tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : KARIES - Es Geht Sich Aus

KARIES

Es Geht Sich Aus

MusicCD
Post Punk

[82/100]   

THIS CHARMING MAN RECORDS
11/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

From Stuttgart comes Karies. The post-punk band releases its second album Es Geht Sich Aus. It is the logical follow-up to the self-titled EP from early 2016. The four-man group takes its influences from post-punk, noise and grunge. We also hear No Wave à la Sonic Youth and the classic ingredients of post-punk.

The band wants to set the tone with the opening song Es Ist Ein Fest, starting with quiet drums, a plaintive bass and blissful guitars that suddenly resound. Of course we want more! And why bother about the song titles? The second song is simply called A. The guitar strings are tortured: sharp and noisy. With a sneering bass that makes the eardrums dance, with melancholic vocals, plaintive and desperate. Jugend has a leisurely pace and explodes like a grenade later on. Kein Teit Für Zärtlichkeit contains some bizarre arrangments and sounds 'different'. Mühlen and Ostalb are primal post-punk songs.

Überlegen has the feel of a Sonic Youth song: edgy, unaffected, abrasive and compulsively repeating itself. And it all takes five nerve-racking minutes, without losing intensity or depth. And just when you think you've reached the final frontier, the guitars sound even harder. What a song, perfect until the last second.

The title song Es Geht Sich Aus sounds calmer, but certainly not less tight. The guitarists kick ass and come up with a very nice melody. Next song is Pervers: the guitar rhythms are dancing with each other, and yes maybe in a 'perverse' way. This full-length album closes with Einheiten. Karies has no pity for the listener: 10 strong post-punk songs in all possible varieties. It all ends softer after 10 doses of pure intense postpunk.

Karies does very decent job and it is certainly not a copy of the great bands in the genre. Once we notice a raised middle finger, sometimes we hear sarcasm, but especially a lot of enthusiasm and musical skills. You can feel the energy. For me, this is a very good record. Check it out and let me know what you think...

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


NL

Stuttgart laat Karies op ons los. De postpunkband brengt zijn tweede album uit: Es Geht Sich Aus, het logische vervolg van de titelloze ep uit begin 2016. Het vierkoppige gezelschap haalt zijn invloeden uit de postpunk, noise en grunge. We horen evengoed No Wave als Sonic Youth en de klassiek ingrediënten van de postpunk, met gitaarpartijen en vaak droog klinkende drums.

De band wil wellicht de toon zetten met de openingssong: Es Ist Ein Fest. Dat zou het inderdaad kunnen worden als de song vanuit een miniem drumpartijtje en klagende bas plots zalig gitaarwerk als compagnon krijgt. Een karakteristieke zang vervolledigt het plaatje. Smaakt meteen naar méér! En waarom veel tijd stoppen in songtitels? De tweede song heet dan ook gewoon A. De rsnaren van de gitaar worden echt gemarteld: schel, scherp en noisy. Met een snerende baslijn die de trommelvliezen laat dansen. Zang melancholisch klagend en wanhopig. Jugend schakelt qua tempo een aantal versnellingen lager, maar knalt op het einde als een granaat uitéén. Kein Teit Für Zärtlichkeit heeft een bizar arrangement en klinkt 'anders'. Mühlen en Ostalb zijn oer-postpunksongs pur sang.

Überlegen heeft weg van Sonic Youth: ruwer, ongekunsteld, schurend en dwangmatig zichzelf herhalend. En dat alles 5 zenuwslopende minuten lang, zonder in te boeten aan intensiteit en diepgang. En net als je het gevoel besluipt dat de grens is bereikt, gaan de gitaren nog eens harder schuren. Zalige track, af tot in de puntjes.

De titelsong Es Geht Sich Aus klinkt dan weer matiger, maar zeker niet minder strak. De snarenplukker trapt wat pedalen in en genereert een heel leuke melodie die zich als een adder door de song kronkelt. En wat gedacht van een streepje extremer? Tot op de rand! Pervers... de titel dekt de lading niet volledig, de zang klinkt schertsend. Niet echt pervers, toch? Deze langspeler sluit af met Einheiten. De heren van Karies krijgen medelijden met de luisteraar, 10 vrij sterke postpunksongs in alle variëteiten. Ze besluiten om wat zachter af te sluiten om de geboeide luisteraar te laten bekomen. Niet slecht gezien als je het mij vraagt.

Karies levert heel degelijk werk met deze schijf. De band heeft duidelijk voorbeelden, maar is zeker geen afkooksel van de groten in het genre. De heren scheuren werkelijk doorheen deze cd met een gebalde vuist, al eens een opgestoken middelvinger, soms met wat sarcasme, maar vooral met veel goesting en duidelijke muzikaal talent. Je voelt de energie. Voor mij is dit een zeer goede plaat. Oordeel zelf....

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : KARIES - Es Geht Sich Aus 11/12/2016 : KARIES - Es Geht Sich Aus

Music reviews

28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS
16
06
AUGER
Insurgence

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion
26
06
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
The Mercy Seat