tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy

JOHNNY TABOR

Day Of The Mummy

Movie
Found FootageHorror

[40/100]   

RLJ Entertainment
09/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We probably will continue repeating that we’re done with those found footage films. Director Johnny Tabor will most likely be the first to disagree, because Day Of The Mummy is one of those movies recorded with a camera that shakes and trembles. Already after ten minutes you hope a new film will soon begin (yes, reviewers are simply supposed to watch it until the last minute).

This time the camera is built in a pair of glasses. Not only do you get a horrible rounded picture, in the corner you constantly see the image of a wealthy businessman who gives orders (Danny Glover making stupid comments). He probably never earned his money so easy.

Oh, we almost forgot to tell the story. Jack Wells (William McNamara ) is an archaeologist, a sort of Indiana Jones, albeit without his charisma. Together with a group of volunteers he visits the grave of Neferu (a terrible pharaoh who was murdered by his brother ) where the so-called Codex stone (a giant diamond) is hidden.

The film is called a horror movie, but the viewer will not tremble much, there’s more danger of falling asleep. The scenario is weak, the performances are bad and of course you have that terrible found footage-image. The only good thing is the mummy, but you only see that in the last ten minutes. We fear that Day Of The Mummy is just for sadomasochists.

Didier BECU
09/11/2014


NL

We zullen waarschijnlijk blijven herhalen dat we het echt wel gehad hebben met found footage-films. Wellicht zal regisseur Johnny Tabor de eerste zijn om ons tegen te spreken, want met Day Of The Mummy zadelt hij de kijker nog maar eens op met een camera die zodanig schudt en beeft dat je na een tiental minuten zit te hopen dat er weldra een nieuwe film aankomt (ja, recensenten worden nu eenmaal verondersteld om alles tot de laatste minuut te bekijken).

De camera is deze keer in een bril ingebouwd. Niet alleen krijg je daardoor een afschuwelijk afgerond beeld, ook heeft men onderaan het beeld van de opdrachtgever ingevoegd (Danny Glover die 70 minuten lang domme opmerkingen maakt of gewoon wat zit te grijnzen). O ja, we waren bijna vergeten om u het verhaal te vertellen. Jack Wells (William Mcnamara) is een archeoloog van de Indiana Jones-soort, weliswaar zonder diens charisma. Samen met een groep vrijwilligers wordt hij door een rijke zakenman (Glover dus die waarschijnlijk nog nooit zo gemakkelijk zijn geld heeft verdiend) uitgenodigd om naar het graf van Neferu (een verschrikkelijke farao die door zijn broer is vermoord) te trekken, want daar is de Codex-steen (een gigantische diamant) verborgen.

De film krijgt het etiket van horror opgeplakt, maar veel zal de kijker niet beven (hij zal eerder indommelen). Het scenario is slap, de vertolkingen ondermaats en dan hebben we het nog niet eens over dat vervelende beeldbrilletje gehad. Het enige lichtpunt is de mummie, helaas komt die pas de laatste tien minuten in actie. We vrezen dat Day Of The Mummy voer is voor sadomasochisten.

Didier BECU
09/11/2014


09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy

Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 40 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
156
Kokoro
26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion