casino siteleri odeonbet Casino maxi casino metropol

06/01/2012 : KANIA TIEFFER/FAMILY JEWELS - split 7 inch ep

KANIA TIEFFER/FAMILY JEWELS

split 7 inch ep

MusicVinyl
ElectroExperimentalPunk

[80/100]   

Enfant Terrible
06/01/2012, Chris KONINGS

Kania Tieffer is a Belgian electro-junk musician. She also DJs under the name of DJ Albanie (an escapee from Albania). After releasing a few CD-R's, she's been part of several Enfant Terrible live events throughout the years and she appeared on the Hex compilation.

The first song, "Teppi Ho", offers female electro-punk with some Nintendo-like sounds. In "Team Duck Cream" you don't recognise her voice at all. The vocals remind me of the child-like vocals used by The Residents. Didn't they make a record called "Duck Stab"? Who knows, maybe it's her homage to them? "Farfouille" = weird toys + electro-punk, again very playful and a cross between insane children's songs and Gossip...

Family Jewels is Kania's next project, ending the previous one. The first song, "High Sympathy For The Devil" is purely instrumental and a slow version of her beloved electropunk, clashing with chambermusic, a bit like those wierd tape experiments you can find on the Notre Dame series. "Watching Over Me" and "Family Jewels" are more of the same, the first adding some raw metallic beats and the latter slower paced with some child organ sounds... A bit less crazy then her previous stuff but still not radio friendly, and that's how we like it!

Another limited (250 copies) gem to discover and hopefully we will see more of her on those Enfant Terrible events!

Enfant Terrible

Chris KONINGS
06/01/2012


 

Next reviews
ARTIFECAL • I Sell My Blood
SOLOLUST • Total Loss
CHANNEL-EAST • Window To Earth
ALIEN HAND SYNDROME • The Sincere And The Cryptic
MONA MUR/EN ESCH • Do With Me What You Want
PORTRAIT BIZARRE • a new day
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO • The Sorrows of Young Georgio
XENO & OAKLANDER • Sets And Lights
PSY'AVIAH • Introspection/Extrospection
GEISTFORM • Transistor Music

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
VARIOUS • 4 in 1 Volume 4
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DECODED FEEDBACK • Dark Passenger
THE DUKE SPIRIT • Kin
HEIMATAERDE • Hick Hack Hackebeil
SON OF SAM • The Collapse of Ancient Funk vol. 2
PROJECT PITCHFORK • Wonderland/One Million Faces (Remastered And Extended)
PATENBRIGADE: WOLFF • Trabantenstadt
CAISARON • Reflection
13TH MONKEY • LIVE AT FORMS OF HANDS 15

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
PALE THORNS • Somberland
DENEUVE • Ugly
EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL • Split album
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
NASH THE SLASH • Children of the Night/Dreams and Nightmares:
STEVEN BROWN • Music For Film and Theatre
TUXEDOMOON • Half-Mute
SCANNER & ANNI HOGAN • Scanni
TEHO TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD • Nerissimo

 

Same genre: PUNK
STENDAL BLAST • Ein Abschied - Das Letzte Konzert
COCAINE PISS/SPLIT V/A • Cosmic Bullshit + Sex Weirdo’s
COCAINE PISS • Sex Weirdos
TACOCAT • Lost Time
LAVVI EBBEL • Wir Schaffen Das!
BLONDIE • Parallel Lines
THE STRANGLERS, THE ALARM • O2 Academy, Bristol (19/03/16)
KOTZE IM EINKAUFSWAGEN • Wunderschön und Unverfälscht
THERAPY? • Tides
WENDY JAMES • The Price Of The Ticket

Music reviews

22
07
BE
One
21
07
DAVID BOWIE
Pin Ups
21
07
AURRA
Body Rock
20
07
SUEDE
Night Thoughts
20
07
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Studio One Showcase
19
07
GIRLSCHOOL
Take A Bite

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
07
Vibrissae announce 'Somewhere Away' LP
22
07
Hannah Epperson announces new album!
21
07
New Model army back with brand new single
20
07
Introflirt Release 'Orange Light' Single
20
07
New material by IIOIOIOII
18
07
Second album out by Julinko.

Concert reviews

10
07
ARBEID ADELT ! + THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Leuven, Het Groot Verlof (08/07/2016)
06
07
PAUL MCCARTNEY
Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
05
07
GUTTERDAMMERUNG
Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
04
07
GUY GARVEY
Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
28
06
ALICE COOPER
Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
27
06
DAGEIST
Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (25/06/2016)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
07
RED MECCA
I've got a passion for the things you can't see with your eyes, only with your mind.
07
07
DECODED FEEDBACK
We don’t fall into one specific genre within the industrial community…and we love that.
05
07
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Funny that apparently only bands as Front 242, NEB and Skinny Puppy tend to created clones? What about the zillion of Beatles/Smiths/Joy Division/etc. sounding bands out there? Oh right, they are ‘just’ inspired!
29
06
SHAARGHOT
We're going to offer Germany a great performance in order to thank them for giving us the opportunity to represent our country !
28
06
ANDY OPPENHEIMER (OPPENHEIMER ANALYSIS, OPPENHEIMER MK II)
Minimal? I want to fill Wembley Stadium

PHOTOS

12
06
COMBICHRIST
De Kreun, Kortrijk, Belgium
12
06
FILTER
De Kreun, Kortrijk, Belgium
12
06
LORD OF THE LOST
De Kreun, Kortrijk, Belgium
04
06
AMBASSADOR21
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
04
06
MAMMOUTT
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
04
06
GHETTO BLASTARD
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
02
06
IMMINENT
Porta Nigra: Special Belgian Electronic Edition, Knoet, Aarschot, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

22
07
MICHAEL ALIANI (CHIRON)
Ten Album That Changed My Life
21
07
RUBIN (LOW FACTOR)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
19
07
RIO GOLDHAMMER (1919)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
18
07
SIGFRIED BURROUGHS (ONMENS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
17
07
TOMAS PETTERSSON (ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

25
07
THE NAMES
Nightshift
25
07
VAST
Touched
21
07
DOPE
Blood Money
21
07
BLACKFALL
This Hell
20
07
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
20
07
?ANIMA? FEAT. UTAU YUME
Beyond The Fallen
19
07
ASHES AT DAWN
Monster