tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : KARIES - Es Geht Sich Aus

KARIES

Es Geht Sich Aus

MusicCD
Post Punk

[82/100]   

THIS CHARMING MAN RECORDS
11/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

From Stuttgart comes Karies. The post-punk band releases its second album Es Geht Sich Aus. It is the logical follow-up to the self-titled EP from early 2016. The four-man group takes its influences from post-punk, noise and grunge. We also hear No Wave à la Sonic Youth and the classic ingredients of post-punk.

The band wants to set the tone with the opening song Es Ist Ein Fest, starting with quiet drums, a plaintive bass and blissful guitars that suddenly resound. Of course we want more! And why bother about the song titles? The second song is simply called A. The guitar strings are tortured: sharp and noisy. With a sneering bass that makes the eardrums dance, with melancholic vocals, plaintive and desperate. Jugend has a leisurely pace and explodes like a grenade later on. Kein Teit Für Zärtlichkeit contains some bizarre arrangments and sounds 'different'. Mühlen and Ostalb are primal post-punk songs.

Überlegen has the feel of a Sonic Youth song: edgy, unaffected, abrasive and compulsively repeating itself. And it all takes five nerve-racking minutes, without losing intensity or depth. And just when you think you've reached the final frontier, the guitars sound even harder. What a song, perfect until the last second.

The title song Es Geht Sich Aus sounds calmer, but certainly not less tight. The guitarists kick ass and come up with a very nice melody. Next song is Pervers: the guitar rhythms are dancing with each other, and yes maybe in a 'perverse' way. This full-length album closes with Einheiten. Karies has no pity for the listener: 10 strong post-punk songs in all possible varieties. It all ends softer after 10 doses of pure intense postpunk.

Karies does very decent job and it is certainly not a copy of the great bands in the genre. Once we notice a raised middle finger, sometimes we hear sarcasm, but especially a lot of enthusiasm and musical skills. You can feel the energy. For me, this is a very good record. Check it out and let me know what you think...

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


NL

Stuttgart laat Karies op ons los. De postpunkband brengt zijn tweede album uit: Es Geht Sich Aus, het logische vervolg van de titelloze ep uit begin 2016. Het vierkoppige gezelschap haalt zijn invloeden uit de postpunk, noise en grunge. We horen evengoed No Wave als Sonic Youth en de klassiek ingrediënten van de postpunk, met gitaarpartijen en vaak droog klinkende drums.

De band wil wellicht de toon zetten met de openingssong: Es Ist Ein Fest. Dat zou het inderdaad kunnen worden als de song vanuit een miniem drumpartijtje en klagende bas plots zalig gitaarwerk als compagnon krijgt. Een karakteristieke zang vervolledigt het plaatje. Smaakt meteen naar méér! En waarom veel tijd stoppen in songtitels? De tweede song heet dan ook gewoon A. De rsnaren van de gitaar worden echt gemarteld: schel, scherp en noisy. Met een snerende baslijn die de trommelvliezen laat dansen. Zang melancholisch klagend en wanhopig. Jugend schakelt qua tempo een aantal versnellingen lager, maar knalt op het einde als een granaat uitéén. Kein Teit Für Zärtlichkeit heeft een bizar arrangement en klinkt 'anders'. Mühlen en Ostalb zijn oer-postpunksongs pur sang.

Überlegen heeft weg van Sonic Youth: ruwer, ongekunsteld, schurend en dwangmatig zichzelf herhalend. En dat alles 5 zenuwslopende minuten lang, zonder in te boeten aan intensiteit en diepgang. En net als je het gevoel besluipt dat de grens is bereikt, gaan de gitaren nog eens harder schuren. Zalige track, af tot in de puntjes.

De titelsong Es Geht Sich Aus klinkt dan weer matiger, maar zeker niet minder strak. De snarenplukker trapt wat pedalen in en genereert een heel leuke melodie die zich als een adder door de song kronkelt. En wat gedacht van een streepje extremer? Tot op de rand! Pervers... de titel dekt de lading niet volledig, de zang klinkt schertsend. Niet echt pervers, toch? Deze langspeler sluit af met Einheiten. De heren van Karies krijgen medelijden met de luisteraar, 10 vrij sterke postpunksongs in alle variëteiten. Ze besluiten om wat zachter af te sluiten om de geboeide luisteraar te laten bekomen. Niet slecht gezien als je het mij vraagt.

Karies levert heel degelijk werk met deze schijf. De band heeft duidelijk voorbeelden, maar is zeker geen afkooksel van de groten in het genre. De heren scheuren werkelijk doorheen deze cd met een gebalde vuist, al eens een opgestoken middelvinger, soms met wat sarcasme, maar vooral met veel goesting en duidelijke muzikaal talent. Je voelt de energie. Voor mij is dit een zeer goede plaat. Oordeel zelf....

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : KARIES - Es Geht Sich Aus 11/12/2016 : KARIES - Es Geht Sich Aus

Music reviews

25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night
20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
04
Dive releases Let Me In 12' vinyl on Out Of Line
25
04
Suicide Commando returns with a hard-hitting club EP release. “Death Will Find You”!
24
04
Rummelsnuff releases double album / best of - “Salzig schmeckt der Wind”
23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
04
LADYTRON
Destroy Everything You Touch
26
04
GUNMAKER
Trust Me Or Lie
26
04
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
25
04
DIVE
Bloodmoney
24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only