tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

09/12/2016 : K-X-P (+ WHISPERING SONS) - Opwijk, JH Nijdrop (13/04/2016)

K-X-P (+ WHISPERING SONS)

Opwijk, JH Nijdrop (13/04/2016)

Concert
09/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

Usually, a music fan goes to a concert to see the main act and he hopes to discover a nice supporting act. Yesterday it was the other way around. I visited the Nijdrop venue to see Whispering Sons, but the to me totally unknown main act K-X-P turned out to be a discovery as well.

I already was convinced by the debut album Endless Party, but now Whispering Sons has convinced me on stage as well. The nice thing about the Endless Party LP is the free bonus CD with three tracks from the first demo on top of the six Endless Party tracks. These songs aren't indispensable. They can't compete with those on the actual release, but it's interesting to hear how much progress the young band made. And Whispering Sons keeps on growing. The new songs they played serve as evidence.

The Limburg-based band opened the set with Shadow and Midlife, indeed the opening tracks of the debut album. I heard a confident band right from the start. This is how the party ends, Fenne sang in Midlife, but this party just started. Both the band and the public were ready to give it all!

I can't shake them off, Fenne Kuppens sang in Performance. She was actually trying to shake of her demons. I like the way she moves, as if she's the female reincarnation of Ian Curtis. Nice to see how this young frontwoman is fully absorbed by the lyrics and the music. Such an intense performance.

Break On Through (The Other Side), indeed the song of The Doors, is fully adapted by Whispering Sons. Then two new tracks followed. White Noise and Strange Identities both sound promising. I am already looking forward to a future release and I'm sure I'm not the only one, judging the spectators' reactions

Whispering Sons closed the set with Wall (with those delightfully melodic guitar lines) and the intense Insights. Fantastic to see how much self-confidence these modest youngsters have once they are on stage. Stunning!

The Finish main act K-X-P turned out to be a quite surprising band. Hidden behind their monkshood and lots of smoke, the three musicians played a sort of krautrock. Many spectators moved along on the eclectic electronic rock music which was very rythmic. After all the Helsinki trio consists of 2 drummers.

K-X-P conquered the public with its unique sound. Sometimes sinister, but often inviting, sometimes dreamy, but mostly danceable, psychedelic, even hypnotic. The guitar was varied too. Straight forward rock, post rock, old school hard rock. Very groovy. As soon as the gig was finished, I ran to the merchandising stand as I wanted their album for my CD collection.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


NL

Doorgaans gaat een muziekfan naar de hoofdact kijken en hoopt hij in het voorprogramma een leuke band te ontdekken. Gisteren was het echter de omgekeerde wereld. Ik begaf mij op pad om Whispering Sons te zien en de hoofdact, het mij volkomen onbekende K-X-P, bleek een heuse ontdekking te zijn.

De winnaars van Humo's Rock Rally hadden mij in de huiskamer al overtuigd met hun Endless Party en dat deden ze nu ook op de bühne. Het leuke aan de inmiddels uitverkochte Endless Party-lp was de gratis cd met als bonus de 3 tracks van hun eerste demo. Die zijn niet onmisbaar en een pak minder dan die op de eigenlijke release, maar het is interessant om te horen hoe deze jonge band er met rasse schreden op vooruit is gegaan. En Whispering Sons blijft gestaag groeien. Dat maakten de nieuwe songs die ze gisteren brachtten overduidelijk.

De Limburgers begonnen de set met Shadow en Midlife, de openingstracks van hun debuutalbum. Van bij de aanvang hoorde ik een zelfverzekerde band. This is how the party ends, klonk het tijdens Midlife, maar dit feestje was nog maar net begonnen. Zowel de band alsde toeschouwers hadden er zin in.

I can't shake them off, zong Fenne Kuppens tijdens (het nieuwe) Performance. Terwijl ze daadwerkelijk haar demonen van haar trachtte af te schudden. Ze bewoog alsof ze de vrouwelijke incarnatie van Ian Curtis is. Leuk om zien hoe de jonge frontvrouw opging in de teksten en de muziek. Wat een intense performance.

Na Break On Through (The Other Side), inderdaad die song van The Doors die Whispering Sons compleet naar zijn hand zet, volgden nog twee nieuwe tracks. White Noise en Strange Identities klonken beide veelbelovend met het oog op een toekomstige release. Ik kijk er reikhalzend naar uit en ik zal lang niet de enige zijn, afgaande op de reacties van het publiek.

Whispering Sons sloot zijn set af met Wall (heerlijk toch hoe die melodische gitaarlijntjes zich om de ritmesectie heen kronkelen) en het intense Insights. Fantastisch om te zien met wat een zelfvertrouwen de naast het podium nochtans ingetogen en bescheiden jongeren, staan te spelen. Opzienbarend.

De Finse hoofdact K-X-P bleek een zeer verrassende band te zijn. Gehuld in monnikskappen en nevel werd een soort krautrock gebracht. Vele toeschouwers bewogen mee op de eclectische elekronische rock, die zeer ritmisch is. Het drietal uit Helsinki bestaat immers uit 2 drummers.

K-X-P kreeg veel bijval met zijn uniek geluid. Soms sinister, maar vaak uitnodigend, soms dromerig, maar vaak dansbaar, psychedelisch, soms zelf hypnotisch. Ook het gitaarspel is gevarieerd. Van recht toe recht aan tot post-rock over oldschool hardrock. Zeer groovy. Zeer geslaagd. Meteen na het optreden begaf ondergetekende zich naar de merchandisingstand. Deze K-X-P zou ik hoe dan ook in huis hebben!

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


Music reviews

29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park
14
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Melancholic Disposition

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!
21
03
Bone Machine | 32 - Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...
03
03
DAVID SARDY
Producer David Sardy on his work with The Who, Oasis, Marilyn Manson and scoring work.

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes
25
03
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins
24
03
KRANKLAND
In the Realms of the Unreal