tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : KARIES - Es Geht Sich Aus

KARIES

Es Geht Sich Aus

MusicCD
Post Punk

[82/100]   

THIS CHARMING MAN RECORDS
11/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

From Stuttgart comes Karies. The post-punk band releases its second album Es Geht Sich Aus. It is the logical follow-up to the self-titled EP from early 2016. The four-man group takes its influences from post-punk, noise and grunge. We also hear No Wave à la Sonic Youth and the classic ingredients of post-punk.

The band wants to set the tone with the opening song Es Ist Ein Fest, starting with quiet drums, a plaintive bass and blissful guitars that suddenly resound. Of course we want more! And why bother about the song titles? The second song is simply called A. The guitar strings are tortured: sharp and noisy. With a sneering bass that makes the eardrums dance, with melancholic vocals, plaintive and desperate. Jugend has a leisurely pace and explodes like a grenade later on. Kein Teit Für Zärtlichkeit contains some bizarre arrangments and sounds 'different'. Mühlen and Ostalb are primal post-punk songs.

Überlegen has the feel of a Sonic Youth song: edgy, unaffected, abrasive and compulsively repeating itself. And it all takes five nerve-racking minutes, without losing intensity or depth. And just when you think you've reached the final frontier, the guitars sound even harder. What a song, perfect until the last second.

The title song Es Geht Sich Aus sounds calmer, but certainly not less tight. The guitarists kick ass and come up with a very nice melody. Next song is Pervers: the guitar rhythms are dancing with each other, and yes maybe in a 'perverse' way. This full-length album closes with Einheiten. Karies has no pity for the listener: 10 strong post-punk songs in all possible varieties. It all ends softer after 10 doses of pure intense postpunk.

Karies does very decent job and it is certainly not a copy of the great bands in the genre. Once we notice a raised middle finger, sometimes we hear sarcasm, but especially a lot of enthusiasm and musical skills. You can feel the energy. For me, this is a very good record. Check it out and let me know what you think...

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


NL

Stuttgart laat Karies op ons los. De postpunkband brengt zijn tweede album uit: Es Geht Sich Aus, het logische vervolg van de titelloze ep uit begin 2016. Het vierkoppige gezelschap haalt zijn invloeden uit de postpunk, noise en grunge. We horen evengoed No Wave als Sonic Youth en de klassiek ingrediënten van de postpunk, met gitaarpartijen en vaak droog klinkende drums.

De band wil wellicht de toon zetten met de openingssong: Es Ist Ein Fest. Dat zou het inderdaad kunnen worden als de song vanuit een miniem drumpartijtje en klagende bas plots zalig gitaarwerk als compagnon krijgt. Een karakteristieke zang vervolledigt het plaatje. Smaakt meteen naar méér! En waarom veel tijd stoppen in songtitels? De tweede song heet dan ook gewoon A. De rsnaren van de gitaar worden echt gemarteld: schel, scherp en noisy. Met een snerende baslijn die de trommelvliezen laat dansen. Zang melancholisch klagend en wanhopig. Jugend schakelt qua tempo een aantal versnellingen lager, maar knalt op het einde als een granaat uitéén. Kein Teit Für Zärtlichkeit heeft een bizar arrangement en klinkt 'anders'. Mühlen en Ostalb zijn oer-postpunksongs pur sang.

Überlegen heeft weg van Sonic Youth: ruwer, ongekunsteld, schurend en dwangmatig zichzelf herhalend. En dat alles 5 zenuwslopende minuten lang, zonder in te boeten aan intensiteit en diepgang. En net als je het gevoel besluipt dat de grens is bereikt, gaan de gitaren nog eens harder schuren. Zalige track, af tot in de puntjes.

De titelsong Es Geht Sich Aus klinkt dan weer matiger, maar zeker niet minder strak. De snarenplukker trapt wat pedalen in en genereert een heel leuke melodie die zich als een adder door de song kronkelt. En wat gedacht van een streepje extremer? Tot op de rand! Pervers... de titel dekt de lading niet volledig, de zang klinkt schertsend. Niet echt pervers, toch? Deze langspeler sluit af met Einheiten. De heren van Karies krijgen medelijden met de luisteraar, 10 vrij sterke postpunksongs in alle variëteiten. Ze besluiten om wat zachter af te sluiten om de geboeide luisteraar te laten bekomen. Niet slecht gezien als je het mij vraagt.

Karies levert heel degelijk werk met deze schijf. De band heeft duidelijk voorbeelden, maar is zeker geen afkooksel van de groten in het genre. De heren scheuren werkelijk doorheen deze cd met een gebalde vuist, al eens een opgestoken middelvinger, soms met wat sarcasme, maar vooral met veel goesting en duidelijke muzikaal talent. Je voelt de energie. Voor mij is dit een zeer goede plaat. Oordeel zelf....

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : KARIES - Es Geht Sich Aus 11/12/2016 : KARIES - Es Geht Sich Aus

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life