tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

06/10/2015 : KARSTEN PFLUM - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

KARSTEN PFLUM

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
06/10/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Earlier, when we interviewed Danish musician and DJ Karsten Pflum, we asked him for a list of his most inspiring albums of all time. This is what he told us:

1. Bogdan Raczynski - Bo Moku Waran (Rephlex, 1999)
This record was an eye opener for me at the time, around 1999. I had been listening a lot to Aphex Twin and Mu-Ziq, but I was completely intrigued by Bogdans mix of crudeness and poetic beauty. Like he narrowed things down to the bone, with his extremely charming beats and his over the top melodic phrases. It is not often that you come across an electronic artist with this much soul and identity in his or her music.

2. Aphex twin - I Care Because You Do (Warp Records, 1995)
This album was really my door into electronic music at the age of 15. Before this I had listened to Kraftwerk, Björk and Depeche Mode. I remember that I listened to it in the shop and thought "this is just mental! So many sounds I haven't heard before, but have somehow always dreamed of". It struck me that this guy’s music was extremely charming more than anything else.

3. Autechre - Anvil Vapre (Warp Records, 1995)
I found Autechre around the same time as Aphex Twin. I remember I was lying in my bed listening to it and being completely transported. This was rave music, like some of techno I knew, but it was also British. It had those ambient qualities I loved so much, and was still rave music. To this day one of my favourites of all time. Proper trancy and intelligent dance music!

4. In Sync - Storm/Warm (Irdial Discs, 1992)This EP is probably what I have listened to most in the past year. It is obviously made on very limited gear and recorded onto tape. I really love how much he gets out of relatively little. His flair for programming the drum machines and his subtle approach to the music gets my attention straight away. It's classic/timeless music, because I don't really think about how early it was made. And there is a sort of mysticism around it, that I am really taken by.

5. Future Sound Of London – Lifeforms (Virgin Music, 1994)
This is the perfect music for sci-fi dreams. Their universe is a dystopian and beautiful near future, where the human psyche is examined. A bit like the KLF. I love their ability to create collage-like structures and soundscapes and it represents a time that had a nostalgic view upon the future.

6. Basic Channel (BCD, 1995)This is a compilation of earlier tracks released only on vinyl. At the time I was presented to it, I knew nothing about dub techno. To me it was nature music - tribal music in its essence. Volcanic beats, glaciers, trance around a big fire. The images you got when listening, were both disturbing and other-worldly. Their sound was so fascinating to me - you could hear the gear, tape effects, distorted analogue synths. Very very tasteful!

7. Various ‎– Masonic (Hymen Records, 2002)
I found this compilation around the time I was releasing some of my first music. To me it was an eye opener into different electronic styles and artists I didn't know yet. Finding new music, that wasn't only by the biggest names, was still tough, with the internet still being in its early stadium. Lucine, Scorn, Venetian Snares, Xanopticon, Bochum Welt, to name a few that I discovered through this release. I still regard this compilation as one of my most important "textbooks".

8. Plastikman - Sheet One (NovaMute, 1993)I listened to this record over and over on a small travel friendly gramophone on batteries. The cocktail of middle tone 303 bass lines and crisp 606 drums was perfect for it. Again, like most other music that I really like, I like the fact that I can hear Richie Hawtin in it. It is elegant, controlled, horrifying, beautiful and determined at the same time. I love the soundscape, there's a lot of reverb and very high frequency stuff going on. He can really make the 303 cry!, like a small animal singing. It's a bad trip like no other!

9. Ø - Eetteri EP (Sähkö Recordings, 2005)
I am a long time fan of Pansonic and their sound. Mika Vainio perfects it under his Ø alias. His sound is pure crystal structured techno, ice cold - what one would actually call minimal techno at its best. He plays with noise and crooked rythmic structures very intelligently. Each tracks is its own slide in a bigger slide show. Very deep and spiritual music to me.

10. Jega - Geometry (Planet Mu, 2000)
This record is a milestone to me and many others I know. A very special sound - kind of dirty or rusty, and melodies that are very emotional, yet really off. In a way it feels like the music is kind of helpless, in its simplicity. But then the layers open - small glitches everywhere and an absolutely amazing horizon shows up. It's one of those records I would never worry about how or when it was made, but rather just take it all in because of its rare beauty.

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/karsten-pflum-dode/

William LIÉNARD
06/10/2015


NL

Toen we eerder deze maand de Deense muzikant en DJ Karsten Pflum interviewden, vroegen we hem om een lijst te maken van zijn meest inspirerende albums aller tijden. Dit is wat hij ons vertelde:

1. Bogdan Raczynski - Bo Moku Waran (Rephlex, 1999)
Deze plaat was een eye-opener voor mij omstreeks 1999. Ik luisterde veel naar te Aphex Twin en Mu-Ziq, maar ik was helemaal geïntrigeerd door Bogdans mix vol grofheid en poëtische schoonheid. Alsof hij de dingen uitbeende tot op het bot, met uiterst charmante beats en zijn melodische over-the-top fraseringen. Het gebeurt niet vaak dat je een elektronisch kunstenaar tegenkomt met zoveel ziel en identiteit in zijn of haar muziek.

2. Aphex twin - I Care Because You Do (Warp Records, 1995)Dit album was echt mijn deur naar de elektronische muziek op de leeftijd van 15. Voor die tijd had ik naar Kraftwerk, Björk en Depeche Mode geluisterd. Ik herinner me dat ik in de plantenwinkel dacht: "dit is onwaarschijnlijk! Zoveel geluiden heb ik niet eerder gehoord, maar op de een of andere manier altijd van gedroomd". Het viel me op dat de muziek van deze man zeer charmant was, meer dan wat ook.

3. Autechre - Anvil Vapre (Warp Records, 1995)
Ik vond Autechre rond dezelfde tijd als Aphex Twin. Ik herinner me dat ik n mijn bed lag te luisteren en helemaal in vervoering raakte. Dit was ravemuziek, en net zoals techno was het Brits. Het had de ambiente kwaliteiten waarvan ik hield en het was toch ravemuziek. Tot vandaag één van mijn favorieten van alle tijden. Juiste, trancy en intelligente dance music!

4. In Sync - Storm/Warm (Irdial Discs, 1992)Deze EP heb waarschijnlijk in het afgelopen jaar het meest gedraaid. Het is duidelijk met weinig middelen gemaakt en opgenomen op band. Ongelooflijk hoeveel hij uit relatief weinig haalt. Zijn talent om drummachines te programmeren en zijn subtiele benadering van de muziek, ze trekken meteen mijn aandacht. Het is klassieke/tijdloze muziek, want ik hoef me niet af te vragen wanneer ze is gemaakt. Er hangt een soort mystiek over die mij echt pakt.

5. Future Sound Of London – Lifeforms (Virgin Music, 1994)
Dit is de perfecte muziek voor sciencefictiondromen. Hun universum is een dystopische en mooie nabije toekomst, waar de menselijke psyche wordt onderzocht. Een beetje zoals de KLF. Ik hou van hun vermogen om collageachtige structuren en soundscapes te creëren en het vertegenwoordigt een tijd die een nostalgische uitzicht op de toekomst bood.

6. Basic Channel (BCD, 1995)Dit is een compilatie van eerdere tracks, alleen uitgebracht op vinyl. Toen ik het album vond wist niets over dubtechno. Voor mij was het de muziek van de natuur - tribale muziek in zijn essentie. Vulkanische beats, gletsjers, trance rond een groot vuur. Beelden die je ziet tijdens het luisteren. Hun geluid was zo fascinerend voor mij - je kon de versnelling, de tape effecten en de vervormde analoge synths horen. Zeer zeer smaakvol!

7. Various ‎– Masonic (Hymen Records, 2002)
Ik vond deze compilatie toen mijn eerste muziek werd uitgebracht. Voor mij was het een eye-opener in verband met verschillende elektronische stijlen en kunstenaars die ik nog niet kende. Het vinden van nieuwe muziek, en niet alleen van grote namen, was moeilijk. Het internet stond nog in z’n kinderschoenen. Lucine, Scorn, Venetian Snares, Xanopticon, Bochum Welt, zijn een paar acts die ik ontdekte via deze release. Ik beschouw deze compilatie nog altijd als één van mijn belangrijkste "schoolboeken".

8. Plastikman - Sheet One (NovaMute, 1993)Ik luisterde voortdurend naar dit album op een kleine reisvriendelijke grammofoon op batterijen. De cocktail van middentonen, 303-baslijnen en heldere 606-drums was perfect. Nogmaals, ik hou van muziek waarin Richie Hawtin hoor. Ze is elegant, gecontroleerd, beangstigend, mooi en vastbesloten tegelijkertijd. Ik hou van de soundscapes met veel reverb en zeer hoge frequenties. Hij kan de 303 laten huilen alsof het een klein dier is dat zingt. Het is een slechte trip als geen andere!

9. Ø - Eetteri EP (Sähkö Recordings, 2005)
Ik ben al heel lang een fan van Pansonic en hun geluid. Mika Vainio perfectioneert het onder zijn pseudoniem Ø. Zijn sound is pure kristalheldere techno, ijskoud - wat men eigenlijk minimal techno zou kunnen noemen. Hij speelt op een intelligente manier met lawaai en kromme ritmische structuren. Elk tracks is zijn eigen dia in een grotere diavoorstelling. Heel diepe en spirituele muziek voor mij.

10. Jega - Geometry (Planet Mu, 2000)
Deze plaat is een mijlpaal voor mij en vele anderen die ik ken. Een heel speciaal geluid - vuil of roestig, en melodieën die zeer emotioneren, maar die toch echt zijn. Op een bepaalde manier voelt het aan alsof de muziek hulpeloos is in al haar eenvoud. Maar dan hoor de gelaagdheid en verschijnen er kleine glitches l en een absoluut geweldige horizon. Het is één van die platen waarvan ik me nooit afvraag hoe of wanneer ze is gemaakt, maar die ik in me opneem wegens de zeldzame schoonheid.

William LIÉNARD
06/10/2015


06/10/2015 : KARSTEN PFLUM - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/10/2015 : KARSTEN PFLUM - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/10/2015 : KARSTEN PFLUM - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/10/2015 : KARSTEN PFLUM - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/10/2015 : KARSTEN PFLUM - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/10/2015 : KARSTEN PFLUM - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/10/2015 : KARSTEN PFLUM - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/10/2015 : KARSTEN PFLUM - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/10/2015 : KARSTEN PFLUM - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/10/2015 : KARSTEN PFLUM - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 06/10/2015 : KARSTEN PFLUM - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
10
Producer & This Mortal Coil co-founder John Fryer releases 'These Mortal Covers' LP!
28
10
43 years Never Mind The Bollocks!
28
10
On this day, 32 years ago, Front 242 released Front By Front!
24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
10
VIOLENT VICKIE
Under The Gun
29
10
STACIAN
Telephonix
28
10
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
27
10
NO MORE
Turnaround
26
10
DEVO
Beautiful World
25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit