tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/10/2015 : JON GOMM - Live in the Acoustic Asylum

JON GOMM

Live in the Acoustic Asylum

MusicCD
BluesJazzSinger Songwriter

[65/100]   

Performing Chimp Records
11/10/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

The English acoustic guitar virtuoso Jon Gomm has collected some of his secret gems and fan favorites on a live album which is praised in the English press. Over here, he is still unknown, but in the rest of the world, he regularly performs in big concert halls like the Basement in Sydney, the 100 Years Honour Hall in Beijing, the 100 Club in London, the Joburg Theatre in Johannesburg, Bourbon Street in Sao Paulo, Hugh's Room in Toronto or Cabaret Sauvage in Paris. Time to listen to his work and to express an opinion on Live in the Acoustic Asylum.

The guitar playing is of course central to Gomm's oeuvre. He uses different styles and has a slight preference for blues-like compositions, while the rest of the material is mainly situated in the singer-songwriter genre. Stupid Blues is a hectic instrumental in which he illustrates his perfect fingerpicking style, while Gloria (no, not that version!) is adorned with Gomm's silky vocals, a quiet plucked guitar and layered percussion underneath. His guitar sounds very different in What's Left for You?, which is decorated with fragile vocals, while in Afterglow we hear a distorted electric guitar, a composition between jazz and blues. Hey Child gets dark African drums in the intro, humming and grinding patches of acoustic guitar sound afterwards, and develops into a dangerous and nervous rock song with quite a bit of electric guitar noise halfway, dark and overwhelming, then melodious and supple.

In the sensitive Temporary, Gomm's guitar puts beautiful accents by varying the rhythm and the play of light and dark, whereas in the instrumental Orville (The Secret of Learinig to Fly...) he proves that no vocals are needed to tell a consistent story. In the intro to The Weather Machine rock and flamenco meet as if by chance, but the composition is primarily a heavy rock ballad with an attractive and melodious rhythm guitar for the support. High & Dry is an attractive singer-songwriter composition, which we refer to as our favorite alongside Hey Child.

Jon Gomm’s oeuvre is praised by many. David Crosby (CSN) is quoted in the press release, saying: "Wonderful playing and singing,", and Tommy Lee (Motley Crue): "Hands down the most amazing guitarist I have ever seen". "Wonderful to watch. Genius, "says Stephen Fry, and Jon Anderson (Yes): "I love your work and style so much. You are very special”. We stick to: good craftsmanship, perfect guitar playing, beautiful voice, but not enough variety and too few strong melodies.

Track list:
1 Stupid Blues
2 Gloria
3 What's Left For You?
4 Afterglow
5 Hey Child
6 Temporary
7 Orville (The Secret of Learning to Fly is Forgetting to Hit The Ground)
8 The Weather Machine
9 High and Dry

Passionflower video
What’s Left for You?

William LIÉNARD
11/10/2015


NL

De Engelse akoestischegitaarvirtuoos Jon Gomm heeft een aantal van zijn geheime pareltjes en fanfavorieten verzameld op een live-album dat in de Engelse pers op heel wat bijval mag rekenen. Bij ons is hij nog niet zo erg bekend, maar in de rest van de wereld staat hij regelmatig voor uitverkochte concertzalen waardoor hij geen onbekende is in bijv. de Basement in Sydney, de 100 Years Honour Hall in Peking, de 100 Club in London, de Joburg Theatre in Johannesburg, Bourbon Street in Sao Paulo, Hugh’s Room in Toronto of Cabaret Sauvage in Parijs. Tijd dus om naar zijn oeuvre te luisteren en een oordeel uit te spreken over Live in the Accoustic Asylum.

Het gitaarspel staat uiteraard centraal in Gomm’s oeuvre en dat brengt hij met veel variatie en in verschillende stijlen. Hij heeft een lichte voorkeur voor blues-achtige composities, maar de rest van het materiaal situeert zich hoofdzakelijk in het singer-songwritergenre. Stupid Blues is een jachtige instrumental waarin hij vooral zijn perfecte fingerpickingstijl illustreert, terwijl Gloria (nee, niet dié versie!) vooral z’n voordeel doet met Gomm’s zijïge vocals over een rustig getokkelde gitaar met fijnmazige percussie onderaan. Weer heel anders klinkt z’n gitaar in What’s Left for You?, dat versiert wordt met breekbare vocalen, terwijl Afterglow steunt krijgt van een distorted elektrische gitaar en het midden houdt tussen een jazz en blues. Hey Child krijgt donkere Afrikaanse drums in de intro, flarden brommend en schurend akoestischegitaargeluid en ontwikkelt zich vervolgens tot een vervaarlijke en nerveuze rocksong met nogal wat elektrischegitaarnoise halfweg, donker en overrompelend, vervolgens welluidend en soepel.

In het gevoelige Temporary brengt Gomm’s gitaar prachtige accenten aan via het variëren van het ritme en het spel van licht en donker, terwijl hij in de instrumental Orville (The Secret of Learinig to Fly…) bewijst dat je geen vocalen nodig hebt om een consistent verhaal te vertellen. In de intro van The Weather Machine ontmoeten rock en flamenco elkaar als bij toeval, maar de compositie is vooral een stevige rockballade met een aantrekkelijk ritme en een welluiden elektrische gitaar ter ondersteuning. High & Dry sluit het album af als een aantrekkelijke singer-songwriterscompositie die we naast Hey Child als favoriet aanduiden.

De loftuitingen over Jon Gomm zijn niet van de lucht. In de perstekst wordt o.a. David Crosby (CSN) geciteerd. “Wonderful playing and singing”, is zijn reactie, en Tommy Lee (Motley Crue): “Hands down the most amazing guitarist I have ever seen!”. “Wonderful to watch. Genius”, meent Stephen Fry, en Jon Anderson (Yes): “I love your work and style so much. You are very special”. Wij houden het voorlopig op: goed vakwerk, perfect gitaarspel, mooie stem, maar te weinig variatie en nog té weinig sterke melodieën.

William LIÉNARD
11/10/2015


11/10/2015 : JON GOMM - Live in the Acoustic Asylum 11/10/2015 : JON GOMM - Live in the Acoustic Asylum

 

Next reviews
MICHEL SORDINIA (THE NAMES) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
HAND OF DUST • Beneath a Veil
VARIOUS ARTISTS • You Heard It Here First: Rock vol1
SUMMER TWINS • Limbo
TANGLED THOUGHTS OF LEAVING • Yield To Despair
FRANK WEYZIG (BORN FOR BLISS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style
MASSENHYSTERIE • Massenhysterie
LUCERO • All a Man Should Do

 

Same genre: BLUES
THE HEAT INC. • EP
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
JIMMY SWEENEY • Without You
PAUL MCCANN • Widow Maker Blues (Feat. Majella O’Reilly)
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
THE ROADRUNNERS • Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
NATALIA M. KING • Bluezzin t’il Dawn
THIERRY ANSALLEM • Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987
CUTTING CREW • Add To Your Favourites

 

Same genre: JAZZ
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design