tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall

JOSEPHN HAHN

Mall

Movie
CrimeDrama

[59/100]   

Splendid Films
13/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Tastes differ, nevertheless I think Linkin Park is one of the worst bands I 've ever heard. Therefore I was scared to start watching Mall, the film debut by of one of their members (Joe Hahn). Mall is more than just a fad, because earlier the musician directed both video clips and short films and composed songs for blockbusters like Transformers, Twilight and Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter. All big names and although Hahn could work with a star cast, Mall appeared directly to the DVD market.

The advertising guys were so smart to make you think that is an action movie, but this film, based upon the book by Eric Bogosians, isn’t, however shameless and violent. What matters to him is to show how people react when a lunatic enters a mall and shoots everyone down. We learn nothing about the motivations of the terrorist (James Frenchville), we simply assume that he is tired of society. Everything is told from the perspective of the confused teenager Jeff (Cameron Monaghan, you might know from the US Shameless-series). The boy has an unhealthy obsession with Steppenwolf (not the band, but the novel by Herman Hesse). His oversexed girlfriend does not understand a word of his philosophizing, housewife Donna (Gina Gershon ) does however and she is looking for a stallion.

Mall is not a bad film, but a rather good one with a lot of shortcomings. Joe Hahn chose a bold approach, but forgot to deepen his characters. That 's a shame because the performances of Gina Gershon and Vincent D'Onofrio (who is also the producers) are of a high standard. The dialogues are mildly offensive, only the packaging is sometimes boring. The director doubts too much between his cinematic talent (he has!) and his reputation with Linkin Park fans who want it all to be hip.

Mall can appeal to both the action lovers and cinephiles, even though the key question is whether it will reach one of these groupes.

Mall is now on Splendid, both on DVD and Blu -ray.

Didier BECU
13/11/2014


NL

Smaken verschillen, desalniettemin vind ik Linkin Park één van de aller slechtste groepen die ik ooit heb gehoord. Het was dan ook bang afwachten toen ik Mall, het filmdebuut van één van hun leden (Joseph Hahn) in de lader schoof. Mall is meer dan zo maar een bevlieging, want eerder regisseerde de muzikant zowel videoclips als kortfilms en componeerde hij muziek voor blockbusters als Transformers, Twilight en Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter. Allemaal klinkende namen en alhoewel Hahn voor zijn film met een sterrencast aan de slag kon gaan, verscheen Mall wereldwijd toch rechtstreeks op de dvd-markt.

De reclamejongens hebben er wel voor gezorgd dat je bij het zien van het hoesje denkt dat het om een hersenloze actiefilm gaat, maar dat is de verfilming van Eric Bogosians geenszins, wel hondsbrutaal en gewelddadig. Waar het hem in deze film om draait is hoe mensen reageren als er in een winkelcentrum een gek binnenstapt die alles en iedereen omver maait. Over de motivaties van de terrorist (James Frencheville) komen we niets te weten, we veronderstellen gewoon dat hij de maatschappij beu is. Alles wordt verteld vanuit het standpunt van de verwarde tiener Jeff (Cameron Monaghan, die je wellicht kent uit de Amerikaanse Shameless-serie). De jongen heeft een ongezonde obsessie voor Steppenwolf (niet de band, wel de roman van Herman Hesse) en begrijpt de wereld om zich heen niet. Zijn oversekst vriendinnetje begrijpt geen snars van zijn gefilosofeer, wie dat wel doet is huisvrouw Donna (Gina Gershon), die gewoon op zoek is naar een hengst.

Mall is zeker geen slechte film, eerder een goede met heel wat tekortkomingen. Joseph Hahn koos voor een gedurfde aanpak, maar vergat wel zijn personages grondig uit te diepen. Dat is jammer, want de vertolkingen van Gina Gershon en Vincent D’Onofrio (die tevens de producer is) zijn van een hoog niveau. Hahn schuwt ook de controverse niet, want de dialogen zijn op zijn zachtst uitgedrukt aanstootgevend, alleen lukt het niet zo met de verpakking ervan. De regisseur twijfelt te veel tussen zijn filmisch kunnen en zijn reputatie bij de Linkin Park-fans als hippe jongen (zo was het bijv. beter om alle onnodige technische snufjes weg te laten).

Een half geslaagde film dus die zowel de actieliefhebber als de cinefiel kan aanspreken, ook al is de hamvraag of Mall één van de twee groepen zal bereiken.

Mall is nu uit op Splendid, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
13/11/2014


13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall 13/11/2014 : JOSEPHN HAHN - Mall

 

Next reviews
ELUVEITIE • Origins
CATHERINE BREILLAT • Romance
INCITE • Light Spin
DANY BOON • Supercondriaque
RINGEL-S, THE KLINIK AND THE NEON JUDGEMENT • De Casino, St.-Niklaas 8/11/2014
DAVID MICHOD • The Rover
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN • Diksmuide, Belgium (08/11/14)
MATTHEW WARCHUS • Pride
CHRISTOPHER NOLAN • Interstellar
ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD • Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014)

 

Same combination of genres: CRIME + DRAMA
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators
CRAIG ZOBEL • COMPLIANCE
GEORGE SLUIZER • Spoorloos
• THE MISSING
PIETER VAN HEES • Waste Land
ANDREJY ZVYAGINTSEV • Leviathan
DAVID MACKENZIE • Starred Up
ATOM EGOYAN • The Captive (FilmFest Ghent 2014)
MARTIN WEISZ • Squatters
SEAN ELLIS • Metro Manila

 

Same genre: CRIME
ANDREA DI STEFANO • Escobar: Paradise Lost
RAYMOND DE FELITTA • Rob The Mob
ANDRE VAN DUREN • De Bende Van Oss
RICHARD BROOKS • IN COLD BLOOD
DAVID BRADLEY • Harry Brown
PHIL JOANOU • State Of Grace
SEBASTIAN SCHIPPER • Victoria
PAUL THOMAS ANDERSON • Inherent Vice
• MAJOR CRIMES SEASON 2
MICHAEL MANN • Blackhat

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression

Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela