tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy

JOHNNY TABOR

Day Of The Mummy

Movie
Found FootageHorror

[40/100]   

RLJ Entertainment
09/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We probably will continue repeating that we’re done with those found footage films. Director Johnny Tabor will most likely be the first to disagree, because Day Of The Mummy is one of those movies recorded with a camera that shakes and trembles. Already after ten minutes you hope a new film will soon begin (yes, reviewers are simply supposed to watch it until the last minute).

This time the camera is built in a pair of glasses. Not only do you get a horrible rounded picture, in the corner you constantly see the image of a wealthy businessman who gives orders (Danny Glover making stupid comments). He probably never earned his money so easy.

Oh, we almost forgot to tell the story. Jack Wells (William McNamara ) is an archaeologist, a sort of Indiana Jones, albeit without his charisma. Together with a group of volunteers he visits the grave of Neferu (a terrible pharaoh who was murdered by his brother ) where the so-called Codex stone (a giant diamond) is hidden.

The film is called a horror movie, but the viewer will not tremble much, there’s more danger of falling asleep. The scenario is weak, the performances are bad and of course you have that terrible found footage-image. The only good thing is the mummy, but you only see that in the last ten minutes. We fear that Day Of The Mummy is just for sadomasochists.

Didier BECU
09/11/2014


NL

We zullen waarschijnlijk blijven herhalen dat we het echt wel gehad hebben met found footage-films. Wellicht zal regisseur Johnny Tabor de eerste zijn om ons tegen te spreken, want met Day Of The Mummy zadelt hij de kijker nog maar eens op met een camera die zodanig schudt en beeft dat je na een tiental minuten zit te hopen dat er weldra een nieuwe film aankomt (ja, recensenten worden nu eenmaal verondersteld om alles tot de laatste minuut te bekijken).

De camera is deze keer in een bril ingebouwd. Niet alleen krijg je daardoor een afschuwelijk afgerond beeld, ook heeft men onderaan het beeld van de opdrachtgever ingevoegd (Danny Glover die 70 minuten lang domme opmerkingen maakt of gewoon wat zit te grijnzen). O ja, we waren bijna vergeten om u het verhaal te vertellen. Jack Wells (William Mcnamara) is een archeoloog van de Indiana Jones-soort, weliswaar zonder diens charisma. Samen met een groep vrijwilligers wordt hij door een rijke zakenman (Glover dus die waarschijnlijk nog nooit zo gemakkelijk zijn geld heeft verdiend) uitgenodigd om naar het graf van Neferu (een verschrikkelijke farao die door zijn broer is vermoord) te trekken, want daar is de Codex-steen (een gigantische diamant) verborgen.

De film krijgt het etiket van horror opgeplakt, maar veel zal de kijker niet beven (hij zal eerder indommelen). Het scenario is slap, de vertolkingen ondermaats en dan hebben we het nog niet eens over dat vervelende beeldbrilletje gehad. Het enige lichtpunt is de mummie, helaas komt die pas de laatste tien minuten in actie. We vrezen dat Day Of The Mummy voer is voor sadomasochisten.

Didier BECU
09/11/2014


09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy 09/11/2014 : JOHNNY TABOR - Day Of The Mummy

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019
14
07
'Hidden Figures' release their first single this August - debut album in progress!
13
07
Exclusive BEAUTY IN THE SUFFERING Performance Featured In New Horror Film, CLOWN MOTEL

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis
12
07
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
11
07
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue