casino siteleri odeonbet Casino maxi casino metropol

06/01/2012 : KANIA TIEFFER/FAMILY JEWELS - split 7 inch ep

KANIA TIEFFER/FAMILY JEWELS

split 7 inch ep

MusicVinyl
ElectroExperimentalPunk

[80/100]   

Enfant Terrible
06/01/2012, Chris KONINGS

Kania Tieffer is a Belgian electro-junk musician. She also DJs under the name of DJ Albanie (an escapee from Albania). After releasing a few CD-R's, she's been part of several Enfant Terrible live events throughout the years and she appeared on the Hex compilation.

The first song, "Teppi Ho", offers female electro-punk with some Nintendo-like sounds. In "Team Duck Cream" you don't recognise her voice at all. The vocals remind me of the child-like vocals used by The Residents. Didn't they make a record called "Duck Stab"? Who knows, maybe it's her homage to them? "Farfouille" = weird toys + electro-punk, again very playful and a cross between insane children's songs and Gossip...

Family Jewels is Kania's next project, ending the previous one. The first song, "High Sympathy For The Devil" is purely instrumental and a slow version of her beloved electropunk, clashing with chambermusic, a bit like those wierd tape experiments you can find on the Notre Dame series. "Watching Over Me" and "Family Jewels" are more of the same, the first adding some raw metallic beats and the latter slower paced with some child organ sounds... A bit less crazy then her previous stuff but still not radio friendly, and that's how we like it!

Another limited (250 copies) gem to discover and hopefully we will see more of her on those Enfant Terrible events!

Enfant Terrible

Chris KONINGS
06/01/2012


 

Next reviews
ARTIFECAL • I Sell My Blood
SOLOLUST • Total Loss
CHANNEL-EAST • Window To Earth
ALIEN HAND SYNDROME • The Sincere And The Cryptic
MONA MUR/EN ESCH • Do With Me What You Want
PORTRAIT BIZARRE • a new day
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO • The Sorrows of Young Georgio
XENO & OAKLANDER • Sets And Lights
PSY'AVIAH • Introspection/Extrospection
GEISTFORM • Transistor Music

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
CHROM • Peak And Decay
VARIOUS • 4 in 1 Volume 4
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DECODED FEEDBACK • Dark Passenger
THE DUKE SPIRIT • Kin
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil
SON OF SAM • The Collapse of Ancient Funk vol. 2
PROJECT PITCHFORK • Wonderland/One Million Faces (Remastered And Extended)
PATENBRIGADE: WOLFF • Trabantenstadt
CAISARON • Reflection

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PALE THORNS • Somberland
DENEUVE • Ugly
EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL • Split album
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
NASH THE SLASH • Children of the Night/Dreams and Nightmares:
STEVEN BROWN • Music For Film and Theatre
TUXEDOMOON • Half-Mute

 

Same genre: PUNK
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
STENDAL BLAST • Ein Abschied - Das Letzte Konzert
COCAINE PISS/SPLIT V/A • Cosmic Bullshit + Sex Weirdo’s
COCAINE PISS • Sex Weirdos
TACOCAT • Lost Time
LAVVI EBBEL • Wir Schaffen Das!
BLONDIE • Parallel Lines
THE STRANGLERS, THE ALARM • O2 Academy, Bristol (19/03/16)
KOTZE IM EINKAUFSWAGEN • Wunderschön und Unverfälscht

Music reviews

24
08
PRO-PAIN
Foul Taste Of Freedom
24
08
CRYSTAL CASTLES
Amnesty (I)
23
08
SOL INVICTUS
The Last Man
23
08
S/HE
Who Do You Love
23
08
DEVILDRIVER
Trust No One
23
08
DARKHER
Realms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
08
Sinner's Day adds Tuxedomoon
23
08
New album by Marching Church on Sacred Bones
22
08
Dream poppers Polykite announce debut single
22
08
Synthpop band Perpacity releases single
21
08
Bayonne releases his debut on City Slang
20
08
New release by A Shoreline Dream

Concert reviews

24
08
W-Festival Wortegem-Petegem (23/08/2016)
23
08
LALALOVER
Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
23
08
LIEN SCHOETERS
Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
22
08
THE ROADRUNNERS
Mechelen, De Borrel Babbel (17/08/2016)
16
08
JO QUAIL
Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
04
08
DEEP PURPLE
Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
08
STOPPENBERG
I am not in danger, I am the danger.
09
08
VIRGIN IN VEIL
With those covers, we wanted to make people ask themselves why they are more shocked by seeing tits, cunts or cocks than seeing images of war and messages of hate
08
08
HANTE
Music is a companion. You can choose the soundtrack of your life! It can change your emotions or comfort you like a friend.
20
07
RED MECCA
I've got a passion for the things you can't see with your eyes, only with your mind.
07
07
DECODED FEEDBACK
We don’t fall into one specific genre within the industrial community…and we love that.

PHOTOS

24
08
ALPHAVILLE
W-FESTIVAL, Wortegem, Belgium
24
08
PETER HOOK & THE LIGHT
W-FESTIVAL, Wortegem, Belgium
24
08
MARC ALMOND
W-FESTIVAL, Wortegem, Belgium
24
08
SIAN EVANS (KOSHEEN)
W-FESTIVAL, Wortegem, Belgium
24
08
SCRITTI POLITTI
W-FESTIVAL, Wortegem, Belgium
24
08
HEAVEN 17
W-FESTIVAL, Wortegem, Belgium
24
08
DE BRASSERS
W-FESTIVAL, Wortegem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

24
08
BRIGITTE ROSE (BATTERY OPERATED ORCHESTRA)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
18
08
VITA NOCTIS
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
16
08
SIDEARTICA
Sideartica: a forgotten gem
11
08
PAWEL STRZELEC (ALLES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
09
08
JJD (SOFT RIOT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

25
08

ZSA
25
08
REIN
I Dont Get Anything but Shit from You
23
08
IN DEATH IT ENDS
the most holy death
19
08
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
18
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Hope Is Here
18
08
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
17
08
ULTRAVOX
Dancing With Tears In My Eyes