casino siteleri odeonbet Casino maxi casino metropol

06/01/2012 : KANIA TIEFFER/FAMILY JEWELS - split 7 inch ep

KANIA TIEFFER/FAMILY JEWELS

split 7 inch ep

MusicVinyl
ElectroExperimentalPunk

[80/100]   

Enfant Terrible
06/01/2012, Chris KONINGS

Kania Tieffer is a Belgian electro-junk musician. She also DJs under the name of DJ Albanie (an escapee from Albania). After releasing a few CD-R's, she's been part of several Enfant Terrible live events throughout the years and she appeared on the Hex compilation.

The first song, "Teppi Ho", offers female electro-punk with some Nintendo-like sounds. In "Team Duck Cream" you don't recognise her voice at all. The vocals remind me of the child-like vocals used by The Residents. Didn't they make a record called "Duck Stab"? Who knows, maybe it's her homage to them? "Farfouille" = weird toys + electro-punk, again very playful and a cross between insane children's songs and Gossip...

Family Jewels is Kania's next project, ending the previous one. The first song, "High Sympathy For The Devil" is purely instrumental and a slow version of her beloved electropunk, clashing with chambermusic, a bit like those wierd tape experiments you can find on the Notre Dame series. "Watching Over Me" and "Family Jewels" are more of the same, the first adding some raw metallic beats and the latter slower paced with some child organ sounds... A bit less crazy then her previous stuff but still not radio friendly, and that's how we like it!

Another limited (250 copies) gem to discover and hopefully we will see more of her on those Enfant Terrible events!

Enfant Terrible

Chris KONINGS
06/01/2012


 

Next reviews
ARTIFECAL • I Sell My Blood
SOLOLUST • Total Loss
CHANNEL-EAST • Window To Earth
ALIEN HAND SYNDROME • The Sincere And The Cryptic
MONA MUR/EN ESCH • Do With Me What You Want
PORTRAIT BIZARRE • a new day
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO • The Sorrows of Young Georgio
XENO & OAKLANDER • Sets And Lights
PSY'AVIAH • Introspection/Extrospection
GEISTFORM • Transistor Music

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
PROJECT PITCHFORK • Wonderland/One Million Faces (Remastered And Extended)
PATENBRIGADE: WOLFF • Trabantenstadt
CAISARON • Reflection
13TH MONKEY • LIVE AT FORMS OF HANDS 15
METROLAND • Synthetic Sound (EP)
CONTINENTAL LIAISON • Action Time/The Sublime (single)
WIELORYB • Semantik
KOKO COHEN QUINTET • Kochenquit
HYSTERESIS • Hegemonia Cultural
E • The Levitation Syndrome

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL • Split album
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
NASH THE SLASH • Children of the Night/Dreams and Nightmares:
STEVEN BROWN • Music For Film and Theatre
TUXEDOMOON • Half-Mute
SCANNER & ANNI HOGAN • Scanni
TEHO TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD • Nerissimo
DENNIS YOUNG • WAVE/Electronic Music 1984-1988
SONIC AREA • Eyes In The Sky

 

Same genre: PUNK
STENDAL BLAST • Ein Abschied - Das Letzte Konzert
COCAINE PISS/SPLIT V/A • Cosmic Bullshit + Sex Weirdo’s
COCAINE PISS • Sex Weirdos
TACOCAT • Lost Time
LAVVI EBBEL • Wir Schaffen Das!
BLONDIE • Parallel Lines
THE STRANGLERS, THE ALARM • O2 Academy, Bristol (19/03/16)
KOTZE IM EINKAUFSWAGEN • Wunderschön und Unverfälscht
THERAPY? • Tides
WENDY JAMES • The Price Of The Ticket

Music reviews

01
07
INFINITE SPECTRUM
Haunter of the Dark
01
07
THE JUGGERNAUTS
The Juggernauts Are Coming
30
06
KATE RYAN
Comment Te Dire Adieu
30
06
EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL
Split album
30
06
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS
Aligned With Juniper
30
06
SWITCHFOOT
When the Light Shines Through

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
07
Prophecy Fest announces its line-up
01
07
Dead Rabbits release third album in September
30
06
'We Are Legion' EP by Ambassador 21 out on Industrial Strength
30
06
The Wythches announce new album 'All Your Happy Life'
30
06
White Lies back with new album in October
29
06
New single for Agnes Obel and European tour.

Concert reviews

28
06
ALICE COOPER
Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
27
06
DAGEIST
Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (25/06/2016)
21
06
STEVE VAI
Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
20
06
DINOSAUR JR.
Sint-Niklaas, De Casino 16-06-2016
20
06
LISA CUTHBERT
Kinky Star, Ghent (15/06/2016)
19
06
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE
London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
06
SHAARGHOT
We're going to offer Germany a great performance in order to thank them for giving us the opportunity to represent our country !
28
06
ANDY OPPENHEIMER (OPPENHEIMER ANALYSIS, OPPENHEIMER MK II)
Minimal? I want to fill Wembley Stadium
25
06
PSY'AVIAH
Continuing with albums with guest singers was a natural evolution for me
24
06
WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT
I really want the experimental side to take over eventually but I do love the beauty of a classic pop song.
24
06
IMMANENT DISTANCE
The story we started on the first album, comes to a climax on the second album.

PHOTOS

12
06
COMBICHRIST
De Kreun, Kortrijk, Belgium
12
06
FILTER
De Kreun, Kortrijk, Belgium
12
06
LORD OF THE LOST
De Kreun, Kortrijk, Belgium
04
06
AMBASSADOR21
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
04
06
MAMMOUTT
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
04
06
GHETTO BLASTARD
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
02
06
IMMINENT
Porta Nigra: Special Belgian Electronic Edition, Knoet, Aarschot, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

01
07
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
30
06
CECILIA BJARGO (DER BLAUE REITER + ARCANA)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
29
06
TIM MUDDIMAN
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
27
06
BABETH LETTER (TROUBLE FAIT')
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
26
06
LESLIE BENSON (THE SWEETEST CONDITION)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

30
06
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
27
06
RABIA SORDA
King Of The Wasteland
27
06
LINEA ASPERA
Malarone
19
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
14
06
TANZWUT FT. LIV KRISTINE
Stille Wasser
14
06
THE SPECIALS
A Message To You Rudy
13
06
THE SAINT PAUL
But He Will