tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy

JOHNNY TABOR

Day Of The Mummy

Movie
Found FootageHorror

[40/100]   

RLJ Entertainment
09/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We probably will continue repeating that we’re done with those found footage films. Director Johnny Tabor will most likely be the first to disagree, because Day Of The Mummy is one of those movies recorded with a camera that shakes and trembles. Already after ten minutes you hope a new film will soon begin (yes, reviewers are simply supposed to watch it until the last minute).

This time the camera is built in a pair of glasses. Not only do you get a horrible rounded picture, in the corner you constantly see the image of a wealthy businessman who gives orders (Danny Glover making stupid comments). He probably never earned his money so easy.

Oh, we almost forgot to tell the story. Jack Wells (William McNamara ) is an archaeologist, a sort of Indiana Jones, albeit without his charisma. Together with a group of volunteers he visits the grave of Neferu (a terrible pharaoh who was murdered by his brother ) where the so-called Codex stone (a giant diamond) is hidden.

The film is called a horror movie, but the viewer will not tremble much, there’s more danger of falling asleep. The scenario is weak, the performances are bad and of course you have that terrible found footage-image. The only good thing is the mummy, but you only see that in the last ten minutes. We fear that Day Of The Mummy is just for sadomasochists.

Didier BECU
09/11/2014


NL

We zullen waarschijnlijk blijven herhalen dat we het echt wel gehad hebben met found footage-films. Wellicht zal regisseur Johnny Tabor de eerste zijn om ons tegen te spreken, want met Day Of The Mummy zadelt hij de kijker nog maar eens op met een camera die zodanig schudt en beeft dat je na een tiental minuten zit te hopen dat er weldra een nieuwe film aankomt (ja, recensenten worden nu eenmaal verondersteld om alles tot de laatste minuut te bekijken).

De camera is deze keer in een bril ingebouwd. Niet alleen krijg je daardoor een afschuwelijk afgerond beeld, ook heeft men onderaan het beeld van de opdrachtgever ingevoegd (Danny Glover die 70 minuten lang domme opmerkingen maakt of gewoon wat zit te grijnzen). O ja, we waren bijna vergeten om u het verhaal te vertellen. Jack Wells (William Mcnamara) is een archeoloog van de Indiana Jones-soort, weliswaar zonder diens charisma. Samen met een groep vrijwilligers wordt hij door een rijke zakenman (Glover dus die waarschijnlijk nog nooit zo gemakkelijk zijn geld heeft verdiend) uitgenodigd om naar het graf van Neferu (een verschrikkelijke farao die door zijn broer is vermoord) te trekken, want daar is de Codex-steen (een gigantische diamant) verborgen.

De film krijgt het etiket van horror opgeplakt, maar veel zal de kijker niet beven (hij zal eerder indommelen). Het scenario is slap, de vertolkingen ondermaats en dan hebben we het nog niet eens over dat vervelende beeldbrilletje gehad. Het enige lichtpunt is de mummie, helaas komt die pas de laatste tien minuten in actie. We vrezen dat Day Of The Mummy voer is voor sadomasochisten.

Didier BECU
09/11/2014


09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)