director, Romance And Cigarettes is probably his best known.

Fading Gigolo is a strange movie. In fact, you can actually ask yourself what Turturro inspired to start this strange project, simply because this comedy is an uninspired copy of Allen movies. Woody himself looks just annoyed, probably wondering how he ended up in this mess. Do not get us wrong, Woody Allen is a master in playing nervous types, but it only works in a Woody Allen movie!

Murray (Woody Allen) is the owner of a bookstorean he wants to retire. That would be the end the career of his younger partner Fioravante (John Turturro), but Murray has something better for him. One of his rich friends (Sharon Stone) wants a young stallion and after a few visits Fioravante becomes one of the most popular Jewish escorts in New York.

Almost the entire cast gets lost in this film. The worst role is played by Vanessa Paradis as a Jewish widow who dreams of an erotic massage but isn’t allowed one because of her strict religious rules. Sharon Stone was once the most beautiful woman in the world, but someone better warns her that it would be a good idea to keep her clothes on in her next movie if she doesn’t want to be remembered as a ridiculous actress. And we're not even talking about the “naughty” (but very boring) Jewish jokes ! There will undoubtedly be some people who find Fading Gigolo irresistibly funny, we wish you nevertheless good luck to find them!

Didier BECU
22/12/2014


NL

Is het een goed idee om Woody Allen de rol van pooier te geven? Een overbodige vraag dus, maar blijkbaar zag John Turturro, die ook zelf graag eens achter de camera kruipt (Romance And Cigarettes is wellicht zijn bekendste) dat idee wel zitten.

Fading Gigolo is een vreemde film. Meer zelfs, je vraagt je eigenlijk af wat Turturro bezielde om aan dit project te beginnen, gewoon omdat deze komedie (waarin nauwelijks te lachen valt) een inspiratieloze kopie is van de Allen-films. Woody zelf loopt er gewoon wat verveeld bij alsof hij zonder dat hij dat wil in de zoveelste film verzeild is die hij zelf regisseert.

Begrijp ons niet verkeerd, Woody Allen is een meester in zijn vak. Je mag van hem zeggen wat je wil, toch slaagt hij er steeds in om beroemde acteurs op een bijna altijd unieke wijze een rol te laten vertolken die je niet van hen gewoon bent. Turturro kan dat helemaal niet, integendeel!

Murray (Woody Allen) is een boekenwinkeleigenaar die op pensioen wil gaan. Dat betekent ook het einde voor zijn hulpje Fioravante (John Turturro), maar Murray heeft iets beter voor hem in petto. Een van zijn rijke vriendinnen (Sharon Stone) heeft zin in een jonge hengst en na een paar bezoekjes wordt Fioravante één van de populairste Joodse gigolo’s in New York.

En nu jij! Zowat de hele cast loopt verloren in deze film. De ergste rol is weggelegd voor Vanessa Paradis als een Joodse weduwe die luidop droomt van een erotische massage, maar dat wegens haar strenge geloof niet mag (jawel!). Ooit was Sharon Stone de mooiste vrouw ter wereld, toch zou iemand er haar mogen op wijzen dat ze in de toekomst beter haar kleren aanhoudt wil ze zich niet al te belachelijk wil maken. En dan hebben we het nog niet eens over de ondeugende (maar oersaaie) Joodse mopjes gehad! Er zullen ongetwijfeld wel mensen zijn die Fading Gigolo onweerstaanbaar grappig vinden, we wensen je veel geluk toe om ze te vinden!

Didier BECU
22/12/2014


22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo 22/12/2014 : JOHN TURTURRO - Fading Gigolo

Music reviews

27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water
19
11
STAATSEINDE
Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
18
11
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
12
51 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
30
11
Darkwave Band, TIGERCIDE Brings Chaos & Harmony To Their Single, 'I Of Tiger'
29
11
MIRLAND releases first full album since 2017
28
11
IAMNOONE releases 'Dead Season'
28
11
Today it's exactly 41 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
MESH prepares an extended live-box for their fans!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
11
DIE WARZAU
Strike To The Body
30
11
PUSCIFER
Grand Canyon
30
11
THE KLINIK
White Trash (Inside Out Remix)
29
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
Control Freak
28
11
PORTION CONTROL
Still (Short-range missive from SEEDEP3)
27
11
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
26
11
CHELSEA WOLFE
16 Psyche