tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/11/2015 : KARI RUESLATTEN - To The North

KARI RUESLATTEN

To The North

MusicCD
Dark WaveEthereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk

[75/100]   

Despotz Records
04/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The name Kari Rueslåtten probably doesn’t say much to the average music fan, but this Norwegian lady was the lead singer of The 3rd and the Mortal and is also part of The Sirens, next to divas like Anneke van Giersbergen and Liv Kristine.

To The North is already the sixth album by Kari Rueslåtten, and although the music is a tribute to the Norwegian landscapes, the CD was recorded in the famous Parr Street Studios in Liverpool. Musically, Kari likes to compare herself with Loreena McKennitt. She surely is not the only one to do so, and such artists often release albums in which you hear a heavenly voice, but that musically leave a void. To The North is not such a record.

Even though we felt that this album could have been a bit longer, the mystical splendor reverberates in your head for a quite long time. The atmospheric guitar has a Pink Floyd feel that simultaneously exudes hope and fear. Eight songs were composed by Kari, and there is also a cover of The Byrds (Turn, Turn, Turn), which is almost as good as unrecognizable in Rueslåtten's version.

To The North is a record that can appeal to a broad audience, from dark wave to prog rock, or simply to those who like wonderful music!

Didier BECU
04/11/2015


NL

De naam Kari Rueslåtten zegt de doorsnee muziekliefhebber misschien niet zo bijster veel, maar deze Noorse dame was ooit de zangeres van The 3rd and the Mortal en maakt tevens deel uit van The Sirens naast diva’s als Anneke van Giersbergen en Liv Kristine.

To The North is ondertussen reeds de zesde plaat die Kari Rueslåtten uitbracht, en ook al is het een ode aan de Noorse landschappen, werd het album in de befaamde Parr Street-studio’s van Liverpool opgenomen. Muzikaal vergelijkt Kari zich graag met Loreena McKennitt. Zij is natuurlijk niet de enige die dat doet, en vaak leidt dit soort albums tot muzikale, oppervlakkige pareltjes waarop je wel een hemelse stem hoort, maar die muzikaal een leegte achterlaten. To The North is niet zo’n plaat.

Ook al vonden wij dat dit album best wat langer mocht duren, blijft de mystieke pracht ruime tijd in je hoofd nazinderen. Het atmosferische gitaarwerk heeft een Pink Floyd-gevoel dat tegelijkertijd hoop en angst uitstraalt. Acht nummers werden door Kari gecomponeerd, en je vindt er tevens een cover van The Byrds op terug (Turn, Turn, Turn), dat in Rueslåtten’s versie bijna zo goed als onherkenbaar wordt.

To The North is een plaat die een breed publiek kan aanspreken, van darkwave tot progrock, of gewoon wie van wondermooie muziek houdt! 

Didier BECU
04/11/2015


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless