tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/11/2015 : KARI RUESLATTEN - To The North

KARI RUESLATTEN

To The North

MusicCD
Dark WaveEthereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk

[75/100]   

Despotz Records
04/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The name Kari Rueslåtten probably doesn’t say much to the average music fan, but this Norwegian lady was the lead singer of The 3rd and the Mortal and is also part of The Sirens, next to divas like Anneke van Giersbergen and Liv Kristine.

To The North is already the sixth album by Kari Rueslåtten, and although the music is a tribute to the Norwegian landscapes, the CD was recorded in the famous Parr Street Studios in Liverpool. Musically, Kari likes to compare herself with Loreena McKennitt. She surely is not the only one to do so, and such artists often release albums in which you hear a heavenly voice, but that musically leave a void. To The North is not such a record.

Even though we felt that this album could have been a bit longer, the mystical splendor reverberates in your head for a quite long time. The atmospheric guitar has a Pink Floyd feel that simultaneously exudes hope and fear. Eight songs were composed by Kari, and there is also a cover of The Byrds (Turn, Turn, Turn), which is almost as good as unrecognizable in Rueslåtten's version.

To The North is a record that can appeal to a broad audience, from dark wave to prog rock, or simply to those who like wonderful music!

Didier BECU
04/11/2015


NL

De naam Kari Rueslåtten zegt de doorsnee muziekliefhebber misschien niet zo bijster veel, maar deze Noorse dame was ooit de zangeres van The 3rd and the Mortal en maakt tevens deel uit van The Sirens naast diva’s als Anneke van Giersbergen en Liv Kristine.

To The North is ondertussen reeds de zesde plaat die Kari Rueslåtten uitbracht, en ook al is het een ode aan de Noorse landschappen, werd het album in de befaamde Parr Street-studio’s van Liverpool opgenomen. Muzikaal vergelijkt Kari zich graag met Loreena McKennitt. Zij is natuurlijk niet de enige die dat doet, en vaak leidt dit soort albums tot muzikale, oppervlakkige pareltjes waarop je wel een hemelse stem hoort, maar die muzikaal een leegte achterlaten. To The North is niet zo’n plaat.

Ook al vonden wij dat dit album best wat langer mocht duren, blijft de mystieke pracht ruime tijd in je hoofd nazinderen. Het atmosferische gitaarwerk heeft een Pink Floyd-gevoel dat tegelijkertijd hoop en angst uitstraalt. Acht nummers werden door Kari gecomponeerd, en je vindt er tevens een cover van The Byrds op terug (Turn, Turn, Turn), dat in Rueslåtten’s versie bijna zo goed als onherkenbaar wordt.

To The North is een plaat die een breed publiek kan aanspreken, van darkwave tot progrock, of gewoon wie van wondermooie muziek houdt! 

Didier BECU
04/11/2015


Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela