tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall

JOSEPHN HAHN

Mall

Movie
CrimeDrama

[59/100]   

Splendid Films
13/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Tastes differ, nevertheless I think Linkin Park is one of the worst bands I 've ever heard. Therefore I was scared to start watching Mall, the film debut by of one of their members (Joe Hahn). Mall is more than just a fad, because earlier the musician directed both video clips and short films and composed songs for blockbusters like Transformers, Twilight and Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter. All big names and although Hahn could work with a star cast, Mall appeared directly to the DVD market.

The advertising guys were so smart to make you think that is an action movie, but this film, based upon the book by Eric Bogosians, isn’t, however shameless and violent. What matters to him is to show how people react when a lunatic enters a mall and shoots everyone down. We learn nothing about the motivations of the terrorist (James Frenchville), we simply assume that he is tired of society. Everything is told from the perspective of the confused teenager Jeff (Cameron Monaghan, you might know from the US Shameless-series). The boy has an unhealthy obsession with Steppenwolf (not the band, but the novel by Herman Hesse). His oversexed girlfriend does not understand a word of his philosophizing, housewife Donna (Gina Gershon ) does however and she is looking for a stallion.

Mall is not a bad film, but a rather good one with a lot of shortcomings. Joe Hahn chose a bold approach, but forgot to deepen his characters. That 's a shame because the performances of Gina Gershon and Vincent D'Onofrio (who is also the producers) are of a high standard. The dialogues are mildly offensive, only the packaging is sometimes boring. The director doubts too much between his cinematic talent (he has!) and his reputation with Linkin Park fans who want it all to be hip.

Mall can appeal to both the action lovers and cinephiles, even though the key question is whether it will reach one of these groupes.

Mall is now on Splendid, both on DVD and Blu -ray.

Didier BECU
13/11/2014


NL

Smaken verschillen, desalniettemin vind ik Linkin Park één van de aller slechtste groepen die ik ooit heb gehoord. Het was dan ook bang afwachten toen ik Mall, het filmdebuut van één van hun leden (Joseph Hahn) in de lader schoof. Mall is meer dan zo maar een bevlieging, want eerder regisseerde de muzikant zowel videoclips als kortfilms en componeerde hij muziek voor blockbusters als Transformers, Twilight en Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter. Allemaal klinkende namen en alhoewel Hahn voor zijn film met een sterrencast aan de slag kon gaan, verscheen Mall wereldwijd toch rechtstreeks op de dvd-markt.

De reclamejongens hebben er wel voor gezorgd dat je bij het zien van het hoesje denkt dat het om een hersenloze actiefilm gaat, maar dat is de verfilming van Eric Bogosians geenszins, wel hondsbrutaal en gewelddadig. Waar het hem in deze film om draait is hoe mensen reageren als er in een winkelcentrum een gek binnenstapt die alles en iedereen omver maait. Over de motivaties van de terrorist (James Frencheville) komen we niets te weten, we veronderstellen gewoon dat hij de maatschappij beu is. Alles wordt verteld vanuit het standpunt van de verwarde tiener Jeff (Cameron Monaghan, die je wellicht kent uit de Amerikaanse Shameless-serie). De jongen heeft een ongezonde obsessie voor Steppenwolf (niet de band, wel de roman van Herman Hesse) en begrijpt de wereld om zich heen niet. Zijn oversekst vriendinnetje begrijpt geen snars van zijn gefilosofeer, wie dat wel doet is huisvrouw Donna (Gina Gershon), die gewoon op zoek is naar een hengst.

Mall is zeker geen slechte film, eerder een goede met heel wat tekortkomingen. Joseph Hahn koos voor een gedurfde aanpak, maar vergat wel zijn personages grondig uit te diepen. Dat is jammer, want de vertolkingen van Gina Gershon en Vincent D’Onofrio (die tevens de producer is) zijn van een hoog niveau. Hahn schuwt ook de controverse niet, want de dialogen zijn op zijn zachtst uitgedrukt aanstootgevend, alleen lukt het niet zo met de verpakking ervan. De regisseur twijfelt te veel tussen zijn filmisch kunnen en zijn reputatie bij de Linkin Park-fans als hippe jongen (zo was het bijv. beter om alle onnodige technische snufjes weg te laten).

Een half geslaagde film dus die zowel de actieliefhebber als de cinefiel kan aanspreken, ook al is de hamvraag of Mall één van de twee groepen zal bereiken.

Mall is nu uit op Splendid, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
13/11/2014


13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall

 

Next reviews
ELUVEITIE • Origins
CATHERINE BREILLAT • Romance
INCITE • Light Spin
DANY BOON • Supercondriaque
RINGEL-S, THE KLINIK AND THE NEON JUDGEMENT • De Casino, St.-Niklaas 8/11/2014
DAVID MICHOD • The Rover
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN • Diksmuide, Belgium (08/11/14)
MATTHEW WARCHUS • Pride
CHRISTOPHER NOLAN • Interstellar
ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD • Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014)

 

Same combination of genres: CRIME + DRAMA
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators
CRAIG ZOBEL • COMPLIANCE
GEORGE SLUIZER • Spoorloos
• THE MISSING
PIETER VAN HEES • Waste Land
ANDREJY ZVYAGINTSEV • Leviathan
DAVID MACKENZIE • Starred Up
ATOM EGOYAN • The Captive (FilmFest Ghent 2014)
MARTIN WEISZ • Squatters
SEAN ELLIS • Metro Manila

 

Same genre: CRIME
ANDREA DI STEFANO • Escobar: Paradise Lost
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
ANDRE VAN DUREN • De Bende Van Oss
RICHARD BROOKS • IN COLD BLOOD
DAVID BRADLEY • Harry Brown
PHIL JOANOU • State Of Grace
SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER • Victoria
PAUL THOMAS ANDERSON • Inherent Vice
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
MICHAEL MANN • Blackhat

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)