tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall

JOSEPHN HAHN

Mall

Movie
CrimeDrama

[59/100]   

Splendid Films
13/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Tastes differ, nevertheless I think Linkin Park is one of the worst bands I 've ever heard. Therefore I was scared to start watching Mall, the film debut by of one of their members (Joe Hahn). Mall is more than just a fad, because earlier the musician directed both video clips and short films and composed songs for blockbusters like Transformers, Twilight and Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter. All big names and although Hahn could work with a star cast, Mall appeared directly to the DVD market.

The advertising guys were so smart to make you think that is an action movie, but this film, based upon the book by Eric Bogosians, isn’t, however shameless and violent. What matters to him is to show how people react when a lunatic enters a mall and shoots everyone down. We learn nothing about the motivations of the terrorist (James Frenchville), we simply assume that he is tired of society. Everything is told from the perspective of the confused teenager Jeff (Cameron Monaghan, you might know from the US Shameless-series). The boy has an unhealthy obsession with Steppenwolf (not the band, but the novel by Herman Hesse). His oversexed girlfriend does not understand a word of his philosophizing, housewife Donna (Gina Gershon ) does however and she is looking for a stallion.

Mall is not a bad film, but a rather good one with a lot of shortcomings. Joe Hahn chose a bold approach, but forgot to deepen his characters. That 's a shame because the performances of Gina Gershon and Vincent D'Onofrio (who is also the producers) are of a high standard. The dialogues are mildly offensive, only the packaging is sometimes boring. The director doubts too much between his cinematic talent (he has!) and his reputation with Linkin Park fans who want it all to be hip.

Mall can appeal to both the action lovers and cinephiles, even though the key question is whether it will reach one of these groupes.

Mall is now on Splendid, both on DVD and Blu -ray.

Didier BECU
13/11/2014


NL

Smaken verschillen, desalniettemin vind ik Linkin Park één van de aller slechtste groepen die ik ooit heb gehoord. Het was dan ook bang afwachten toen ik Mall, het filmdebuut van één van hun leden (Joseph Hahn) in de lader schoof. Mall is meer dan zo maar een bevlieging, want eerder regisseerde de muzikant zowel videoclips als kortfilms en componeerde hij muziek voor blockbusters als Transformers, Twilight en Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter. Allemaal klinkende namen en alhoewel Hahn voor zijn film met een sterrencast aan de slag kon gaan, verscheen Mall wereldwijd toch rechtstreeks op de dvd-markt.

De reclamejongens hebben er wel voor gezorgd dat je bij het zien van het hoesje denkt dat het om een hersenloze actiefilm gaat, maar dat is de verfilming van Eric Bogosians geenszins, wel hondsbrutaal en gewelddadig. Waar het hem in deze film om draait is hoe mensen reageren als er in een winkelcentrum een gek binnenstapt die alles en iedereen omver maait. Over de motivaties van de terrorist (James Frencheville) komen we niets te weten, we veronderstellen gewoon dat hij de maatschappij beu is. Alles wordt verteld vanuit het standpunt van de verwarde tiener Jeff (Cameron Monaghan, die je wellicht kent uit de Amerikaanse Shameless-serie). De jongen heeft een ongezonde obsessie voor Steppenwolf (niet de band, wel de roman van Herman Hesse) en begrijpt de wereld om zich heen niet. Zijn oversekst vriendinnetje begrijpt geen snars van zijn gefilosofeer, wie dat wel doet is huisvrouw Donna (Gina Gershon), die gewoon op zoek is naar een hengst.

Mall is zeker geen slechte film, eerder een goede met heel wat tekortkomingen. Joseph Hahn koos voor een gedurfde aanpak, maar vergat wel zijn personages grondig uit te diepen. Dat is jammer, want de vertolkingen van Gina Gershon en Vincent D’Onofrio (die tevens de producer is) zijn van een hoog niveau. Hahn schuwt ook de controverse niet, want de dialogen zijn op zijn zachtst uitgedrukt aanstootgevend, alleen lukt het niet zo met de verpakking ervan. De regisseur twijfelt te veel tussen zijn filmisch kunnen en zijn reputatie bij de Linkin Park-fans als hippe jongen (zo was het bijv. beter om alle onnodige technische snufjes weg te laten).

Een half geslaagde film dus die zowel de actieliefhebber als de cinefiel kan aanspreken, ook al is de hamvraag of Mall één van de twee groepen zal bereiken.

Mall is nu uit op Splendid, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
13/11/2014


13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall

 

Next reviews
ELUVEITIE • Origins
CATHERINE BREILLAT • Romance
INCITE • Light Spin
DANY BOON • Supercondriaque
RINGEL-S, THE KLINIK AND THE NEON JUDGEMENT • De Casino, St.-Niklaas 8/11/2014
DAVID MICHOD • The Rover
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN • Diksmuide, Belgium (08/11/14)
MATTHEW WARCHUS • Pride
CHRISTOPHER NOLAN • Interstellar
ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD • Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014)

 

Same combination of genres: CRIME + DRAMA
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators
CRAIG ZOBEL • COMPLIANCE
GEORGE SLUIZER • Spoorloos
• THE MISSING
PIETER VAN HEES • Waste Land
ANDREJY ZVYAGINTSEV • Leviathan
DAVID MACKENZIE • Starred Up
ATOM EGOYAN • The Captive (FilmFest Ghent 2014)
MARTIN WEISZ • Squatters
SEAN ELLIS • Metro Manila

 

Same genre: CRIME
ANDREA DI STEFANO • Escobar: Paradise Lost
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
ANDRE VAN DUREN • De Bende Van Oss
RICHARD BROOKS • IN COLD BLOOD
DAVID BRADLEY • Harry Brown
PHIL JOANOU • State Of Grace
SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER • Victoria
PAUL THOMAS ANDERSON • Inherent Vice
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
MICHAEL MANN • Blackhat

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression

Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
COMBICHRIST
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
SOLAR FAKE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets