tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

18/09/2013 : JOSEPH RUBEN - PENTHOUSE NORTH

JOSEPH RUBEN

PENTHOUSE NORTH

Movie
Crime

[60/100]   

A-Film
18/09/2013, Didier BECU

EN

Of course we all known Michael Keaton as the original Batman, but sometimes we tend to forget that he’s also an actor who’s graced with a perfect baddie-face. He used to do this in the past, just think of the nice gem Pacific Heights. Keaton repeats this trick in the latest Joseph Ruben-flick. The victim is one Sara (Michelle Monaghan), who lost her sight while she was doing her job as a photographer in Afghanistan. Three years later the blind woman lives with her boyfriend Ryan in a luxurious apartment, but she knows nothing about the dark past from her lover. He’s not coming from Philadelphia as he claims to be, but was involved in lots of dirty tricks in Miami. When on New Year’s Eve Sara comes home, she finds her boyfriend dead. It soon appears she’s not alone there, as the murderers Chad (Barry Sloane) and Hollander (Michael Keaton) are still around.

Penthouse North is certainly not what you could call a good movie. A bizarre fact if you know that behind the camera’s there’s one Joseph Ruben who made in the past nice blockbusters such as Sleeping With The Enemy or The Forgotten. From time to time you tend to think that you’re watching some cheap tv-thriller which is too predictable. Above all that, Ruben has to face a very poor script that can be written by anyone. The good news nonetheless is that the acting is above the average, and then of course Michael Keaton in particular. Michelle Monaghan whom we know from Gone Baby Gone and Source Code probably deserves better than this. Those who are in for a nice thriller can take this at home. Just don’t think too much, apart from the fact where the popcorn’s lying.

Penthouse North is distributed in the Benelux through A-Film and available in all stores.

 

Didier BECU
18/09/2013


NL

Michael Keaton zullen we ons natuurlijk altijd blijven herinneren als de Batman van Tim Burton, toch is hij ook de geschikte acteur om een boef te vertolken. Dat deed hij in het verleden ook al (denk maar aan Pacific Heights) en ook in deze film van Joseph Ruben zet hij weer zijn beste boeventronie op. Deze keer is het slachtoffer Sara (Michelle Monaghan), een persfotografe die tijdens een missie in Afghanistan in een val werd gelokt en sindsdien blind door het leven moet gaan. Drie jaar later woont de blinde vrouw samen met haar vriendje Ryan in een poepsjieke villa in New York. Wat de vrouw echter niet weet is dat haar verloofde een duister verleden heeft. Zo komt hij niet uit Philadelphia zoals hij beweert, maar heeft hij zich in Miami bezig gehouden met allerlei duistere zaakjes. Als op oudejaarsavond Rachel thuiskomt van een wandeling treft zij haar vriend dood aan in de flat. Al gauw blijkt dat zij niet alleen is, want in haar appartement zitten nog steeds moordenaar Chad (Barry Sloane) en zijn trawant Hollander (Michael Keaton) verschanst.

Penthouse North is zeker geen goede film en dat is toch een beetje vreemd als je weet dat Joseph Ruben achter de camera’s stond, een man die in het verleden toch leuke blockbusters als Sleeping With The Enemy of The Forgotten heeft bedacht. Soms lijkt het er een beetje op alsof je naar een goedkopetv-thriller zit te gapen waarin net iets te veel voorspelbaarheid zit. Bovendien moet Ruben afrekenen met een zeer mager scenario dat eenieder kan verzinnen. Het goede nieuws is evenwel dat er goed geacteerd wordt en dan vooral door Michael Keaton. Michelle Monaghan die we kennen uit Gone Baby Gone en Source Code verdient wellicht beter dan dit. Wie zin heeft in een leuke thriller waarin je niet te veel moet nadenken (behalve waar de popcorn ligt) kan dit lichtgewicht gerust in huis halen.

Penthouse North is uitgebracht door A-Film en ligt nu in de winkels.

Didier BECU
18/09/2013


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
04
XXXYEARXXX years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN
29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)