tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall

JOSEPHN HAHN

Mall

Movie
CrimeDrama

[59/100]   

Splendid Films
13/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Tastes differ, nevertheless I think Linkin Park is one of the worst bands I 've ever heard. Therefore I was scared to start watching Mall, the film debut by of one of their members (Joe Hahn). Mall is more than just a fad, because earlier the musician directed both video clips and short films and composed songs for blockbusters like Transformers, Twilight and Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter. All big names and although Hahn could work with a star cast, Mall appeared directly to the DVD market.

The advertising guys were so smart to make you think that is an action movie, but this film, based upon the book by Eric Bogosians, isn’t, however shameless and violent. What matters to him is to show how people react when a lunatic enters a mall and shoots everyone down. We learn nothing about the motivations of the terrorist (James Frenchville), we simply assume that he is tired of society. Everything is told from the perspective of the confused teenager Jeff (Cameron Monaghan, you might know from the US Shameless-series). The boy has an unhealthy obsession with Steppenwolf (not the band, but the novel by Herman Hesse). His oversexed girlfriend does not understand a word of his philosophizing, housewife Donna (Gina Gershon ) does however and she is looking for a stallion.

Mall is not a bad film, but a rather good one with a lot of shortcomings. Joe Hahn chose a bold approach, but forgot to deepen his characters. That 's a shame because the performances of Gina Gershon and Vincent D'Onofrio (who is also the producers) are of a high standard. The dialogues are mildly offensive, only the packaging is sometimes boring. The director doubts too much between his cinematic talent (he has!) and his reputation with Linkin Park fans who want it all to be hip.

Mall can appeal to both the action lovers and cinephiles, even though the key question is whether it will reach one of these groupes.

Mall is now on Splendid, both on DVD and Blu -ray.

Didier BECU
13/11/2014


NL

Smaken verschillen, desalniettemin vind ik Linkin Park één van de aller slechtste groepen die ik ooit heb gehoord. Het was dan ook bang afwachten toen ik Mall, het filmdebuut van één van hun leden (Joseph Hahn) in de lader schoof. Mall is meer dan zo maar een bevlieging, want eerder regisseerde de muzikant zowel videoclips als kortfilms en componeerde hij muziek voor blockbusters als Transformers, Twilight en Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter. Allemaal klinkende namen en alhoewel Hahn voor zijn film met een sterrencast aan de slag kon gaan, verscheen Mall wereldwijd toch rechtstreeks op de dvd-markt.

De reclamejongens hebben er wel voor gezorgd dat je bij het zien van het hoesje denkt dat het om een hersenloze actiefilm gaat, maar dat is de verfilming van Eric Bogosians geenszins, wel hondsbrutaal en gewelddadig. Waar het hem in deze film om draait is hoe mensen reageren als er in een winkelcentrum een gek binnenstapt die alles en iedereen omver maait. Over de motivaties van de terrorist (James Frencheville) komen we niets te weten, we veronderstellen gewoon dat hij de maatschappij beu is. Alles wordt verteld vanuit het standpunt van de verwarde tiener Jeff (Cameron Monaghan, die je wellicht kent uit de Amerikaanse Shameless-serie). De jongen heeft een ongezonde obsessie voor Steppenwolf (niet de band, wel de roman van Herman Hesse) en begrijpt de wereld om zich heen niet. Zijn oversekst vriendinnetje begrijpt geen snars van zijn gefilosofeer, wie dat wel doet is huisvrouw Donna (Gina Gershon), die gewoon op zoek is naar een hengst.

Mall is zeker geen slechte film, eerder een goede met heel wat tekortkomingen. Joseph Hahn koos voor een gedurfde aanpak, maar vergat wel zijn personages grondig uit te diepen. Dat is jammer, want de vertolkingen van Gina Gershon en Vincent D’Onofrio (die tevens de producer is) zijn van een hoog niveau. Hahn schuwt ook de controverse niet, want de dialogen zijn op zijn zachtst uitgedrukt aanstootgevend, alleen lukt het niet zo met de verpakking ervan. De regisseur twijfelt te veel tussen zijn filmisch kunnen en zijn reputatie bij de Linkin Park-fans als hippe jongen (zo was het bijv. beter om alle onnodige technische snufjes weg te laten).

Een half geslaagde film dus die zowel de actieliefhebber als de cinefiel kan aanspreken, ook al is de hamvraag of Mall één van de twee groepen zal bereiken.

Mall is nu uit op Splendid, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
13/11/2014


13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall

 

Next reviews
ELUVEITIE • Origins
CATHERINE BREILLAT • Romance
INCITE • Light Spin
DANY BOON • Supercondriaque
RINGEL-S, THE KLINIK AND THE NEON JUDGEMENT • De Casino, St.-Niklaas 8/11/2014
DAVID MICHOD • The Rover
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN • Diksmuide, Belgium (08/11/14)
MATTHEW WARCHUS • Pride
CHRISTOPHER NOLAN • Interstellar
ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD • Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014)

 

Same combination of genres: CRIME + DRAMA
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators
CRAIG ZOBEL • COMPLIANCE
GEORGE SLUIZER • Spoorloos
• THE MISSING
PIETER VAN HEES • Waste Land
ANDREJY ZVYAGINTSEV • Leviathan
DAVID MACKENZIE • Starred Up
ATOM EGOYAN • The Captive (FilmFest Ghent 2014)
MARTIN WEISZ • Squatters
SEAN ELLIS • Metro Manila

 

Same genre: CRIME
ANDREA DI STEFANO • Escobar: Paradise Lost
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
ANDRE VAN DUREN • De Bende Van Oss
RICHARD BROOKS • IN COLD BLOOD
DAVID BRADLEY • Harry Brown
PHIL JOANOU • State Of Grace
SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER • Victoria
PAUL THOMAS ANDERSON • Inherent Vice
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
MICHAEL MANN • Blackhat

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression

Music reviews

20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom