tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs

JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN

Jobs

Movie
Biography

[65/100]   

Entertainment One
03/01/2014, Didier BECU

EN

There are things I will never understand. The list is far too long to mention, but take just for example the filmversion of the biography from Apple-chief Steve Jobs. Don’t get me wrong, I usually start puking when I hear the name of Ashton Kutcher. Perhaps it’s just because he shared his bed with 80’s-Babe Demi Moore, but then again he’s not exactly the best actor either. Having said that, his performance as Steve Jobs is not immaculate, but not bad either! And you certainly can’t say he hasn’t tried to give it all as for excample he ate just like Jobs only fruit which resulted in him landingup in a hospital! And what about that other movie? OK, it’s true that The Social Network about that other genius (Mark Zuckerberg) is indeed better. But once again, Jobs isn’t that bad. It’s even a good movie, even for those who don’t know the difference between hard- or software.

The sole thing we really regret is that the directing is done by Joshua Michael Stern. This man really avoids any challenge. There are so many things you can say about Jobs: his impossible character, the fact that he never acknowledged the existence of his own daughter, his relation with Bill Gates, Pixar…. Stern mentions this, but it’s only a footnote, he rather pays attention to his boring hippietime. Luckily enough there are some positive things to tell as well. For instance the excellent roles: Matthew Modine as a shrewd commercial boy, Josh Gad as Steve Wozniak (Jobs right hand) and as said before, surprisingly enough Kutcher himself, even if he stays one of the worst actors in Hollywood.

Maybe in the end Jobs deserves better than this, but still we keep on saying that you better give this movie a chance. You even can see Kutcher in a decent role!

Jobs is out on DVD and Blu-ray on Entertainment One.

Didier BECU
03/01/2014


NL

Sommige dingen zal een mens wellicht nooit begrijpen. Het lijstje is jammer genoeg veel te lang om op te sommen, neem nou gewoon bijv. de verfilming van de biografie van Apple-baas Steve Jobs. Neen, ik geef het ruiterlijk toe dat ik naar het kotszakje grijp als ik de naam Ashton Kutcher hoor vallen. We zullen het hem wellicht nooit vergeven dat hij het bed mocht delen met 80’s-Babe Demi Moore, maar zijn vertolking van (zeg maar) de uitvinder van de moderne computer is bijna vlekkeloos. Hij deed zelfs zo erg zijn best dat hij net als de echte Jobs alleen maar fruit wou eten waardoor Kutcher pardoes in het ziekenhuis belandde. En wat die andere film betreft... Wel neen, The Social Network over dat ander informaticagenie (Mark Zuckerberg) is heel wat beter. Toch mag ook Jobs er best wezen, zelfs al ken je het onderscheid niet tussen hard- of software.

Het is jammer dat de regie in de handen van Joshua Michael Stern terecht kwam, want de maker van het Kevin Costner-vehikel Swing Vote schuwt elke uitdaging. Over de man Jobs valt er immers zo veel te vertellen: zijn onmogelijke karakter, het feit dat hij zijn bloedeigen dochter niet wilde erkennen, zijn verzuurde relatie met concurrent Bill Gates, Pixar…. Op het laatste na vermeldt Stern dat wel allemaal eventjes terloops, maar hij gaat er nooit dieper op in. Gelukkig zijn er wel de knappe rollen: Matthew Modine als gehaaide reclamejongen, J.K. Simmons als onwrikbare manager, Josh Gad als Steve Wozniak (de rechterhand van Jobs) en verrassend genoeg Kutcher zelf, ook al blijft hij toch één van de zwakste acteurs die in de straten van Hollywood rondloopt.

Ofschoon Stern veel te lang stilstaat bij de hippieperiode van Jobs, is deze biografie interessant voor de leek die weinig of niets over dit icoon afweet. Misschien verdient de uitvinder van de I-pod uiteindelijk heel wat beter dan deze film, toch kun je Jobs gerust een kans gunnen. Al was het maar om Kutcher eindelijk eens iets goeds te zien doen!

Jobs is zowel op dvd als Blu-ray uit, en dit door Entertainment One.

Didier BECU
03/01/2014


03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs

Music reviews

27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water
19
11
STAATSEINDE
Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
18
11
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
12
51 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
30
11
Darkwave Band, TIGERCIDE Brings Chaos & Harmony To Their Single, 'I Of Tiger'
29
11
MIRLAND releases first full album since 2017
28
11
IAMNOONE releases 'Dead Season'
28
11
Today it's exactly 41 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
MESH prepares an extended live-box for their fans!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
12
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
30
11
DIE WARZAU
Strike To The Body
30
11
PUSCIFER
Grand Canyon
30
11
THE KLINIK
White Trash (Inside Out Remix)
29
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
Control Freak
28
11
PORTION CONTROL
Still (Short-range missive from SEEDEP3)
27
11
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)