tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy

JOHNNY TABOR

Day Of The Mummy

Movie
Found FootageHorror

[40/100]   

RLJ Entertainment
09/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We probably will continue repeating that we’re done with those found footage films. Director Johnny Tabor will most likely be the first to disagree, because Day Of The Mummy is one of those movies recorded with a camera that shakes and trembles. Already after ten minutes you hope a new film will soon begin (yes, reviewers are simply supposed to watch it until the last minute).

This time the camera is built in a pair of glasses. Not only do you get a horrible rounded picture, in the corner you constantly see the image of a wealthy businessman who gives orders (Danny Glover making stupid comments). He probably never earned his money so easy.

Oh, we almost forgot to tell the story. Jack Wells (William McNamara ) is an archaeologist, a sort of Indiana Jones, albeit without his charisma. Together with a group of volunteers he visits the grave of Neferu (a terrible pharaoh who was murdered by his brother ) where the so-called Codex stone (a giant diamond) is hidden.

The film is called a horror movie, but the viewer will not tremble much, there’s more danger of falling asleep. The scenario is weak, the performances are bad and of course you have that terrible found footage-image. The only good thing is the mummy, but you only see that in the last ten minutes. We fear that Day Of The Mummy is just for sadomasochists.

Didier BECU
09/11/2014


NL

We zullen waarschijnlijk blijven herhalen dat we het echt wel gehad hebben met found footage-films. Wellicht zal regisseur Johnny Tabor de eerste zijn om ons tegen te spreken, want met Day Of The Mummy zadelt hij de kijker nog maar eens op met een camera die zodanig schudt en beeft dat je na een tiental minuten zit te hopen dat er weldra een nieuwe film aankomt (ja, recensenten worden nu eenmaal verondersteld om alles tot de laatste minuut te bekijken).

De camera is deze keer in een bril ingebouwd. Niet alleen krijg je daardoor een afschuwelijk afgerond beeld, ook heeft men onderaan het beeld van de opdrachtgever ingevoegd (Danny Glover die 70 minuten lang domme opmerkingen maakt of gewoon wat zit te grijnzen). O ja, we waren bijna vergeten om u het verhaal te vertellen. Jack Wells (William Mcnamara) is een archeoloog van de Indiana Jones-soort, weliswaar zonder diens charisma. Samen met een groep vrijwilligers wordt hij door een rijke zakenman (Glover dus die waarschijnlijk nog nooit zo gemakkelijk zijn geld heeft verdiend) uitgenodigd om naar het graf van Neferu (een verschrikkelijke farao die door zijn broer is vermoord) te trekken, want daar is de Codex-steen (een gigantische diamant) verborgen.

De film krijgt het etiket van horror opgeplakt, maar veel zal de kijker niet beven (hij zal eerder indommelen). Het scenario is slap, de vertolkingen ondermaats en dan hebben we het nog niet eens over dat vervelende beeldbrilletje gehad. Het enige lichtpunt is de mummie, helaas komt die pas de laatste tien minuten in actie. We vrezen dat Day Of The Mummy voer is voor sadomasochisten.

Didier BECU
09/11/2014


09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy

Music reviews

09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP
29
07
Darkwave Act THRILLSVILLE Reveals Life On 'Lockdown' With New Video

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…
11
07
PAGE HAMILTON (HELMET)
'I think in 2021 we’ll have a new album...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo
05
08
ANNE CLARK
Our Darkness
04
08
PIL
Rise
03
08
JAMBINAI
They Keep Silence