tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/11/2015 : KARI RUESLATTEN - To The North

KARI RUESLATTEN

To The North

MusicCD
Dark WaveEthereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk

[75/100]   

Despotz Records
04/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The name Kari Rueslåtten probably doesn’t say much to the average music fan, but this Norwegian lady was the lead singer of The 3rd and the Mortal and is also part of The Sirens, next to divas like Anneke van Giersbergen and Liv Kristine.

To The North is already the sixth album by Kari Rueslåtten, and although the music is a tribute to the Norwegian landscapes, the CD was recorded in the famous Parr Street Studios in Liverpool. Musically, Kari likes to compare herself with Loreena McKennitt. She surely is not the only one to do so, and such artists often release albums in which you hear a heavenly voice, but that musically leave a void. To The North is not such a record.

Even though we felt that this album could have been a bit longer, the mystical splendor reverberates in your head for a quite long time. The atmospheric guitar has a Pink Floyd feel that simultaneously exudes hope and fear. Eight songs were composed by Kari, and there is also a cover of The Byrds (Turn, Turn, Turn), which is almost as good as unrecognizable in Rueslåtten's version.

To The North is a record that can appeal to a broad audience, from dark wave to prog rock, or simply to those who like wonderful music!

Didier BECU
04/11/2015


NL

De naam Kari Rueslåtten zegt de doorsnee muziekliefhebber misschien niet zo bijster veel, maar deze Noorse dame was ooit de zangeres van The 3rd and the Mortal en maakt tevens deel uit van The Sirens naast diva’s als Anneke van Giersbergen en Liv Kristine.

To The North is ondertussen reeds de zesde plaat die Kari Rueslåtten uitbracht, en ook al is het een ode aan de Noorse landschappen, werd het album in de befaamde Parr Street-studio’s van Liverpool opgenomen. Muzikaal vergelijkt Kari zich graag met Loreena McKennitt. Zij is natuurlijk niet de enige die dat doet, en vaak leidt dit soort albums tot muzikale, oppervlakkige pareltjes waarop je wel een hemelse stem hoort, maar die muzikaal een leegte achterlaten. To The North is niet zo’n plaat.

Ook al vonden wij dat dit album best wat langer mocht duren, blijft de mystieke pracht ruime tijd in je hoofd nazinderen. Het atmosferische gitaarwerk heeft een Pink Floyd-gevoel dat tegelijkertijd hoop en angst uitstraalt. Acht nummers werden door Kari gecomponeerd, en je vindt er tevens een cover van The Byrds op terug (Turn, Turn, Turn), dat in Rueslåtten’s versie bijna zo goed als onherkenbaar wordt.

To The North is een plaat die een breed publiek kan aanspreken, van darkwave tot progrock, of gewoon wie van wondermooie muziek houdt! 

Didier BECU
04/11/2015


Music reviews

01
02
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Hologram Moon
31
01
MIRLAND/LARSEN
Disturbia
30
01
KASPER HATE
Why Live When You Can Rule
29
01
GLAARE
To Deaf and Day
28
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
NEIN! (Single)
27
01
BLUTENGEL
Black

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
02
Nemuer Unveils Mystical Music Video With Ancient Babylonian Lyrics
16
02
Mignon's new album “Toys Tantrum” is out on 9 February
16
02
3DFLY, featuring Dirk Da Davo (The Neon Judgement/Neon Electronics) releases EP!
15
02
The Arch announces new album concept and will release one brand new song every month of 2018!
14
02
JOACHIM WITT, QNTAL, IN THE NURSERY, RROYCE & MANY OTHERS TO COMPLETE THE AMPHI LINE-UP 2018
14
02
Today, exactly 39 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
01
KIM LARSEN (: OF THE WAND AND THE MOON:)
Symbols still carry personal meaning to me.
29
01
ELEKTROSTAUB
'I think it will be almost impossible to combine all the artists into one single concept.'
26
01
DIE FORM
I would like to be optimistic and positive, but the world seems to move inexorably/blindly towards a sombre future, towards chaos.
24
01
LIVINGTOTEM
‘INDUSTRIAL INFUSED ROMANTIC TECHNOID MUSIC’
22
01
MESH
Richard Silverthorn Of Mesh On “Gothic Meets Classic” And The “Live at Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig” Album

PHOTOS

10
02
NIK KERSHAW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
10
02
CUTTING CREW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
23
01
THE ALARM
Winterfest Gent
23
01
WOLFGANG FLUR
Winterfest Gent
23
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
Winterfest Gent
23
01
SIMI NAH
Winterfest Gent
23
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Winterfest Gent

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
02
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible
17
02
FEVER RAY
If I Had A Heart
16
02
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent
15
02
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
I Face The Wall
14
02
THE SPECTORS
Sharknado
13
02
LIGHTS OF EUPHORIA
Hallo Hallo
12
02
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace