tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal

JONATHAN SOBOL

The Art Of The Steal

Movie


[52/100]   

SONY SPHE
20/08/2014, Didier BECU

EN

You never heard this one before? Mind you, if you’re not the all seeing eye then changes are indeed rather small as this heist movie hasn’t even reached the Belgian film theatres. Overseas things weren’t any better as The Art Of The Steal is considered there as one of the biggest flops of the year, even if entertainment wise the movie can compete with The Italian Job or even Ocean’s Eleven.

The central point of the movie is set between brothers Crunch Calhoun (Kurt Russell) and Nicky (Matt Dillon). After being years in a Polish prison, Crunch wants to make the heist of his life. The former stunt driver has designed along with his brother a plan to steal a rare book (the so-called Fifth Gospel that no one has ever seen!). The holy (and worthy) book is stored in a Canadian border house. Everything seems perfect, but no one can be trusted!

As it’s mostly the case in such movies, you better keep your attention going as you’re on a crazy carrousel of betrayal. Sometimes you even will need the repeat function from your remote control (or is just the brains that are getting old?), but in the end all the puzzle pieces fit together! At least if you forget the fact that the whole story is hard to believe!

Director Jonathan Sobol certainly has watched the famous examples from this genre and has understood that these days you better come up with something flashy, so Now You See Me is never that far away!

The cast is made out of old grumpy men, but so what? Dillon and Russell are still excellent actors, and that also counts for supporting actors Jay Baruchel and Terence Stamp.

The Art Of The Steal is surely not a masterpiece, but you can take it at home when you’re just after some nice popcorn cinema.

This heist movie is released by SPHE Benelux on both DVD and Blu-ray. As a bonus you’ll find Doing The Crime (a making of), Getting Away With It (a peep behind the scenes) and also The Theft Of The Mona Lisa. What is the connection between Mona Lisa and The Art Of The Steal? Nah, we won’t tell!

Didier BECU
20/08/2014


NL

Nog nooit deze titel gehoord? Als je geen levende filmencyclopedie bent, dan is dat niet meer dan normaal omdat deze heistfilm in de Benelux niet eens een bioscooprelease haalde. De reden daarvan ligt wellicht in het feit dat deze sympathieke gangsterfilm in de VS één van de grootste flops van het jaar is geworden. In alle eerlijkheid scoort The Art Of The Steal niet bepaald hoog op de originaliteitsladder, maar qua entertainment mag hij gerust concurreren met The Italian Job en zelfs een heel klein beetje met Ocean’s Eleven.

Centraal staat de vreemde verhouding tussen de twee broers Crunch Calhoun (Kurt Russell) en Nicky (Matt Dillon). Na een lang verblijf in een Poolse gevangenis besluit Crunch dat hij nog een keer wil proberen om de kraak van zijn leven te maken. De gewezen stuntrijder bedenkt samen met zijn gladde broer en zijn voormalig team om een zeldzaam boek (een vijfde Evangelie waar niemand weet van heeft!) te stelen uit een grenspost uit Canada. Een perfect plan, maar gaandeweg ontdekt de meesterdief dat niemand te vertrouwen is.

Zoals bij de meeste van dit soort films ben je maar beter anderhalf uur bij de pinken, je zit immers op een knettergekke carrousel van verraad. Je weet wel, niets is wat het lijkt! Soms heb je wel eens de herhaaltoets nodig (of ligt dat gewoon aan mijn ouder wordend brein?), maar de puzzelstukjes vallen na afloop mooi in elkaar, ofschoon het allemaal wat ongeloofwaardig lijkt. Regisseur Jonathan Sobol heeft zeer goed naar de grote voorbeelden gekeken en heeft vooral onthouden dat zo’n soort film maar beter flashy oogt, want jawel: er is meer dan een knipoog naar Now You See Me aanwezig!

De cast bestaat wel uit enkele knarren, maar wat geeft dat? Dillon en Russell zijn nog steedse schitterende acteurs die aardig worden bijgestaan door Jay Baruchel en Terence Stamp.

The Art Of The Steal is zeker geen meesterwerk, maar mag gerust op de salontafel als je niet meer dan een avondje onschuldige popcorncinema wil.

Deze misdaadfilm is uitgebracht op SPHE Benelux, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray. In de bonussectie vind je Doing The Crime (een making of), Getting Away With It (het obligatoire kijkje achter de schermen) en ook nog The Theft Of The Mona Lisa. Wat die Mona Lisa met The Art Of The Steal nu heeft te maken? Dat verklappen we lekker niet!

Didier BECU
20/08/2014


20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal 20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal 20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal 20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal 20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal 20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal 20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal 20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal 20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal 20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal 20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal 20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal 20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal 20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal 20/08/2014 : JONATHAN SOBOL - The Art Of The Steal

Music reviews

02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror
27
07
MILDREDA
I was never really there
26
07
LAIBACH
We Forge The Future. Live At Reina Sofia
23
07
CARNAL MACHINERY
Cluster A
09
07
IMPLANT
Cognitive Dissonance
30
06
SYGO CRIES
End Of A Century

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
08
Alaskan Dark Punk/Death Rock Duo, CLIFF AND IVY Bring The Night With New EP!
02
08
Darkwave/Alternative Band VASELYNE Drops 'Waiting To Exhale' - A Story Of Perseverance
01
08
Industrial Band PANIC LIFT Presents Themed Series & Limited Edition EPs
01
08
This month, 38 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
27
07
The Shamen, Moving Any Mountain since 1991! (30 years!)
27
07
Industrial Band CONTROVERSIAL Drops Visualizer For The Track 'Violence'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...
27
05
BODY DIVIDE
I’m a masochist. I think a lot of people fear it...
20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?

PHOTOS

01
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
01
08
WISBORG
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
25
07
DOGANOV
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
25
07
ENZO KREFT
Mysteria FantasyFair Aarschot
19
07
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
19
07
LEATHER STRIP
Konzertsommer im Revier Revierpark Nienhausen Gelsenkirchen Germany
15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
08
THE SPECTORS
Clyde & Bonnie
02
08
STAKBABBER
Black Pony
01
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
31
07
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray For Us
30
07
VOITH
Monotone Robotronic
29
07
BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA
Diamond Feelings
28
07
DARKHER
Ghost Tears