tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs

JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN

Jobs

Movie
Biography

[65/100]   

Entertainment One
03/01/2014, Didier BECU

EN

There are things I will never understand. The list is far too long to mention, but take just for example the filmversion of the biography from Apple-chief Steve Jobs. Don’t get me wrong, I usually start puking when I hear the name of Ashton Kutcher. Perhaps it’s just because he shared his bed with 80’s-Babe Demi Moore, but then again he’s not exactly the best actor either. Having said that, his performance as Steve Jobs is not immaculate, but not bad either! And you certainly can’t say he hasn’t tried to give it all as for excample he ate just like Jobs only fruit which resulted in him landingup in a hospital! And what about that other movie? OK, it’s true that The Social Network about that other genius (Mark Zuckerberg) is indeed better. But once again, Jobs isn’t that bad. It’s even a good movie, even for those who don’t know the difference between hard- or software.

The sole thing we really regret is that the directing is done by Joshua Michael Stern. This man really avoids any challenge. There are so many things you can say about Jobs: his impossible character, the fact that he never acknowledged the existence of his own daughter, his relation with Bill Gates, Pixar…. Stern mentions this, but it’s only a footnote, he rather pays attention to his boring hippietime. Luckily enough there are some positive things to tell as well. For instance the excellent roles: Matthew Modine as a shrewd commercial boy, Josh Gad as Steve Wozniak (Jobs right hand) and as said before, surprisingly enough Kutcher himself, even if he stays one of the worst actors in Hollywood.

Maybe in the end Jobs deserves better than this, but still we keep on saying that you better give this movie a chance. You even can see Kutcher in a decent role!

Jobs is out on DVD and Blu-ray on Entertainment One.

Didier BECU
03/01/2014


NL

Sommige dingen zal een mens wellicht nooit begrijpen. Het lijstje is jammer genoeg veel te lang om op te sommen, neem nou gewoon bijv. de verfilming van de biografie van Apple-baas Steve Jobs. Neen, ik geef het ruiterlijk toe dat ik naar het kotszakje grijp als ik de naam Ashton Kutcher hoor vallen. We zullen het hem wellicht nooit vergeven dat hij het bed mocht delen met 80’s-Babe Demi Moore, maar zijn vertolking van (zeg maar) de uitvinder van de moderne computer is bijna vlekkeloos. Hij deed zelfs zo erg zijn best dat hij net als de echte Jobs alleen maar fruit wou eten waardoor Kutcher pardoes in het ziekenhuis belandde. En wat die andere film betreft... Wel neen, The Social Network over dat ander informaticagenie (Mark Zuckerberg) is heel wat beter. Toch mag ook Jobs er best wezen, zelfs al ken je het onderscheid niet tussen hard- of software.

Het is jammer dat de regie in de handen van Joshua Michael Stern terecht kwam, want de maker van het Kevin Costner-vehikel Swing Vote schuwt elke uitdaging. Over de man Jobs valt er immers zo veel te vertellen: zijn onmogelijke karakter, het feit dat hij zijn bloedeigen dochter niet wilde erkennen, zijn verzuurde relatie met concurrent Bill Gates, Pixar…. Op het laatste na vermeldt Stern dat wel allemaal eventjes terloops, maar hij gaat er nooit dieper op in. Gelukkig zijn er wel de knappe rollen: Matthew Modine als gehaaide reclamejongen, J.K. Simmons als onwrikbare manager, Josh Gad als Steve Wozniak (de rechterhand van Jobs) en verrassend genoeg Kutcher zelf, ook al blijft hij toch één van de zwakste acteurs die in de straten van Hollywood rondloopt.

Ofschoon Stern veel te lang stilstaat bij de hippieperiode van Jobs, is deze biografie interessant voor de leek die weinig of niets over dit icoon afweet. Misschien verdient de uitvinder van de I-pod uiteindelijk heel wat beter dan deze film, toch kun je Jobs gerust een kans gunnen. Al was het maar om Kutcher eindelijk eens iets goeds te zien doen!

Jobs is zowel op dvd als Blu-ray uit, en dit door Entertainment One.

Didier BECU
03/01/2014


03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs 03/01/2014 : JOSHUA MICHAEL STERN - Jobs

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing