tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

18/09/2013 : JOSEPH RUBEN - PENTHOUSE NORTH

JOSEPH RUBEN

PENTHOUSE NORTH

Movie
Crime

[60/100]   

A-Film
18/09/2013, Didier BECU

EN

Of course we all known Michael Keaton as the original Batman, but sometimes we tend to forget that he’s also an actor who’s graced with a perfect baddie-face. He used to do this in the past, just think of the nice gem Pacific Heights. Keaton repeats this trick in the latest Joseph Ruben-flick. The victim is one Sara (Michelle Monaghan), who lost her sight while she was doing her job as a photographer in Afghanistan. Three years later the blind woman lives with her boyfriend Ryan in a luxurious apartment, but she knows nothing about the dark past from her lover. He’s not coming from Philadelphia as he claims to be, but was involved in lots of dirty tricks in Miami. When on New Year’s Eve Sara comes home, she finds her boyfriend dead. It soon appears she’s not alone there, as the murderers Chad (Barry Sloane) and Hollander (Michael Keaton) are still around.

Penthouse North is certainly not what you could call a good movie. A bizarre fact if you know that behind the camera’s there’s one Joseph Ruben who made in the past nice blockbusters such as Sleeping With The Enemy or The Forgotten. From time to time you tend to think that you’re watching some cheap tv-thriller which is too predictable. Above all that, Ruben has to face a very poor script that can be written by anyone. The good news nonetheless is that the acting is above the average, and then of course Michael Keaton in particular. Michelle Monaghan whom we know from Gone Baby Gone and Source Code probably deserves better than this. Those who are in for a nice thriller can take this at home. Just don’t think too much, apart from the fact where the popcorn’s lying.

Penthouse North is distributed in the Benelux through A-Film and available in all stores.

 

Didier BECU
18/09/2013


NL

Michael Keaton zullen we ons natuurlijk altijd blijven herinneren als de Batman van Tim Burton, toch is hij ook de geschikte acteur om een boef te vertolken. Dat deed hij in het verleden ook al (denk maar aan Pacific Heights) en ook in deze film van Joseph Ruben zet hij weer zijn beste boeventronie op. Deze keer is het slachtoffer Sara (Michelle Monaghan), een persfotografe die tijdens een missie in Afghanistan in een val werd gelokt en sindsdien blind door het leven moet gaan. Drie jaar later woont de blinde vrouw samen met haar vriendje Ryan in een poepsjieke villa in New York. Wat de vrouw echter niet weet is dat haar verloofde een duister verleden heeft. Zo komt hij niet uit Philadelphia zoals hij beweert, maar heeft hij zich in Miami bezig gehouden met allerlei duistere zaakjes. Als op oudejaarsavond Rachel thuiskomt van een wandeling treft zij haar vriend dood aan in de flat. Al gauw blijkt dat zij niet alleen is, want in haar appartement zitten nog steeds moordenaar Chad (Barry Sloane) en zijn trawant Hollander (Michael Keaton) verschanst.

Penthouse North is zeker geen goede film en dat is toch een beetje vreemd als je weet dat Joseph Ruben achter de camera’s stond, een man die in het verleden toch leuke blockbusters als Sleeping With The Enemy of The Forgotten heeft bedacht. Soms lijkt het er een beetje op alsof je naar een goedkopetv-thriller zit te gapen waarin net iets te veel voorspelbaarheid zit. Bovendien moet Ruben afrekenen met een zeer mager scenario dat eenieder kan verzinnen. Het goede nieuws is evenwel dat er goed geacteerd wordt en dan vooral door Michael Keaton. Michelle Monaghan die we kennen uit Gone Baby Gone en Source Code verdient wellicht beter dan dit. Wie zin heeft in een leuke thriller waarin je niet te veel moet nadenken (behalve waar de popcorn ligt) kan dit lichtgewicht gerust in huis halen.

Penthouse North is uitgebracht door A-Film en ligt nu in de winkels.

Didier BECU
18/09/2013


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines