tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/11/2015 : KARI RUESLATTEN - To The North

KARI RUESLATTEN

To The North

MusicCD
Dark WaveEthereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk

[75/100]   

Despotz Records
04/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The name Kari Rueslåtten probably doesn’t say much to the average music fan, but this Norwegian lady was the lead singer of The 3rd and the Mortal and is also part of The Sirens, next to divas like Anneke van Giersbergen and Liv Kristine.

To The North is already the sixth album by Kari Rueslåtten, and although the music is a tribute to the Norwegian landscapes, the CD was recorded in the famous Parr Street Studios in Liverpool. Musically, Kari likes to compare herself with Loreena McKennitt. She surely is not the only one to do so, and such artists often release albums in which you hear a heavenly voice, but that musically leave a void. To The North is not such a record.

Even though we felt that this album could have been a bit longer, the mystical splendor reverberates in your head for a quite long time. The atmospheric guitar has a Pink Floyd feel that simultaneously exudes hope and fear. Eight songs were composed by Kari, and there is also a cover of The Byrds (Turn, Turn, Turn), which is almost as good as unrecognizable in Rueslåtten's version.

To The North is a record that can appeal to a broad audience, from dark wave to prog rock, or simply to those who like wonderful music!

Didier BECU
04/11/2015


NL

De naam Kari Rueslåtten zegt de doorsnee muziekliefhebber misschien niet zo bijster veel, maar deze Noorse dame was ooit de zangeres van The 3rd and the Mortal en maakt tevens deel uit van The Sirens naast diva’s als Anneke van Giersbergen en Liv Kristine.

To The North is ondertussen reeds de zesde plaat die Kari Rueslåtten uitbracht, en ook al is het een ode aan de Noorse landschappen, werd het album in de befaamde Parr Street-studio’s van Liverpool opgenomen. Muzikaal vergelijkt Kari zich graag met Loreena McKennitt. Zij is natuurlijk niet de enige die dat doet, en vaak leidt dit soort albums tot muzikale, oppervlakkige pareltjes waarop je wel een hemelse stem hoort, maar die muzikaal een leegte achterlaten. To The North is niet zo’n plaat.

Ook al vonden wij dat dit album best wat langer mocht duren, blijft de mystieke pracht ruime tijd in je hoofd nazinderen. Het atmosferische gitaarwerk heeft een Pink Floyd-gevoel dat tegelijkertijd hoop en angst uitstraalt. Acht nummers werden door Kari gecomponeerd, en je vindt er tevens een cover van The Byrds op terug (Turn, Turn, Turn), dat in Rueslåtten’s versie bijna zo goed als onherkenbaar wordt.

To The North is een plaat die een breed publiek kan aanspreken, van darkwave tot progrock, of gewoon wie van wondermooie muziek houdt! 

Didier BECU
04/11/2015


Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life