tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : KARIES - Es Geht Sich Aus

KARIES

Es Geht Sich Aus

MusicCD
Post Punk

[82/100]   

THIS CHARMING MAN RECORDS
11/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

From Stuttgart comes Karies. The post-punk band releases its second album Es Geht Sich Aus. It is the logical follow-up to the self-titled EP from early 2016. The four-man group takes its influences from post-punk, noise and grunge. We also hear No Wave à la Sonic Youth and the classic ingredients of post-punk.

The band wants to set the tone with the opening song Es Ist Ein Fest, starting with quiet drums, a plaintive bass and blissful guitars that suddenly resound. Of course we want more! And why bother about the song titles? The second song is simply called A. The guitar strings are tortured: sharp and noisy. With a sneering bass that makes the eardrums dance, with melancholic vocals, plaintive and desperate. Jugend has a leisurely pace and explodes like a grenade later on. Kein Teit Für Zärtlichkeit contains some bizarre arrangments and sounds 'different'. Mühlen and Ostalb are primal post-punk songs.

Überlegen has the feel of a Sonic Youth song: edgy, unaffected, abrasive and compulsively repeating itself. And it all takes five nerve-racking minutes, without losing intensity or depth. And just when you think you've reached the final frontier, the guitars sound even harder. What a song, perfect until the last second.

The title song Es Geht Sich Aus sounds calmer, but certainly not less tight. The guitarists kick ass and come up with a very nice melody. Next song is Pervers: the guitar rhythms are dancing with each other, and yes maybe in a 'perverse' way. This full-length album closes with Einheiten. Karies has no pity for the listener: 10 strong post-punk songs in all possible varieties. It all ends softer after 10 doses of pure intense postpunk.

Karies does very decent job and it is certainly not a copy of the great bands in the genre. Once we notice a raised middle finger, sometimes we hear sarcasm, but especially a lot of enthusiasm and musical skills. You can feel the energy. For me, this is a very good record. Check it out and let me know what you think...

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


NL

Stuttgart laat Karies op ons los. De postpunkband brengt zijn tweede album uit: Es Geht Sich Aus, het logische vervolg van de titelloze ep uit begin 2016. Het vierkoppige gezelschap haalt zijn invloeden uit de postpunk, noise en grunge. We horen evengoed No Wave als Sonic Youth en de klassiek ingrediënten van de postpunk, met gitaarpartijen en vaak droog klinkende drums.

De band wil wellicht de toon zetten met de openingssong: Es Ist Ein Fest. Dat zou het inderdaad kunnen worden als de song vanuit een miniem drumpartijtje en klagende bas plots zalig gitaarwerk als compagnon krijgt. Een karakteristieke zang vervolledigt het plaatje. Smaakt meteen naar méér! En waarom veel tijd stoppen in songtitels? De tweede song heet dan ook gewoon A. De rsnaren van de gitaar worden echt gemarteld: schel, scherp en noisy. Met een snerende baslijn die de trommelvliezen laat dansen. Zang melancholisch klagend en wanhopig. Jugend schakelt qua tempo een aantal versnellingen lager, maar knalt op het einde als een granaat uitéén. Kein Teit Für Zärtlichkeit heeft een bizar arrangement en klinkt 'anders'. Mühlen en Ostalb zijn oer-postpunksongs pur sang.

Überlegen heeft weg van Sonic Youth: ruwer, ongekunsteld, schurend en dwangmatig zichzelf herhalend. En dat alles 5 zenuwslopende minuten lang, zonder in te boeten aan intensiteit en diepgang. En net als je het gevoel besluipt dat de grens is bereikt, gaan de gitaren nog eens harder schuren. Zalige track, af tot in de puntjes.

De titelsong Es Geht Sich Aus klinkt dan weer matiger, maar zeker niet minder strak. De snarenplukker trapt wat pedalen in en genereert een heel leuke melodie die zich als een adder door de song kronkelt. En wat gedacht van een streepje extremer? Tot op de rand! Pervers... de titel dekt de lading niet volledig, de zang klinkt schertsend. Niet echt pervers, toch? Deze langspeler sluit af met Einheiten. De heren van Karies krijgen medelijden met de luisteraar, 10 vrij sterke postpunksongs in alle variëteiten. Ze besluiten om wat zachter af te sluiten om de geboeide luisteraar te laten bekomen. Niet slecht gezien als je het mij vraagt.

Karies levert heel degelijk werk met deze schijf. De band heeft duidelijk voorbeelden, maar is zeker geen afkooksel van de groten in het genre. De heren scheuren werkelijk doorheen deze cd met een gebalde vuist, al eens een opgestoken middelvinger, soms met wat sarcasme, maar vooral met veel goesting en duidelijke muzikaal talent. Je voelt de energie. Voor mij is dit een zeer goede plaat. Oordeel zelf....

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : KARIES - Es Geht Sich Aus 11/12/2016 : KARIES - Es Geht Sich Aus

Music reviews

19
07
NAUT
Raise The Lights
13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 38 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
07
CHRISTIAN DEATH
'I think pacifism will be the rehearsal for the ultimate slaughter'
18
07
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
'I have no high hopes for humanity anymore...'
23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
07
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl