tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/12/2016 : K-X-P (+ WHISPERING SONS) - Opwijk, JH Nijdrop (13/04/2016)

K-X-P (+ WHISPERING SONS)

Opwijk, JH Nijdrop (13/04/2016)

Concert
09/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Usually, a music fan goes to a concert to see the main act and he hopes to discover a nice supporting act. Yesterday it was the other way around. I visited the Nijdrop venue to see Whispering Sons, but the to me totally unknown main act K-X-P turned out to be a discovery as well.

I already was convinced by the debut album Endless Party, but now Whispering Sons has convinced me on stage as well. The nice thing about the Endless Party LP is the free bonus CD with three tracks from the first demo on top of the six Endless Party tracks. These songs aren't indispensable. They can't compete with those on the actual release, but it's interesting to hear how much progress the young band made. And Whispering Sons keeps on growing. The new songs they played serve as evidence.

The Limburg-based band opened the set with Shadow and Midlife, indeed the opening tracks of the debut album. I heard a confident band right from the start. This is how the party ends, Fenne sang in Midlife, but this party just started. Both the band and the public were ready to give it all!

I can't shake them off, Fenne Kuppens sang in Performance. She was actually trying to shake of her demons. I like the way she moves, as if she's the female reincarnation of Ian Curtis. Nice to see how this young frontwoman is fully absorbed by the lyrics and the music. Such an intense performance.

Break On Through (The Other Side), indeed the song of The Doors, is fully adapted by Whispering Sons. Then two new tracks followed. White Noise and Strange Identities both sound promising. I am already looking forward to a future release and I'm sure I'm not the only one, judging the spectators' reactions

Whispering Sons closed the set with Wall (with those delightfully melodic guitar lines) and the intense Insights. Fantastic to see how much self-confidence these modest youngsters have once they are on stage. Stunning!

The Finish main act K-X-P turned out to be a quite surprising band. Hidden behind their monkshood and lots of smoke, the three musicians played a sort of krautrock. Many spectators moved along on the eclectic electronic rock music which was very rythmic. After all the Helsinki trio consists of 2 drummers.

K-X-P conquered the public with its unique sound. Sometimes sinister, but often inviting, sometimes dreamy, but mostly danceable, psychedelic, even hypnotic. The guitar was varied too. Straight forward rock, post rock, old school hard rock. Very groovy. As soon as the gig was finished, I ran to the merchandising stand as I wanted their album for my CD collection.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


NL

Doorgaans gaat een muziekfan naar de hoofdact kijken en hoopt hij in het voorprogramma een leuke band te ontdekken. Gisteren was het echter de omgekeerde wereld. Ik begaf mij op pad om Whispering Sons te zien en de hoofdact, het mij volkomen onbekende K-X-P, bleek een heuse ontdekking te zijn.

De winnaars van Humo's Rock Rally hadden mij in de huiskamer al overtuigd met hun Endless Party en dat deden ze nu ook op de bühne. Het leuke aan de inmiddels uitverkochte Endless Party-lp was de gratis cd met als bonus de 3 tracks van hun eerste demo. Die zijn niet onmisbaar en een pak minder dan die op de eigenlijke release, maar het is interessant om te horen hoe deze jonge band er met rasse schreden op vooruit is gegaan. En Whispering Sons blijft gestaag groeien. Dat maakten de nieuwe songs die ze gisteren brachtten overduidelijk.

De Limburgers begonnen de set met Shadow en Midlife, de openingstracks van hun debuutalbum. Van bij de aanvang hoorde ik een zelfverzekerde band. This is how the party ends, klonk het tijdens Midlife, maar dit feestje was nog maar net begonnen. Zowel de band alsde toeschouwers hadden er zin in.

I can't shake them off, zong Fenne Kuppens tijdens (het nieuwe) Performance. Terwijl ze daadwerkelijk haar demonen van haar trachtte af te schudden. Ze bewoog alsof ze de vrouwelijke incarnatie van Ian Curtis is. Leuk om zien hoe de jonge frontvrouw opging in de teksten en de muziek. Wat een intense performance.

Na Break On Through (The Other Side), inderdaad die song van The Doors die Whispering Sons compleet naar zijn hand zet, volgden nog twee nieuwe tracks. White Noise en Strange Identities klonken beide veelbelovend met het oog op een toekomstige release. Ik kijk er reikhalzend naar uit en ik zal lang niet de enige zijn, afgaande op de reacties van het publiek.

Whispering Sons sloot zijn set af met Wall (heerlijk toch hoe die melodische gitaarlijntjes zich om de ritmesectie heen kronkelen) en het intense Insights. Fantastisch om te zien met wat een zelfvertrouwen de naast het podium nochtans ingetogen en bescheiden jongeren, staan te spelen. Opzienbarend.

De Finse hoofdact K-X-P bleek een zeer verrassende band te zijn. Gehuld in monnikskappen en nevel werd een soort krautrock gebracht. Vele toeschouwers bewogen mee op de eclectische elekronische rock, die zeer ritmisch is. Het drietal uit Helsinki bestaat immers uit 2 drummers.

K-X-P kreeg veel bijval met zijn uniek geluid. Soms sinister, maar vaak uitnodigend, soms dromerig, maar vaak dansbaar, psychedelisch, soms zelf hypnotisch. Ook het gitaarspel is gevarieerd. Van recht toe recht aan tot post-rock over oldschool hardrock. Zeer groovy. Zeer geslaagd. Meteen na het optreden begaf ondergetekende zich naar de merchandisingstand. Deze K-X-P zou ik hoe dan ook in huis hebben!

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


Music reviews

18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree
16
10
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Chance Versus Causality
16
10
MASSIVE ATTACK
Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold