tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

18/03/2014 : JOSH STOLBERG - The hungover games

JOSH STOLBERG

The hungover games

Movie
Comedy

[30/100]   

SONY SPHE
18/03/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Do you also no longer care if a parody hits the screen? Or no, today you’re supposed to use the word “spoof” if you want to describe the genre that’s been created by Jim Abrahams, David and Jerry Zucker. Airplane! was (and is) a funny ride, and if you set your standards not too high, you can say the same about those first Scary Movie-movies. Today, this genre seems to be completely dead and the newest productions don’t even make it to the theatres and it looks like even the DVD-market isn’t keen on them.


You don’t have to be a genius to guess that The Hungover Games is based upon both The Hangover and The Hunger Games. Wait a minute, didn’t we have this seen already in The Starving Games from Jason Friedberg and Aaron Seltzer? Yes indeed, but Josh Stolberg who was responsible for things like Piranha 3D and Piranha 3DD (!) thought it’d be a good idea to add some drunks and a horny teddy bear to this franchise.


Let’s be honest about it. You don’t watch a movie like The Hungover Games because you’re in need of cinematographic art, and if you do then we’ll pity you! Nah, you wanna see a picture as such because you’re longing for some good jokes. Unfortunately you won’t find any during 80 minutes. We’re not going to tell the story (some drunks discover that they’ve been part of The Hungover Games the night before). We better not say anything about the performances either, except maybe that we were quite happy to notice that the presence from non-talent Tara Reid is short.

The most painful thing about this release is probably the fact that The Hungover Games misses its target audience, and saying that they’re not asking for much! Those who want to torture themselves will be pleased to know that The Hungover Games is available on DVD on Sony.

Didier BECU
18/03/2014

)

NL

Haalt u tegenwoordig ook de schouders op als zo’n parodie alweer de revue passeert? Of neen, tegenwoordig moet je het woord “spoof” gebruiken als je het over het genre hebt dat in de wereld door Jim Abrahams, David en Jerry Zucker werd geroepen. Airplane! was (en is) inderdaad grappig en mits wat goede wil kun je dat ook over pakweg de eerste Scary Movie-films zeggen. Dat is vandaag met de nieuwste producties niet meer het geval. Dit genre is morsdood en de huidige producties slagen er niet eens in om een plaatsje in de bioscoop te veroveren, en ook de dvd-markt staat niet bepaald te juichen om deze misbaksels met open armen te ontvangen.


Je moet echt geen genie zijn om te raden dat The Hungover Games een spoof is (ja, we gaan vanaf nu dat woord gebruiken!) die op The Hangover en The Hunger Games is gebaseerd. Wacht eens, hebben we dat een paar maanden geleden al niet eerder met The Starving Games van Jason Friedberg en Aaron Seltzer gehad? Inderdaad beste filmkenner, maar Josh Stolberg (verantwoordelijk voor ondingen als Piranha 3D en, dat bestaat ook!, Piranha 3DD) doet er nog een schepje bovenop door er wat zatlappen en een geile teddybeer bij te gooien.


Laat ons eerlijk en wel wezen. Van een film als The Hungover Games verwachten we helemaal geen cinematografische kunst. Wie dat wel doet, is gewoon van lotje getikt. Neen, zo’n prent schuif je in de lader omdat je op zoek bent naar een paar geslaagde grappen. 80 minuten die je leven wat aangenamer maken, maar daar slaagt The Hungover Games geenszins in. Over het verhaal gaan we het echt niet hebben (een paar dronkenlappen komen tot de vaststelling dat ze de avond daarvoor aan de beruchte Hungover Games hebben deelgenomen), en ook over de cast zwijgen we maar best in alle talen. Ofschoon we zeer tevreden zijn dat de verschijning van het non-talent Tara Reid uiterst kort is.


Het pijnlijkste van deze release is wellicht dat de makers zelfs met The Hungover Games hun doelgroep hebben gemist, en die waren al niet echt veeleisend! Wie toch zin heeft om zich anderhalf uur te folteren kan The Hungover Games op dvd aanschaffen, want die is nu via Sony uit.

Didier BECU
18/03/2014

)

18/03/2014 : JOSH STOLBERG - The hungover games 18/03/2014 : JOSH STOLBERG - The hungover games 18/03/2014 : JOSH STOLBERG - The hungover games 18/03/2014 : JOSH STOLBERG - The hungover games 18/03/2014 : JOSH STOLBERG - The hungover games 18/03/2014 : JOSH STOLBERG - The hungover games 18/03/2014 : JOSH STOLBERG - The hungover games 18/03/2014 : JOSH STOLBERG - The hungover games 18/03/2014 : JOSH STOLBERG - The hungover games 18/03/2014 : JOSH STOLBERG - The hungover games 18/03/2014 : JOSH STOLBERG - The hungover games 18/03/2014 : JOSH STOLBERG - The hungover games 18/03/2014 : JOSH STOLBERG - The hungover games

Music reviews

17
05
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL
Burn
12
05
NUOVO TESTAMENTO
New Earth
11
05
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN
Dangerous Isolation Site
07
05
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX
Ellengæng
06
05
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE
Classic Chevrolet
05
05
PESCH
Melba

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
MORTIIS Reveals 'Transmissions From The Western Walls Of Time'
15
05
On this day, 31 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 24 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
11
05
Today it’s been 34 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
10
05
Dead Can Dance's Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell release outstanding 'Burn' LP.
08
05
41 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
16
05
LEBANON HANOVER
Alien
15
05
THE ARCH
Dark Room
14
05
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
13
05
BULLET HEIGHT
Hold Together
12
05
GERTRUD STEIN
U-bahn
11
05
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
Downpour